ARCHIVED - 2009 Reference Case Scenario: Consultation Sessions Feedback

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

April 2009

Table of Contents

Background

Introduction

Macroeconomic and Price Assumptions

Energy Demand

Crude Oil, Natural Gas and Natural Gas Liquids Supply

Electricity Supply

Conclusions

List of Participants and Contributors

Background

In developing the 2009 Reference Case Scenario: Canadian Energy Demand and Supply to 2020, the NEB sought the views of Canadians interested in energy matters. In April 2009, the preliminary results of the NEB analysis were distributed to over 550 stakeholders, including representatives of industry, government, non-governmental organizations (NGOs) and academia. Stakeholders were asked to review and comment on preliminary findings by providing written comments and/or by attending one of two public consultations. One session was hosted in Calgary, Alberta and the other was in Ottawa, Ontario. Other methods of gathering stakeholder input were also explored, including video conferencing.

The objective of the stakeholder consultations was to provide stakeholders with an opportunity to comment on the Board's methodology and analysis of energy supply and demand in Canada to the year 2020.

This report serves to reflect stakeholder feedback received on: macroeconomic and price assumptions as well as energy supply and demand results. This summary focuses on aspects of analysis where a large number of stakeholders suggested further exploration of issues for the final report. This feedback does not necessarily mirror the NEB's views or individual stakeholder comments, but instead provides a summary of the input heard from across the country.

The NEB would like to thank the many participants who we met with, whose observations have been both constructive and welcomed. Without the thoughtful participation of our many stakeholders, our quality of analysis would not be possible.

Introduction

The NEB has updated and extended the Reference Case analysis contained in the 2007 report entitled Canada's Energy Future: Reference Case and Scenarios to 2030. The update reflects changes to future energy price expectations, the global economic recession and additional government programs introduced since the release of the 2007 report. The final report was released in the Fall of 2009.

Prior to releasing the final numbers, the NEB sought peer review of the analysis through national stakeholder consultations. The NEB circulated the preliminary results of the 2009 Reference Case Scenario in April 2009. The feedback from stakeholders was very constructive. Stakeholders reported an appreciation of the NEB's comprehensive, all energy supply and demand outlook, especially in the face of server economic and energy uncertainty. There was tremendous support for an update of the Reference Case Scenario analysis to reflect rapidly changing economic conditions and price expectations. Some stakeholders expressed a preference for an update to the Triple E scenario, contained in the 2007 Energy Futures report[1] and additional details on greenhouse gas emissions associated with the Reference Case projection. Finally, stakeholders were supportive of the methodology proposed to explore low and high energy price cases within the 2009 report.

[1] The Triple E scenario was one of the potential outcomes considered and in this scenario society was increasingly attempting to balance energy, environment and economic factors.

The following sections discuss in more detail comments made on the key assumptions and quantitative results of the preliminary analysis.

Macroeconomic and Price Assumptions

In April 2009, the global economy was in the midst of the most synchronous economic recession in 50 years. These economic conditions create challenges to forecasting future economic growth with significant uncertainties, such as the timing and speed of the economic recovery, as well as questions about how industries might evolve over the longer-term. Despite the economic uncertainly, stakeholder comments focused little on the treatment of the economic downturn, implying stakeholder satisfaction with the NEB strategy to align near-term economic changes with the Canadian consensus forecast. Rather comments focused on the share of overall Canadian economic growth for each province as well as the evolution of the goods producing industry versus the service producing industry in Canada over the next decade. These comments are particularly meaningful when developing an energy supply and demand outlook for Canada as the regional availability of fuel, energy prices and end-use demand activities play a large role in determining the mix and absolute demand of fuel consumption in Canada.

The years leading up to the consultation sessions saw large swings in oil and natural gas prices. The NEB selected a wide range of energy prices to reflect potential future outcomes. There was general support for the oil price assumptions in the Reference Case, Low Price Case and High Price Case. However, stakeholders pushed to see lower natural gas prices in the Reference Case Scenario and in the Low Price Case.

One of the key questions posed by the NEB in the consultation sessions was how can we expect the Canadian exchange rate to change given various price tracks in the three cases considered. Stakeholder feedback suggested that one could expect the exchange rate to be positively influenced by the price of energy, with the exchange rate appreciating as oil prices rise and depreciating as they fall.

Finally, stakeholders suggested that upside risks, such as higher than expected growth should also be identified as a potential uncertainty rather than only focusing on downside risks.

Energy Demand

The key focus of comments surrounded Canadian residential electric demand projections. The preliminary results suggested negative growth for electric demand in the residential sector, influenced by announced government policies for new building codes, retrofits subsidies, new minimum energy efficiency standards for appliances, stand-by limits on common household items and phase out of inefficient lighting by 2012. Stakeholder comments suggested that this level of Canadian demand was understated. Overall, stakeholder expectations see a slowing of residential electric demand growth. However, electric demand growth will remain positive.

A few comments were also received regarding transportation sector energy demand, particularly petroleum product demand. Stakeholders felt that transportation energy demand growth could be lower. The key areas influencing this result would be the potential implications of looming legislation in the United States on the Canadian vehicle fleet as well as future Canadian legislation. For example, improvements in vehicle fuel economy requirements could serve to reduce overall fuel demand and/or fuel standards, such as California's Low Carbon Fuel Standard, could encourage fuel switching away from petroleum products and into other fuels (e.g., ethanol, biodiesel, electricity, etc.).

Crude Oil, Natural Gas and Natural Gas Liquids Supply

Generally, comments received from stakeholders surrounded the need to provide energy market context to the reader in the final report, with many stakeholders suggesting that the ‘story' is as or more important than the projections presented. Requests for information include:

  • Situating Canadian oil and natural gas supply and demand into the global context,
  • Providing cost estimates for oil and gas production,
  • Identifying labour shortages as a potential future issue,
  • Discussing technologies and fuel choices for future oil sands development (e.g., gasification, cogeneration, geothermal), and
  • Highlighting impacts of potential environmental policies (e.g., cap-and-trade legislation).

In terms of the supply outlook, concerns were raised about the likelihood of an in-service date of 2019 for as of yet unknown, large East Coast offshore oil field.

Electricity Supply

The projection for nuclear facilities was the main area for stakeholder feedback. The preliminary analysis calls for the development of two new nuclear facilities in New Brunswick. Some stakeholders felt that the development of one or more of these facilities would not be possible within the timeframe of the analysis given the long lead times for the Environmental Impact Assessment. The preliminary analysis also forecasts a nuclear facility in Alberta. Some stakeholders thought that other technologies would be more likely to go forward, including natural gas or clean coal. Other stakeholders felt that if a nuclear reactor were to go ahead in Western Canada that it would most likely be situated in Saskatchewan.

Wind capacity was also an area of feedback. Some participants felt that the amount of installed wind capacity projected by 2020 was optimistic. This was based on the fact that Canada has to compete globally for the supply of wind turbines. Another concern raised was the uncertainty surrounding integration costs of wind on transmission lines.

Stakeholders also drew attention to unintuitive results for power generation in 2009-2010. Preliminary results show a decrease in hydropower generation in this timeframe coinciding with the economic recession and falling electricity demand. Given the low incremental cost of hydropower, it is more likely that other, less economically-efficient plants would be impacted.

Finally, stakeholders noted that they would like to see the need for additional investment in transmission highlighted in the final report.

Conclusions

The Reference Case Scenario consultations afforded the NEB the opportunity to gather valuable insights from a wide cross-section of Canadians. The input received was enlightening and provided significant value to the final report. In response to the feedback received, revisions to the Reference Case analysis were undertaken. The NEB thanks the many interested participants who again contributed to the success of the final report.

List of Participants and Contributors

Format Table
AJM Petoleum
Alberta Electric System Operator
Alberta Energy Research Institute
Alberta Research Council
AltaGas
Association de l'Aluminium du Canada
Association de l'industrie electrique du
  Quebec (AIEQ)
ATCO Power
Atlantic Provinces Economic Council
BC Hydro and Power Authority
BC Ministry of Energy, Mines and
  Petroleum Resources
BC Statistics
Brookfield Renewable Power
Calgary Energy Consultants Ltd.
Canadian Association for
  Renewable Energies
Canadian Association of
  Petroleum Producers
Canadian Chemical
  Producers' Association
Canadian Clean Power Coalition
Canadian Electricity Association
Canadian Energy Pipeline Association
Canadian Energy Research Institute
Canadian Gas Association
Canadian Geothermal Energy Association
Canadian Hydro Power Association
Canadian Hydrogen and Fuel
  Cell Association
Canadian Nuclear Association
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
Canadian Petroleum Products Institute
CanGEA
Centre for Marine CNG Inc
City of Ottawa
Clean Air Renewable Energy Coalition
COGEN Canada
Eco5 Inc.
EnCana Corporation
Energy Futures Network
Energy Resource Conservation Board
Environment Canada
Finance Canada
Forward Energy Group Inc
Geological Survey of Canada
Geopolitics Central
Government of North West Territories
Green Party of Canada
HEC Montreal
Hydro Quebec
Imperial Oil
Industrial Gas Users Association
Informetrica Ltd
Infrastructure Canada
Jay Gee Projects Ltd.
Manitoba Science, Technology, Energy and Mines
Maritime Electric
Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune
Mouvement Au Courant
National Research Council
Natural Resources Canada
New Brunswick Government
New Brunswick Power Corporation
NOVA Chemicals Corporation
Nova Scotia Department of Energy
Ontario Centres of Excellence for Energy
Ontario Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure
Pembina
Power Workers' Union
Resource Conservation Manitoba
Saskatchewan Industry and Resources
Saskatchewan Ministry of Energy and Resources
Shell
Statistics Canada
Strategy West Inc.
Stratos
Terasen Gas Inc.
TransCanada Pipelines
Transport Canada
University of Alberta - Economics
University of Calgary - Institute for Sustainable Energy,
  Environment and Economy
WhatIF Technologies
WWF Canada
Ziff Energy Group
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Scénario de référence 2009 : Rétroaction tirée des séances de consultation

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avril 2009

Table des matières

Contexte

Introduction

Macroéconomie et hypothèses sur les prix

Demande d’énergie

Offre de pétrole brut, de gaz naturel et de liquides de gaz naturel

Offre d’électricité

Conclusions

Liste des participants et collaborateurs

Contexte

Pour élaborer Scénario de référence 2009 : Offre et demande énergétiques au Canada jusqu’en 2020, l’ONÉ a cherché à connaître l’opinion de Canadiens intéressés aux questions d’énergie. En avril 2009, les résultats préliminaires de l’analyse de l’ONÉ ont été distribués à plus de 550 parties prenantes, y compris des représentants de l’industrie, des gouvernements, d’organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) et du milieu universitaire. Les parties prenantes ont été priées d’examiner les constatations préliminaires et de fournir des commentaires par écrit ou en personne à l’une des deux consultations publiques prévues. Une séance a eu lieu à Calgary, en Alberta, et l’autre à Ottawa, en Ontario. D’autres méthodes ont été envisagées pour recueillir les commentaires des parties prenantes, y compris la vidéoconférence.

Les consultations avaient pour but de donner la chance aux parties prenantes de formuler des commentaires sur la méthodologie et l’analyse de l’offre et de la demande au Canada jusqu’en 2020.

Ce rapport rend compte de la rétroaction reçue des parties prenantes sur la macroéconomie, les hypothèses de prix ainsi que l’offre et la demande d’énergie. Ce sommaire porte sur les aspects de l’analyse qui, de l’avis d’un grand nombre de parties prenantes, devraient être approfondis pour le rapport final. La rétroaction ne reflète pas nécessairement le point de vue de l’ONÉ ni les commentaires de chacune des parties prenantes; elle résume les suggestions recueillies d’un bout à l’autre du pays.

L’ONÉ remercie les nombreux participants pour leurs observations constructives et appréciées. Sans l’aimable participation de nos nombreuses parties prenantes, il n’aurait pas été possible d’obtenir une analyse de qualité.

Introduction

L’ONÉ a actualisé et prolongé l’analyse du scénario de référence 2007 intitulé L’avenir énergétique du Canada - Scénario de référence et scénarios prévisionnels jusqu’à 2030. La mise à jour tient compte des changements aux prévisions futures de prix de l’énergie, de la récession économique mondiale et des autres programmes gouvernementaux adoptés depuis la publication du rapport de 2007. Le rapport final a été publié à l’automne 2009.

Avant de publier les chiffres définitifs, l’ONÉ a fait évaluer l’analyse par des pairs au moyen de consultations nationales auprès des parties prenantes. L’ONÉ a fait circuler les résultats préliminaires du Scénario de référence 2009 en avril de cette année-là. La rétroaction des parties prenantes s’est avérée très constructive. Les parties prenantes apprécient les perspectives complètes de l’offre et de la demande énergétiques, en particulier dans un contexte d’incertitude économique et énergétique. La mise à jour de l’analyse du scénario de référence, faisant ressortir l’évolution rapide du contexte économique et des prévisions de prix, a reçu un appui extraordinaire. Certaines parties prenantes préféraient une mise à jour du scénario Triple-E, inclus dans le Rapport sur l’avenir énergétique de 2007[1] et de plus amples renseignements sur les émissions de gaz à effet de serre reliées aux prévisions du scénario de référence. Enfin, les parties prenantes ont appuyé la méthodologie proposée pour étudier les hypothèses de prix de l’énergie bas et élevés dans le rapport de 2009.

[1] Le scénarioTriple-E était l’un des résultats énergétiques possibles envisagés dans ce rapport. Selon ce scénario, la société recherchait de plus en plus l’équilibre entre les objectifs économiques, environnementaux et énergétiques.

Les commentaires portant sur les principales hypothèses et les résultats quantitatifs de l’analyse préliminaire sont approfondis dans les pages qui suivent.

En avril 20

Macroéconomie et hypothèses de prix

09, l’économie mondiale est plongée dans la récession économique la plus synchrone jamais vue en 50 ans. Ces conditions économiques rendent difficile la prévision de la croissance économique future compte tenu des grandes incertitudes, telles que le moment et la rapidité de la reprise économique, et les questions sur l’évolution à long terme des entreprises. Malgré l’incertitude économique, les commentaires des parties prenantes ont porté peu sur le traitement du ralentissement économique, ce qui porte à croire qu’elles seraient satisfaites de la stratégie de l’ONÉ d’aligner les changements économiques à court terme avec la prévision moyenne canadienne. Les commentaires portaient plutôt sur la part de croissance économique canadienne pour chaque province et l’évolution de la production de biens par rapport au secteur des services au Canada au cours de la prochaine décennie. Ces commentaires s’avèrent particulièrement utiles pour élaborer des perspectives de l’offre et de la demande d’énergie au Canada, car la disponibilité régionale des combustibles, les prix de l’énergie et la demande pour utilisation finale jouent un grand rôle dans la détermination de la répartition et de la demande absolue de consommation de combustible au Canada.

Au cours des années qui ont précédé les séances de consultation, nous avons assisté à grandes oscillations dans les prix du pétrole et du gaz naturel. L’ONÉ a choisi un large éventail de prix de l’énergie pour illustrer les résultats futurs éventuels. Les hypothèses de prix du pétrole ont obtenu un appui général dans les scénarios de référence, de prix bas et de prix élevé. Cependant, les parties prenantes ont voulu voir des prix plus bas pour le gaz naturel dans le scénario de référence et le scénario favorisant des prix peu élevés.

Lors des séances de consultation, l’ONÉ a posé une des questions clés suivantes : comment peut-on s’attendre à ce que le taux de change canadien varie compte tenu des séries de prix différentes dans les trois hypothèses considérées. D’après la rétroaction reçue des parties prenantes, on peut s’attendre à ce que le taux de change soit influencé favorablement par le prix de l’énergie, s’appréciant lorsque les prix du pétrole montent et se dépréciant dans le cas contraire.

Enfin, les parties prenantes ont suggéré de considérer les risques de hausse, tels qu’une croissance plus élevée que prévu, comme une incertitude éventuelle au lieu de focaliser uniquement sur les risques de perte.

Demande d’énergie

Les commentaires ont gravité principalement autour des projections de demande d’électricité résidentielle au Canada. Les résultats préliminaires montrent une croissance négative de la demande d’électricité dans le secteur résidentiel, attribuable aux politiques gouvernementales nouvellement annoncées concernant de nouveaux codes du bâtiment, des subventions pour la rénovation domiciliaire, de nouvelles normes minimales d’efficacité énergétique pour les appareils électriques, des limites sur la puissance en mode veille d’articles de maison courants et l’élimination graduelle de l’éclairage inefficace d’ici 2012. Les parties prenantes sont d’avis que cet aspect de la demande canadienne est sous-estimé. Dans l’ensemble, les parties prenantes prévoient un ralentissement de la croissance de la demande d’électricité résidentielle, laquelle restera toutefois positive.

Quelques commentaires ont porté sur la demande d’énergie du secteur des transports, en particulier celle des produits pétroliers. Les parties prenantes estiment que la croissance de la demande d’énergie du secteur des transports pourrait être plus faible. Les facteurs clés influençant ce résultat seraient les implications éventuelles des lois américaines sur la flotte de véhicules au Canada de même que les futures lois canadiennes. Par exemple, les améliorations à la consommation d’essence par les véhicules pourraient servir à réduire la demande globale de combustible, et les normes, telles que la norme de carburant à basse teneur en carbone prônée en Californie, pourraient encourager l’utilisation de carburants autres que les produits pétroliers (éthanol, biodiesel, électricité, etc.).

Offre de pétrole brut, de gaz naturel et de liquides de gaz naturel

De façon générale, les commentaires reçus des parties prenantes gravitaient autour de la nécessité de fournir un contexte du marché de l’énergie au lecteur dans le rapport final; nombreux sont ceux qui trouvent que « l’histoire » est aussi importante, sinon plus, que les projections présentées. Les demandes d’information comprennent ce qui suit :

  • Situer l’offre et la demande de pétrole et de gaz naturel au Canada dans le contexte mondial.
  • Fournir des estimations de coût pour la production de pétrole et de gaz.
  • Inclure les pénuries de main-d’oeuvre parmi les enjeux éventuels.
  • Discuter de technologies et de choix de combustibles pour la mise en valeur future des sables bitumineux (p. ex., gazéification, cogénération, énergie géothermique).
  • Faire ressortir les effets de politiques environnementales éventuelles (p. ex., loi sur le plafonnement et l’échange du carbone).

En ce qui a trait aux perspectives de l’offre, des inquiétudes ont été soulevées quant à la possibilité d’une date d’entrée en service en 2019 pour de vastes champs pétrolifères encore inconnus sur la côte Est.

Offre d’électricité

La rétroaction des parties prenantes a porté principalement sur les projections concernant les installations nucléaires. L’analyse préliminaire inclut la mise en place de deux installations nucléaires au Nouveau-Brunswick. Certaines parties prenantes estiment que l’établissement d’une ou de plusieurs installations du genre ne serait pas possible selon l’échéancier de l’analyse, vu les longs délais entraînés par l’évaluation des répercussions environnementales. L’analyse préliminaire prévoit aussi une installation nucléaire en Alberta. Certaines parties prenantes croient que d’autres technologies auraient plus de chances d’être mises de l’avant, notamment le gaz naturel ou le charbon épuré. D’autres sont d’avis que si un réacteur nucléaire était installé dans l’Ouest canadien, ce serait fort probablement en Saskatchewan.

La rétroaction a porté aussi sur la capacité éolienne. Certains participants trouvent que la quantité de la puissance installée des éoliennes prévue d’ici 2020 est optimiste. Cela est basé sur le fait que le Canada doit faire face à la concurrence mondiale pour l’approvisionnement en éoliennes. L’incertitude entourant le coût d’intégration de l’énergie éolienne aux lignes de transport faisait partie des préoccupations soulevées.

Les parties prenantes ont attiré l’attention sur les résultats non intuitifs pour la production d’électricité en 2009-2010. Les résultats préliminaires montrent une diminution de la production hydroélectrique pendant cette période, ce qui coïncide avec la récession et la demande d’électricité à la baisse. Étant donné le coût marginal peu élevé de l’hydroélectricité, il est plus probable que d’autres usines moins efficaces du point de vue économique seraient touchées.

Enfin, les parties prenantes ont noté qu’elles aimeraient voir le besoin d’investir davantage dans le transport, mis en évidence dans le rapport final.

Conclusions

Les consultations du scénario de référence ont fourni à l’ONÉ l’occasion de recueillir les opinions précieuses d’un grand échantillon représentatif de Canadiens. La participation obtenue a été informative et a beaucoup aidé à la rédaction du rapport final. En réponse à la rétroaction obtenue, des modifications à l’analyse du scénario de référence ont été entreprises. L’ONÉ remercie les nombreux participants intéressés qui ont contribué au succès du rapport final.

Liste des participants et collaborateurs

Tableau de formatage
AJM Petroleum
Alberta Electric System Operator
Alberta Energy Research Institute
Alberta Energy Resources Conservation Board
Alberta Research Council
AltaGas
Association canadienne de l’électricité
Association canadienne de
  l’hydroélectricité
Association canadienne de l’hydrogène et
  des piles à combustible
Association canadienne de pipelines d’énergie
Association canadienne des fabricants
  de produits chimiques
Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers
Association canadienne du gaz
Association canadienne pour les
  énergies renouvelables
Association de l’industrie électrique du
  Québec (AIEQ)
Association des consommateurs industriels
  de gaz
Association nucléaire canadienne
ATCO Power
BC Hydro and Power Authority
BC Statistics
Brookfield Renewable Power
Calgary Energy Consultants Ltd.
Canadian Clean Power Coalition
Canadian Geothermal Energy Association
CanGEA
Centre d’excellence de l’Ontario pour l’énergie
Centre for Marine CNG Inc.
Clean Air Renewable Energy Coalition
COGENCanada
Commission canadienne de la sûreté nucléaire
Commission géologique du Canada
Conseil économique des provinces de l’Atlantique
Eco5 Inc.
EnCana Corporation
Energy Futures Network
Environnement Canada
Finances Canada
Forward Energy Group Inc
Geopolitics Central
Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest
Gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick
HEC Montréal
Hydro-Québec
Imperial Oil
Informetrica Limited
Infrastructure Canada
Institut canadien de recherche énergétique
Institut canadien des produits pétroliers
Jay Gee Projects Ltd.
Maritime Electric
Ministère de l’Énergie de la Nouvelle-Écosse
Ministère de l’Énergie et de l’Infrastructure de l’Ontario
Ministère de l’Énergie et des Ressources de la Saskatchewan
Ministère de l’Industrie et des Ressources
  de la Saskatchewan
Ministère des mines, de l’énergie et des
  ressources  pétrolières de la C.-B.
Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune
Mouvement Au Courant
National Research Council
NOVA Chemicals Corporation
Parti Vert du Canada
Pembina
Resource Conservation Manitoba
Ressources naturelles Canada
Syndicat des travailleurs et travailleuses du
  secteur énergétique
Sciences, Technologie, Énergie et Mines Manitoba
Shell
Société d’énergie du Nouveau-Brunswick
Statistique Canada
Strategy West Inc.
Stratos
Terasen Gas Inc.
TransCanada PipeLines
Transports Canada
University of Alberta - Économie
University of Calgary - Institute for Sustainable Energy,
  Environment and Economy
Ville d’Ottawa
WhatIF Technologies
WWF-Canada
Ziff Energy Group

 

Date de modification :