Feature Article: 30th Anniversary of the Deregulation of Canada’s Natural Gas Prices


Release Date: 2015-11-16

On 31 October 1985, the federal government and the gas producing provinces of British Columbia, Alberta, and Saskatchewan signed the Agreement on Natural Gas Markets and Prices (Halloween Agreement or Agreement). This replaced government-controlled natural gas pricing with market-determined prices, and separated sales of gas from sales of transmission services by establishing open access for shippers on natural gas pipelines. Restrictions on exports from Canada were also relaxed, further opening the U.S. market to Canadian natural gas producers.

The Halloween Agreement was preceded by the Western Accord, a March 1985 agreement between the federal government and the provinces of Alberta, British Columbia and Saskatchewan that allowed for a transition to freely negotiated prices for oil and natural gas. Both the Agreement and the Western Accord were based on the concept of allowing market forces to determine the most efficient allocation between supply and demand, thereby increasing investment, employment, and trade, providing energy security for Canadians, and promoting competitive pricing.

Prior to the Agreement, the federal government and producing provinces negotiated natural gas prices, with an eye to changes in crude oil prices. Consequently, prices did not increase or decrease daily in response to market conditions. Natural gas export prices and volumes were also regulated by the federal government. Additionally, TransCanada PipeLines, the main transmission pipeline to eastern markets, bundled its transportation charges and natural gas commodity costs together under long-term contracts with consumers in Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, and Quebec. This effectively made the pipeline a merchant of delivered natural gas, as consumers were unable to negotiate directly with producers.

Figure Source and Data

Source: CAPP Statistical Handbook, Natural Gas Average Wellhead/Plant Gate Price Dollars, Table 05-01A, 05-01B.

Description: This chart illustrates Western Canadian natural gas prices in nominal and real (inflation-adjusted) terms. Nominal natural gas prices were about $3.25/GJ when the Halloween Agreement was signed, and then fell and remained less than $3/GJ until 1999. Prices between 2000 and 2007 were higher and more volatile, and have since come down to near the same level as during the time of deregulation. Real natural gas prices in the years leading up to deregulation were around $8/GJ in constant 2014$, more than double the level of prices in October 2015.

During the initial years following deregulationFootnote 1, natural gas prices declined due to increased competition, excess productive capacity in Canada, and a general decline in global energy prices. Production, exports, and revenues increased despite lower prices, however, as markets in the U.S. became more accessible to Canadian producers through new pipelinesFootnote 2. Between 1986 and 1995, natural gas production doubled, increasing from 7.25 Bcf/d to 14.7 Bcf/d. Net-export revenues increased from $2.5 billion in 1986 to $5.5 billion in 1995.

In the early 2000s, natural gas prices increased as demand rose while combined Canadian and U.S. production remained steady. At that time, prices were expected to continue to rise, and this encouraged the development of new liquefied natural gas import infrastructure. By the late 2000s, however, rapid growth in natural gas production from shale and tight formations in Canada and the U.S. significantly increased supply and decreased prices.

Figure Sources and Data

Sources: CAPP, EIA, NEB

Description: This chart illustrates natural gas disposition in Canada from 1947 to 2015. Canadian natural gas production is depicted by the area graph. Natural gas demand in Canada and net-exports are depicted by the two line graphs. Between 1947 and 2015, natural gas demand grew steadily at an average rate of 6.5 per cent per year. Production and net exports increased significantly following the Agreement and deregulation of prices, but starting in the early 2000s, natural gas production and net-exports started to decrease. In 2015, marketable natural gas production averaged 14.6 Bcf/d, while net exports averaged 5.5 Bcf/d.

Without the Western Accord and the Halloween Agreement, North American energy markets – one of the few in the world where buyers and sellers are able to freely negotiate prices – would look significantly different than they do today.

 

Date modified:

Article Vedette : 30ème anniversaire de la déréglementation des prix du gaz naturel

Date de diffusion : 2015-11-16

Le 31 octobre 1985, le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces productrices de gaz – la Colombie Britannique, l’Alberta et la Saskatchewan – ont signé l'Entente sur les marchés et les prix du gaz naturel (l’Entente de 1985). L’Entente de 1985 mettait fin à la tarification du gaz naturel contrôlée par l’État et dissociait les ventes de gaz des ventes de services de transport, en procurant aux expéditeurs un libre accès aux pipelines de gaz naturel. Elle modifiait également les conditions d’exportation, ouvrant davantage le marché américain aux producteurs de gaz naturel canadien.

L’Entente de 1985 avait été précédée de l’Accord de l’Ouest, conclu en mars 1985 entre le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces de l’Alberta, de la Colombie-Britannique et de la Saskatchewan, qui assurait la transition vers des prix entièrement négociés pour le pétrole et le gaz naturel. À la base de l’Entente de 1985 et l’Accord de l’Ouest se trouvait l’idée que permettre aux forces du marché d’équilibrer de la façon la plus efficace possible l’offre et la demande favoriserait les investissements, la création d’emplois et le commerce, garantirait la sécurité énergétique des Canadiens et encouragerait la concurrence dans les prix.

Avant la signature de l’Entente de 1985, le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces productrices négociaient les prix du gaz en tenant compte des fluctuations des prix du pétrole brut. De la sorte, on évitait que les prix fluctuent quotidiennement en fonction des conditions du marché. De plus, le gouvernement fédéral réglementait les volumes et les prix du gaz naturel exportés. Enfin, TransCanada PipeLines, qui possédait le principal réseau de transport vers les marchés de l’Est, a unifié ses frais de transport et les coûts d’achat de gaz naturel en signant des contrats à long terme avec des consommateurs établis en Saskatchewan, au Manitoba, en Ontario et au Québec. Dans la pratique, cela a fait de la pipelinière une commerçante de gaz naturel livré, les consommateurs n’étant pas en mesure de négocier directement avec les producteurs.

Source et description

Source : CAPP Statistical Handbook, Prix moyen, en dollars, du gaz naturel à la tête de puits/entrée de l’usine, tableau 05-01A, 05-01B.

Description : Ce diagramme illustre les prix nominaux et réels (indexés) du gaz naturel provenant de l’Ouest canadien. Au moment de la signature de l’Entente de 1985, le prix nominal du gaz naturel se situait autour de 3,25 $/GJ; après celle-ci, il a chuté et n’a pas remonté au dessus de 3 $/GJ avant 1999. De 2000 à 2007, les prix ont été plus élevés, mais plus instables; ils sont depuis presque revenus au niveau où ils se trouvaient au moment de la déréglementation. Les prix réels du gaz naturel durant les années qui ont précédé la déréglementation se situaient autour de 8 $/GJ, en dollars constants de 2014, soit plus du double des prix enregistrés en octobre 2015.

Dans les premières années de la déréglementationNote de bas de page 1, les prix ont faibli, conséquence de la concurrence plus vive, d’une trop grande capacité de production au Canada et d’une baisse générale des prix de l’énergie à l’échelle mondiale. En dépit de ces prix plus bas, la production, les exportations et les produits financiers ont augmenté, phénomène qui s’explique par l’aménagement de nouveaux pipelines qui ont rendu les marchés américains plus accessibles aux producteurs canadiensNote de bas de page 2. De 1986 à 1995, la production de gaz naturel a doublé, passant de 7,25 Gpi³/j à 14,7 Gpi³/j. Les revenus nets tirés des exportations ont bondi, de 2,5 milliards de dollars en 1986 à 5,5 milliards en 1995.

Au début des années 2000, les prix du gaz naturel ont augmenté, résultat d’une demande plus forte et d’une production stable au Canada et aux États-Unis. À l’époque, on s’attendait à ce que la hausse des prix dure, ce qui a conduit à la mise en place d’une nouvelle infrastructure pour l’importation de gaz naturel liquéfié. Or, vers la fin des années 2000, la croissance rapide de la production de gaz naturel provenant des formations schisteuses et des réservoirs étanches, au Canada comme aux États-Unis, a fait monter en flèche l’offre et chuter les prix.

Sources et description

Sources : ACPP, EIA, Office

Description : Ce diagramme montre l’utilisation faite du gaz naturel au Canada, de 1947 à 2015. Le diagramme en aires illustre la production de gaz naturel canadien. La demande de gaz naturel au Canada et les exportations nettes sont représentées par les deux lignes. De 1947 à 2015, la demande de gaz naturel a enregistré une croissance annuelle constante de 6,5 % en moyenne. La production et les exportations nettes ont considérablement augmenté après la signature de l’Entente de 1985 et la déréglementation des prix, jusqu’au début des années 2000, où elles ont commencé à fléchir. En 2015, la production de gaz naturel commercialisable s’établissait, en moyenne, à 14,6 Gpi³/j et les exportations nettes moyennes à 5,5 Gpi³/j.

Sans l’Accord de l’Ouest et l’Entente de 1985, le portrait du marché énergétique nord américain – l’un des rares au monde où les acheteurs et les vendeurs peuvent négocier librement les prix – serait bien différent de celui que nous connaissons aujourd’hui.

 

Date de modification :