Crude Oil and Petroleum Products

Crude Oil and Petroleum ProductsCanada has abundant resources of crude oil, with an estimated remaining ultimate potential of 53.9 106m³ (339 billion barrels) as of December 2012. Of this, oil sands account for 90 per cent and conventional oil 10 per cent. There are two major producing areas in Canada, the Western Canada Sedimentary Basin, which includes Alberta, Saskatchewan and parts of British Columbia and Manitoba, and offshore eastern Canada. Oil is also produced in modest volumes in Ontario and the Northwest Territories. Although Canada is the sixth largest producer in the world, it produces only about four per cent of total daily production, so it does not have a major influence on the world price of oil. In 2013, 71 per cent of Canadian crude production was exported to the U.S. and two per cent was exported to overseas markets. Road transportation fuel (gasoline and diesel) accounts for approximately half of Canada’s refined petroleum product demand.

The National Energy Board regulates the export of crude oil and petroleum products. Export orders or licences are required to export these commodities from Canada. Holders of export authorizations report monthly on their export activities to the Board.

Statistics

ARCHIVED - Crude Oil and Petroleum Products - Statistics

Analysis and Publications

For more information on crude oil and petroleum products, refer to Canada's Energy Future, Canadian Energy Dynamics and Canadian Energy Overview.

ARCHIVED - Crude Oil and Petroleum Products - Analysis and Publications

Footnote

Footnote 1

The Commodity Tracking System (CTS) is a secure Government of Canada web portal and online system which simplifies the completion of monthly export reporting requirements. The system can also display statistics according to the parameters that a user selects.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Pétrole brut et produits pétroliers

Pétrole brut et produits pétroliersLes ressources canadiennes de pétrole brut sont abondantes, comme l’indique le potentiel ultime restant estimatif de 53,9 millions de mètres cubes (339 milliards de barils) en date de décembre 2012. De ce volume, le pétrole issu des sables bitumineux représente 90 %, le pétrole classique constituant les 10 % restants. Il existe deux grandes régions de production pétrolière au Canada : celle du bassin sédimentaire de l’Ouest canadien, qui comprend l’Alberta, la Saskatchewan, ainsi qu’une partie de la Colombie-Britannique et du Manitoba; celle au large de la côte Est du pays. De modestes quantités de pétrole sont également produites en Ontario et dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Même si le Canada occupe le sixième rang sur la liste des pays producteurs, sa part de la production quotidienne totale n’est que de 4 % et influe peu sur le prix mondial du pétrole. En 2013, 71 % de la production canadienne de pétrole brut était exportée vers les États-Unis et 2 % vers d’autres marchés étrangers. Le carburant de transport routier (pétrole et diesel) représente environ la moitié de la demande canadienne de produits pétroliers raffinés.

L’Office national de l'énergie réglemente les exportations de pétrole brut et de produits pétroliers. Une ordonnance ou une licence d'exportation est nécessaire pour exporter ces produits de base du Canada. Les détenteurs de licences d'exportation soumettent chaque mois à l'Office un rapport de leurs activités d'exportation.

Statistiques

ARCHIVÉ - Pétrole brut et produits pétroliers - Statistiques

Analyse et publications

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le pétrole brut et produits pétroliers, reportez-vous aux documents Avenir énergétique du Canada, Dynamique du marché de l’énergie au Canada et Aperçu de la situation énergétique au Canada.

ARCHIVÉ - Pétrole brut et produits pétroliers - Analyse et publications

Date de modification :