ARCHIVED - Gasoline Pricing - Energy Facts

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

ISSN 1925-2706

Gasoline Pricing - Energy Facts [PDF 539 KB]

Energy Facts

March 2010

Gasoline Pricing

Person filling up at the pump

When the price of gasoline goes up people often are troubled. Particularly because Canadians rely heavily on gasoline for transportation fuel. This Energy Fact is intended to provide some clarity on how gasoline prices are set in Canada and what makes the price rise and fall.

Price of Crude Oil

The price of crude oil in Canada is impacted by global supply and demand, inventory levels in the United States, and geopolitical events. It is the largest single cost in delivering gasoline to motorists. The price of crude oil changes every day. A change of roughly C$1 per barrel in the price of crude oil affects the cost of gasoline by about 0.63 cents a litre. If this cost change is passed fully to consumers, the price would move by 0.66 cents per litre, with about 0.03 cents stemming from the GST (e.g. price of crude rises from $70 to $71 per barrel, - price of gasoline is 95.0 cents per litre - it would rise to 95.7 cents per litre).

The Refiner Operating Profit/Margin

The refiner operating and marketing profits/margins include the costs of all operations from the refining of crude oil into gasoline to the transportation and distribution of the fuel.

2009 - What makes up the Price of Gasoline

The Marketing Profit/Margin

The marketing profit t/margin includes all marketing expenses, such as advertising and salaries/ wages for people working at gasoline stations.

What do we know about gasoline?

  • It is made from crude oil, which is the world's most traded commodity.
  • Refineries purchase crude oil and process it into gasoline, diesel and other products.
  • Gasoline is distributed to service stations through pipelines and transport trucks.

Taxes

Taxes are the second largest cost in the price of gasoline.

Other Influences on Price

Global

The price of gasoline in Canada is strongly tied to the United States, our closest market and the largest consumer of petroleum products in the world. Gasoline, like crude oil is a commodity and has the ability to move freely in the global marketplace. In other words, gasoline is attracted to the market where people will pay the most for it. It is relatively cheap in Canada when compared to other countries around the world. This diff erence in the price is largely due to taxes.

International Retail Pump Prices - June 2008

Source: International Energy Agency

Taxes on Gasoline when the Pump Price is One Dollar per litre (cents/litre)

Source: Natural Resources Canada, Government Taxes on Gasoline. How is gasoline taxed?

Regional Influences

There are three main refining centres in Canada: Edmonton (Alberta); Sarnia (Ontario); and Montreal/Quebec City (Quebec). There is also one refinery in Newfoundland, one in New Brunswick, one in Nova Scotia, two in British Columbia and one in Saskatchewan.

There are a number of factors that influence gasoline prices on a regional level, they are discussed below.

Retail Competition

The number of stations varies by province and affects the amount of gasoline sold, as well as the retail price. Stations that are busy and in a location where there are several other stations may have lower prices to attract customers.

Seasonal Demand

During the spring, refiners build gasoline inventories in preparation for the summer driving season which begins the Memorial Day weekend in the U.S. In Canada, the Victoria Day long weekend in May marks the beginning of the driving season for Canadians. During the summer, gasoline prices are generally higher because of increased demand due to vacation travel. There has been a review of gasoline prices that indicates that prices do not rise before a long weekend. Prices rise in response to how much consumers want to buy and the gasoline available at gas stations[1].

Why gasoline prices go up and down? Why am I paying so much for gasoline?

Taxes

Price at the Gas PumpSelect Canada Cities - Gasoline Prices - Five Year Average 2005-2009 - Cents/litreTaxes are the major reason why prices diff er between provinces. The federal government charges an excise or sales tax of 10 cents per litre on gasoline and the federal GST of five per cent (except in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Newfoundland/Labrador where it is replaced by the Harmonized Sales Taxes (HST) of 13 per cent). The provinces also charge gasoline taxes and these vary by province. Effective 1 July 2010, British Columbia and Ontario will be moving to an HST of 12 per cent and 13 per cent, respectively. In Quebec there is an additional tax of 7.5 per cent. If you live in Vancouver, Victoria or Montreal you also get charged a gasoline tax.

Government Regulation

The price of gasoline is not controlled or regulated by the federal government and is under provincial jurisdiction. There are five provinces that regulate the price, including New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, Newfoundland and Labrador, and Nova Scotia.

The Federal Government's Role

The Federal Government receives many complaints about gasoline prices. Since 1990, the Competition Bureau has conducted six major investigations into allegations of price collusion in the gasoline industry. While some individual retailers have been fined, it has concluded that periodic price increases are a result of market forces such as supply and demand and rising crude oil prices[2].

 

Did you know?

  • There are 18 refineries in Canada.
  • The last refinery built in Canada was in 1984.
  • There have been 30 refineries shut down since 1970.
  • In January 2010, Shell announced that it would be closing its Montreal refinery.
  • The reduction of the GST to 5 per cent has saved Canadian consumers more than $500 million per year on gasoline.

Average[*] Price of Gasoline in Canada (cents/ litre)

2009 - 94.5
2008 - 114.1
2007 - 101.8
2006 - 97.7
2005 - 92.3
Source: MJ Ervin
*Volume weighted average

Gasoline Consumption per capita in Canada (litres/ person)

2009 - 1 249.7

This is a drop of one per cent since 2005.

Cars and light trucks account for 12 per cent of Canada's greenhouse gas emissions (GHGs).

Endnotes

[1] Natural Resources Canada, Why gasoline prices go up and down? Why am I paying so much for gasoline?

[2] Competition Bureau, Competition Bureau concludes examination into complaints about high gasoline prices.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Prix de l’essence - Info-Énergie

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ISSN 1925-2714

Prix de l’essence - Info-Énergie [PDF 915 ko]

Info-Énergie

Mars 2010

Prix de l’essence

Personne faisant le plein d’essence

La hausse du prix de l’essence est souvent inquiétante parce que les Canadiens comptent énormément sur l’essence comme carburant de transport. Le présent bulletin d’information vise à clarifier comment les prix de l’essence sont fixés au Canada et ce qui fait monter et descendre les prix.

Prix du pétrole brut

Le prix du pétrole brut au Canada est influencé par l’offre et la demande mondiales, les niveaux des stocks aux États-Unis et la situation géopolitique. Il s’agit du coût le plus élevé dans la prestation d’essence aux automobilistes. Le prix du pétrole brut change tous les jours. Un changement d’environ 1 $ CAN le baril dans le prix du pétrole brut fait varier le coût de l’essence d’à peu près 0,63 cents le litre. Si ce changement est absorbé entièrement par les consommateurs, le prix varierait de 0,66 cents le litre, dont environ 0,03 cents proviennent de la TPS (p. ex., supposons que l’essence coûte 95,0 cents le litre et que le prix du brut passe de 70 $ à 71 $ le baril, le coût de l’essence augmenterait à 95,7 cents le litre).

Marge du raffinage

La marge du raffinage et la marge bénéficiaire du distributeur comprennent le coût de toutes les activités - du raffinage du pétrole brut à la production d’essence jusqu’au transport et à la distribution du carburant.

2009 - Ce que comprend le prix de l’essence

Marge bénéficiaire du distributeur

La marge bénéficiaire du distributeur inclut tous les coûts de marketing, dont la publicité et le salaire du personnel dans les stations-services.

Que sait-on à propos de l’essence?

  • Elle est produite à partir de pétrole brut, qui fait l’objet des plus importants volumes d’échanges internationaux.
  • Les raffineries achètent du pétrole brut et le transforment en essence, carburant diesel et autres produits.
  • L’essence est distribuée aux stations-services par pipeline et camion de transport.

Taxes

Les taxes représentent le deuxième coût le plus élevé dans le prix de l’essence.

Autres facteurs influant sur le prix

Facteurs mondiaux

Le prix de l’essence au Canada est fortement lié aux États-Unis, notre marché le plus proche et le plus gros consommateur de produits pétroliers au monde. L’essence, tout comme le pétrole brut, est un produit de base dont les activités s’exercent librement dans le marché mondial. Autrement dit, l’essence est attirée vers les marchés qui paient le plus cher. Le prix de l’essence est relativement bas au Canada comparativement à d’autres pays dans le monde. La différence de prix est attribuable en grande partie aux taxes.

Prix à la pompe à l’échelle internationale - Juin 2008

Source : Agence internationale de l’énergie

Taxes sur l’essence lorsque le prix à la pompe est 1 $ le litre (cents/litre)

Source : Ressources naturelles Canada, Les taxes sur l’essence. De quelle façon l’essence est-elle taxée?

Influences régionales

Il existe trois principaux centres de raffinage au Canada : Edmonton (Alberta), Sarnia (Ontario) ainsi que Montréal et Québec (Québec). Il y a aussi une raffinerie à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, une au Nouveau-Brunswick, une en Nouvelle-Écosse, deux en Colombie-Britannique et une en Saskatchewan.

Plusieurs facteurs influent sur les prix de l’essence à l’échelle régionale (voir ci-dessous).

Concurrence dans les prix de détail

Le nombre de stations varie d’une province à l’autre et a un effet sur la quantité d’essence vendue et sur le prix de détail. Les stations achalandées qui sont entourées de plusieurs autres stations peuvent baisser leurs prix pour attirer la clientèle.

Demande saisonnière

Au printemps, les raffineurs ajoutent à leurs stocks d’essence en vue de la saison de conduite estivale qui débute la fin de semaine du Memorial Day aux États-Unis. Au Canada, la longue fin de semaine de la fête de Victoria en mai marque le début de la saison de conduite. Durant l’été, les prix de l’essence sont généralement plus élevés en raison de la demande accrue attribuable aux voyages de vacances. Un examen des prix de l’essence a montré que les prix n’augmentent pas en vue d’une longue fin de semaine, mais plutôt en réponse à ce que les consommateurs veulent acheter et en fonction de l’essence disponible aux stations-services[1].

Taxes

Price at the Gas PumpLes taxes expliquent en grande partie la différence de prix entre les provinces. Le gouvernement fédéral applique une taxe d’accise ou taxe de vente de 10 cents le litre sur l’essence en plus de la TPS de 5 % (sauf en Nouvelle-Écosse, au Nouveau-Brunswick et à Terre-Neuve-et- Labrador où elle est remplacée par la taxe de vente harmonisée, ou TVH, de 13 %). Les provinces aussi appliquent des taxes dont le taux varie de l’une à l’autre. Dès le 1er juillet 2010, la Colombie- Britannique et l’Ontario adopteront respectivement une TVH de 12 % et 13 %. Au Québec, il y a une taxe supplémentaire de 7,5 %. Les résidents de Vancouver, Victoria et Montréal paient une taxe sur l’essence.

Réglementation gouvernementale

Le prix de l’essence n’est pas contrôlé ou réglementé par le gouvernement fédéral; il est de ressort provincial. Cinq provinces ont une réglementation à cet égard : le Nouveau-Brunswick, l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Québec, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Villes canadiennes choisies - Prix de l’essence - Moyenne quinquennale 2005-2009 (cents/litre)

Rôle du gouvernement fédéral

Le gouvernement fédéral reçoit beaucoup de plaintes concernant les prix de l’essence. Depuis 1990, le Bureau de la concurrence du Canada a mené six enquêtes importantes à la suite à d’allégations de collusion dans l’industrie de l’essence. Certains détaillants ont dû payer une amende, mais il a été déterminé que les hausses de prix périodiques résultent des forces du marché, telles que l’offre et la demande et la montée des prix du pétrole brut[2].

Le saviez-vous?

  • Il y a 18 raffineries au Canada.
  • C’est en 1984 qu’a été construite la dernière raffinerie au Canada.
  • Trente raffineries ont été fermées depuis 1970.
  • En janvier 2010, Shell a annoncé qu’elle fermerait sa raffinerie à Montréal.
  • La réduction de la TPS à 5 % a fait épargner aux consommateurs canadiens plus de 500 millions de dollars par année sur l’essence.

Prix moyen[*] de l’essence au Canada (cents/ litre

2009 - 94,5
2008 - 114,1
2007 - 101,8
2006 - 97,7
2005 - 92,3
Source : MJ Ervin
*Moyenne pondérée en fonction du volume

Consommation d’essence par habitant au Canada
(litres/ personne)

2009 - 1 249,7

Baisse de 1 % depuis 2005

Automobiles et camionnettes représentent 12 % des émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) au Canada.

Notes de fin de document

[1] Ressources naturelles Canada, Ce qui cause la fluctuation des prix de l’essence. Pourquoi l’essence est-elle aussi chère?

[2] Bureau de la concurrence Canada, Le Bureau de la concurrence termine son examen des plaintes relatives aux prix élevés de l’essence.

Date de modification :