Canada’s Energy Future 2016: Province and Territory Outlooks

Foreword

The National Energy Board (NEB or Board) periodically publishes assessments of Canadian energy supply, demand, and markets in support of its ongoing market monitoring. These assessments address various aspects of energy markets in Canada, and provide Canadians with an accurate and reliable source of energy information. This report, Canada’s Energy Future 2016: Province and Territory Outlooks is one such assessment that discusses the regional dynamics in the Board’s latest long-term energy supply and demand outlook, Canada’s Energy Future 2016: Energy Supply and Demand Projections to 2040.

Comments or questions on this report can be directed to: energyfutures@neb-one.gc.ca.

About the NEB

The NEB is an independent federal, quasi-judicial regulator established in 1959 to promote safety and security, environmental protection, and economic efficiency in the Canadian public interest within the mandate set by Parliament for the regulation of pipelines, energy development, and trade.

The Board’s main responsibilities include regulating: the construction, operation, and abandonment of pipelines that cross international borders or provincial/territorial boundaries, as well as the associated pipeline tolls and tariffs; the construction and operation of international power lines and designated interprovincial power lines; and imports of natural gas and exports of crude oil, natural gas, oil, natural gas liquids, refined petroleum products, and electricity.

Additionally, in specified areas, the Board has regulatory responsibilities for oil and gas exploration and production activities under the National Energy Board Act , Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act , the Canada Petroleum Resources Act , and the North West Territories’ Oil and Gas Operations Act  and Petroleum Resources Act. For oil and natural gas exports, the Board’s role is to evaluate whether the oil and natural gas proposed to be exported is surplus to reasonably foreseeable Canadian requirements, having regard to the trends in the discovery of oil or gas in Canada. The Board monitors energy markets, and assesses Canadian energy requirements and trends of oil and natural gas discovery to support its responsibilities under Part VI of the NEB Act.

This report does not provide an indication about whether any application will be approved or not. The Board will decide on specific applications based on the material in evidence before it at that time. If a party wishes to rely on material from this report in any regulatory proceeding before the NEB, it may submit the material, just as it may submit any public document. Under these circumstances, the submitting party in effect adopts the material and that party could be required to answer questions pertaining to the material.

Contributors to this report include: Matthew Hansen, Chris Doleman, Michael Nadew (project management, energy use, electricity), Bryce van Sluys (drivers, macroeconomics, and LNG Cases), Ken Newel (energy use), Peter Budgell and Bill Wall (crude oil), Natalia Lis (electricity), Melanie Stogran and Connor McDonald (natural gas and LNG cases), Jesus Rios and Ryan Creighton (NGLs), Darcy Johnson (constrained case), Christina Iniguez (refinery balances), Amanda McCoy (document production).

Photos: left: A transport train maneuvers through the rocky mountains of western Canada; centre: The sun goes down on colourful houses dotting the Newfoundland coastline; right: An inuksuk covered in driven snow and frost in the Canadian North.

 

Date modified:

Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2016 – Perspectives provinciales et territoriales

Avant-propos

Dans le cadre de sa surveillance régulière, l’Office national de l’énergie publie périodiquement des analyses de l’offre et de la demande et des marchés énergétiques. Ces analyses concernent divers aspects des marchés énergétiques au Canada et offrent aux Canadiens une source d’information énergétique précise et fiable. Le présent rapport, intitulé Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2016 – Perspectives provinciales et territoriales, constitue une de ces analyses portant sur la dynamique régionale dans les dernières perspectives d’offre et de demande d’énergie à long terme de l’Office, Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2016 – Offre et demande énergétiques à l’horizon 2040.
 Commentaires et questions sur le présent rapport peuvent être envoyés à l’adresse suivante : avenirenergetique@neb-one.gc.ca.

À propos de l’Office

L’Office est un organisme de réglementation indépendant et quasi judiciaire fédéral fondé en 1959 pour promouvoir la sûreté et la sécurité, la protection de l’environnement et l’efficience économique, dans l’intérêt public canadien, selon le mandat conféré par le Parlement au chapitre de la réglementation des pipelines, de la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et du commerce de l’énergie.
 Les responsabilités de l’Office comprennent la réglementation de la construction, de l’exploitation et de la cessation d’exploitation des pipelines qui franchissent des frontières internationales, provinciales ou territoriales, de même que les droits et les tarifs pipeliniers afférents, la réglementation de la construction et de l’exploitation des lignes internationales de transport d’électricité et de lignes interprovinciales désignées, ainsi que la réglementation des importations de gaz naturel et des exportations de pétrole brut, de gaz naturel, de pétrole, de liquides de gaz naturel, de produits pétroliers raffinés et d’électricité.
 L’Office a également des responsabilités de nature réglementaire dans certaines régions précises en ce qui concerne les activités d’exploration et de production pétrolières et gazières, selon la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie (la Loi), la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada, la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures. Pour les exportations de pétrole et de gaz naturel, le rôle de l’Office consiste à déterminer si les volumes d’exportation proposés excèdent les besoins raisonnablement prévisibles du Canada, eu égard aux perspectives liées aux découvertes de pétrole et de gaz au pays. L’Office surveille les marchés de l’énergie et évalue les besoins énergétiques du Canada et les perspectives liées aux découvertes de pétrole et de gaz naturel, en appui aux attributions qui lui sont conférées par la partie VI de la Loi.

Le présent rapport ne fournit aucune indication relativement à l’approbation ou au rejet d’une demande quelconque. L’Office étudie chaque demande en se fondant sur les documents qui sont versés au dossier de la preuve. Quiconque souhaite utiliser le présent rapport dans une instance réglementaire devant l’Office peut le présenter à cette fin, comme c’est le cas pour tout autre document public. En agissant ainsi, la partie en question fait sienne l’information déposée et pourrait devoir répondre à des questions sur celle-ci.

Collaborateurs à la rédaction du rapport : Matthew Hansen, Chris Doleman, Michael Nadew (gestion de projet, consommation d’énergie, électricité), Bryce van Sluys (facteurs, macroéconomie et scénarios de GNL), Ken Newel (consommation d’énergie), Peter Budgell et Bill Wall (pétrole brut), Natalia Lis (électricité), Melanie Stogran et Connor McDonald (gaz naturel et scénarios de GNL), Jesus Rios et Ryan Creighton (LGN), Darcy Johnson (capacité limitée), Christina Iniguez (bilan de raffinage), Amanda McCoy (production du document).

Photos: gauche: Dans l’Ouest canadien, un train de transport de marchandises traverse les Rocheuses; centre: La côte terre-neuvienne s’illumine à la tombée de la nuit; droit: Un inukshuk recouvert de neige et de glace dans le Nord canadien.

 

Date de modification :