Ontario Component (Thunder Bay and Kenora regions)

NEB Chair and CEO, Peter Watson, made his second trip to Ontario in May 2015.

Northwest Ontario Municipal Association (NOMA)

  • Discussion Topics Included: valve location and placement; definition of major water crossing; emergency response training and capacity in rural communities; liability; pipeline safety and integrity

Lakehead and Region Conservation Authority

  • Discussion Topics Included: valve location, placement and shut-off procedure; integrity of water system; emergency response time; safety culture; emergency response capacity in rural communities

Nishnawbe-Aski Treaty 9

  • Discussion Topics Included: impact of pipeline development; capacity for hearing participation; duty to consult and the NEB’s role; climate change; environmental impacts; design and materials; prevention and mitigation efforts; process to incorporate aboriginal values; definition of public interest; remediation; participation in pipeline inspections

City of Kenora and First Responders

  • Discussion Topics Included: capacity for emergency response training; emergency response times in rural areas; integrity of the water systems; definition of directly affected; NEB engagement; company’s liability

Treaty 3 Grand Council

  • Discussion Topics Included: duty to consult and the role of the NEB; definition of directly affected; participant funding; process to incorporate aboriginal values; NEB communications; participation in pipeline monitoring; integrity of water systems

Transition Initiatives Kenora

  • Discussion Topics Included: climate change; NEB role and mandate; amount of company information provided; definition of public interest; duty to consult and the role of the NEB; hearing time limits; whistleblower process; environmental considerations
Date modified:

Le volet ontarien (régions de Thunder Bay et de Kenora)

Le président et premier dirigeant de l’Office, Peter Watson, a été une seconde fois de passage en Ontario en mai 2015.

La Northwest Ontario Municipal Association (NOMA)

  • Sujets abordés pendant la discussion : emplacement et disposition des vannes; définition de franchissement de cours d’eau importants; formation en intervention d’urgence et capacité d’intervention d’urgence dans les collectivités rurales; responsabilité; sécurité et intégrité des pipelines.

L’Office de protection de la nature de la région de Lakehead

  • Sujets abordés pendant la discussion : emplacement, disposition et méthode de fermeture des vannes; intégrité des réseaux hydrographiques; délais d’intervention d’urgence; culture de sécurité; capacité d’intervention d’urgence dans les collectivités rurales.

La Nation Nishnawbe-Aski (traité no 9)

  • Sujets abordés pendant la discussion : impact de la construction de pipelines; capacité de participation aux audiences; obligation de consulter et rôle de l’Office; changements climatiques; impacts environnementaux; conception et matériaux; efforts de prévention et d’atténuation des risques; processus d’intégration des valeurs autochtones; définition d’intérêt public; remise en état; participation aux inspections de pipelines.

La Ville de Kenora et les premiers intervenants

  • Sujets abordés pendant la discussion : capacité de formation en intervention d’urgence; délais d’intervention d’urgence dans les zones rurales; intégrité des réseaux hydrographiques; définition de directement touché; participation de l’Office; responsabilité des sociétés.

Conseil tribal (traité no 3)

  • Sujets abordés pendant la discussion : obligation de consulter et rôle de l’Office; définition de directement touché; aide financière aux participants; processus d’intégration des valeurs autochtones; communications de l’Office; participation à la surveillance des pipelines; intégrité des réseaux hydrographiques.

Transition Initiative Kenora

  • Sujets abordés pendant la discussion : changements climatiques; rôle et mandat de l’Office; quantité d’information fournie sur les sociétés; définition d’intérêt public; obligation de consulter de l’Office et son rôle dans les consultations; délais fixés pour les audiences; processus de dénonciation; considérations environnementales.
Date de modification :