Canada’s Pipeline Transportation System 2016

Financial Integrity of Pipeline Companies


The tolls discussed in the previous sections are designed to allow pipeline companies to recover capital and operating costs, service debt, and provide a return to its investors. Financial aspects of pipeline companies, such as debt and equity metrics, are important to maintaining their systems, attracting capital to build new infrastructure, and meeting the market’s evolving needs.

The following sections review and discuss factors relevant to the pipeline transportation system’s financial integrity.

Common Equity

A common equity ratio is the percentage of common equity in a company's capital structure.Note 19 This ratio is related to a company's financial risk, which is associated with a company's use of debt. Holding other things constant, higher common equity ratios decrease financial risk by increasing the likelihood of a company being able to meet its financial obligations, including debt service.

Deemed Common Equity Ratios

When the Board approves a Group 1 company's tolls in the absence of a negotiated settlement, it typically approves a return on equity (ROE) and a deemed common equity ratio for the regulated entity. Parent companies often have a variety of business lines consolidated into one capital structure. However, the Board deems an appropriate common equity ratio for the assets which it regulates.Note 20

Alternatively, some Group 1 pipeline companies negotiate a comprehensive tolls settlement with their shippers that does not expressly identify a capital structure and return on equity.Note 21 In these instances, the Board considers the overall settlement for approval.

Where available, the deemed common equity ratio for NEB Group 1 pipeline companies from 2008 to 2014 are shown in the appendix in section 11. These ratios have not changed since 2011.

Return on Common Equity

For NEB-regulated pipeline companies, ROE is determined through either adjudication or negotiation. Actual ROEs achieved by the pipeline companies may vary for numerous reasons such as throughput changes, incentives, profit-sharing mechanisms, and cost variances.

The achieved ROE for several NEB-regulated pipeline companies from 2008 to 2014 are shown in the appendix in section 11. ROE as determined by the RH-2-94 formula is also included for reference.Note 22

Actual ROEs are filed with the NEB for most Group 1 companies, while some companies are operating under negotiated settlements and are not required to report actual ROE. NEB staff examine actual ROE patterns, operations spending, maintenance, and feedback from shippers to identify any returns that may be inappropriate or could potentially result in unjust tolls.

Financial Ratios

Financial risk is based on a company's use of debt and other obligations where fixed payments are used. This differs from business risk, which is attributed to the nature of a particular business activity and, for pipelines, typically includes supply, market, regulatory, competitive, and operating risks.

Financial risk increases as the proportion of debt and interest payments increases relative to equity and cash flow. A company's financial risk may be described by ratios such as interest coverage, fixed-charges coverage, and cash flow-to-total debt and equivalents.

Interest and Fixed-Charges Coverage Ratios

An interest coverage ratio describes a company's ability to make interest payments and repay its debt obligations. It is defined as earnings before interest and taxes divided by interest charges. Similarly, a fixed-charges coverage ratio describes the ability to make interest payments and repay debt obligations, and additionally considers some of the other fixed payments a company is obligated to make. It is defined as earnings before interest, fixed charges, and taxes, divided by interest and fixed charges. Higher ratios indicate a higher likelihood the company will meet its obligations and may indicate greater borrowing capacity.

The fixed-charges coverage ratios for some NEB-regulated pipeline companies or pipeline systems, as calculated by DBRSNote 23, are shown in the appendix in section 11. In 2014, the average fixed-charges coverage ratio for these companies was 4.3, up from 2.7 in 2010. This indicates that, on average, the ability of these companies to pay fixed charges from earnings was higher in 2014 than in 2010. The difference can mostly be attributed to the reduction of debt by Express and Trans-Northern. Average fixed-charges coverage ratios of Alliance, Enbridge, M&NP, NGTL, Trans Québec & Maritimes Pipeline (TQM), Westcoast and the TransCanada Mainline increased by 9% over the same period.

Cash Flow-to-Total Debt and Equivalents Ratio

The cash flow-to-total debt and equivalents ratio is another way of describing a company's ability to meet its debt obligations and fixed payments. It is defined as operating cash flow divided by total debt and debt equivalents. Again, higher ratios indicate an increased likelihood of a company being able to meet its obligations and indicate greater borrowing capacity.

The cash flow-to-total debt and equivalents ratios for some NEB-regulated pipeline companies or pipeline systems, as calculated by DBRS, are shown in the appendix in section 11. The average ratio for these companies was 30% in 2014, up from about 18% in 2010. The rising trend of debt service coverage ratios is primarily due to continued debt reduction. As a notable example, Express increased its cash flows from $75 million in 2010 to over $175 million in 2014 while simultaneously reducing its total debt from $300 million to under $185 million. Conversely, Enbridge’s debt service coverage ratios have declined, which is partly why Standard & Poor's (S&P) recently downgraded its credit rating from A- to BBB+.

Credit Ratings

In Canada, pipeline company credit ratings are generally determined by three independent credit rating agencies: DBRS, S&P, and Moody's. Not all pipeline companies are rated by each agency. Credit ratings provide an assessment of the probability a debt issuer will live up to its obligations and provides an indication of the financial integrity of the rated company.

A company's credit rating generally reflects the consolidated operations of the entire company, not just the regulated portion. Consequently, the credit ratings for companies such as Enbridge, TransCanada, and Westcoast, which have both regulated and non-regulated operations, may be influenced by their non-regulated lines of business. Credit ratings are also somewhat subjective in that a company's ratings are the expert opinion of the credit rating agency and the same company may receive different ratings from different agencies. The appendix in section 12 compares the rating scales for DBRS, S&P, and Moody's.

DBRS

The credit ratings for most Group 1 pipeline companies are shown in the appendix in section 12. All remained investment grade, but some companies’ ratings were downgraded between 2010 and 2015.

  • In March 2011, DBRS downgraded Enbridge Pipelines to “A” from “A(high)”, which followed the announcement by Enbridge of a 10-year Competitive Toll Settlement for its Canadian Mainline.
  • In June 2013, TCPL’s unsecured debentures rating, as well as NGTL’s medium-term notes and unsecured debentures rating, were downgraded to “A(low)” from “A”. The NGTL downgrade reflects DBRS’s view that continued financial and liquidity support from TCPL is key to NGTL’s long-term debt rating.
  • In October 2015, Alliance Pipeline Limited Partnership’s rating was downgraded two notches from “A(low)” to “BBB”. The original 15-year contracts that underpinned the pipeline’s construction expired in November 2015. Alliance has re-contracted the majority of the pipeline’s capacity, but 60% of the new shippers are not of investment grade credit quality. This exposes Alliance to greater counterparty risk compared to the original contracts, of which 85% were signed with investment grade shippers. In the rating downgrade, DBRS also referred to Alliance’s credit concentration risk and the shorter duration of contracts.

S&P

S&P credit ratings for several Group 1 pipeline companies are shown in the appendix in section 12. All remained investment grade, but some companies’ ratings were downgraded between 2010 and 2015.

  • In November 2013, S&P downgraded Westcoast to a “BBB” rating from “BBB+” following the same downgrade of its parent, Spectra Energy Corp. These actions reflected corporate restructuring (i.e. drop-down of some of Spectra’s U.S. assets to another subsidiary). S&P saw this as weakening Spectra’s credit quality, as its creditors were now one step away from assets with stable cash flow.
  • In June 2015, S&P lowered its ratings on several Canadian Enbridge companiesNote 24, with Enbridge Pipelines’ long-term debt rating changing from “A-“ to “BBB+”. S&P viewed Enbridge’s financial risk profile as “aggressive”, referring to declining cash flow from operations and $40 billion in capital spending planned before 2020.

Moody's

Moody’s rating histories for several Group 1 pipeline companies are provided in the appendix in section 12. All remain investment grade, but some companies’ ratings were downgraded between 2010 and 2015.

  • Moody’s downgraded Alliance’s credit rating in 2014 and again in 2015, for similar reasons to those that prompted DBRS’s rating downgrade. In its 2015 announcement, Moody’s noted that the downgrade was only one notch due to progress Alliance made re-contracting throughput volumes on the pipeline.
  • In June 2015, Moody’s downgraded the credit rating of Enbridge Inc. (the parent company of Enbridge Pipelines) from “Baa1” to “Baa2”. Moody’s viewed Enbridge’s changes to its corporate structure and distribution policy as a shift toward favoring shareholders at the expense of creditors.
Photos: left: A pump jack silhouetted against the setting sun; centre: The grey valves and wheels of a pump station on clear day; right: Folded hands hold a pen on a board room table in a large meeting room.
Date modified:

Le réseau pipelinier du Canada 2016

Intégrité financière des sociétés pipelinières


Les droits traités aux sections précédentes visent à permettre aux sociétés pipelinières de recouvrer leurs coûts d’immobilisations et d’exploitation, d’assurer le service de leur dette et de procurer un rendement à leurs investisseurs. Les aspects financiers comme la dette et le capital-actions ont un effet déterminant sur la capacité des sociétés pipelinières d’entretenir leurs réseaux, d’attirer des capitaux pour la construction de nouvelles infrastructures et de répondre aux besoins changeants du marché.

Les sections qui suivent portent sur les facteurs relatifs à l’intégrité financière du réseau pipelinier.

Capital-actions ordinaire

Le ratio du capital-actions ordinaire se définit comme la proportion du capital-actions constitué d’actions ordinaires dans la structure du capital d’une société.Note 19 C’est une indication du risque financier de la société, soit le risque inhérent à son endettement. Si on suppose les autres facteurs constants, plus le ratio du capital-actions ordinaire est élevé, plus le risque financier est faible, car plus grande est la probabilité que la société puisse honorer ses obligations financières, notamment le service de sa dette.

Ratios présumés du capital-actions ordinaire

Lorsque l’Office approuve les droits d’une société du groupe 1 en l’absence d’un règlement négocié, il approuve généralement un rendement du capital-actions (RCA) et un ratio présumé du capital-actions ordinaire pour l’entité réglementée. Les sociétés mères sont souvent composées de diverses branches d’activités regroupées sous une même structure du capital. Toutefois, l’Office fixe un ratio du capital-actions ordinaire approprié pour les actifs soumis à sa réglementation.Note 20

Par ailleurs, certaines sociétés pipelinières du groupe 1 négocient avec leurs expéditeurs un règlement de droits global qui ne précise pas expressément la structure du capital et le rendement du capital-actions.Note 21 Dans ce cas, l’Office tient compte de l’ensemble du règlement au moment de l’approuver.

Les ratios présumés du capital-actions ordinaire des sociétés pipelinières du groupe 1 de l’Office pour la période de 2008 à 2014, lorsqu’ils sont connus, sont présentés à l’annexe de la section 11. Ces ratios n’ont pas changé depuis 2011.

Rendement du capital-actions ordinaire

Pour les sociétés pipelinières réglementées par l’Office, le rendement du capital-actions (RCA) est fixé par décision ou négociation. Les RCA réels des sociétés peuvent différer, notamment en raison de variations du débit, de régimes incitatifs, de mécanismes de partage des bénéfices ou d’écarts de coûts.

Les RCA réels de plusieurs sociétés pipelinières réglementées par l’Office pour la période de 2008 à 2014 sont donnés à l’annexe de la section 11. Les RCA calculés avec la méthode décrite dans les Motifs de décision RH-2-94 sont aussi fournis à titre de référence.Note 22

La plupart des sociétés du groupe 1 communiquent leur RCA réel à l’Office, tandis que celles qui fonctionnent selon le modèle des règlements négociés ne sont pas tenues de le faire. Le personnel de l’Office analyse les tendances des RCA réels, les dépenses d’exploitation et d’entretien et les commentaires des expéditeurs pour déceler les rendements abusifs ou qui pourraient se traduire par des droits inéquitables.

Ratios financiers

Le risque financier dépend de l’usage qu’une société fait des titres d’emprunt et autres types d’obligations assorties de paiements fixes. Il se distingue du risque commercial, défini comme le risque inhérent à la nature d’une activité commerciale donnée et qui, dans le cas des sociétés pipelinières, englobe habituellement les risques liés à l’approvisionnement, au marché, à la réglementation, à la concurrence et à l’exploitation.

Le risque financier d’une société augmente en proportion de l’importance de sa dette et de ses paiements d’intérêts par rapport à son capital-actions et à sa trésorerie. Ce risque peut être caractérisé au moyen de certains ratios, comme le ratio de couverture des intérêts et des charges fixes ou le ratio flux de trésorerie/dette totale et quasi-dette.

Ratios de couverture des intérêts et des charges fixes

Le ratio de couverture des intérêts est un indicateur de la capacité de la société d’honorer les paiements d’intérêts et de rembourser sa dette. On l’obtient en divisant le bénéfice avant intérêts et impôts (BAII) par les frais d’intérêts. De même, le ratio de couverture des charges fixes témoigne de la capacité de la société de faire face à ses paiements d’intérêts et à ses créances et d’assumer certains autres paiements fixes qu’elle peut être tenue de faire. Il s’obtient en divisant le bénéfice avant intérêts, charges fixes et impôts par les charges fixes, y compris les intérêts. Un ratio de couverture élevé indique une plus grande probabilité que la société puisse honorer ses obligations et peut aussi dénoter une capacité d’emprunt supérieure.

Les ratios de couverture des charges fixes de certaines sociétés pipelinières et de certains réseaux pipeliniers réglementés par l’Office, tels qu’ils ont été calculés par DBRSNote 23, sont donnés à l’annexe de la section 11. En 2014, le ratio moyen de couverture des charges fixes de ces sociétés était de 4,3, contre 2,7 en 2010. C’est signe qu’en moyenne, la capacité de ces sociétés de payer leurs charges fixes à même leur bénéfice était plus grande en 2014 qu’en 2010. La différence est essentiellement attribuable à la réduction de la dette d’Express et de Trans-Nord. Sur la même période, les ratios de couverture des charges fixes d’Alliance, d’Enbridge, de Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline, de NOVA Gas Transmission Ltd., de Trans Québec and Maritimes Pipeline (TQM), de Westcoast et du réseau principal de TransCanada ont augmenté en moyenne de 9 %.

Ratio flux de trésorerie/dette totale et quasi-dette

Le ratio flux de trésorerie/dette totale et quasi-dette constitue un autre indicateur de la capacité d’une société de rembourser ses créances et d’effectuer ses paiements fixes. On l’obtient en divisant les flux de trésorerie d’exploitation par la dette totale et la quasi-dette. Ici encore, un ratio élevé indique une probabilité accrue que la société puisse faire face à ses obligations et dénote une capacité d’emprunt supérieure.

Les ratios des flux de trésorerie/dette totale et quasi-dette de certaines sociétés pipelinières et certains réseaux pipeliniers réglementés par l’Office, tels qu’ils ont été calculés par DBRS, sont donnés à l’annexe de la section 11. En 2014, le ratio moyen s’est établi à 30 %, contre 18 % environ en 2010. La tendance haussière des ratios de couverture du service de la dette s’explique principalement par la poursuite des efforts de réduction de l’endettement. Un exemple digne de mention est celui d’Express, qui a porté ses flux de trésorerie de 75 millions de dollars en 2010 à plus de 175 millions en 2014, tout en faisant passer sa dette totale de 300 millions de dollars à moins de 185 millions. En revanche, les ratios de couverture du service de la dette d’Enbridge ont diminué, d’où, en partie, l’abaissement récent de sa cote de solvabilité par Standard & Poor’s (S&P), passée de « A- » à « BBB+ ».

Cotes de solvabilité

Au Canada, les cotes de solvabilité des sociétés pipelinières sont généralement déterminées par trois agences de notation indépendantes : DBRS, S&P et Moody’s. Toutes les sociétés pipelinières ne sont pas cotées par les trois agences. Les cotes de solvabilité sont une évaluation de la probabilité qu’un émetteur de titres de créance honore ses obligations; elles donnent une idée de l’intégrité financière de la société.

Les cotes de solvabilité rendent habituellement compte des activités consolidées de la société dans son ensemble, et non seulement de la partie assujettie à la réglementation. Par conséquent, de telles cotes pour des sociétés comme Enbridge, TransCanada et Westcoast, qui ont à la fois des activités réglementées et d’autres qui ne le sont pas, peuvent être influencées par la partie non réglementée de leur exploitation. Les cotes de solvabilité sont d’ailleurs quelque peu subjectives, en ce sens que la cote attribuée à un émetteur peut varier d’une agence à l’autre, puisqu’il s’agit d’une opinion des experts de chacune. L’annexe de la section 12 compare les échelles de DBRS, S&P et Moody’s.

DBRS

L’historique des cotes de solvabilité attribuées par DBRS à la plupart des sociétés pipelinières du groupe 1 est présenté à l’annexe de la section 12. Toutes les sociétés ont maintenu une cote de qualité placement, mais certaines ont subi une décote entre 2010 et 2015.

  • En mars 2011, DBRS a décoté Pipelines Enbridge de « A (élevée) » à « A » après que la société a annoncé une entente de tarification concurrentielle de 10 ans pour son réseau principal au Canada.
  • En juin 2013, les cotes des obligations non garanties de TransCanada PipeLines Limited (TCPL) ainsi que des obligations non garanties et des billets à moyen terme de NOVA Gas Transmission Limited (NGTL) ont été abaissées, passant de « A » à « A (faible) ». Le déclassement de NGTL reflète l’opinion de DBRS selon laquelle la cote de la dette à long terme de NGTL repose essentiellement sur le soutien financier et l’apport en liquidités de TCPL.
  • En octobre 2015, la cote d’Alliance Pipeline Limited Partnership a été abaissée de deux crans, de « A (faible) » à « BBB ». Les contrats initiaux de 15 ans qui appuyaient la construction du pipeline sont arrivés à échéance en novembre 2015. Alliance a conclu de nouveaux contrats pour la majeure partie de la capacité du pipeline, mais 60 % des nouveaux expéditeurs sont classés dans la catégorie spéculative. Alliance se trouve ainsi exposée à un risque de contrepartie plus élevé qu’avec les contrats d’origine, dont 85 % avaient été conclus avec des expéditeurs ayant une cote de crédit de qualité placement. Pour justifier son déclassement, DBRS a aussi évoqué le risque de concentration du crédit d’Alliance et la durée réduite de ses contrats.

S&P

L’historique des cotes de solvabilité attribuées par S&P à plusieurs sociétés pipelinières du groupe 1 sont présentées à l’annexe de la section 12. Toutes les sociétés ont maintenu une cote de qualité placement, mais certaines ont subi une décote entre 2010 et 2015.

  • En novembre 2013, S&P a décoté Westcoast de « BBB+ » à « BBB », comme elle l’a fait pour sa société mère, Spectra Energy Corp. Ce déclassement fait suite à la restructuration de l’entreprise (« autocession » de certains actifs américains de Spectra à une autre filiale), qui aurait eu pour effet de dégrader la qualité du crédit de Spectra selon S&P, puisqu’elle place certains actifs productifs de rentrées stables à l’abri des créanciers.
  • En juin 2015, S&P a déclassé plusieurs sociétés canadiennes d’EnbridgeNote 24, faisant passer la cote de la dette à long terme de Pipelines Enbridge Inc. de « A- » à « BBB+ ». S&P considérait le profil de risque financier d’Enbridge comme « audacieux », faisant référence à la baisse des flux de trésorerie provenant de l’exploitation et aux dépenses en immobilisations de 40 milliards de dollars prévues d’ici 2020.

Moody’s

L’historique des cotes de solvabilité attribuées par Moody’s à plusieurs sociétés pipelinières du groupe 1 est présenté à l’annexe de la section 12. Toutes les sociétés ont maintenu une cote de qualité placement, mais certaines ont subi une décote entre 2010 et 2015.

  • En 2014 et en 2015, Moody’s a abaissé la cote de solvabilité d’Alliance, pour des motifs semblables à ceux de DBRS. Dans son annonce de 2015, Moody’s a précisé qu’elle n’abaissait la cote que d’un cran en raison des progrès qu’a fait Alliance dans la conclusion de nouveaux contrats sur les débits du pipeline.
  • En juin 2015, Moody’s a décoté Enbridge Inc. (la société mère de Pipelines Enbridge Inc.) de « Baa1 » à « Baa2 », invoquant que les changements apportés à sa structure organisationnelle et à sa politique de distribution favorisaient ses actionnaires au détriment de ses créanciers.
Photos: gauche: Silhouette d’un appareil de pompage au soleil couchant; centre: Vannes et volants de manœuvre d’une station de pompage par une journée ensoleillée; droit: Deux mains tenant un stylo pendant une réunion.

 

Date de modification :