Canada’s Pipeline Transportation System 2016

Foreword and Executive Summary

Foreword

The National Energy Board (NEB or the Board) is an independent federal regulator of pipelines, energy development, and trade. The Board’s purpose is to promote safety and security, environmental protection, and efficient infrastructure and markets in the Canadian public interest within the mandate set by Parliament.

The Board’s main responsibilities include regulating: the construction, operation, and abandonment of pipelines that cross international borders or provincial/territorial boundaries, as well as the associated pipeline tolls and tariffs; the construction and operation of international power lines and designated interprovincial power lines; and imports of natural gas and exports of crude oil, natural gas, oil, natural gas liquids, refined petroleum products, and electricity.

In support of its regulatory role, the Board actively monitors energy markets and produces neutral, independent, fact-based energy information for Canadians. These products increase the transparency of Canadian energy markets and support Canadian energy literacy. This report, Canada’s Pipeline Transportation System, provides information about major pipelines regulated by the Board.

This report does not indicate whether any application filed with the Board will be approved or denied. The Board takes decisions on specific applications based on the evidence before it at that time. If a party wishes to rely on this report in any regulatory proceeding before the Board, it may submit the material, just as it may submit any public document. Under these circumstances, the submitting party would adopt the material and could be required to answer questions about it.

Contributors to this report include: Kiran Hundal (pipeline tolls), Darcy Johnson (financial integrity, crude oil), Amanda McCoy (document coordination), Andrea Oslanski (natural gas), Christian Rankin (crude oil), Jesus Rios (crude oil, NGLs), Margaret Skwara (natural gas), Michael Van Appelen (financial integrity), and Cassandra Wilde (natural gas, pipeline tolls).

Executive Summary

Canadians depend on pipelines to deliver natural gas, natural gas liquids, crude oil, and petroleum products across Canada. These pipelines deliver energy safely, reliably, and efficiently to Canadian end-users, connect North American markets and transport energy to ports for sales overseas.

This report, Canada’s Pipeline Transportation System, provides information about the economic functioning of major pipelines regulated by the Board. In 2015, $99.7 billion worth of energy products were shipped in these pipelines at an estimated transportation cost of $7.3 billion.

The economic environment surrounding the energy sector has changed dramatically since 2014. Significantly lower oil and natural gas prices have led to deep cuts in industry spending and many delayed or cancelled projects. Despite price declines, Canadian oil and natural gas production increased in 2015, as did supply in the United States (U.S.). These and other market factors continue to present opportunities and challenges for Canadian energy pipeline systems.

A well-functioning pipeline transportation system responds effectively to changing market conditions. Some adjustments happen quickly, like changes to pipeline service offerings. Others take time, like seeking regulatory approval for, and potentially constructing, new pipeline facilities.

Key observations for NEB-Regulated Pipelines in 2015:

  1. Oil export capacity remained tight. This is being driven by increases in crude oil supply in western Canada, primarily from the oil sands, while pipeline capacity additions have not kept pace. Several major pipeline projects have been proposed to expand market options for western Canadian oil supply growth, particularly to access tidewater and international markets. None of these projects are currently under construction. Crude oil transportation by rail has been required to supplement pipelines in moving growing oil supply to market.
  2. There was adequate capacity on most natural gas pipelines.Production from the Western Canadian Sedimentary Basin (WCSB) remained steady. As a result the Alliance pipeline and portions of the Westcoast and NOVA Gas Transmission Ltd. (NGTL) systems generally operated at full capacity. Capacity was constrained in growing production areas of the WCSB, such as the Montney basin. On the other hand, competition from supply basins in the U.S. northeast resulted in reduced flows on pipelines transporting gas from Alberta to markets in the east. This dynamic has been accompanied by the reversal of some TransCanada Mainline segments to the Canada-U.S. border, allowing additional U.S. northeast gas imports into Ontario and Quebec.
  3. Pipeline companies and shippers were generally able to resolve the majority of their tolls and tariff issues through the negotiated settlement process. The Board adjudicated some toll applications and shipper complaints that the independent parties were not able to resolve otherwise.
  4. NEB-regulated pipeline companies were financially sound. Credit ratings continued to be investment grade, and key financial ratios were stable.
Photos: left: A pump jack silhouetted against the setting sun; centre: The grey valves and wheels of a pump station on clear day; right: Folded hands hold a pen on a board room table in a large meeting room.
Date modified:

Le réseau pipelinier du Canada 2016

Avant-propos et résumé

Avant-propos

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie. Sa raison d’être est de promouvoir, dans l’intérêt public canadien, la sûreté et la sécurité, la protection de l’environnement et l’efficience de l’infrastructure et des marchés énergétiques, dans le cadre du mandat que lui a confié le Parlement.

Les principales attributions de l’Office consistent à réglementer la construction, l’exploitation et la cessation d’exploitation des pipelines qui franchissent des frontières internationales, provinciales ou territoriales, de même que les droits et tarifs y afférents, la construction et l’exploitation des lignes internationales de transport d’électricité et de lignes interprovinciales désignées, ainsi que les importations de gaz naturel et les exportations de pétrole brut, de gaz naturel, de pétrole, de liquides de gaz naturel, de produits pétroliers raffinés et d’électricité.

À l’appui de son rôle d’organisme de réglementation, l’Office surveille activement les marchés de l’énergie et fournit aux Canadiens une information neutre, indépendante et factuelle sur le secteur. Ces données contribuent à la transparence des marchés énergétiques du pays et aident le public à mieux comprendre les questions énergétiques. Le présent rapport, Le réseau pipelinier du Canada, fait un bilan de la situation des principaux pipelines réglementés par l’Office.

Le présent rapport ne fournit aucune indication relativement à l’approbation ou au rejet d’une demande quelconque soumise à l’Office. L’Office étudie chaque demande en se fondant sur les documents qui lui sont soumis en preuve à ce moment. Quiconque souhaite utiliser le présent rapport dans une instance réglementaire devant l’Office peut le soumettre à cette fin, au même titre que tout autre document public. En agissant ainsi, la partie fait siens les documents déposés et pourrait devoir répondre à des questions sur ceux-ci.

Collaborateurs à la rédaction du rapport : Kiran Hundal (droits pipeliniers), Darcy Johnson (intégrité financière, pétrole brut), Amanda McCoy (coordination), Andrea Oslanski (gaz naturel), Christian Rankin (pétrole brut), Jesus Rios (pétrole brut, LGN), Margaret Skwara (gaz naturel), Michael Van Appelen (intégrité financière) et Cassandra Wilde (gaz naturel, droits pipeliniers).

 

La population canadienne compte sur les pipelines pour l’acheminement du gaz naturel, des liquides de gaz naturel, du pétrole brut et des produits pétroliers partout au pays. Ces canalisations permettent de livrer les produits énergétiques aux utilisateurs finaux canadiens d’une manière sûre, fiable et efficace, de rejoindre les marchés nord-américains et de transporter les produits énergétiques jusqu’aux ports en vue de leur exportation.

Le présent rapport, Le réseau pipelinier du Canada, examine le fonctionnement économique des principaux pipelines réglementés par l’Office. Ces pipelines ont transporté en 2015 des produits énergétiques d’une valeur de 99,7 milliards de dollars, moyennant un coût de transport estimatif de 7,3 milliards de dollars.

Le contexte économique du secteur de l’énergie a radicalement changé depuis 2014. La chute des prix du pétrole et du gaz naturel a entraîné de fortes compressions des dépenses du secteur et le report ou l’annulation de nombreux projets. Malgré la chute des prix, la production canadienne de pétrole et de gaz naturel a augmenté en 2015, tout comme l’offre aux États-Unis. Cette situation, conjuguée à d’autres facteurs liés au marché, demeure source d’occasions et de défis pour les réseaux de pipelines d’énergie canadiens.

Un réseau pipelinier qui fonctionne bien réagit efficacement à l’évolution des conditions du marché. Certains ajustements se font rapidement, comme les changements aux services de transport par pipeline, tandis que d’autres prennent du temps, comme les démarches d’approbation réglementaire en vue de la construction de nouvelles installations pipelinières.

Principales observations concernant les pipelines réglementés par l’Office en 2015

  1. La capacité d’exportation de pétrole est demeurée serrée. Ce phénomène est dû au fait que la capacité pipelinière n’a pas suivi la croissance de l’offre de pétrole brut de l’Ouest canadien, principalement issue des sables bitumineux. Plusieurs projets pipeliniers d’envergure ont été proposés afin d’élargir les débouchés potentiels pour la production croissante de l’Ouest canadien, surtout par l’accès aux voies maritimes et aux marchés internationaux. Aucun de ces projets n’est en cours de construction. Pour acheminer le volume croissant de pétrole brut aux marchés, il a fallu recourir également au transport par chemin de fer.
  2. La capacité de la plupart des gazoducs était suffisante. La production dans le bassin sédimentaire de l’Ouest canadien (BSOC) est demeurée stable. Par conséquent, le pipeline Alliance et des tronçons des réseaux de Westcoast et de NOVA Gas Transmission Ltd. (NGTL) ont fonctionné à pleine capacité. La capacité était limitée dans certaines régions productrices en expansion du BSOC, notamment le bassin de Montney. En revanche, la concurrence des bassins d’approvisionnement du Nord-Est des États-Unis a fait baisser le débit des pipelines transportant le gaz albertain jusqu’aux marchés de l’Est. Cette dynamique s’est accompagnée de l’inversion du débit de certains tronçons du réseau principal de TransCanada vers la frontière canado-américaine, ce qui a fait affluer les importations de gaz du Nord-Est des États-Unis en Ontario et au Québec.
  3. Les sociétés pipelinières et les expéditeurs ont été en mesure de régler la majorité des problèmes de droits et de tarifs par la voie de règlements négociés. L’Office a tranché un certain nombre de demandes visant des droits et de plaintes d’expéditeurs lorsque les parties indépendantes ne parvenaient pas à s’entendre autrement.
  4. Les sociétés pipelinières réglementées par l’Office affichaient une bonne santé financière. Elles ont maintenu leurs cotes de solvabilité de qualité placement, et les principaux ratios financiers sont demeurés stables.
Photos: gauche: Silhouette d’un appareil de pompage au soleil couchant; centre: Vannes et volants de manœuvre d’une station de pompage par une journée ensoleillée; droit: Deux mains tenant un stylo pendant une réunion.

 

Date de modification :