Pipeline Profiles: Trans-Northern Pipeline

Sources: Trans-Northern Pipelines Inc., NEB

Text version of this graphic

The Trans-Northern Pipeline transports refined petroleum products west from Montreal, QC to Toronto, ON, and from Imperial Oil Limited's refinery at Nanticoke, ON east to Toronto. There are delivery points along both stretches, including a branch line that services the Ottawa area. The pipeline operates bi-directionally between Toronto and Oakville, ON. Capacity varies across each segment of the pipeline. For example, from Montreal to Farran’s Point the capacity is 21 thousand cubic metres per day (132 Mb/d); from Farran’s Point to Belleville the capacity is 11.4 thousand cubic metres per day (72 Mb/d); and, from Belleville to Toronto the capacity is 10 thousand cubic metres per day (63 Mb/d).

In 2016, throughput (as measured by total receipts) of refined petroleum products averaged 31.1 thousand cubic metres per day (195.61 thousand barrels per day).

The Trans-Northern Pipeline has multiple receipt and delivery points, is bi-directional, and has different capacities for each segment. Total receipts is used as a measure of the system’s throughput.

The physical capacity of a pipeline is based on many factors such as the product(s) being carried, direction of flow, ambient temperature, pipeline compression, and maintenance work or other pressure restrictions. The operational capacity at each key point may also reflect contracts for transportation service, and supply and demand across the system. The actual physical capacity of the pipeline may be higher than the assumed operational capacity stated here.

Open data can be freely used, modified and shared by anyone for any purpose. The data for these graphs are available here.

Key Developments

Last updated: August 2016

In October 2010, the Board ordered a system-wide pressure reduction to 80% of the maximum operating pressure after assessing Trans-Northern’s integrity management plan. As of June 2016, the restriction remained in effect on parts of the system.

Regulatory Documents

Last updated: August 2016

Tolls

Last updated: August 2016

The toll settlement (RHW-3-96) established a starting point for the revenue requirement in 1996, and a mechanism to adjust costs each year. Tolls are submitted annually to the Board and are regulated on a complaint basis. Figure 1 shows the Trans-Northern benchmark toll (Nanticoke to North Toronto) and the GDP deflator (normalized) for 2010-2015. The benchmark toll increased by 18% in 2011, mainly due to a $6.5 million integrity allowance and a $4.5 million expense to cover cleanup costs related to events in 2010. It remained steady between 2012 and 2014 after which it increased by 19% due in part to a Non-Routine Adjustment for Pipeline Integrity.

Figure 1: TNPI Benchmark Toll

Figure 1: TNPI Benchmark Toll

Source: NEB

Text version of this graphic

This graph shows the Trans-Northern benchmark toll as a solid red line and the GDP deflator as a black dashed line. The graph shows the Trans-Northern benchmark toll rising steadily from approximately $2.70/m³ in 2010 to approximately $3.37/m³ in 2014. The toll then increases to approximately $4.00/m³ in 2015.

Financial

Last updated: August 2016

Trans-Northern Pipelines Inc. earns a return on equity equivalent to the RH-2-94 formula rate plus 25 points additional return for risk. Its financial ratios have improved in recent years due to stable cash flows and continued reduction of debt. Its credit rating, as assessed by DBRS, remains investment grade.

Table 1: Trans-Northern Pipelines Inc. – Yearly
Trans-Northern Pipelines Inc. 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Revenue Requirement (millions) $56.3 $66.2 $65.1 $65.8 $69.1 $81.1
Interest and Fixed-Charges Coverage Ratio 3.83 3.47 4.83 6.41 5.52 Table Note a
Cash Flow-to-Total Debt and Equivalents Ratio 14.1% 23.9% 29.7% 24.1% 37.8% Table Note a
DBRS Credit Rating A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low)

 

Date modified:

Profils des sociétés pipelinières : Pipeline Trans-Nord

Source : Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc., Office

Version textuelle du graphique

Le pipeline Trans-Nord (Trans-Nord) transporte des produits pétroliers raffinés en direction ouest, de Montréal, au Québec, à Toronto, en Ontario, ainsi que de la raffinerie de la Compagnie pétrolière Impériale Limitée, à Nanticoke, en Ontario, vers l’est jusqu’à Toronto. Il y a des points de livraison le long des deux segments, y compris un embranchement qui dessert la région d’Ottawa. Le pipeline fonctionne dans les deux sens entre Toronto et Oakville, en Ontario. La capacité varie d’un tronçon à l’autre du pipeline. Par exemple, le tronçon Montréal-Farran’s Point a une capacité de 21 000 m³/j (132 kb/j), tandis que celle du tronçon Farran's Point-Belleville est de 11 400 m³/j (72 kb/j) et celle du tronçon Belleville-Toronto est de 10 000 m³/j (63 kb/j).

En 2016, le débit (correspondant au total des réceptions) de produits pétroliers raffinés a été en moyenne de 31,1 10³m³/j (195,61 kb/j).

Le pipeline Trans-Nord comporte de nombreux points de réception et de livraison. Il fonctionne dans les deux directions et chaque tronçon a une capacité différente. Le débit du réseau est déterminé par le total des réceptions.

La capacité physique d’un pipeline dépend de nombreux éléments, tels que le produit transporté, le sens d’écoulement, la température ambiante, la capacité de compression du pipeline, les travaux d’entretien et les restrictions de pression. La capacité opérationnelle à chacun des points principaux peut également dépendre des contrats de transport, ainsi que de l’offre et de la demande visant le réseau. Il est par conséquent possible que la capacité physique réelle du pipeline soit supérieure à la capacité opérationnelle supposée qui est indiquée aux présentes.

Les données ouvertes peuvent être utilisées, modifiées et partagées sans contrainte par quiconque, à n’importe quelle fin. Les données ayant servi à créer ces graphiques se trouvent ici.

Faits marquants

Mise à jour : août 2016

En octobre 2010, l’Office a imposé dans tout ce réseau une réduction à 80 % de la pression maximale d’exploitation après avoir évalué le plan de gestion de l’intégrité de Trans-Nord Inc. En date de juin 2016, cette restriction était toujours en vigueur dans certaines parties du réseau.

Documents de réglementation

Mise à jour : août 2016

Droits

Mise à jour : août 2016

Le règlement concernant les droits (RHW-3-96) a établi un point de départ pour le besoin en produits en 1996 ainsi qu’un mécanisme pour le rajuster annuellement par la suite. Les droits sont soumis annuellement à l’Office et réglementés en fonction des plaintes reçues. La figure 1 indique les droits repères de Trans-Nord pour le transport entre Nanticoke et Toronto Nord ainsi que le déflateur du PIB (normalisé) de 2010 à 2015. Les droits repères ont augmenté de 18 % en 2011 principalement à cause d’une provision pour intégrité de 6,5 millions de dollars et de dépenses de 4,5 millions de dollars en couverture de coûts de nettoyage à la suite d’événements survenus en 2010. Ils sont demeurés stables de 2012 à 2014, puis ont connu une hausse de 19 % attribuable en partie à un redressement inhabituel pour l’intégrité des pipelines.

Figure 1 : Droits repères de Trans-Nord

Figure 1 : Droits repères de Trans-Nord

Source : Office national de l'énergie

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique présente le droit repère de Trans-Nord (ligne pleine rouge) et le déflateur du PIB (tireté noir). Il montre que le droit a augmenté de façon constante, passant d’environ 2,70 $/m³ en 2010 à environ 3,37 $/m³ en 2014, puis a atteint quelque 4,00 $/m³ en 2015.

Données financières

Mise à jour : août 2016

Le rendement du capital-actions de Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. (PTNI) est calculé selon la formule RH-2-94 plus 25 points pour le risque. Ses ratios financiers se sont améliorés dans les dernières années grâce à ses flux de trésorerie stables et à la réduction continue de sa dette. Sa cote de solvabilité, évaluée par DBRS, est toujours de catégorie investissement.

Tableau 1 : Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. – Données annuelles
Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Besoins en produits (en millions) 56,3 $ 66,2 $ 65,1 $ 65,8 $ 69,1 $ 81,1 $
Ratio de couverture des intérêts et des charges fixes 3,83 3,47 4,83 6,41 5,52 Note de tableaua
Ratio flux de trésorerie/dette totale et quasi-dette 14,1 % 23,9 % 29,7 % 24, 1% 37,8 % Note de tableaua
Cote de solvabilité attribuée par DBRS A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible)
Date de modification :