Canada’s Pipeline Transportation System 2016

Appendix: Company Credit Summaries

This chart provides a comparison of the rating scales used by DBRS, S&P, and Moody's when rating long-term debt. Because of differences between these agencies’ rating approaches and definitions, some subjectivity is required in comparing their rating scales. Each agency also provides a rating outlook or trend, which assesses the potential direction of a credit rating. Common outlooks or trends are: 'Positive'; 'Negative'; and 'Stable'.

Debt Rating Comparison Chart
Credit Quality DBRS S&P Moody's
Investment Grade
Superior/High grade AAA AAA Aaa
AA (high) AA+ Aa1
AA AA Aa2
AA (low) AA- Aa3
Good/Upper Medium A (high) A+ A1
A A A2
A (low) A- A3
Adequate/Medium BBB (high) BBB+ Baa1
BBB BBB Baa2
BBB (low) BBB- Baa3
Non-Investment Grade
Speculative BB (high) BB+ Ba1
BB BB Ba2
BB (low) BB- Ba3
Highly speculative B (high) B+ B1
B B B2
B (low) B- B3
Very highly speculative CCC CCC Caa1
CC CC Caa2
C C Caa3
D D Ca

Note: DBRS and S&P ratings in the CCC category also have subcategories "high/+"and "low/-" and the absence of "high/+" and "low/-" designation indicates the rating is in the "middle" of the category. DBRS also does so for CC and C categories.

DBRS Credit Rating History
Pipeline 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Alliance L.P. A(low) A (low) /Stable A (low) /Stable A(low)/stable A(low)/stable BBB
Enbridge Pipelines A (high) A /Stable A /Stable A /Stable A /Stable A /Stable
Express A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low)
M&NP L.P. A A /Stable A /Stable A /Stable A /Stable A /Stable
NGTL A A /Stable A /Stable A (low) A (low) A (low)
TQM A (low) A (low) /Stable A (low) /Stable A (low) /Stable A (low) /Stable A (low)/Stable
TransCanada A A /Stable A /Stable A (low) A (low) A (low)
Trans-Northern A(low) A (low) /Stable A (low) /Stable A (low) /Stable A (low) /Stable A (low) /Stable
Westcoast A (low) A (low) /Stable A (low) /Stable A (low) /Stable A (low) /Stable A (low) /Stable

While these are representative credit ratings for the listed companies, the type of debt issuances that are directly assessed vary.

In assigning a credit rating to a particular company, DBRS states that it attempts to consider all meaningful factors that could impact the risk of maintaining timely payments of interest and principal in the future. While key credit considerations will vary from industry to industry, some of the common factors considered for most ratings are core profitability, asset quality, strategy and management strength, and the financial and business risk profile.

The following specific factors are also considered for pipelines when deriving their credit ratings: regulatory factors, competitive environment, supply and demand considerations, and regulated versus non-regulated activities.

S&P Credit Rating History
Pipeline 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Enbridge Pipelines A- /Stable A- /Stable A-/Stable A-/Negative A-/Watch Neg. BBB+
NGTL A- /Stable A- /Stable A- /Stable A- /Stable A- /Stable A- /Stable
TransCanada Pipelines A- /Stable A- /Stable A- /Stable A- /Stable A- /Stable A- /Stable
Westcoast A- /Stable BBB+ /Stable BBB+ /Stable BBB/Stable BBB/Stable BBB/Stable

While these are representative credit ratings for the listed companies, the type of debt issuances that are directly assessed vary.

S&P indicates that its credit rating reflects a borrower's capacity and willingness to meet its financial commitments on a timely basis. S&P bases its ratings on the overall creditworthiness of a consolidated company. Therefore, the rating of a wholly-owned subsidiary, in the absence of meaningful ring-fencing measures, generally reflects the creditworthiness of the parent.

Moody's Credit Rating History
Pipeline 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Alliance L.P. A3 /Stable A3 /Stable A3 /Stable A3 /Stable Baa1/Watch Baa2/Stable
Enbridge Inc. Baa1 Baa1 Baa1 Baa1 Baa1/Negative Baa2/Stable
Express Baa1/negative Baa1/negative Baa1/Stable Baa1/Stable Baa1/Stable Baa1/Stable
M&NP A2 /Stable A2 /Stable A2 /Stable A2 /Stable A2 /Stable A2 /Stable
NGTL A3 /Stable A3 /Stable A3 /Stable A3 /Stable A3 /Stable A3 /Stable
TransCanada A3 /Stable A3 /Stable A3 /Stable A3 /Stable A3 /Stable A3 /Stable

While these are representative credit ratings for the listed companies, the type of debt issuances that are directly assessed vary.

Moody's indicates that its credit analysis focuses on the fundamental factors and key business drivers relevant to an issuer's long-term and short-term risk profile. The foundation of Moody's methodology rests on two basic considerations:

  • the risk to the debt holder of not receiving timely payment of principal and interest on the specific debt security; and
  • a comparison of the level of risk with that of all other debt securities.

Like S&P, Moody's focuses its ratings on the overall creditworthiness of the consolidated entity. In doing so Moody's measures the ability of an issuer to generate cash in the future, thus its primary focus is on the predictability of future cash generation. This determination is built on an analysis of the individual issuer and of its strengths and weaknesses compared to those of its peers worldwide. An examination of factors external to the issuer is also conducted, including industry or country-level trends that could impact the entity's ability to meet its debt obligations. Of particular concern is the ability of management to sustain cash generation in the face of adverse changes in the business environment.

Photos: left: A pump jack silhouetted against the setting sun; centre: The grey valves and wheels of a pump station on clear day; right: Folded hands hold a pen on a board room table in a large meeting room.
Date modified:

Le réseau pipelinier du Canada 2016

Cotes de solvabilité des sociétés

Le tableau qui suit compare les échelles utilisées par DBRS, S&P et Moody’s pour la cotation de la dette à long terme. Comme il existe des différences de modes de cotation et de définitions de cotes entre ces agences, une certaine subjectivité intervient nécessairement dans la comparaison de leurs échelles de notation. Chaque agence fournit aussi une perspective ou une tendance de cotation qui indique la direction que peut prendre une cote de solvabilité. Les adjectifs couramment employés dans ce domaine sont « positive », « négative » et « stable ».

Tableau comparatif des cotes de dette
Qualité du crédit DBRS S&P Moody's
Titres de catégorie investissement
Supérieure/élevée AAA AAA Aaa
AA (élevée) AA+ Aa1
AA AA Aa2
AA (faible) AA- Aa3
Bonne/moyenne supérieure A (élevée) A+ A1
A A A2
A (faible) A- A3
Acceptable/moyenne BBB (élevée) BBB+ Baa1
BBB BBB Baa2
BBB (faible) BBB- Baa3
Titres de catégorie spéculative
Crédit spéculatif BB (élevée) BB+ Ba1
BB BB Ba2
BB (faible) BB- Ba3
Crédit hautement spéculatif B (élevée) B+ B1
B B B2
B (faible) B- B3
Crédit extrêmement spéculatif CCC CCC Caa1
CC CC Caa2
C C Caa3
D D Ca

Note : Les cotes attribuées par DBRS et S&P dans la catégorie CCC comportent aussi les sous-catégories « élevée/+ » et « faible/- »; l’absence de désignation « élevée/+ » ou « faible/- » indique que la cote se situe dans la zone médiane de la catégorie. Ces sous-catégories s’appliquent également aux catégories CC et C de DBRS.

Historique des cotes attribuées par DBRS
Pipeline 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Alliance LP A(faible) A (faible) /Stable A (faible) /Stable A(faible)/stable A(faible)/stable BBB
Pipelines Enbridge A (élevée) A /Stable A /Stable A /Stable A /Stable A /Stable
Express A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible)
M&NP LP A A /Stable A /Stable A /Stable A /Stable A /Stable
NGTL A A /Stable A /Stable A (faible) A (faible) A (faible)
TQM A (faible) A (faible) /Stable A (faible) /Stable A (faible) /Stable A (faible) /Stable A (faible)/Stable
TransCanada A A /Stable A /Stable A (faible) A (faible) A (faible)
PTNI A(faible) A (faible) /Stable A (faible) /Stable A (faible) /Stable A (faible) /Stable A (faible) /Stable
Westcoast A (faible) A (faible) /Stable A (faible) /Stable A (faible) /Stable A (faible) /Stable A (faible) /Stable

Bien que ces cotes de solvabilité soient représentatives, l’évaluation porte sur différents types d’émission de titres de créance d’une société à l’autre.

Au moment d’attribuer une cote de solvabilité à une entreprise, DBRS tente de prendre en compte tous les facteurs significatifs qui pourraient influer sur le risque lié à la capacité de l’entreprise d’effectuer ses paiements de capital et d’intérêts lorsqu’ils sont exigibles. Les principaux facteurs étudiés varient d’un secteur d’activité à un autre, mais parmi les aspects communs pris en compte dans la plupart des cotations, on note la rentabilité de base, la qualité de l’actif, la qualité des stratégies et des gestionnaires ainsi que le profil de risque financier et commercial.

Dans le cas des sociétés pipelinières, les facteurs qui suivent influent aussi sur la détermination des cotes de solvabilité : les questions réglementaires, le contexte de concurrence, l’offre et la demande, et les activités réglementées par opposition aux activités non réglementées.

Historique des cotes attribuées par S&P
Pipeline 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Pipelines Enbridge A- /Stable A- /Stable A-/Stable A-/Négative A-/Sous surv./Nég. BBB+
NGTL A- /Stable A- /Stable A- /Stable A- /Stable A- /Stable A- /Stable
TransCanada Pipelines A- /Stable A- /Stable A- /Stable A- /Stable A- /Stable A- /Stable
Westcoast A- /Stable BBB+ /Stable BBB+ /Stable BBB/Stable BBB/Stable BBB/Stable

Bien que ces cotes de solvabilité soient représentatives, l’évaluation porte sur différents types d’émission de titres de créance d’une société à l’autre.

S&P indique que sa cote de solvabilité représente la capacité et la volonté d’un emprunteur de remplir ses engagements financiers au moment opportun. S&P fonde ses cotes sur la solvabilité globale de la société consolidée. Par conséquent, la cotation d’une filiale en propriété exclusive, en l’absence d’un isolement financier véritable de la société mère, reflète habituellement la solvabilité de la société mère.

Historique des cotes attribuées par Moody’s
Pipeline 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Alliance LP A3 /Stable A3 /Stable A3 /Stable A3 /Stable Baa1/Sous surv. Baa2/Stable
Enbridge Inc. Baa1 Baa1 Baa1 Baa1 Baa1/Négative Baa2/Stable
Express Baa1/Négative Baa1/Négative Baa1/Stable Baa1/Stable Baa1/Stable Baa1/Stable
M&NP A2 /Stable A2 /Stable A2 /Stable A2 /Stable A2 /Stable A2 /Stable
NGTL A3 /Stable A3 /Stable A3 /Stable A3 /Stable A3 /Stable A3 /Stable
TransCanada A3 /Stable A3 /Stable A3 /Stable A3 /Stable A3 /Stable A3 /Stable

Bien que ces cotes de solvabilité soient représentatives, l’évaluation porte sur différents types d’émission de titres de créance d’une société à l’autre.

Moody’s indique que son analyse de la solvabilité d’une entreprise est centrée sur les facteurs essentiels et les principaux déterminants commerciaux qui influent sur le profil de risque à court et à long termes de l’émetteur. La méthodologie de Moody’s repose sur deux aspects fondamentaux :

  • le risque que les porteurs de titres d’emprunt ne recevront pas les paiements de capital et d’intérêts sur un titre de créance particulier lorsqu’ils sont exigibles;
  • une comparaison du niveau de risque par rapport à celui de tous les autres titres de créance.

Comme S&P, Moody’s fonde principalement ses cotes sur la solvabilité globale de l’entité consolidée. Ainsi, Moody’s mesure la capacité future de l’émetteur de produire des liquidités, cherchant surtout à établir la prévisibilité des entrées futures de trésorerie. Cette détermination s’appuie sur une analyse de l’émetteur, de ses points forts et de ses points faibles par comparaison à ceux de ses pairs à l’échelle internationale. Par ailleurs, des facteurs qui ne dépendent pas de l’émetteur sont également étudiés, comme les tendances sectorielles ou nationales qui pourraient influer sur la capacité de l’entité à faire face à ses obligations. À cet égard, l’aptitude que montre la direction de l’entreprise à continuer de produire des liquidités en dépit de changements défavorables dans le contexte commercial revêt un intérêt particulier.

Photos: gauche: Silhouette d’un appareil de pompage au soleil couchant; centre: Vannes et volants de manœuvre d’une station de pompage par une journée ensoleillée; droit: Deux mains tenant un stylo pendant une réunion.

 

Date de modification :