Canada’s Pipeline Transportation System 2016

Enbridge Pipelines (Westspur) Inc.’s Enbridge Westspur Pipeline

Table 9.2.1: Enbridge Pipelines (Westspur) Inc.’s Enbridge Westspur Pipeline
Commodity and NEB Group Crude oil
(Group 2)
Average annual capacity 40 500 m³/d
(255 Mb/d)
Average utilization 2015 69%
Primary receipt points Alida, Bryant, Steelman and Midale, SK
Primary delivery points Cromer, MB
Coûts estimatifs de cessation d’exploitation et période de prélèvement Note a $32.3 million;
25 years

Overview

The Enbridge Westspur Pipeline (Westspur) is located in south Saskatchewan and is comprised of approximately 390 km of trunk pipelines and approximately 80 km of gathering pipelines. It transports crude oil collected from gathering systems and truck shipments, as well as NGLs from the Steelman gas processing facility, to the Enbridge Mainline near Cromer, MB.

Map – Enbridge Westspur Pipeline

Source: NEB

Text version of this map

This map provides an overview of the Westspur Pipeline System.

Key Developments

In February 2010, Enbridge Pipelines (Westspur) Inc. (Enbridge Westspur) applied to expand capacity on two segments of the system (Alida-Steelman and Bryant-Steelman) in southeastern Saskatchewan. The application was approved by the Board in April 2010 and leave to open was granted in January 2011.

Utilization

Figure 9.2.1 shows Westspur throughput for 2010-2015. Throughput averaged 28 700 m³/d (180 Mb/d) in 2014 and 28 100 m³/d (177 Mb/d) in 2015.

Figure 9.2.1: Westspur Throughput vs. Capacity

Figure 9.2.1: Westspur Throughput vs. Capacity

Sources : Enbridge, NEB

Text version of this graphic

This bar chart shows throughput and capacity for the Westspur Pipeline between 2010 and 2015. Capacity in 2015 was 40.5 10³m³/d (255 Mb/d). Throughput averaged 28.1 10³m³/d (177 Mb/d) in 2015, compared to 28.7 10³m³/d (180 /d) in 2014.

Tolls

Figure 9.2.2 shows the Westspur benchmark toll (crude petroleum from the Midale Terminal in Saskatchewan to Cromer, MB) and the GDP deflator (normalized). The significant increase in tolls in 2011 was concurrent with the change in toll methodology from cost of service to negotiated settlements. The current toll settlement commenced in April 2013 and has a five year term. Westspur tolls are regulated on a complaint basis.

Figure 9.2.2: Westspur Benchmark Toll

Figure 9.2.2: Westspur Benchmark Toll

Source: NEB

Text version of this graphic

This graph shows the Enbridge Westspur benchmark toll as a solid red line and the GDP deflator as a black dashed line. The toll increased significantly from approximately $1.30 in 2010 to approximately $4.36 in 2011 followed by a steady increase to $5.33 in 2015.

Financial

Revenue and net income have been stable since negotiated settlements replaced the cost of service tolling methodology in 2011. Enbridge Westspur owns an approximately 22% interest in two renewable companies which represented about $227.6 million of its assets in 2015.

Table 9.2.2: Enbridge Pipelines (Westspur) Inc. – Yearly
Enbridge Pipelines (Westspur) Inc. 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Revenues (millions) $43.1 $59.5 $64.9 $54.2 $63.5 $67.3
Net Income (millions) $14.2 $21.0 $15.8 $17.8 $18.0 $19.6
Property Plant & Equipment (millions) $104.7 $112.7 $109.5 $109.2 $93.0 $86.0
Assets (millions) $195 $478 $500.2 $432.3 $409.1 $397.7
Photos: left: A pump jack silhouetted against the setting sun; centre: The grey valves and wheels of a pump station on clear day; right: Folded hands hold a pen on a board room table in a large meeting room.

 

Date modified:

Le réseau pipelinier du Canada 2016

Pipeline Enbridge Westspur de Pipelines Enbridge (Westspur) Inc.

Tableau 9.2.1 : ipeline Enbridge Westspur de Pipelines Enbridge (Westspur) Inc.
Produit et groupe de l’Office Pétrole brut
Groupe 2
Capacité annuelle moyenne 40 500 m³/j
(255 kb/j)
Taux d’utilisation moyen en 2015 69 %
Points de réception principaux Alida, Bryant, Steelman et Midale (Sask.)
Point de livraison principal Cromer (Man.)
Abandonment Cost Estimate and Collection PeriodNote a 32,3 M$
25 ans

Aperçu

Le pipeline Enbridge Westspur (Westspur), situé dans le sud de la Saskatchewan, comprend environ 390 km de conduites principales et 80 km de pipelines de collecte. Il transporte le pétrole brut des réseaux de collecte et des livraisons par camion ainsi que les LGN de l’usine de traitement du gaz de Steelman jusqu’au réseau principal d’Enbridge, près de Cromer, au Manitoba.

Carte - Pipeline Enbridge Westspur

Source : Office national de l'énergie

Version textuelle de la carte

Cette carte donne une vue d’ensemble du réseau pipelinier Westspur.

Faits marquants

En février 2010, Pipelines Enbridge (Westspur) Inc. (Enbridge Westspur) a déposé une demande en vue d’accroître la capacité de deux tronçons du réseau dans le sud-est de la Saskatchewan, soit ceux reliant Steelman à Alida et à Bryant. La demande a été approuvée par l’Office en avril 2010 et l’autorisation de mise en service a été accordée en janvier 2011.

Utilisation

La figure 9.2.1 indique le débit de Westspur de 2010 à 2015. Le débit s’élevait en moyenne à 28 700 m³/j (180 kb/j) en 2014 et à 28 100 m³/j (177 kb/j) en 2015.

Figure 9.2.1 : Débit et capacité de Westspur

Figure 9.2.1 : Débit et capacité de Westspur

Source : Enbridge, Office national de l’énergie

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique à barres indique le débit et la capacité du pipeline Westspur de 2010 à 2015. La capacité était de 40,5 10³m³/j (255 kb/j) en 2015. Le débit moyen était de 28,1 10³m³/j (177 kb/j) en 2015, et de 28,7 10³m³/j (180 kb/j) en 2014.

Droits

La figure 9.2.2 indique les droits repères de Westspur pour le transport de pétrole brut du terminal de Midale, en Saskatchewan, jusqu’à Cromer, au Manitoba, ainsi que le déflateur du PIB (normalisé). L’augmentation considérable des droits en 2011 correspond à l’adoption de règlements négociés pour remplacer les droits fondés sur le coût du service. Le règlement sur les droits actuel est entré en vigueur en avril 2013 et a une durée de cinq ans. Les droits de Westspur sont réglementés en fonction des plaintes.

Figure 9.2.2 : Droits repères de Westspur

Figure 9.2.2 : Droits repères de Westspur

Source : Office national de l'énergie

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique présente le droit repère d’Enbridge Westspur (ligne pleine rouge) et le déflateur du PIB (tireté noir). Il montre que le droit a augmenté fortement, passant d’environ 1,30 $/m³ en 2010 à environ 4,36 $/m³ en 2011, puis a connu une augmentation constante pour atteindre 5,33 $/m³ en 2015.

Données financières

Les produits et le bénéfice net sont stables depuis que les règlements négociés ont remplacé les droits fondés sur le coût du service en 2011. Enbridge Westspur détient environ 22 % des parts de deux sociétés du secteur de l’énergie renouvelable, pour un actif d’environ 227,6 millions de dollars en 2015.

Tableau 9.2.2 : Enbridge Pipelines (Westspur) Inc. – Données annuelles
Enbridge Pipelines (Westspur) Inc. 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Produits (en millions) 43,1 $ 59,5 $ 64,9 $ 54,2 $ 63,5 $ 67,3 $
Bénéfice net (en millions) 14,2 $ 21,0 $ 15,8 $ 17,8 $ 18,0 $ 19,6 $
Immobilisations corporelles (en millions) 104,7 $ 112,7 $ 109,5 $ 109,2 $ 93,0 $ 86,0 $
Actif (en millions) 195 $ 478 $ 500,2 $ 432,3 $ 409,1 $ 397,7 $
Photos: gauche: Silhouette d’un appareil de pompage au soleil couchant; centre: Vannes et volants de manœuvre d’une station de pompage par une journée ensoleillée; droit: Deux mains tenant un stylo pendant une réunion.

 

Date de modification :