Canada’s Pipeline Transportation System 2016

Pipeline Tolls and Shipper Services


The Board regulates tolls and tariffs for the pipelines under its jurisdiction to ensure they are just and reasonable. The Board also requires that pipeline companies operate according to the principle of "open access". This means that all parties must have access to transportation on a non-discriminatory basis, as long as they meet the requirements of the tariff.

Tariff

A tariff is a document containing the terms and conditions under which the service of a pipeline are offered or provided. It includes the tolls, rules and regulations, and practices relating to specific services. A pipeline company cannot charge a toll unless it is included in a tariff filed with the Board or approved by an order of the Board. The tariff also outlines the rights and responsibilities of both the pipeline company and shipper once service begins.

In addition, tolls for services provided under similar circumstances and conditions with respect to all traffic of the same description, carried over the same route, must be the same for all customers.

The Board uses a number of mechanisms to monitor whether pipeline companies are providing services that meet the needs of shippers at reasonable prices (tolls), and whether pipeline companies are complying with regulatory requirements. This includes monitoring pipeline tolls, requiring regular filings by companies, conducting financial audits, and directly soliciting shipper feedback in surveys. Parties may also file formal complaints with the Board if they are unable to resolve concerns on specific toll and tariff matters.

Negotiated Settlements and Toll Proceedings

A negotiated settlement is an agreement between a pipeline company and its stakeholders concerning issues related to the company's revenue requirementNote 14, tolls, tariffs, and operational matters. In discussions leading to such an agreement, interested persons must have a fair opportunity to participate and have their interests recognized. The need for a formal hearing process before the Board would normally be eliminated if:

  • the parties are able to settle all outstanding issues,
  • the Board is satisfied that there are no public interest considerations that extend beyond the immediate concerns of the negotiating parties, and
  • the settlement results in just and reasonable tolls and does not contradict the NEB Act.

Pipeline companies and shippers continue to resolve most toll and tariff issues with negotiated settlements. Figure 17 shows that most major pipelines regulated by the Board have operated under negotiated settlements during all, or a portion, of the last five years. Between mid-2013 and the end of 2015, the Board issued six decisions on contentious toll and tariff applications that were not resolved through negotiation. As of June 2016, one proceeding was ongoing.

Figure 17: Negotiated Settlements Timeline

Figure 17: Negotiated Settlements Timeline

Source: NEB

Text version of this graphic

This chart shows a timeline for negotiated settlements for select NEB-regulated pipelines from 1995-2015. Negotiated settlements are very common and have ranged in length from 1 year to 15 years, most often covering periods of five years or less. Most major pipelines regulated by the Board have operated under negotiated settlements for the past five years, although TransCanada has not operated under a negotiated settlement since 2011.

This chart shows a timeline for negotiated settlements for select NEB-regulated pipelines from 1995-2015. Negotiated settlements are very common and have ranged in length from 1 year to 15 years, most often covering periods of five years or less. Most major pipelines regulated by the Board have operated under negotiated settlements for the past five years, although TransCanada has not operated under a negotiated settlement since 2011.

From mid-2013 to 2015, the Board received 10 complaints from shippers. Half of the complaints were withdrawn and the Board issued direction on the other five complaints. The Board upheld two complaints, directed further action on two complaints, and found insufficient evidence to proceed further on one complaint.

Pipeline Tolls Index

Shipment and payment

The tariff sets out the procedure by which shippers must nominate and tender their product for transportation, and the terms of payment. Nominations for transportation are generally made on a monthly basis for oil pipelines and up to several times daily for gas pipelines. Shippers are typically invoiced monthly.

Stable and reasonable tolls are a key concern for shippers and therefore one of the indicators of the efficiency of a transportation system. Often, lower throughput leads to higher tolls as the pipeline’s costs are shared by the remaining shippers on the system. With cost of service regulation, large expenditures such as facility expansions can increase or decrease tolls depending on the impacts on throughput and revenue. The following section reviews toll variations and trends since 2010 for some NEB-regulated pipelines.

Oil Pipeline Tolls

The benchmark tolls for major Group 1 oil and liquids pipelines, as well as the gross domestic product (GDP) deflatorNote 15 normalizedNote 16 to 2010, are shown in Figure 18.

A variation in pipeline tolls can be the result of a number of factors, such as changes in throughput as well as operating and capital costs. Trans-Northern Pipelines Inc. (Trans-Northern) and Enbridge both experienced notable increases in their respective benchmark tolls in 2015. The Trans-Northern toll rose by 19% in 2015 due in part to spending on pipeline integrity. Enbridge’s increase of 23% in 2015 can be attributed to the addition of a surcharge related to the Edmonton to Hardisty Pipeline Project.

Figure 18: NEB-Regulated Oil Pipeline Benchmark Tolls

Figure 18: NEB-Regulated Oil Pipeline Benchmark Tolls

Sources: NEB toll filings and NEB calculations

Text version of this graphic

This chart shows benchmark tolls for major Group 1 oil and liquids pipelines compared to the gross domestic product (GDP) deflator which is used for the inflation adjustment. It shows that between 2010 and 2015, Express' tolls increased at a rate similar to inflation, while Keystone's tolls increased slightly more. TransMoutain's tolls grew at a moderately higher rate than inflation while Trans-Northern and Enbridge tolls increased at a rate much higher than the increase in the GDP deflator.

Natural Gas Pipeline Tolls

The benchmark tolls for major Group 1 natural gas pipelines as well as the normalized GDP deflator are shown in Figure 19. Tolls on TransCanada increased almost 40% between 2010 and 2012 due to lower use of the Mainline to move gas from the WCSB to eastern markets. Tolls were restructured in 2013 and in 2015 and have returned to more stable levels.

Under many negotiated settlements, if a pipeline earns too much or too little to cover costs in one year, the difference is made up the following year. Tolls on Westcoast increased in 2014 due to under-collection in 2013, while excess revenue in 2014 resulted in lower tolls in 2015.

Figure 19: NEB-Regulated Natural Gas Pipeline Benchmark Tolls

Figure 19: NEB-Regulated Natural Gas Pipeline Benchmark Tolls

Sources: NEB toll filings

Text version of this graphic

This chart shows the benchmark tolls for major Group 1 natural gas pipelines, as well as the gross domestic product (GDP) deflator. TransCanada tolls increased at a much higher rate than the GDP deflator in 2011 and 2012 then decreased. Westcoast's tolls greatly exceeded the GDP deflator in 2014, but fell far below it in 2015. Tolls for Alliance, M&NP, TQM and NGTL moved roughly in line with or slightly lower than the GDP deflator throughout most of the period.

Comparison of Oil and Natural Gas Pipeline Tolls

Figure 20 shows the simple averagesNote 17 of Group 1 natural gas and oil benchmark pipeline tolls with the GDP deflator. From 2010 to 2015, average oil pipeline tolls increased and exceeded the GDP deflator while average natural gas pipeline tolls declined.

Figure 20: Oil and Natural Gas Pipeline Benchmark Tolls

Figure 20: Oil and Natural Gas Pipeline Benchmark Tolls

Source: NEB

Text version of this graphic

This chart shows the simple averages of Group 1 natural gas and oil benchmark pipeline tolls with the GDP deflator. From 2010 to 2015, average oil pipeline tolls increased and exceeded the GDP deflator while average natural gas pipeline tolls declined.

Abandonment Funding

NEB-regulated companies must collect and set aside funds to cover future pipeline abandonment costs. The underlying principle is that pipeline companies, and not landowners or governments, are liable for the costs and financing of safe and environmentally responsible pipeline abandonment. Collectively, NEB-regulated companies will need $8.6 billion dollars for future pipeline abandonments based on current estimates (Table 3).

Table 3: Estimated Costs to Abandon Pipeline

Table 3: Estimated Costs to Abandon Pipeline
Estimated Cost in millions of dollarsNote 18
Alliance 310
Enbridge 1 115
Enbridge (Norman Wells) 37
Foothills 198
Keystone 236
Kinder Morgan Cochin 26
Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline 151
NGTL 2 185
TransCanada Mainline 2 530
TransQuébec & Maritimes 103
Trans Mountain 340
Trans-Northern 77
Westcoast G&P 363
Westcoast Transmission 320
Total Group 1 Pipelines 7 991
Total Group 2 Pipelines 562
Total Pipelines 8 553

In May 2011, NEB-regulated pipeline companies began filing summaries of the locations of their pipelines by pipe diameter and land type.

Throughout 2012, the NEB examined the companies’ preliminary estimates of the costs to abandon their pipeline systems.

In February 2013, the NEB released Reasons for Decision MH-001-2012 regarding preliminary abandonment cost estimates.

Most companies have many years to fund these future costs. In 2013, companies filed their plans to accumulate the necessary funds, as well as their mechanism for securely holding those funds. The NEB released Reasons for Decision MH-001-2013 in 2014 which found that trusts, letters of credit, and surety bonds were acceptable mechanisms.

In December 2014, companies submitted their finalized trust agreements, abandonment toll surcharges, investment policies, letters of credit, and surety bonds to the NEB. After some adjustments were made by the Board, these filings implemented the abandonment funding initiative, and companies are now collecting and setting aside money for future abandonment costs.

Companies report related information to the NEB each year, including amounts contributed to trusts and earnings on investments in these trusts. Companies using letters of credit or surety bonds, as well as companies that were exempted from the requirement to provide a set-aside mechanism, report information to the Board by 31 January each year. Companies using trusts report information to the Board by 30 April annually. Regular updates are also required on the estimated amount of funds needed and set aside, especially as pipelines approach the end of their useful lives. In 2016, the NEB commenced a review of the cost estimates to abandon NEB-regulated pipelines.

Photos: left: A pump jack silhouetted against the setting sun; centre: The grey valves and wheels of a pump station on clear day; right: Folded hands hold a pen on a board room table in a large meeting room.
Date modified:

Le réseau pipelinier du Canada 2016

Droits pipeliniers et services d’expédition


L’Office réglemente les droits et tarifs des pipelines relevant de sa compétence de sorte qu’ils soient justes et raisonnables. Il exige d’ailleurs que les sociétés pipelinières fonctionnent selon le principe du « libre accès ». En d’autres termes, toutes les parties doivent avoir accès au transport sans discrimination, dans la mesure où elles remplissent les conditions énoncées dans le tariff.

Tarif

Un tarif est un document qui définit les conditions dans lesquelles les services pipeliniers sont offerts ou fournis, notamment les droits, les règles et les règlements et les pratiques reliées aux services précis. Une société pipelinière ne peut percevoir de droits qui ne font pas partie du tarif déposé auprès de l’Office ou qui n’ont pas été approuvés par une ordonnance de ce dernier. Le tarif indique également les responsabilités et les droits respectifs de la société pipelinière et de l’expéditeur une fois le contrat de service en vigueur.

En outre, les droits relatifs aux services offerts dans des conditions et des circonstances analogues doivent, pour tous les transports de même nature et suivant le même parcours, être identiques pour tous les clients.

L’Office s’est doté de certains mécanismes pour vérifier si les sociétés pipelinières fournissent des services qui répondent aux besoins des expéditeurs à des prix raisonnables (droits) et dans le respect des exigences réglementaires. Il s’agit notamment de surveiller les droits pipeliniers, d’exiger le dépôt régulier de documents par les sociétés, de mener des vérifications financières et de solliciter directement l’avis des expéditeurs par sondage. Les parties peuvent aussi déposer une plainte officielle auprès de l’Office si elles sont incapables de régler un différend lié aux droits ou aux tarifs.

Règlements négociés et instances sur les droits

Un règlement négocié est une entente conclue entre une société pipelinière et des parties prenantes sur des questions afférentes aux besoins en produitsNote 14, aux droits, aux tarifs et à l’exploitation de la société. Au cours des discussions qui mènent à un tel règlement, les parties intéressées doivent avoir une juste occasion de se faire entendre et de voir leurs intérêts reconnus. La nécessité d’un processus d’audience officiel devant l’Office est normalement levée si les trois conditions suivantes sont réunies :

  • Les parties sont capables d’arriver à un règlement sur les points en litige.
  • L’Office juge que les négociations entre les parties ne mettent pas en jeu l’intérêt public.
  • Le règlement se traduit par des droits justes et raisonnables non contraires à la Loi sur l’office national de l’énergie.

Les sociétés pipelinières et les expéditeurs continuent de résoudre la plupart des litiges relatifs aux droits et aux tarifs par la voie de règlements négociés. La figure 17 montre que la majorité des grands pipelines réglementés par l’Office fonctionnaient sous le régime de règlements négociés durant une partie ou la totalité des cinq dernières années. Du milieu de 2013 à la fin de 2015, l’Office a rendu six décisions sur des demandes litigieuses relatives aux droits et tarifs qui n’avaient pu faire l’objet d’un règlement négocié. En date de juin 2016, il y a une seule instance en cours.

Figure 17 : Période d’application des règlements négociés

Figure 17 : Période d’application des règlements négociés

Source : Office national de l'énergie

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique indique la période d’application des règlements négociés de certains pipelines réglementés par l’Office national de l’énergie de 1995 à 2015. Très communs, les règlements négociés peuvent durer de 1 à 15 ans, mais visent généralement une période de cinq ans ou moins. La plupart des grands pipelines réglementés par l’Office national de l’énergie ont été assujettis à des règlements négociés au cours des cinq dernières années, à l’exception de TransCanada, qui n’a pas été exploité selon un règlement négocié depuis 2011.

Certains des litiges tranchés par l’Office portaient sur le traitement des droits relatif aux modifications (p. ex., inversions, agrandissements) de réseaux existants. Quant aux instances portant exclusivement sur les droits, l’Office s’est intéressé tantôt à la structure tarifaire ou à la méthode de conception des droits dans son ensemble, tantôt à des éléments précis du tarif.

Entre le milieu de 2013 et 2015, l’Office a reçu dix plaintes d’expéditeurs. La moitié d’entre elles ont été retirées, et l’Office a donné des instructions pour les cinq autres. De ce nombre, deux ont été maintenues, deux ont nécessité la prise de mesures sur ordre de l’Office, et une s’est révélée insuffisamment étayée.

Indice des droits pipeliniers

Livraison et paiement

Le tarif établit la procédure par laquelle les expéditeurs doivent commander leurs volumes et fournir leurs produits aux fins de transport ainsi que les modalités de paiement. En règle générale, les commandes sont passées une fois par mois pour les oléoducs, et plusieurs fois par jour pour les gazoducs. Les expéditeurs reçoivent habituellement des factures mensuelles.

La stabilité et le caractère raisonnable des droits sont des préoccupations de premier plan pour les expéditeurs et, pour cette raison, sont un indicateur de l’efficience du réseau de transport. Souvent, une diminution du débit entraîne une hausse des droits, les coûts du pipeline étant partagés entre les expéditeurs restants du réseau. Sous un régime de réglementation fondé sur le coût du service, les dépenses importantes (p. ex., agrandissements) peuvent induire une augmentation ou une réduction des droits, selon leur incidence sur le débit et les revenus. La section qui suit décrit les variations et les tendances observées depuis 2010 relativement aux droits sur certains des pipelines du ressort de l’Office.

Droits des oléoducs

Les droits repères des grandes sociétés d’oléoducs (pétrole et produits pétroliers) du groupe 1 et le déflateur du produit intérieur brut (PIB)Note 15normalisésNote 16 pour 2010 sont illustrés à la figure 19.

Une modification des droits pipeliniers peut découler de différents facteurs, comme des variations du débit ou des coûts d’immobilisations et d’exploitation. Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. (Trans-Nord) et Enbridge ont vu leurs droits repères respectifs augmenter considérablement en 2015. Les droits de Trans-Nord ont augmenté de 19 % en 2015, notamment en raison des dépenses liées à l’intégrité des pipelines. Quant à l’augmentation de 23 % des droits d’Enbridge enregistrée en 2015, elle peut s’expliquer par l’ajout d’une majoration relative au projet pipelinier d’Edmonton à Hardisty.

Figure 18 : Droits repères des oléoducs réglementés par l’Office

Figure 18 : Droits repères des oléoducs réglementés par l’Office

Sources : Documents concernant les droits présentés à l’Office national de l’énergie, calculs de l’Office national de l’énergie

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique indique les droits repères des grandes sociétés d’oléoducs du groupe 1 comparativement au déflateur du PIB, qui sert au rajustement en fonction de l’inflation. On y voit que, de 2010 à 2015, le droit d’Express a augmenté à peu près au même rythme que l’inflation, tandis que celui de Keystone a augmenté un peu plus. Le droit de Trans Mountain a connu une hausse modérément plus élevée que l’inflation, alors que les droits de Trans-Nord et d’Enbridge ont augmenté à un rythme beaucoup plus élevé que le déflateur du PIB.

Droits des gazoducs

Les droits repères des grandes sociétés de gazoducs du groupe 1 et le déflateur du PIB normalisés sont illustrés à la figure 19. Entre 2010 et 2012, les droits de TransCanada ont augmenté de près de 40 % en raison de la baisse d’utilisation du réseau principal pour l’acheminement du gaz du BSOC vers les marchés de l’Est. En 2013 et en 2015, les droits ont été restructurés et sont revenus à des niveaux plus stables.

Selon de nombreux règlements négociés, si un pipeline génère des revenus trop élevés ou trop faibles pour couvrir les coûts d’une année donnée, la différence est comblée l’année suivante. Les droits de Westcoast ont augmenté en 2014 en raison d’un moins-perçu en 2013, tandis que les produits excédentaires enregistrés en 2014 ont entraîné une réduction des droits en 2015.

Figure 19 : Droits repères des gazoducs réglementés par l’Office

Figure 19 : Droits repères des gazoducs réglementés par l’Office

Sources : Documents concernant les droits présentés à l’Office national de l’énergie

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique indique les droits repères des grandes sociétés de gazoducs du groupe 1 ainsi que le déflateur du PIB. Le droit de TransCanada a augmenté à un rythme beaucoup plus élevé que le déflateur du PIB en 2011 et en 2012, puis a diminué. Le droit de Westcoast a largement dépassé le déflateur du PIB en 2014, mais a chuté bien en dessous en 2015. De 2010 à 2015, les droits d’Alliance, de M&NP, de TQM et de NGTL ont soit varié à peu près au même rythme que le déflateur du PIB, soit été légèrement inférieurs à celui-ci.

Comparaison des droits des oléoducs et des gazoducs

La figure 20 montre les moyennes non pondéréesNote 17 des droits repères des sociétés d’oléoducs et de gazoducs du groupe 1 et le déflateur du PIB. De 2010 à 2015, les droits moyens des oléoducs ont dépassé le déflateur du PIB, tandis que ceux des gazoducs ont reculé.

Figure 20 : Droits repères des gazoducs et des oléoducs

Figure 20 : Droits repères des gazoducs et des oléoducs

Source : Office national de l'énergie

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique indique la moyenne simple des droits repères des grandes sociétés d’oléoducs et de gazoducs du groupe 1 ainsi que le déflateur du PIB. De 2010 à 2015, les droits moyens des oléoducs ont augmenté en dépassant le déflateur du PIB, tandis que ceux des gazoducs ont reculé.

Financement de la cessation d’exploitation

Les sociétés réglementées par l’Office doivent percevoir et mettre de côté les fonds nécessaires pour couvrir les coûts futurs de cessation d’exploitation, le principe de base étant que les frais et le financement de la cessation sécuritaire et respectueuse de l’environnement incombent aux sociétés pipelinières, et non aux propriétaires fonciers ni à l’État. Collectivement, les sociétés réglementées devront amasser 8,6 milliards de dollars pour couvrir les coûts de cessation futurs, d’après les estimations actuelles (tableau 3).

Tableau 3 : Coûts estimatifs de la cessation d’exploitation

Tableau 3 : Coûts estimatifs de la cessation d’exploitation
Coût estimatif en millions de dollarsNote 18
Alliance 310
Enbridge 1 115
Enbridge (Norman Wells) 37
Foothills 198
Keystone 236
Cochin de Kinder Morgan 26
Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline (M&NP) 151
NOVA Gas Transmission Limited (NGTL) 2 185
Réseau principal de TransCanada 2 530
TransQuébec & Maritimes 103
Trans Mountain 340
Trans-Nord 77
Division des installations de collecte et de traitement de Westcoast 363
Division du transport de Westcoast 320
Sociétés pipelinières du groupe 1 – Total 7 991
Sociétés pipelinières du groupe 2 – Total 562
Pipelines réglementés par l’Office – Total 8 553

En mai 2011, les sociétés pipelinières réglementées par l’Office ont commencé à déposer des résumés de l’emplacement de leurs pipelines par diamètre de canalisation et type de terres.

Tout au long de 2012, l’Office a examiné les estimations de coûts préliminaires des sociétés pour la cessation d’exploitation de leurs réseaux pipeliniers.

En février 2013, l’Office a publié les Motifs de décision MH-001-2012 concernant les coûts estimatifs de cessation d’exploitation.

La plupart des sociétés disposent de nombreuses années pour provisionner ces coûts futurs. En 2013, les sociétés ont déposé leurs plans pour la constitution des fonds nécessaires, qui décrit aussi le mécanisme par lequel elles entendent mettre cette réserve en sûreté. En 2014, l’Office a publié les Motifs de décision MH-001-2013, qui indiquaient que les fiducies, les lettres de crédit et les cautionnements étaient des mécanismes acceptables.

En décembre 2014, les sociétés ont présenté à l’Office la version définitive de leurs conventions de fiducie, majorations de droits au titre de la cessation d’exploitation, politiques de placement, lettres de crédit et cautionnements. Après que l’Office a apporté quelques ajustements, le mécanisme de financement des activités de cessation de l’exploitation a été instauré et, dorénavant, les sociétés perçoivent et mettent de côté les fonds nécessaires pour financer les coûts futurs de cessation d’exploitation.

Les sociétés rendent compte chaque année à l’Office des renseignements pertinents, notamment les sommes placées dans des fiducies et les gains sur les placements qui y sont détenus. Les sociétés qui procèdent par lettre de crédit ou cautionnement, ou qui sont dispensées de l’exigence d’instaurer un mécanisme de mise de côté, font leur déclaration à l’Office le 31 janvier de chaque année, tandis que celles qui utilisent une fiducie la font tous les 30 avril. L’Office exige aussi des mises à jour régulières sur les estimations des fonds nécessaires et mis de côté, surtout vers la fin de la durée de vie utile du pipeline. En 2016, l’Office a entrepris un examen des estimations de coûts de cessation d’exploitation des pipelines soumis à sa réglementation.

Photos: gauche: Silhouette d’un appareil de pompage au soleil couchant; centre: Vannes et volants de manœuvre d’une station de pompage par une journée ensoleillée; droit: Deux mains tenant un stylo pendant une réunion.

 

Date de modification :