Provincial and Territorial Energy Profiles - British Columbia

Table of Contents
  • Figure 1: Hydrocarbon Production

    Figure 1: Hydrocarbon Production

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB (Crude oil, natural gas)

    Description:
    This graph shows hydrocarbon production in B.C. from 2006 to 2016. Over this period, increased from 37.4 Mb/d to 61 Mb/d. Natural gas production increased from 2.6 Bcf/d to 4.4 Bcf/d.

  • Figure 2: Electricity Generation by Fuel Type (2016)

    Figure 2: Electricity Generation by Fuel Type (2016)

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB

    Description:
    This pie chart shows electricity generation by source in B.C. A total of 74.5 TW.h of electricity was generated in 2016.

  • Figure 3: Electricity Capacity and Primary Fuel Sources Map

    Figure 3: Electricity Capacity and Primary Fuel Sources in British Columbia Map

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB, Natural Resources Canada

    Description:
    This map shows electricity generation facilities in B.C. Facilities are shown by capacity and by primary fuel source.

    Download:
    PDF version [1320 KB]

  • Figure 4: Crude Oil Infrastructure Map

    Figure 4: Crude Oil Infrastructure in British Columbia Map

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB

    Description:
    This map shows all major crude oil pipelines, rail lines, and refineries in B.C.

    Download:
    PDF version [440 KB]

  • Figure 5: Natural Gas Infrastructure Map

    Figure 5: Natural Gas Infrastructure in British Columbia Map

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB

    Description:
    This map shows all major natural gas pipelines in B.C.

    Download:
    PDF version [560 KB]

  • Figure 6: End-Use Demand by Sector (2015)

    Figure 6: End-Use Demand by Sector (2015)

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB

    Description:
    This pie chart shows end-use energy demand in B.C. by sector. Total end-use energy demand was 1 168 PJ in 2015. The largest sector was industrial at 48 % of total demand, followed by transportation (at 29 %), residential (at 12 %), and lastly, commercial (at 11 %).

  • Figure 7: End-Use Demand by Fuel (2015)

    Figure 7: End-Use Demand by Fuel (2015)

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB

    Description:
    This figure shows end-use demand by fuel type in B.C. in 2015. Refined petroleum products accounted for 431 PJ (37 %) of demand, followed by natural gas at 355 PJ (30 %), electricity at 193 PJ (17 %), biofuels at 182 PJ (16 %), and other at 8 PJ (less than 1 %).

    Note: "Other" includes coal, coke, and coke oven gas.

  • Figure 8: GHG Emissions by Sector (2015)

    Figure 8: GHG Emissions by Sector (2015)

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    Environment and Climate Change Canada – National Inventory Report

    Description:
    This stacked column graph shows GHG emissions in B.C. by sector every five years from 1990 to 2015 in MT of CO2e. Total GHG emissions have increased in B.C. from 52 MT of CO2e in 1990 to 61 MT of CO2e in 2015.

Energy Production

Crude Oil

  • British Columbia (B.C.) produced 62.6 thousand barrels per day (Mb/d) of crude oil in 2016 (Figure 1). All B.C. production is light oil (conventional light or pentanes plus), and is generally from the northeast portion of the province.
  • B.C.’s production represented 1.6% of total Canadian production, ranking it 4th after Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Newfoundland and Labrador.

Refined Petroleum Products (RPPs)

  • B.C. has two refineries with a combined capacity of 70 Mb/d: Husky in Prince George and Parkland in Burnaby.
  • Husky has a capacity of 13 Mb/d and mostly consumes light and synthetic crude oil from western Canada. 
  • Parkland has a capacity of 57 Mb/d and mostly consumes heavier western Canadian crude transported via the Trans Mountain Pipeline. Parkland Fuels acquired the refinery from Chevron in April 2017.

Natural Gas/Natural Gas Liquids (NGLs)

  • In 2016, natural gas production in B.C. averaged 4.5 billion cubic feet per day (Bcf/d) (Figure 1). B.C.’s production represented about 29% of total Canadian natural gas production in 2016.
  • Natural gas is produced in the northeastern part of B.C., led by the Montney formation. Development of tight gas in the Montney is the primary factor behind B.C.’s gas production doubling between 2006 and 2016.
  • Other significant gas resources are located in the Horn River and Liard Basins. B.C.’s marketable natural gas resource has been assessed by the NEB at 576 trillion cubic feet (Tcf), with 547.5 Tcf remaining at year-end 2015.
  • In 2016, field production of NGLs was 65 Mb/d. B.C.’s NGL production represents about 9% of total Canadian production. Small volumes of propane and butane are also produced at B.C.’s two refineries.
  • AltaGas’ Ridley Island Propane Export Terminal announced a final investment decision in January 2017. The facility will be constructed near Price Rupert and will transport a maximum of 46 Mb/d of propane to Asia-Pacific markets when completed in 2019.

Electricity and Renewables

  • In 2016, B.C. generated 74.5 terawatt hours (TW.h) of electricity (Figure 2), which is approximately 11% of total Canadian generation. B.C. is the 4th largest producer of electricity in Canada and has a generating capacity of 17 717 megawatts (MW).
  • BC Hydro generates most of B.C.’s electricity. Independent power producers operate several smaller hydroelectric plants as well as all the biomass and wind facilities.
  • About 88% of electricity in B.C. is produced from hydroelectric sources. B.C. is home to over 15 700 MW of hydroelectric capacity, most of which is located on the Columbia River in southeastern B.C. and the Peace River in northeastern B.C (Figure 3). Site C, a new large hydroelectric facility, is currently under construction on the Peace River.
  • BC Hydro is also entitled to half of the power generated on the Columbia River in the U.S. as a result of the Columbia River Treaty, which was signed in 1961. The agreement was created to manage water flows and downstream flooding in the United States (U.S.). The Columbia River Basin provides over 40% of B.C.’s electrical power.
  • Biomass, which relies mostly on waste from B.C.’s extensive forestry industry, is used to generate about 9% of B.C.’s electricity. Other sources of power include wind, natural gas, and petroleum (used in off-grid communities).

Energy Transportation and Trade

Crude Oil and Liquids

  • There are two major crude oil pipelines in B.C.: Kinder Morgan’s Trans Mountain Pipeline and Pembina’s NEBC/Western Pipeline (Figure 4).
  • The Trans Mountain Pipeline delivers crude oil and refined petroleum products from Edmonton, Alberta to Kamloops, Burnaby, and the U.S. In November 2016, the Government of Canada granted approval for the Trans Mountain Expansion Project, which would increase system capacity from the current 300 Mb/d to 890 Mb/d.
  • The NEBC/Western Pipeline has a 50 Mb/d capacity and ships crude oil from Taylor, B.C. to the Prince George refinery and to an interconnect with Trans Mountain in Kamloops. The NEBC portion of the system transports liquids, including condensate produced in the Montney region, to Taylor.
  • There are two crude oil rail offloading facilities in B.C., both located in Burnaby. The Parkland refinery has a facility capable of offloading about 7 Mb/d of crude oil. Nearby, Bulk Plus operates a facility capable of offloading about 3 Mb/d of crude oil. 

Natural Gas

  • In general, natural gas produced in B.C. is either: delivered to demand centres in B.C. on pipelines operated by Spectra Westcoast, FortisBC, or Pacific Northern Gas (PNG); exported to Alberta and beyond on TransCanada’s Nova Gas Transmission Limited system; or exported to the U.S. (Figure 5).
  • B.C. natural gas is exported to the U.S. Pacific Northwest at the Huntingdon export point, where Westcoast connects with Williams’ Northwest Pipeline; or exported to the U.S. Midwest via the Alliance Pipeline, which runs through Alberta to the Alameda, Saskatchewan export point.
  • FortisBC distributes gas to approximately 1.1 million customers in 135 communities on over
    2 800 kilometres (km) of pipelines. PNG serves approximately 40 thousand customers in the corridor between Summit Lake and Prince Rupert, and in the Fort St. John and Dawson Creek area. FortisBC and PNG are provincially regulated by the British Columbia Utilities Commission (BCUC).

Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG)

  • FortisBC operates the small-scale Tilbury Island LNG facility near Vancouver. The facility has been in operation since 1971 and serves local markets during peak winter demand. Tilbury also provides LNG for fleet vehicles and in recent years started producing LNG for electricity generation in Whitehorse, Yukon and Inuvik, NWT.
  • Tilbury has a current storage capacity of 560 million cubic feet (MMcf) and liquefaction capabilities of 4.7 MMcf/d. An expansion of the facility is scheduled for completion in 2017. Once complete, storage capacity will almost double to 1 025 MMcf and liquefaction capabilities will increase nearly five-fold to 31.7 MMcf/d.
  • Several more small-scale LNG plants are proposed near Fort Nelson, B.C.
  • Many large-scale LNG export facilities have been proposed for the B.C. coast. Since 2010, the NEB has issued 26 natural gas export licenses for B.C. projects. To date, none have started construction, but Pacific Oil & Gas Limited’s Woodfibre LNG project near Squamish did reach a final investment decision in 2016 and clean-up work of the site commenced in 2017.
  • All LNG export facilities would be regulated by the BCUC.

Electricity

  • In 2016, B.C.’s net electricity exports were 5.5 TW.h. B.C. trades primarily with the U.S., and to a lesser extent, Alberta.
  • On an annual basis, B.C. is occasionally a net importer of electricity but because of its ability to buy electricity from the U.S. when prices are lower and sell to the U.S. when prices are higher, B.C. often has a positive trade revenue balance.
  • B.C. has more than 18 000 km of electricity transmission lines and more than 55 000 km of distribution lines. Four interconnections link B.C.’s electricity system with systems in Alberta and the U.S.

Energy Consumption and Greenhouse Gas (GHG) Emissions

Total Energy Consumption

  • End-use demand in B.C. was 1 168 petajoules (PJ) in 2015. The largest sector for energy demand was industrial at 48% of total demand, followed by transportation at 29%, residential at 13%, and commercial at 11% (Figure 6). B.C.’s total energy demand was the fourth largest in Canada, but the sixth largest on a per capita basis.
  • Refined petroleum products, including gasoline and diesel, were the largest fuel-type consumed in B.C., accounting for 431 PJ, or 37%. Natural gas, electricity and biofuels accounted for 355 PJ (30%), 193 PJ (17%) and 182 PJ (16%), respectively (Figure 7). B.C. is the largest biofuels consumer in Canada   in absolute and in percentage terms   primarily because of its large forestry sector that generates electricity from waste wood.

Refined Petroleum Products

  • Most of the gasoline consumed in B.C. comes from Alberta, delivered primarily via the Trans Mountain Pipeline. Gasoline is also produced in B.C.’s two refineries. Less than 10% the gasoline consumed in B.C. is imported via ship or barge from the U.S. Pacific Northwest.
  • B.C. is the fourth largest Canadian market for RPPs, after Ontario, Quebec, and Alberta. Total 2016 demand in B.C. for RPPs was 197 Mb/d, or 11% of total Canadian RPP demand. Of B.C.’s total demand, 87 Mb/d was for motor gasoline and an estimated 66 Mb/d was for diesel.

Natural Gas Consumption

  • B.C. consumed an average of 0.76 Bcf/d of natural gas in 2016, which represented 9% of total Canadian demand.
  • The largest consuming sector for natural gas was the industrial sector, which consumed 0.47 Bcf/d in 2016. The residential and commercial sectors consumed 0.14 Bcf/d and 0.11 Bcf/d, respectively.

Electricity Consumption

  • In 2015, annual electricity consumption per capita in B.C. was 11.2 megawatt hours (MW.h). B.C. ranked 9th in Canada for per capita electricity consumption and consumed 23% less than the national average.
  • B.C.’s largest consuming sector for electricity in 2015 was industrial at 23.8 TW.h. The residential and commercial sectors consumed 16.8 TW.h and 12.6 TW.h, respectively. B.C.’s electricity demand has decreased 13% since 2005.

GHG Emissions

  • B.C.’s GHG emissions in 2015 were 60.9 megatonnes (MT) of carbon dioxide equivalent (CO2e). Emissions have increased 17% since 1990.Footnote 1
  • B.C.’s emissions per capita are one of the lowest in Canada, at 12.8 tonnes of CO2e – 36% below the national average of 20.1 tonnes per capita.
  • The largest emitting sectors in B.C. are transportation at 37% of emissions, oil and gas at 22%, and buildings (residential and commercial) at 12% (Figure 8).
  • B.C.’s GHG emissions from the oil and gas sector in 2015 were 13.7 MT CO2e. Of this total, 12.9 MT were attributable to production, processing, and transmission and 0.8 MT were attributable to petroleum refining and natural gas distribution.
  • About 98% of the electricity produced in B.C. comes from renewable sources. In 2015, B.C.’s power sector generated 0.4 MT CO2e emissions, which represents 0.5% of Canada’s total GHG emissions from power generation.

More Information

 

Date modified:

Profils énergétiques des provinces et territoires – Colombie-Britannique

Table des matières
  • Figure 1 : Production d’hydrocarbures

    Figure 1 : Production d’hydrocarbures

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office (pétrole brut, gaz naturel)

    Description :
    Ce graphique illustre la production d’hydrocarbures en Colombie-Britannique de 2006 à 2016. Au cours de cette période, la production a augmenté, passant de 37,4 kb/j à 61 kb/j. La production de gaz naturel a progressé, passant de 2,6 Gpi3/j à 4,4 Gpi3/j.

  • Figure 2 :Production d’électricité par type de combustible (2016)

    Figure 2 :Production d’électricité par type de  combustible (2016)

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office

    Description :
    Ce diagramme circulaire illustre la production d’électricité en Colombie-Britannique par méthode de production. En 2016, la production totale d’électricité s’est élevée à 74,5 TWh.

  • Figure 3 : Carte de la capacité de production d’électricité et des sources de combustible primaire

    Figure 3 : Carte de la capacité de production d’électricité et des sources de combustible primaire

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office, Ressources naturelles Canada

    Description :
    Cette carte montre les installations de production d’électricité en Colombie-Britannique. On y indique leur capacité et leur source du combustible primaire.

    Télécharger :
    Version PDF [2300 KB]

  • Figure 4 : Carte de l’infrastructure de pétrole brut

    Figure 4 : Carte de l’infrastructure de pétrole brut

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office

    Description :
    Cette carte montre tous les principaux oléoducs ainsi que les principales voies ferrées et raffineries en Colombie-Britannique.

    Télécharger :
    Version PDF [517 KB]

  • Figure 5 : Carte de l’infrastructure de gaz naturel

    Figure 5 : Carte de l’infrastructure de gaz naturel

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office

    Description :
    Cette carte montre tous les principaux gazoducs en Colombie-Britannique.

    Télécharger :
    Version PDF [703 KB]

  • Figure 6 : Demande pour utilisation finale par secteur (2015)

    Figure 6 : Demande pour utilisation finale par secteur (2015)

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office

    Description :
    Ce diagramme circulaire présente la demande d’énergie pour utilisation finale en Colombie-Britannique par secteur. En 2015, la demande d’énergie pour utilisation finale a totalisé 1 168 PJ. Le secteur industriel venait au premier rang avec 48 % de la demande totale, suivi du secteur des transports (29 %) et des secteurs résidentiel (12 %) et commercial (11 %).

  • Figure 7 : Demande pour utilisation finale par combustible (2015)

    Figure 7 : Demande pour utilisation finale par combustible (2015)

    Source et description :

    Source :
    NEB

    Description :
    Cette figure illustre la demande pour utilisation finale par type de combustible en Colombie-Britannique en 2015. Les produits pétroliers raffinés ont compté pour 431 PJ (37 %) de la demande, suivis du gaz naturel, avec 355 PJ (30 %), de l’électricité, à 193 PJ (17 %), des biocarburants, à 182 PJ (16 %) et des autres, à 8 PJ (moins de 1 %).

    Remarque : Les « autres » désignent charbon, coke et gaz de cokerie.

  • Figure 8 : Émissions de GES par secteur

    Figure 8 : Émissions de GES par secteur

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Rapport d'inventaire national

    Description :
    Ce graphique à colonnes empilées illustre les émissions de GES en Colombie-Britannique par tranches de cinq ans, de 1990 à 2015 en Mt d’éq. CO2. Les émissions totales de GES ont augmenté en Colombie-Britannique, passant de 52 Mt d’éq. CO2 en 1990 à 61 Mt d’éq. CO2 en 2015.

Production d’énergie

Pétrole brut

  • En 2016, la Colombie-Britannique a produit 62,6 milliers de barils de pétrole brut par jour (kb/j) (figure 1), composée exclusivement de pétrole léger (léger classique ou pentanes plus) et provenant principalement du nord-est de la province.
  • La production de la Colombie-Britannique représente 1,6 % de la production canadienne totale, ce qui la place au quatrième rang, derrière l’Alberta, la Saskatchewan et Terre Neuve-et-Labrador.

Produits pétroliers raffinés

  • La Colombie-Britannique compte deux raffineries d’une capacité totale de 70 kb/j : Husky [anglai seulement] à Prince George et Parkland à Burnaby.
  • La raffinerie Husky a une capacité de 13 kb/j et est surtout alimentée en pétrole léger et en pétrole brut synthétique de l’Ouest canadien. 
  • La raffinerie Parkland a une capacité de 57 kb/j et consomme surtout du pétrole brut plus lourd de l’Ouest canadien acheminé par le pipeline Trans Mountain. Pétroles Parkland a acheté la raffinerie de Chevron en avril 2017.

Gaz naturel et liquides de gaz naturel (LGN)

  • En 2016, on a produit, en moyenne, 4,5 milliards de pieds cubes par jour (Gpi3/j) de gaz naturel en Colombie-Britannique (figure 1), soit environ 29 % de la production canadienne totale cette année-là.
  • Le gaz naturel est produit dans la partie nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique, principalement dans la formation de Montney. La mise en valeur du gaz de réservoirs étanches de cette formation est le principal facteur qui a permis à la Colombie-Britannique de doubler sa production de gaz de 2006 à 2016.
  • Les autres ressources gazières importantes se trouvent dans les bassins des rivières Horn et Liard. L’Office national de l’énergie a estimé les ressources commercialisables de gaz naturel de la Colombie Britannique à quelque 576 mille milliards de pieds cubes (Tpi3), dont 547,5 Tpi3 restants à la fin de 2015.
  • En 2016, la production des champs de LGN en Colombie-Britannique s’est élevée à 65 kb/j et et représentait environ 9 % de la production canadienne totale. Les deux raffineries de la Colombie Britannique ont aussi produit du propane et du butane en petites quantités.
  • Le terminal d’exportation de propane de l’île [anglais seulement]  d’AltaGas a annoncé une décision d’investissement finale en janvier 2017. L’installation sera construite près de Prince Rupert et transportera jusqu’à 46 kb/j de propane vers les marchés de l’Asie-Pacifique à son achèvement en 2019.

Électricité et ressources renouvelables

  • En 2016, la Colombie-Britannique a produit 74,5 térawattheures (TWh) d’électricité (figure 2), ce qui correspond approximativement à 11 % de la production totale d’électricité au Canada. La Colombie-Britannique vient au quatrième rang au pays à ce chapitre, avec une capacité de production de 17 717 mégawatts (MW).
  • BC Hydro [anglais seulement] produit la majeure partie de l’électricité en Colombie-Britannique. Des producteurs indépendants exploitent plusieurs centrales hydroélectriques plus petites ainsi que toutes les installations de transformation de la biomasse et les parcs éoliens.
  • Environ 88 % de l’électricité produite en Colombie-Britannique provient de ressources hydroélectriques, qui ont une capacité de près de 15 700 MW. La plus grande partie de cette capacité se trouve sur le fleuve Columbia, dans le sud-est de la province, et sur la rivière de la Paix, dans le nord-est (figure 3). Le site C [anglais seulement] est une grande centrale hydroélectrique qui est en construction sur la rivière de la Paix.
  • BC Hydro a également droit à la moitié de l’électricité produite sur le fleuve Columbia aux États Unis en vertu du Traité du fleuve Columbia [anglais seaulement], signé en 1961. L’entente visait à gérer l’écoulement des eaux et les inondations en aval aux États Unis. Le bassin du fleuve Columbia permet de produire plus de 40 % de l’électricité de la Colombie Britannique
  • La biomasse, qui dépend surtout des déchets de la grande industrie forestière de la Colombie Britannique, produit environ 9 % de l’électricité de la province. Les autres sources d’énergie comprennent l’énergie éolienne, le gaz naturel et le pétrole (utilisées dans les collectivités qui ne sont pas raccordées au réseau électrique).

Transport et commerce de l’énergie

Pétrole brut et liquides

  • On trouve deux grands oléoducs en Colombie-Britannique : le  pipeline Trans Mountain de Kinder Morgan et le pipeline du Nord-Est de la Colombie-Britannique et de l’Ouest de Pembina [anglais seulement](figure 4).
  • Le pipeline Trans Mountain achemine du pétrole brut et des produits pétroliers raffinés d’Edmonton, en Alberta, à Kamloops et Burnaby, en Colombie-Britannique, ainsi qu’aux États-Unis. En novembre 2016, le gouvernement du Canada a approuvé le projet d’agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain, qui fera passer la capacité actuelle du réseau de 300 kb/j à 890 kb/j.
  • Le pipeline du Nord-Est de la Colombie-Britannique et de l’Ouest de Pembina a une capacité de 50 kb/j et expédie du pétrole brut depuis Taylor, en Colombie-Britannique, jusqu’à la raffinerie de Prince George et jusqu’à un point de raccordement au pipeline Trans Mountain à Kamloops. Le tronçon du nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique du réseau transporte des liquides, dont des condensats produits dans la région de Montney, jusqu’à Taylor.
  • On trouve deux installations de déchargement ferroviaire pour le pétrole brut en Colombie Britannique, toutes deux à Burnaby. La raffinerie Parkland possède des installations qui peuvent décharger environ 7 kb/j de pétrole brut. À proximité, Bulk Plus exploite une installation permettant de décharger environ 3 kb/j de pétrole brut. 

Gaz naturel

  • En général, le gaz naturel produit en Colombie-Britannique est livré aux centres de demande de la province par des pipelines exploités par Spectra Westcoast, FortisBC [anglais seulement] ou Pacific Northern Gas [anglais seulement] (PNG); acheminé vers l’Alberta et au-delà par le réseau de Nova Gas Transmission Limited de TransCanada; ou exporté vers les États-Unis (figure 5).
  • Le gaz naturel de la Colombie-Britannique est exporté vers les États du nord-ouest américain à partir du point d’exportation de Huntingdon, où le pipeline Westcoast se raccorde au Northwest Pipeline [anglais seulement] de la société Williams, ou vers le Midwest américain par le gazoduc Alliance, qui traverse l’Alberta et se rend jusqu’au point d’exportation situé à Alameda, en Saskatchewan.
  • FortisBC [anglais seulement] distribue du gaz naturel à environ 1,1 million de clients établis dans 135 collectivités au moyen de plus de 2 800 km de canalisations. PNG dessert approximativement 40 000 clients dans un couloir s’étendant de Summit Lake à Prince Rupert, et dans les régions de Fort St. John et de Dawson Creek. FortisBC et PNG Gas sont assujetties à la réglementation provinciale de la British Columbia Utilities Commission [anglais seulement] (BCUC).

Gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL)

  • FortisBC exploite la modeste usine de GNL de l’île Tilbury [anglais seulement], près de Vancouver. En activité depuis 1971, cette installation dessert les marchés locaux durant les périodes de pointe en hiver. L’usine de Tilbury fournit également du GNL pour les parcs de véhicules et, depuis quelques années, elle en produit pour la production d’électricité à Whitehorse, au Yukon, et à Inuvik, aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest.
  • Actuellement, l’usine de Tilbury possède une capacité de stockage de 560 millions de pieds cubes (Mpi3) et une capacité de liquéfaction de 4,7 Mpi3/j. Un agrandissement est en cours et devrait être terminé en 2017; il doublera presque la capacité de stockage, pour la porter à 1 025 Mpi3, et quintuplera presque la capacité de liquéfaction, qui s’élèvera alors à 31,7 Mpi3/j.
  • Plusieurs autres usines de GNL, de plus petite taille, sont proposées près de Fort Nelson, en Colombie-Britannique.
  • De nombreuses installations d’exportation de GNL de grande capacité ont été proposées sur le littoral de la Colombie-Britannique. Depuis 2010, l’Office national de l’énergie a délivré 26 licences d’exportation de gaz naturel pour des projets dans la province. Jusqu’à présent, aucun projet n’est encore parvenu à l’étape de la construction, mais le projet Woodfibre LNG [anglais seulement] de Pacific Oil & Gas Limited près de Squamish a atteint le stade de la décision d’investissement finale en 2016, et les travaux de préparation du site ont commencé en 2017.
  • Toutes les installations d’exportation de GNL seraient assujetties à la réglementation de la BCUC.

Électricité

  • En 2016, les exportations nettes d’électricité de la Colombie-Britannique ont totalisé 5,5 TWh. Le commerce de l’électricité de cette province se fait surtout avec les États-Unis et, dans une moindre mesure, avec l’Alberta.
  • Sur l’ensemble de l’année, la Colombie-Britannique est occasionnellement une importatrice nette d’électricité, mais, en raison de sa capacité d’acheter de l’électricité des États-Unis quand les prix sont plus bas et de vendre de l’électricité aux États-Unis quand les prix sont plus élevés, sa balance commerciale est positive.
  • La Colombie-Britannique exploite environ 18 000 km de lignes de transport d’électricité et plus de 55 000 km de lignes de distribution. Quatre interconnexions raccordent son réseau à ceux de l’Alberta et des États Unis.

Consommation d’énergie et émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES)

Consommation totale d’énergie

  • En 2015, la demande pour utilisation finale en Colombie-Britannique a totalisé 1 168 pétajoules (PJ). Le secteur industriel vient au premier rang pour la demande d’énergie, avec 48 % de la demande totale, suivi des transports, à 29 %, du secteur résidentiel, à 13 %, et du secteur commercial, à 11 % (figure 6). La Colombie Britannique arrive au quatrième rang au Canada pour la demande totale d’énergie, mais au sixième rang pour la consommation par habitant.
  • Les produits pétroliers raffinés, y compris l’essence et le diesel, sont les combustibles les plus utilisés en Colombie-Britannique, avec une consommation de 431 PJ ou 37 % de la demande totale. Suivent le gaz naturel, l’électricité les biocombustibles, avec 355 PJ (30 %), 193 PJ (17 %) et 182 PJ (16 %), respectivement (figure 7). La Colombie-Britannique est la plus grande consommatrice de biocarburants au Canada, aussi bien en valeur absolue qu’en pourcentage, en raison principalement de son important secteur forestier qui produit de l’électricité à partir des résidus qu’il génère.

Produits pétroliers raffinés

  • La plus grande partie de l’essence consommée en Colombie-Britannique provient de l’Alberta. Elle est acheminée principalement par le pipeline Trans Mountain. Les deux raffineries de la Colombie Britannique produisent également de l’essence. Moins de 10 % de l’essence consommée dans la province est importée par bateau ou barge depuis le Nord-Ouest des États-Unis.
  • La Colombie-Britannique est le quatrième marché en importance au Canada pour les produits pétroliers raffinés, derrière l’Ontario, le Québec et l’Alberta. En 2016, la demande totale de produits pétroliers raffinés de la Colombie-Britannique s’est élevée à 197 kb/j, soit 11 % de la demande pour l’ensemble du Canada. De ce volume, on estime que 87 kb/j étaient pour l’essence automobile et 66 kb/j pour le diesel.

Gaz naturel

  • En 2016, la consommation de gaz naturel de la Colombie-Britannique a totalisé, en moyenne, 0,76 Gpi3/j, soit 9 % de la demande canadienne totale.
  • En 2016, le plus grand consommateur de gaz naturel en Colombie-Britannique a été le secteur industriel, avec une consommation de 0,47 Gpi3/j. La consommation des secteurs résidentiel et commercial s’est quant à elle chiffrée 0,14 Gpi3/j et 0,11 Gpi3/j, respectivement.

Électricité

  • En 2015, la consommation d’électricité par habitant en Colombie-Britannique s’est établie à 11,2 mégawattheures (MWh). La province arrive au neuvième rang au Canada pour la consommation d’électricité par habitant, qui se situe à 23 % sous la moyenne nationale.
  • En Colombie-Britannique, c’est le secteur industriel qui a enregistré la plus forte consommation d’électricité en 2015, avec 23,8 TWh. Viennent ensuite les secteurs résidentiel et commercial, à 16,8 TWh et 12,6 TWh, respectivement. La demande d’électricité en Colombie-Britannique a augmenté de 13 % depuis 2005.

Émissions de GES

  • En 2015, les émissions de GES de la Colombie-Britannique ont totalisé 60,9 mégatonnes (Mt) d’équivalent en dioxyde de carbone (éq. CO2), en hausse de 17 % depuis 1990.Note de bas de page 1
  • Les émissions par habitant de la Colombie-Britannique sont parmi les plus basses au Canada, à 12,8 tonnes d’éq. CO2, soit 36 % sous la moyenne nationale de 20,1 tonnes par habitant.
  • Les secteurs qui émettent le plus de GES en Colombie-Britannique sont les transports, avec 37 % du total, la production pétrolière et gazière, à 22 % et les bâtiments (résidentiels et commerciaux), à 12 % (figure 8).
  • En 2015, les émissions de GES du secteur pétrolier et gazier de la Colombie-Britannique ont totalisé 13,7 Mt d’éq. CO2. De ce total, 12,9 Mt étaient attribuables à la production, à la transformation et au transport, et 0,8 Mt découlait du raffinage du pétrole et de la distribution du gaz naturel.
  • Environ 98 % de l’électricité produite en Colombie-Britannique provient de ressources renouvelables. En 2015, le secteur de l’énergie de la province a émis 0,4 Mt d’éq. CO2, soit 0,5 % du total des émissions canadiennes de GES provenant de la production d’électricité.

Complément d’information

 

Date de modification :