British Columbia Component

NEB Chair and CEO, Peter Watson, travelled to British Columbia at the end of April 2015.

Métis Nation of British Columbia

  • Discussion Topics Included: Traditional land use mapping; capacity building; continued engagement; the NEB as a lifecycle regulator; role of NEB’s regional office; NEB hearing process; environmental protection; and pipeline and public safety.

Fraser Valley Regional District Board of Directors

  • Discussion Topics Included: emergency response capacity; pipeline and public safety; integrity of water systems; the NEB as a lifecycle regulator; air quality and protection of regional biodiversity; compliance and enforcement; public engagement; pipeline integrity and leak detection; safety and environmental performance reporting; how the NEB defines ‘public interest’; and transparency.

David Suzuki Foundation

  • Discussion Topics Included: environmental protection; pipeline integrity; the NEB as a lifecycle regulator, emergency preparedness and capacity; and Aboriginal groups’ involvement in emergency response

Union of BC Municipalities

  • Discussion Topics Included: emergency response procedures and transparency; hearing process; tanker traffic; previous incidents; emergency response capacity; liability and remediation; pipeline and public safety.

City of Burnaby

  • Discussion Topics Included: hearing process and public perceptions; tanker traffic; climate change; NEB mandate and role; previous incidents; and emergency response procedures and transparency.

Metro Vancouver Mayors’ Council & Canadian Coast Guard

  • Discussion Topics Included: pipeline and public safety; hearing process and public perceptions; previous incidents; impact of incidents to the local economy; emergency response capacity; emergency response procedures and transparency; and NEB mandate and role.

Regional First Responders  (Government of BC, Fire Chiefs’ Association of BC, RCMP, City of Burnaby, City of Vancouver, Forts BC, Regional Emergency Planning Committee)

  • Discussion Topics Included: emergency preparedness, capacity and response; emergency response procedures and transparency; and compliance and enforcement.

Vancouver Aquarium

  • Discussion Topics Included: emergency response capacity; capacity for ocean research; monitoring and baseline reporting; previous incidents; impact of incidents on aquatic environment.

Capital Regional District Board of Directors

  • Discussion Topics Included: hearing process and public perceptions; emergency response; tanker traffic; emergency response capacity; emergency response procedures and transparency; sustainable development; climate change; NEB mandate and role; engagement of Aboriginal groups; environmental protection; and protection of sacred sites.

Sierra Club BC, Dogwood Initiative, CPAWS, Georgia Strait Alliance, Forest Ethics, West Coast Environmental Law

  • Discussion Topics Included: hearing process, climate change; environmental protection; engagement with environmental groups; public engagement; independence of the Board; and pipeline and public safety.

Ocean Networks Canada

  • Discussion Topics Included: technology to anticipate movement of product in the ocean and predict when a wave may have an impact on operations at a marine terminal; and emergency response.
Date modified:

Colombie-Britannique

Le président et premier dirigeant de l’Office, Peter Watson, s’est rendu en Colombie-Britannique à la fin d’avril 2015.

Métis de la Colombie-Britannique

  • Sujets abordés pendant la discussion : cartographie des terres utilisées à des fins traditionnelles; renforcement des capacités; participation continue; rôle d’organisme de réglementation de l’Office tout au long du cycle de vie des installations; rôle du bureau régional de l’Office; processus d’audience de l’Office; protection de l’environnement; sûreté des pipelines et sécurité du public.

Conseil d’administration du district régional de Fraser Valley

  • Sujets abordés pendant la discussion : capacité d’intervention d’urgence; sûreté des pipelines et sécurité du public; intégrité des réseaux hydrographiques; rôle d’organisme de réglementation de l’Office tout au long du cycle de vie des installations; qualité de l’air et protection de la biodiversité régionale; conformité et exécution; participation du public; intégrité des pipelines et détection des fuites; rapports de rendement en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement; définition d’intérêt public par l’Office et transparence.

David Suzuki Foundation

  • Sujets abordés pendant la discussion : protection de l’environnement; intégrité des pipelines; rôle d’organisme de réglementation de l’Office tout au long du cycle de vie des installations; état de préparation et capacité d’intervention en cas d’urgence; participation des groupes autochtones aux interventions d’urgence.

Union of BC Municipalities

  • Sujets abordés pendant la discussion : méthodes d’intervention d’urgence et transparence; processus d’audience; circulation des navires-citernes; incidents précédents; capacité d’intervention d’urgence; obligation de réparer et remise en état; sûreté des pipelines et sécurité du public.

Ville de Burnaby

  • Sujets abordés pendant la discussion : processus d’audience et perception du public; circulation des navires-citernes; changements climatiques; mandat et rôle de l’Office; incidents précédents; méthodes d’intervention d’urgence et transparence.

Conseil des maires de Metro Vancouver et Garde côtière canadienne

  • Sujets abordés pendant la discussion : sûreté des pipelines et sécurité du public; processus d’audience et perception du public; incidents précédents; impact des incidents sur l’économie locale; capacité d’intervention d’urgence; méthodes d’intervention d’urgence et transparence; mandat et rôle de l’Office.

Premiers intervenants régionaux (gouvernement de la C.-B., Fire Chiefs’ Association of British Columbia, GRC, Ville de Burnaby, Ville de Vancouver, FortisBC, comité régional de planification en cas d’urgence)

  • Sujets abordés pendant la discussion : état de préparation aux situations d’urgence, capacité et intervention; méthodes d’intervention d’urgence et transparence; conformité et exécution.

Aquarium de Vancouver

  • Sujets abordés pendant la discussion : capacité d’intervention d’urgence; capacité de recherche océanographique; surveillance et rapports de base; incidents précédents; impact des incidents sur le milieu aquatique.

Conseil d’administration du district régional de la capitale

  • Sujets abordés pendant la discussion : processus d’audience et perception du public; intervention d’urgence; circulation des navires-citernes; capacité d’intervention d’urgence; méthodes d’intervention d’urgence et transparence; développement durable; changements climatiques; mandat et rôle de l’Office; participation des groupes autochtones; protection de l’environnement; protection des lieux sacrés.

Sierra Club BC, Dogwood Initiative, CPAWS, Georgia Strait Alliance, Forest Ethics, West Coast Environmental Law

  • Sujets abordés pendant la discussion : processus d’audience; changements climatiques; protection de l’environnement; mobilisation des groupes environnementaux; participation du public; indépendance de l’Office; sûreté des pipelines et sécurité du public.

Ocean Networks Canada

  • Sujets abordés pendant la discussion : technologie permettant de prévoir le mouvement d’un produit dans l’océan et de prédire quand une vague peut avoir un impact sur les activités à un terminal portuaire; intervention d’urgence.
Date de modification :