ARCHIVED - Conventional Heavy Oil Resources of the Western Canada Sedimentary Basin - Technical Report

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

August 2001

The National Energy Board , as part of its regulatory mandate, continually monitors the supply of all energy commodities in Canada and the demand for Canadian energy commodities in both domestic and export markets. The Board publishes, from time to time, reports of a technical nature focussing on specific commodity issues. Conventional Heavy Oil Resources of the Western Canada Sedimentary Basin is the latest of these technical reports. The report presents the results of an extensive review of Canadian conventional heavy crude oil resources and is focussed on examining and updating estimates of the volume of conventional heavy oil contained in the ground (oil in place). Estimates are also provided for that portion of the oil in place that is recoverable. These estimates consider both the volume available from current technology and production practices, and the potential volume from future technologies which could increase recovery levels. The results of an analysis of supply costs are also provided, as is a discussion of the relative economics of conventional heavy oil production.

The Report and its appendices can be viewed or downloaded from this site.

Index

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Due to the large size of this Report, we have divided it into five smaller sections to speed up the downloading. Adobe Acrobat files (PDF) or Excel Spreadsheets (XLS) are provided below. To further speed up access to these documents, you may save them on your C drive. This Report is also available in paper copy from publications@neb-one.gc.ca.

Conventional Heavy Oil Resources of the Western Canada Sedimentaire Basin

Complete report: [PDF 6122 KB]

Play Data for:

For further information:

Technical Information:

Director, Gas
National Energy Board
Telephone: 403-299-3135
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (teletype): 1-800-632-1663

For a copy of Conventional Heavy Oil Resources of the Western Canada Sedimentaire Basin:

The Publications Office
National Energy Board
Suite 210, 517 Tenth Avenue SW
Calgary, Alberta
T2R 0A8
E-mail: publications@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-299-3561
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - ONÉ - Ressources de pétrole lourd classique du bassin sédimentaire de l’Ouest canadien - Rapport technique

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Août 2001

Dans le cadre de son mandat de réglementation, l’Office national de l’énergie surveille constamment l’approvisionnement de l’ensemble des produits énergétiques au Canada ainsi que la demande pour les produits énergétiques canadiens sur les marchés intérieur et de l’exportation. L’Office publie en outre de temps en temps des rapports de nature technique axés sur des sujets spécifiques relatifs aux produits énergétiques;La présente publication est le dernier de ces rapports techniques; il s’intitule Ressources de pétrole lourd classique du bassin sédimentaire de l’Ouest canadien. Le rapport présente les résultats d’un examen approfondi des ressources canadiennes de pétrole brut lourd classique; il met l’accent sur l’analyse et la mise à jour des estimations du volume de pétrole lourd classique contenu dans le sol (pétrole en place). Sont également fournies des estimations sur le degré de récupérabilité du pétrole en place compte tenu des technologies et des pratiques de production actuelles, mais également du volume potentiel dû aux technologies futures qui pourraient accroître les taux de récupération. Le rapport contient également les résultats d’une analyse des coûts d’approvisionnement, ainsi qu’une étude de la rentabilité relative de la production de pétrole lourd classique.

Le Rapport et ses annexes peuvent être visionnés ou téléchargés à partir de ce site.

Index

AVIS IMPORTANT : Étant donné l’ampleur du Rapport, nous l’avons divisé en cinq sections pour en accélérer le téléchargement. Des documents en format Adobe Acrobat (PDF) ou des tableurs en format Excel (XLS) sont fournis ci-dessous. Pour accéder plus rapidement à ces documents, vous pouvez les sauvegarder dans votre répertoire C. Vous pouvez aussi obtenir un exemplaire imprimé en communiquant avec publications@neb-one.gc.ca.

Ressources de pétrole lourd classique du bassin sédimentaire de l’Ouest Canadien

Rapport complet : [PDF 6196 ko]

Données des zones pétrolières pour :

Pour plus de renseignements, contactez :

Renseignements techniques :

Directeur, Gaz
Office national de l’énergie
Téléphone : 403-299-3135
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Pour recevoir une copie de Ressources de pétrole lourd classique du bassin sédimentaire de l’Ouest Canadien :

Bureau des publications
Office national de l’énergie
517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., bureau 210
Calgary (Alberta)
T2R 0A8
Courrier électronique : publications@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-299-3561
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Date de modification :