Canada’s Pipeline Transportation System 2016

Canada's Pipeline Transportation System


Pipeline System Overview

Canada’s pipeline network is comprised of four main groups of systems; each one plays an integral part delivering energy to Canadians and export markets (Figure 1).

  • Gathering Pipelines move crude oil and natural gas from wellheads to oil batteries or natural gas processing facilities. These pipelines are mainly concentrated in the producing areas of western Canada.
  • Feeder Pipelines transport crude oil, natural gas, and other products such as natural gas liquids (NGLs) from batteries, processing facilities, and storage tanks to transmission pipelines. These pipelines are also mainly concentrated in the producing areas of western Canada.
  • Transmission Pipelines are the major conduits of the pipeline network, transporting crude oil and natural gas within provinces and across provincial or international boundaries.
  • Distribution Pipelines operated by local distribution companies or provincial cooperatives, these pipelines deliver natural gas to homes, businesses, and various industries.

Figure 1: Pipeline System Overview

Figure 1: Pipeline System Overview

Source: NEB

Text version of this graphic

This figure provides an overview of the Canadian petroleum pipeline system from production to downstream customers. It shows the function in the transportation chain of the major types pipelines: Gathering, Feeder, Transmission and Distribution.

If a pipeline crosses provincial or international boundaries, it is regulated by the NEB. If a pipeline is contained within a province, it is under the jurisdiction of a provincial regulator unless deemed as a federal undertaking. For example, in British Columbia, these pipelines are regulated by the BC Oil and Gas Commission.

The Board regulates approximately 73 000 km of pipelines, or about 10% of the length of pipeline in Canada. In 2015, energy products worth approximately $99.7 billion were transported in these pipelines (mainly transmission pipelines) at an estimated cost of $7.3 billion.

Figure 2 and Figure 3 show the major oil and natural gas pipelines regulated by the NEB.

Figure 2: Larger NEB-Regulated Crude Oil Pipelines

Figure 2 – Larger NEB-Regulated Crude Oil Pipelines

Source: NEB

Text version of this map

This map provides an overview of the larger NEB-regulated oil pipelines.

Table 1 provides an overview of some of the largest NEB-regulated crude oil and petroleum product pipelines. Four of these transport the majority of the crude oil out of western Canada, almost all of which is delivered to markets in eastern Canada and the U.S. The Kinder Morgan Trans Mountain pipeline (Trans Mountain) and the Enbridge Mainline (Enbridge) originate in Edmonton, Alberta and the Spectra Express (Express) system and the TransCanada Keystone (Keystone) system originate in Hardisty, Alberta.

Table 1: Larger NEB-Regulated Crude Oil Pipelines – Capacity and Throughput

Table 1: Larger NEB-Regulated Crude Oil Pipelines – Capacity and Throughput
Capacity Average Throughput 2015
Enbridge Mainline 453.3 10³ m³/d (2 851 Mb/d)Note a 368.7 10³ m³/d (2,320 Mb/d)
TransCanada Keystone 94 10³ m³/d (591 Mb/d) 88.3 10³ m³/d (555 Mb/d)
Kinder Morgan Trans MountainNote 1 47.7 10³ m³/d (300 Mb/d) 50.2 10³ m³/d (316 Mb/d)
Spectra Express 44.5 10³ m³/d (280 Mb/d) 35.2 10³ m³/d (222 Mb/d)
Montreal Pipeline (import) 44.5 10³ m³/d (280 Mb/d) 10.2 10³ m³/d (65 Mb/d)
Enbridge Westspur 40.5 10³ m³/d (255 Mb/d) 28.1 10³ m³/d (177 Mb/d)
Trans-Northern Pipeline Varies across segments 33.7 10³ m³/d (212 Mb/d)

Figure 3: Larger NEB-Regulated Natural Gas Pipelines

Figure 3: Larger NEB-Regulated Natural Gas Pipelines

Source: NEB

Text version of this map

This map provides an overview of the larger NEB-regulated natural gas pipelines.

Several NEB-regulated natural gas pipeline systems transport western Canadian production to markets in eastern and western Canada. Interconnections with U.S. pipeline systems also transport this natural gas to markets in the U.S. Northwest, Midwest, and Northeast. Table 2 provides an overview of some of the largest NEB-regulated natural gas pipelines.

Table 2: Larger NEB-Regulated Natural Gas Oil Pipelines – Capacity and Throughput

Table 2: Larger NEB-Regulated Natural Gas Oil Pipelines – Capacity and Throughput
  Capacity Average Throughput 2015
Nova Gas Transmission Limited (NGTL)
Upstream James River 228 106 m³/d (8.0 Bcf/d) 220 106 m³/d (7.8 Bcf/d)
North and East Flow 121 106 m³/d (4.3 Bcf/d) 87 106 m³/d (3.1 Bcf/d)
Eastern GateNote 2 258 106 m³/d (9.1 Bcf/d) 124 106 m³/d (4.4 Bcf/d)
TransCanada Mainline
Prairies 195 106 m³/d (6.9 Bcf/d) 84 106 m³/d (3.0 Bcf/d)
Eastern Triangle 148 106 m³/d (5.2 Bcf/d) 69 106 m³/d (2.0 Bcf/d)
Northern Ontario 102 106 m³/d (3.6 Bcf/d) 61 106 m³/d (2.2 Bcf/d)
 
Foothills British Columbia 85 106 m³/d (3.0 Bcf/d) 56 106 m³/d (1.9 Bcf/d)
Foothills Saskatchewan 63 106 m³/d (2.24 Bcf/d) 40 106 m³/d (1.4 Bcf/d)
Westcoast
T-North 81 106 m³/d (2.9 Bcf/d) 58 106 m³/d (2.1 Bcf/d)
T-South 44 106 m³/d (1.6 Bcf/d) 40 106 m³/d (1.4 Bcf/d)
 
Alliance 48 106 m³/d (1.7 Bcf/d) 46 106 m³/d (1.6 Bcf/d)

Supply and Disposition of Canadian Crude Oil and Natural Gas

In 2015, Canada was the fourth largest producer of oil and NGLs in the world, accounting for 4.8% of total global supply.Note 3 In 2015, crude oil production averaged about 615 thousand cubic meters per day (10³m³/d) or 3.9 million barrels per day (MMb/d) of oil, most of which was shipped via pipelineNote 4 from western provinces to markets in other provinces or the U.S. (Figure 4).

Canadian crude oil production has grown steadily in recent years, mainly due to oil sands development. This has led to incremental expansion of export-oriented pipelines as producers seek new markets, including in the southern U.S. In 2014, substantial increases in pipeline capacity, particularly in the U.S., enabled Canadian producers to meaningfully access the U.S. Gulf Coast market for the first time. The energy industry remains focused on accessing and developing offshore markets to accommodate forecast growth in western Canadian oil supply, and several pipeline projects have been proposed to serve this need.

Figure 4: Supply and Disposition of Canadian Crude Oil 2015

Figure 4: Supply and Disposition of Canadian Crude Oil 2015

Source: NEB

Text version of this map

This map provides an overview of the supply and disposition of Canadian crude oil in 2015. Most oil is produced in western Canada and shipped by pipeline to markets in the U.S. and other Canadian provinces.

In 2015, Canada was the fifth largest producer of natural gas in the world, accounting for 4.6% of global supply.Note 5 Canadian natural gas production averaged about 424 106m³/d or 15 billion cubic feet per day (Bcf/d) in 2015. The vast majority of this natural gas was produced in western Canada and transported by pipelines to consumers in Canada and the U.S. (Figure 5).

While Canadian conventional natural gas production has declined in recent years, unconventional natural gas production is increasing as a result of advancements in horizontal drilling and hydraulic fracturing. Canada exports its surplus natural gas to the U.S., but increasingly, U.S. natural gas is competing with western Canadian supplies in both Canadian and U.S. markets. To find markets for surplus natural gas, many companies have proposed constructing facilities to export liquefied natural gas (LNG) overseas. No LNG export terminals are currently under construction and it would take several years for any of these projects to become operational.

Figure 5: Supply and Disposition of Canadian Natural Gas 2015

Figure 5: Supply and Disposition of Canadian Natural Gas 2015

Source: NEB

Text version of this map

This map provides an overview of the supply and disposition of Canadian natural gas in 2015. Most natural gas is produced in the Western Canadian Sedimentary Basin (WCSB) and used locally or shipped by pipeline to markets in central and eastern Canada, or exported to the West, Midwest or Northeast U.S.

Commodity Price and Energy Industry Volatility

The economic environment surrounding the energy sector has changed dramatically since 2014. Figure 6 shows Alberta prices for Mixed Sweet (MSW) light crude oil, Western Canada Select (WCS) heavy crude oil, and the NOVA Inventory Transfer (NIT) natural gas price. By year-end 2015, oil and natural gas prices had declined by more than 50% in Canadian dollar terms. Lower prices over this time have resulted in substantial reductions in upstream spending on drilling and new production projects.

Figure 6: Canadian Crude Oil and Natural Gas Prices

Figure 6: Canadian Crude Oil and Natural Gas Prices

Source: NEB

Text version of this graphic

This chart shows Alberta prices for light and heavy crude oil, and natural gas between 2010 and 2015. As of 2015 year end, oil and natural gas prices declined by more than 50 per cent in Canadian dollar terms.

Canadian oil and gas supply has remained relatively resilient, and Canadian crude oil and natural gas production grew in 2014 and 2015 (Figure 7). Canadian drilling levels were down more than 50% in 2015 versus 2014, however, and many major oil sands projects have been deferred or cancelled. These factors have created uncertainty about future levels of production.

Figure 7: Canadian Crude Oil and Natural Gas Production

Figure 7: Canadian Crude Oil and Natural Gas Production

Source: NEB

Text version of this graphic

This chart shows Canadian crude oil in million barrels per day (left vertical axis) and natural gas production (right vertical axis) between 2010 and 2015. Natural gas production fluctuated in the range of 13.5 to 15.5 Bcf/d over the five years. Crude oil production fluctuated but gradually increased from about 2.5 MMb/d to 4.0 MMb/d.

The impact of recent energy industry volatility on NEB-regulated pipeline companies varies. Some companies have assets and lines of business beyond regulated pipelines (e.g. storage facilities and power plants) which can affect their exposure to risks and developments in the broader energy industry.

Returns on pipeline assets are regulated and often supported by long-term contractsNote 6, which reduces sensitivity to short-term market volatility. As explained later in this report, the prices that pipelines charge for their transportation services (tolls) are generally more directly related to specific pipeline costs than market conditions. In the longer term, expansion and investment in pipeline infrastructure depends in large part on oil and gas industry activity levels.

NEB Economic Regulation of Pipelines

Financial Regulation and Oversight

Pipelines under the Board's jurisdiction are divided into two groups for financial regulatory purposes: Group 1 pipeline companies have extensive systems and many shippers. Group 2 companies operate smaller, less complex pipelines with few shippers. A list of pipeline companies regulated by the Board can be found in the appendix in section 7.

In the Public Interest

The Board regulates pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. The public interest is inclusive of all Canadians and refers to a balance of economic, environmental and social considerations that changes as society’s values and preferences evolve over time.

Because of their size and complexity, Group 1 companies are subject to a higher degree of financial surveillance and have more extensive reporting requirements than Group 2 companies. All of the Group 2 companies (along with two of the smaller Group 1 companies) are regulated on a “complaint basis”. Under complaint-based regulation, shippers or potential shippers are encouraged to work out any problems directly with the pipeline company. If this is unsuccessful, then a complaint may be filed with the Board for review.

The Board conducts financial audits to verify compliance with requirements in the National Energy Board Act (NEB Act) and associated regulations. The Board also receives and assesses regular surveillance reports from most Group 1 companies to monitor financial performance as well as throughput information. The Board receives audited financial statements from many of the Group 2 companies.Note 7

Tolling

Pipeline tolls must be just and reasonable. Since it can be more efficient to build one pipeline rather than many competing pipelines, facilities under the Board’s jurisdiction often have market power and in some instances, operate as monopolies in the markets they serve. The Board’s role is to ensure that where market power exists, it is not abused and tolls for pipeline services are fair and non-discriminatory.

The Board sets tolls on the premise that a pipeline company should have the opportunity to cover its costs, including those related to safety and environmental obligations. Revenues should allow the company to effectively meet the transportation requirements of its customers and earn a reasonable rate of return for its investors.

Abandonment and Financial Liability

The Board regulates energy infrastructure over its entire life cycle – from project proposal to construction and operation, through to abandonment. In 2009, the Board directed that all NEB-regulated companies would be required to set aside funds to cover future pipeline abandonment costs. The Board stated that pipeline companies, and not landowners, are liable for the costs and financing of pipeline abandonment. Abandonment cost estimates for NEB-regulated pipelines are discussed in section 4.3 of this report.

On 18 June 2015, the Pipeline Safety Act (Act) received Royal Assent. The Act introduced absolute liability for all NEB-regulated pipelines, meaning that companies are liable for incident costs and damages irrespective of fault – up to $1 billion for companies operating major oil pipelines.Note 8 The Act also requires that companies demonstrate and maintain financial resources which match, at minimum, the amount of absolute liability applicable to them. In addition, a portion of these financial resources must be in a readily accessible form in order to facilitate rapid response to an incident. Regulations specifying the details of these requirements will be made by Governor in Council and are under development by Natural Resources Canada.

Monitoring Economic Aspects of the Pipeline Sector

The Board believes that well-functioning markets contribute to outcomes that serve the public interest. Correspondingly, the Board monitors important indicators of the economic functioning of the pipelines under its jurisdiction. Three of these key indicators – pipeline capacity, toll levels, and financial integrity – are discussed in detail in the remainder of this report.

Photos: left: A pump jack silhouetted against the setting sun; centre: The grey valves and wheels of a pump station on clear day; right: Folded hands hold a pen on a board room table in a large meeting room.

 

Date modified:

Le réseau pipelinier du Canada 2016

Le réseau pipelinier du Canada


Aperçu du réseau

Le réseau pipelinier du Canada est constitué de quatre grands ensembles; chacun joue un rôle important dans le transport des ressources énergétiques jusqu’aux marchés canadiens et d’exportation (figure 1).

  • Les pipelines de collecte transportent le pétrole brut ou le gaz naturel des têtes de puits vers les installations pétrolières ou de traitement du gaz naturel. Ils sont surtout concentrés dans les régions productrices de l’Ouest canadien.
  • Les pipelines d’amenée acheminent le pétrole brut, le gaz naturel ou d’autres produits, comme des liquides de gaz naturel (LGN), depuis les installations de traitement et les réservoirs de stockage jusqu’aux pipelines de transport. Ils sont eux aussi surtout concentrés dans les régions productrices de l’Ouest canadien.
  • Les pipelines de transport sont les artères principales du réseau pipelinier qui assurent le transport du pétrole brut et du gaz naturel à l’intérieur des provinces et au-delà des frontières provinciales ou nationales.
  • Les pipelines de distribution, exploités par des sociétés de distribution locales ou des coopératives provinciales, servent à approvisionner en gaz naturel les foyers, les entreprises et diverses industries.

Figure 1 : Aperçu du réseau pipelinier

Figure 1 : Aperçu du réseau pipelinier

Source : Office national de l’énergie

Version textuelle du graphique

Cette figure donne une vue d’ensemble du réseau pipelinier canadien de la production jusqu’à l’acheminement aux consommateurs. Elle indique le rôle que joue dans la chaîne de transport chacun des principaux types de pipelines, soit les pipelines de collecte, d’amenée, de transport et de distribution.

Si un pipeline traverse une frontière provinciale ou internationale, il est soumis à la réglementation de l’Office. S’il ne déborde pas les limites d’une province, il relève plutôt de l’organisme de réglementation provincial compétent, à moins d’être considéré comme une entreprise fédérale. Par exemple, en Colombie-Britannique, ces pipelines sont réglementés par la B.C. Oil and Gas Commission.

L’Office réglemente quelque 73 000 km de pipelines, soit environ 10 % de la longueur du réseau pipelinier du Canada. Ces canalisations (surtout des pipelines de transport) ont transporté en 2015 environ 99,7 milliards de dollars de produits énergétiques à un coût estimatif de 7,3 milliards de dollars.

Les figures 2 et 3 illustrent les principaux oléoducs et gazoducs réglementés par l’Office.

Figure 2 : Grands oléoducs réglementés par l’Office (pétrole brut)

Figure 2 : Grands oléoducs réglementés par l’Office (pétrole brut)

Source : Office national de l’énergie

Version textuelle de la carte

Cette carte donne une vue d’ensemble des grands oléoducs réglementés par l’Office national de l’énergie.

Le tableau 1 donne un aperçu de certains des plus grands pipelines de pétrole brut et de produits pétroliers soumis à la réglementation de l’Office. Quatre de ces oléoducs transportent la majeure partie du pétrole brut de l’Ouest canadien, destiné en quasi-totalité aux marchés de l’Est du Canada et des États-Unis. Le réseau Trans Mountain de Kinder Morgan (Trans Mountain) et le réseau principal d’Enbridge (Enbridge) prennent origine à Edmonton, en Alberta, tandis que le réseau Express de Spectra (Express) et le réseau Keystone de TransCanada (Keystone) partent de Hardisty, en Alberta.

Tableau 1 : Capacité et débit des grands oléoducs réglementés par l’Office (pétrole brut)

Tableau 1 : Capacité et débit des grands oléoducs réglementés par l’Office (pétrole brut)
Capacité Débit moyen en 2015
Réseau principal d’Enbridge 453,3 10³ m³/j (2 851 kb/j)Note a 368,7 10³ m³/j (2 320 kb/j)
Réseau Keystone de TransCanada 94 10³ m³/j (591 kb/j) 88,3 10³ m³/j (555 kb/j)
Réseau Trans Mountain de Kinder MorganNote 1 47,7 10³ m³/j (300 kb/j) 50,2 10³ m³/j (316 kb/j)
Réseau Express de Spectra 44,5 10³ m³/j (280 kb/j) 35,2 10³ m³/j (222 kb/j)
Pipeline de Montréal (importation) 44,5 10³ m³/j (280 kb/j) 10,2 10³ m³/j (65 kb/j)
Réseau Westspur d’Enbridge 40,5 10³ m³/j (255 kb/j) 28,1 10³ m³/j (177 kb/j)
Pipelines Trans-Nord Varie d’un tronçon à l’autre 33,7 10³ m³/j (212 kb/j)

Figure 3: Grands gazoducs réglementés par l’Office

Figure 3: Grands gazoducs réglementés par l’Office

Source : Office national de l’énergie

Version textuelle de la carte

Cette carte donne une vue d’ensemble des grands gazoducs réglementés par l’Office national de l’énergie.

Plusieurs réseaux de gazoducs soumis à la réglementation de l’Office acheminent la production de l’Ouest canadien vers les marchés de l’Ouest et de l’Est du Canada. Des pipelines d’interconnexion avec les réseaux pipeliniers américains transportent aussi ce gaz naturel jusqu’aux marchés du Nord-Ouest, du Midwest et du Nord-Est des États-Unis. Le tableau 2 donne un aperçu de certains des plus grands gazoducs réglementés par l’Office.

Tableau 2 : Capacité et débit des grands gazoducs réglementés par l’Office

Tableau 2 : Capacité et débit des grands gazoducs réglementés par l’Office
  Capacité Débit moyen en 2015
Nova Gas Transmission Limited (NGTL)
En amont de la rivière James 228 106 m³/d (8.0 Bcf/d) 220 106 m³/d (7.8 Bcf/d)
Nord et est 121 106 m³/d (4.3 Bcf/d) 87 106 m³/d (3.1 Bcf/d)
Porte de l’estNote 2 258 106 m³/d (9.1 Bcf/d) 124 106 m³/d (4.4 Bcf/d)
Réseau principal de TransCanada
Prairies 195 106 m³/j (6,9 Gpi³/j) 84 106 m³/j (3,0 Gpi³/j)
Triangle de l’Est 148 106 m³/j (5,2 Gpi³/j) 69 106 m³/j (2,0 Gpi³/j)
Nord de l’Ontario 102 106 m³/j (3,6 Gpi³/j) 61 106 m³/j (2,2 Gpi³/j)
 
Foothills British Columbia 85 106 m³/d (3.0 Bcf/d) 56 106 m³/d (1.9 Bcf/d)
Foothills Saskatchewan 63 106 m³/d (2.24 Bcf/d) 40 106 m³/d (1.4 Bcf/d)
Westcoast
T-North 85 106 m³/j (3,0 Gpi³/j) 56 106 m³/j (1,9 Gpi³/j)
T-South 63 106 m³/j (2,24 Gpi³/j) 40 106 m³/j (1,4 Gpi³/j)
 
Alliance 48 106 m³/d (1.7 Bcf/d) 46 106 m³/d (1.6 Bcf/d)

Approvisionnement en pétrole brut et en gaz naturel canadiens et utilisation

En 2015, le Canada occupait le quatrième rang des pays producteurs de pétrole et de LGN, représentant 4,8 % de l’offre mondiale.Note 3Cette année-là, la production de pétrole brut s’est établie en moyenne à environ 615 milliers de mètres cubes par jour (10³m³/j), soit 3,9 millions de barils par jour (Mb/j). La majeure partie de ce pétrole a été transportée par pipelineNote 4depuis les provinces de l’Ouest jusqu’aux autres provinces ou aux États-Unis (figure 4).

Ces dernières années, la production canadienne de pétrole brut a augmenté de façon soutenue, surtout en raison de l’exploitation des sables bitumineux. Le résultat a été un agrandissement progressif du réseau de pipelines d’exportation, les producteurs cherchant de nouveaux débouchés, notamment dans le Sud des États-Unis. En 2014, d’importantes augmentations de la capacité pipelinière, surtout aux États-Unis, ont donné aux producteurs canadiens un premier accès véritable au marché de la côte américaine du golfe du Mexique. Le secteur de l’énergie continue d’axer ses efforts sur la pénétration et le développement des marchés outre-mer pour se préparer à la croissance prévue de l’offre de pétrole de l’Ouest canadien, et plusieurs projets de pipeline ont été proposés à cette fin.

Figure 4 : Approvisionnement en pétrole brut canadien et utilisation en 2015

Figure 4 : Approvisionnement en pétrole brut canadien et utilisation en 2015

Source : Office national de l'énergie

Version textuelle de la carte

Cette carte donne une vue d’ensemble de l’approvisionnement en pétrole brut canadien et de l’utilisation en 2015. La majorité du pétrole est produit dans l’Ouest canadien et transporté par pipeline jusqu’aux marchés des États-Unis et des autres provinces canadiennes.

En 2015, le Canada occupait le cinquième rang des pays producteurs de gaz naturel, représentant 4,6 % de l’offre mondiale.Note 5Cette année-là, la production canadienne de gaz naturel s’est établie en moyenne à environ 424 106 m³/j, soit 15 milliards de pieds cubes par jour (Gpi³/j). La majeure partie de ce gaz naturel a été produite dans l’Ouest canadien et acheminée par pipeline aux consommateurs canadiens et américains (figure 5).

Bien que la production canadienne de gaz classique ait diminué ces dernières années, la production non classique augmente sous l’effet des progrès techniques dans le domaine du forage horizontal et de la fracturation hydraulique. Le Canada exporte sa production excédentaire aux États-Unis, mais le gaz naturel américain fait de plus en plus concurrence à celui de l’Ouest canadien, tant sur les marchés canadiens qu’américains. Afin de trouver des débouchés pour leur production excédentaire, beaucoup de sociétés ont proposé de construire des installations pour exporter du gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL) outre-mer. Aucun terminal d’exportation de GNL n’est en construction, et il faudrait plusieurs années avant qu’un des terminaux projetés n’entre en service.

Figure 5 : Approvisionnement en gaz naturel canadien et utilisation en 2015

Figure 5 : Approvisionnement en gaz naturel canadien et utilisation en 2015

Source : Office national de l'énergie

Version textuelle de la carte

Cette carte donne une vue d’ensemble de l’approvisionnement en gaz naturel canadien et de l’utilisation en 2015. La majorité du gaz naturel est produit dans le bassin sédimentaire de l’Ouest canadien (BSOC) et utilisé localement ou transporté par pipeline jusqu’aux marchés de l’Est et du centre du Canada, et de l’Ouest, du Midwest et du Nord-Est des États-Unis.

Prix des produits de base et volatilité du secteur de l’énergie

Le contexte économique du secteur de l’énergie a radicalement changé depuis 2014. La figure 6 montre l’évolution de trois prix de référence albertains : le « mélange non corrosif mixte » (MSW) pour le brut léger, le « Western Canada Select » (WCS) pour le brut lourd, et le « NOVA Inventory Transfer » (NIT) pour le gaz naturel. Avant la fin de 2015, les prix du pétrole et du gaz naturel avaient reculé de plus de 50 % en dollars canadiens. La faiblesse des prix durant cette période a entraîné d’importantes réductions des dépenses en amont dans les projets de forage et de nouvelle production.

Figure 6 : Prix du pétrole brut et du gaz naturel canadiens

Figure 6 : Prix du pétrole brut et du gaz naturel canadiens

Source : Office national de l'énergie

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique indique le prix du pétrole brut léger et lourd ainsi que du gaz naturel en Alberta de 2010 à 2015. À la fin de 2015, les prix avaient reculé de plus de 50 % en dollars canadiens.

L’offre canadienne de pétrole et de gaz est demeurée plutôt robuste, et la production nationale de pétrole brut et de gaz naturel a augmenté en 2014 et en 2015 (figure 7). Cependant, les activités de forage au pays ont chuté de plus de 50 % d’une année à l’autre, et beaucoup de grands projets d’exploitation des sables bitumineux ont été reportés ou annulés. Ces facteurs ont créé de l’incertitude quant aux niveaux de production futurs.

Figure 7 : Production canadienne de pétrole brut et de gaz naturel

Figure 7 : Production canadienne de pétrole brut et de gaz naturel

Source : Office national de l'énergie

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique indique la production canadienne de pétrole brut en millions de barils par jour (axe vertical gauche) et de gaz naturel (axe vertical droit) de 2010 à 2015, période durant laquelle la production de gaz naturel a varié entre 13,5 et 15,5 Gpi³/j. La production de pétrole brut a également varié, mais est progressivement passée de 2,5 à 4,0 Mb/j

Les répercussions de la volatilité récente du secteur de l’énergie sur les sociétés pipelinières réglementées par l’Office sont variables. Certaines ont des actifs et des branches d’activités sans lien avec les pipelines réglementés (p. ex., installations de stockage et centrales de production d’électricité), ce qui peut modifier leur sensibilité aux risques et aux développements du secteur de l’énergie dans son ensemble.

Les rendements sur les actifs pipeliniers sont réglementés et reposent souvent sur des contrats de longue duréeNote 6, ce qui réduit la sensibilité à la volatilité à court terme. Comme expliqué plus loin dans le présent rapport, en règle générale, les prix que facturent les sociétés pipelinières pour leurs services de transport (droits) sont plus étroitement corrélés aux coûts du pipeline en question qu’aux conditions du marché. À long terme, les investissements dans l’infrastructure pipelinière et l’agrandissement du réseau pipelinier dépendront largement du niveau d’intensité de l’activité pétrolière et gazière.

Réglementation économique des pipelines par l’Office

Surveillance et réglementation financières

Les pipelines relevant de la compétence de l’Office se divisent en deux groupes pour les besoins de la réglementation financière : les sociétés pipelinières du groupe 1, qui ont de vastes réseaux et de nombreux expéditeurs, et les sociétés du groupe 2, qui ont des pipelines plus petits et moins complexes et un nombre réduit d’expéditeurs. La liste des sociétés pipelinières réglementées par l’Office se trouve à l’annexe de la section 7.

Dans l’intérêt public

L’Office réglemente, dans l’intérêt du public canadien, les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie. L’intérêt public englobe toute la population canadienne et consiste en un équilibre entre les intérêts économiques, environnementaux et sociaux qui change en fonction de l’évolution des valeurs et des préférences de la société.

Étant donné leur taille et leur complexité, les sociétés du groupe 1 sont soumises à une surveillance financière plus étroite et à des exigences de déclaration plus strictes que les sociétés du groupe 2. Toutes les sociétés du groupe 2 (et deux petites sociétés du groupe 1) sont assujetties à une « réglementation fondée sur les plaintes ». Sous ce régime, l’expéditeur ou l’expéditeur potentiel est encouragé à s’adresser directement à la société pipelinière pour trouver une solution aux différends. Si cette démarche échoue, il peut porter plainte à l’Office.

L’Office mène des vérifications financières pour s’assurer du respect de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie et des règlements connexes. De plus, il examine les rapports de surveillance réguliers que lui envoient la plupart des sociétés du groupe 1 pour faire un suivi des résultats financiers et des débits. De nombreuses sociétés du groupe 2 déposent leurs états financiers vérifiés auprès de l’Office.Note 7

Conception des droits

Les droits pipeliniers doivent être justes et raisonnables. Comme il peut être plus efficace de bâtir un seul pipeline commun au lieu de nombreux pipelines concurrents, les installations relevant de la compétence de l’Office exercent souvent un pouvoir de marché, voire parfois un monopole sur les marchés qu’elles desservent. Le rôle de l’Office consiste alors à prévenir l’abus de ce pouvoir et à préserver le caractère juste et non discriminatoire des droits des services pipeliniers.

L’Office établit les droits en s’appuyant sur le principe que la société pipelinière doit pouvoir couvrir ses coûts, y compris ceux liés aux obligations de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement. Il convient également que la société doit générer suffisamment de produits pour pourvoir efficacement aux besoins en transport de ses clients et procurer un rendement raisonnable à ses investisseurs.

Cessation d’exploitation et responsabilité financière

L’Office réglemente l’infrastructure énergétique tout au long de son cycle de vie, qui englobe la proposition du projet, la construction, l’exploitation et la cessation d’exploitation. En 2009, il a publié une ordonnance obligeant toutes les sociétés relevant de sa compétence à constituer un fonds de réserve pour couvrir les coûts futurs de cessation d’exploitation. L’Office a fait valoir que c’est aux pipelinières, et non aux propriétaires fonciers, qu’il revient d’assumer les coûts et la responsabilité du financement des activités de cessation d’exploitation. Les coûts estimatifs de cessation d’exploitation des pipelines réglementés par l’Office sont traités à la section 4.3.

La Loi sur la sûreté des pipelines, qui a reçu la sanction royale le 18 juin 2015, a instauré le principe de responsabilité absolue, c’est-à-dire sans égard à la faute, pour les exploitants de pipelines réglementés par l’Office. La responsabilité maximale est fixée à 1 milliard de dollars pour les grands oléoducs.Note 8 La Loi sur la sûreté des pipelines exige aussi que les sociétés fassent la preuve qu’elles disposent en permanence de ressources financières au moins égales au montant de la responsabilité absolue qui s’applique à elles. De plus, une partie de ces ressources doit être facilement accessible pour en accélérer la mobilisation en cas d’incident. Des règlements précisant ces exigences seront pris par le gouverneur en conseil et sont en cours de rédaction par Ressources naturelles Canada.

Surveillance des aspects économiques du secteur pipelinier

L’Office est d’avis que le bon fonctionnement des marchés sert l’intérêt public. C’est pourquoi il surveille certains indicateurs clés du fonctionnement économique des pipelines relevant de sa compétence. Trois de ces indicateurs – la capacité pipelinière, les niveaux des droits et l’intégrité financière – sont expliqués en détail aux prochaines sections.

Photos: gauche: Silhouette d’un appareil de pompage au soleil couchant; centre: Vannes et volants de manœuvre d’une station de pompage par une journée ensoleillée; droit: Deux mains tenant un stylo pendant une réunion.

 

Date de modification :