Pipeline Profiles: Trans Mountain Pipeline

Sources: Trans Mountain Pipeline UCL, NEB

Text version of this graphic

The Trans Mountain Pipeline (Trans Mountain) transports crude oil and refined petroleum products from Edmonton, AB to refineries and terminals in both British Columbia and Washington State. Crude oil is also shipped to offshore markets in Asia and the U.S. west coast via the Trans Mountain Marine Terminal (Westridge Dock) in Burnaby, B.C. Trans Mountain is unique among the major pipelines exiting the Western Canadian Sedimentary Basin in that it ships the full spectrum of oils (from refined petroleum products to heavy crude oil) in a single line. Trans Mountain has an approximate capacity of 48 thousand cubic metres per day (300 thousand barrels per day), which varies from month to month depending mostly on the types of crude being shipped and whether there are any restrictions on the operating pressure levels.

In 2016, export domestic heavy crude oil throughput at Sumas averaged 0.67 thousand cubic metres per day (4.08 thousand barrels per day). In 2016, export domestic light crude oil throughput at Sumas averaged 29.67 thousand cubic metres per day (186.58 thousand barrels per day).

Flows measured at Sumas are exports. At the Sumas delivery point, the Trans Mountain pipeline connects with the Puget Sound Pipeline which delivers oil to four refineries on the west coast of Washington state.

In 2016, domestic light crude oil throughput at Burnaby averaged 8.25 thousand cubic metres per day (52.08 thousand barrels per day). In 2016, refined petroleum products crude oil throughput at Burnaby averaged 8.08 thousand cubic metres per day (50.75 thousand barrels per day).

Flows measured at Burnaby are intracanada flows. At the Burnaby Terminal there are connecting pipelines that enable deliveries to the Chevron Burnaby Refinery and to Suncor’s Burrard refined products marketing terminal. Note, due to confidentiality reasons, the volumes that are delivered at Kamloops are grouped into the Burnaby key point.

In 2016, export domestic heavy crude oil throughput at Westridge averaged 3.58 thousand cubic metres per day (22.42 thousand barrels per day). In 2016, export domestic light crude oil throughput at Westridge averaged 0.25 thousand cubic metres per day (1.58 thousand barrels per day).

Flows measured at Westridge are exports. The Westridge Dock is a marine terminal located approximately three kilometres from the Burnaby Terminal. The Westridge Dock facilitates marine exports from the Trans Mountain Pipeline to coastal refineries, such as those on U.S. West Coast or in Asia.

 

The physical capacity of a pipeline is based on many factors such as the product(s) being carried, direction of flow, ambient temperature, pipeline compression, and maintenance work or other pressure restrictions. The operational capacity at each key point may also reflect contracts for transportation service, and supply and demand across the system. The actual physical capacity of the pipeline may be higher than the assumed operational capacity stated here.

Open data can be freely used, modified and shared by anyone for any purpose. The data for these graphs are available here.

Key Developments

Last updated: August 2016

In December 2013 Kinder Morgan filed an application for the Trans Mountain Pipeline Expansion project (TMX) and on 19 May 2016, the project was approved by the Board. It would increase the capacity of the Trans Mountain system to 141 500 m³/d (890 Mb/d).

In January 2015, the Board approved tariff amendments which, among other things, incorporated limits for verifying shipper nominations that are based on historical deliveries (RHW-001-2013). Nomination verification was previously based on a shipper’s capability to tender and receive volumes. After an additional comment period, the Board approved a revision of the tariff amendments in April 2015. The amendments contributed to a reduction in apportionment levels on Trans Mountain, which were often above 70% during 2013-2014.

In February 2016, the Board approved the 2016-2018 Incentive Toll Settlement (ITS) for Trans Mountain.

High demand for pipeline capacity to the west coast has contributed to apportionment on Trans Mountain and triggered several applications to allocate capacity between Land Shippers (mostly B.C. and Washington State refineries) and Dock Shippers (marine exporters). Currently, approximately 26% of capacity is allocated to the Westridge Dock, including 8 600 m³/d (54 Mb/d) of firm service and 4 000 m³/d (25 Mb/d) of interruptible service which is auctioned each month. The remainder of capacity is allocated to Land Destinations. Average Land Destination apportionment was 70.2% in 2014 and 31.2% in 2015.

Regulatory Documents

Last updated: August 2016

Tolls

Last updated: August 2016

Trans Mountain currently operates under a three-year Incentive Toll Settlement (2016-2018 ITS). Figure 1 shows the Trans Mountain benchmark toll (light petroleum from Edmonton to Burnaby) along with the GDP deflator (normalized) for 2010 – 2015. Tolls have fluctuated as over or under-recoveries of revenues are transferred to future years.

Figure 1: Trans Mountain Benchmark Toll

Figure 1: Trans Mountain Benchmark Toll

Source: NEB

Text version of this graphic

This graph shows the Trans Mountain benchmark toll as a solid red line and the GDP deflator as a black dashed line. The graph shows the Trans Mountain benchmark toll rising sharply from approximately $13.00/m³ in 2010 to approximately $18.00/m³ in 2011. The toll then decreases steadily to approximately $16.00/m³ till 2013. The toll then increases in 2014 to approximately $17.00/m³ and once again decreases slightly in 2015.

Financial

Last updated: August 2016

Trans Mountain has operated under incentive toll agreements since 2013. The 2013-2015 agreement and the 2016-2018 agreement include a baseline return on equity of 9.5%. These agreements incorporate incentives to increase its return through efficiency improvements.

Credit ratings are not available for Kinder Morgan Canada, which owns Trans Mountain Pipeline ULC and represents approximately 2% of its parent company’s (Kinder Morgan Inc.) earnings. Kinder Morgan Canada’s access to debt markets is supported by Kinder Morgan Inc., which, for example, DBRS currently assigns a credit rating of BBB.

Table 1: Trans Mountain Pipeline ULC – Yearly
Trans Mountain Pipeline ULC 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Revenue requirement (millions) $221 $270 $295 $275 $292 $293
Rate Base (millions) $1 036 $1 020 $996 $990 $994 $1 005
Deemed Equity Ratio 45% 45% 45% 45% 45% 45%
Achieved Return on Equity   10.5% 9.82% 9.5% 8.06% 8.5%

 

Date modified:

Profils des sociétés pipelinières : Pipeline Trans Mountain

Source : Trans Mountain Pipeline ULC, Office

Version textuelle du graphique

Le pipeline Trans Mountain (Trans Mountain) achemine du pétrole brut et des produits pétroliers raffinés d’Edmonton, en Alberta, aux raffineries et aux terminaux de la Colombie-Britannique et de l’État de Washington. Le pétrole brut est aussi expédié outre-mer vers l’Asie et la côte ouest des États-Unis en passant par le terminal maritime de Trans Mountain (quai Westridge) situé à Burnaby, en Colombie-Britannique. Le pipeline Trans Mountain se distingue de tous les principaux pipelines sortant du bassin sédimentaire de l’Ouest canadien en ce que la même conduite sert à transporter tous les types de pétroles (des produits pétroliers raffinés au pétrole brut lourd). Le pipeline Trans Mountain a une capacité d’environ 48 10³m³/j (300 kb/j). Elle varie d’un mois à l’autre selon, principalement, les types de pétrole brut expédiés et des réductions ou non de la pression d’exploitation.

En 2016, le débit de pétrole brut lourd canadien pour exportation à Sumas a été en moyenne de 0,67 10³m³/j (4,08 kb/j). En 2016, le débit de pétrole brut léger canadien pour exportation à Sumas a été en moyenne de 29,67 10³m³/j (186,58 kb/j).

Les débits mesurés à Sumas concernent des exportations. Au point de livraison de Sumas, le pipeline Trans Mountain se raccorde au pipeline Puget Sound, qui achemine le pétrole vers quatre raffineries situées de la côte ouest de l’État de Washington.

En 2016, le débit de pétrole brut léger canadien à Burnaby a été en moyenne de 8,25 10³m³/j (52,08 kb/j). En 2016, le débit de produits pétroliers raffinés à Burnaby a été en moyenne de 8,08 10³m³/j (50,75 kb/j).

Les débits mesurés à Burnaby sont intra-Canada. Il y a, au terminal Burnaby, des pipelines de raccordement qui permettent l’acheminement vers la raffinerie de Chevron à Burnaby et le terminal de commercialisation de produits pétroliers raffinés Burrard de Suncor. Remarque : Pour des raisons de confidentialité, les volumes acheminés à Kamloops sont regroupés au point principal Burnaby.

En 2016, le débit de pétrole brut lourd canadien pour exportation à Westridge a été en moyenne de 3,58 10³m³/j (22,42 kb/j). En 2016, le débit de pétrole brut léger canadien pour exportation à Westridge a été en moyenne de 0,25 10³m³/j (1,58 kb/j).

Les débits mesurés à Westridge concernent des exportations. Le quai Westridge est un terminal maritime situé à environ trois kilomètres du terminal Burnaby. Il facilite les exportations par voie maritime des produits acheminés par le pipeline Trans Mountain vers des raffineries établies sur les côtes, comme la côte Ouest des États-Unis, et en Asie.

La capacité physique d’un pipeline dépend de nombreux éléments, tels que le produit transporté, le sens d’écoulement, la température ambiante, la capacité de compression du pipeline, les travaux d’entretien et les restrictions de pression. La capacité opérationnelle à chacun des points principaux peut également dépendre des contrats de transport, ainsi que de l’offre et de la demande visant le réseau. Il est par conséquent possible que la capacité physique réelle du pipeline soit supérieure à la capacité opérationnelle supposée qui est indiquée aux présentes.

Les données ouvertes peuvent être utilisées, modifiées et partagées sans contrainte par quiconque, à n’importe quelle fin. Les données ayant servi à créer ces graphiques se trouvent ici.

Faits marquants

Mise à jour : août 2016

En décembre 2013, Kinder Morgan a présenté une demande pour le projet d’agrandissement du réseau pipelinier de Trans Mountain (TMX). Le 19 mai 2016, l’Office a approuvé le projet, qui porterait la capacité du réseau Trans Mountain à 141 500 m³/j (890 kb/j).

En janvier 2015, l’Office a approuvé des modifications tarifaires qui, entre autres, fixaient des limites pour la vérification des commandes des expéditeurs basées sur les antécédents de livraison (RHW-001-2013). Anciennement, la vérification se fondait sur la capacité de l’expéditeur de fournir et de recevoir les volumes. À l’issue d’une période de commentaires supplémentaire, l’Office a approuvé la révision des modifications tarifaires en avril 2015. Ces modifications ont contribué à une réduction de la répartition de la capacité de Trans Mountain, qui avait souvent dépassé les 70 % durant la période 2013-2014.

En février 2016, l’Office a approuvé le règlement avec droits incitatifs pour 2016-2018 de Trans Mountain.

La forte demande pour la capacité pipelinière vers la côte Ouest a contribué à la répartition de la capacité de Trans Mountain et a mené à plusieurs demandes visant à répartir la capacité entre les expéditeurs sur la terre ferme (surtout des raffineries de la Colombie-Britannique et de l’État de Washington) et les expéditeurs au quai (exportateurs maritimes). À l’heure actuelle, environ 26 % de la capacité est affectée au quai Westridge, dont 8 600 m³/j (54 kb/j) de service garanti et 4 000 m³/j (25 kb/j) de service interruptible, vendu lors d’enchères mensuelles. Le reste de la capacité est affecté aux destinations sur la terre ferme, qui représentaient en moyenne 70,2 % en 2014, et 31,2 % en 2015.

Documents de réglementation

Mise à jour : août 2016

Droits

Mise à jour : août 2016

Trans Mountain est actuellement assujettie à un règlement avec droits incitatifs d’une durée de trois ans (2016-2018). La figure 1 indique les droits repères de Trans Mountain (transport de pétrole léger d’Edmonton à Burnaby) et le déflateur du PIB (normalisé) pour 2010-2015. Les droits ont fluctué, les produits à recouvrer ou recouvrés en trop étant reportés aux exercices ultérieurs.

Figure 1 : Droits repères de Trans Mountain

Figure 1 : Droits repères de Trans Mountain

Source : Office national de l'énergie

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique présente le droit repère de Trans Mountain (ligne pleine rouge) et le déflateur du PIB (tireté noir). Il montre que le droit a augmenté brusquement, passant d’environ 13,00 $/m³ en 2010 à environ 18,00 $/m³ en 2011, a diminué de façon constante pour s’établir à quelque 16,00 $/m³ en 2013, a augmenté pour atteindre environ 17,00 $/m³ en 2014, puis a encore diminué légèrement en 2015.

Données financières

Mise à jour : août 2016

Trans Mountain fonctionne sous le régime de règlements avec droits incitatifs depuis 2013. Les règlements de 2013-2015 et de 2016-2018 prévoient un rendement du capital-actions de base de 9,5 % et comportent des mesures incitant à augmenter le rendement par des gains d’efficacité.

Aucune cote de solvabilité n’est disponible pour Kinder Morgan Canada, propriétaire de Trans Mountain Pipeline ULC et pourvoyeuse d’environ 2 % du bénéfice de sa société mère (Kinder Morgan Inc.). L’accès de Kinder Morgan Canada aux marchés obligataires est facilité par Kinder Morgan Inc., qui affiche actuellement une cote de BBB selon DBRS.

Tableau 1 : Trans Mountain Pipeline ULC – Données annuelles
Trans Mountain Pipeline ULC 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Besoins en produits (en millions) 221 $ 270 $ 295 $ 275 $ 292 $ 293 $
Base tarifaire (en millions) 1 036 $ 1 020 $ 996 $ 990 $ 994 $ 1 005 $
Ratio présumé du capital-actions 45 % 45 % 45 % 45 % 45 % 45 %
Ratio présumé du capital-actions Rendement du capital-actions réalisé   10,5 % 9,82 % 9,5 % 8,06 % 8,5 %

 

Date de modification :