Canada’s Adoption of Renewable Power Sources – Energy Market Analysis

About the NEB

The National Energy Board (NEB or Board) is an independent national energy regulator. Its role is to regulate, among other things, the construction, operation and abandonment of pipelines that cross provincial or international borders, international power lines and designated interprovincial power lines, imports of natural gas and exports of crude oil, natural gas liquids, natural gas, refined petroleum products, and electricity, and oil and gas exploration and production activities in certain areas. The NEB is also charged with providing timely, accurate and objective information and advice on energy matters.

The NEB’s strategic outcome states: The Regulation of pipelines, power lines, energy development and energy trade contributes to the safety of Canadians, the protection of the environment and efficient energy infrastructure and markets, while respecting the rights and interests of those affected by NEB decisions and recommendations.

The Board’s main responsibilities include regulating:

  • the construction, operation, and abandonment of pipelines that cross international borders or provincial/territorial boundaries;
  • associated pipeline tolls and tariffs;
  • the construction and operation of international power lines and designated interprovincial power lines;
  • imports of natural gas and exports of crude oil, natural gas, natural gas liquids, refined petroleum products, and electricity; and
  • oil and gas exploration and production activities in specified northern and offshore areas.

About this Report

The Board monitors energy markets and assesses Canadian energy requirements and trends to support its regulatory responsibilities. This report, Canada’s Adoption of Renewable Power Sources, is one of a series of publications on energy supply, demand, and infrastructure that the NEB publishes regularly as part of its ongoing market monitoring.

Contributors to this report include: Natalia Lis (project manager), Josephine DeLeon, Ingrid Ektvedt, Ryan Quan, Alison Taylor, Sara Tsang, and Cassandra Wilde.

Questions or comments? E-mail renewables@neb-one.gc.ca.

 

Engineer prepares to climb a wind turbine at an offshore windfarm

Date modified:

Adoption des sources d’énergie renouvelable au Canada – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie

À propos de l'Office

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme de réglementation national indépendant du secteur de l’énergie. Ses responsabilités comprennent notamment la réglementation de la construction, de l’exploitation et de la cessation d’exploitation des pipelines qui franchissent les frontières provinciales ou internationales, la réglementation des lignes internationales de transport d’électricité et de lignes interprovinciales désignées, la réglementation des importations de gaz naturel et des exportations de pétrole brut, de liquides de gaz naturel, de gaz naturel, de produits pétroliers raffinés et d’électricité, ainsi que la réglementation des activités d’exploration et de production dans certaines régions. Dans le cadre de son mandat, l’Office fournit aussi des renseignements et des conseils opportuns, exacts et objectifs sur les questions d’énergie.

Selon l’énoncé du résultat stratégique de l’Office, la réglementation des pipelines et des lignes de transport d’électricité, de la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et du commerce de l’énergie contribue à assurer la sécurité des Canadiens et Canadiennes, la protection de l’environnement et l’existence d’une infrastructure et de marchés énergétiques efficients, le tout dans le respect des droits et des intérêts des parties touchées par les décisions et les recommandations de l’Office.

Les principales responsabilités de l’Office consistent à réglementer ce qui suit :

  • La construction, l’exploitation et la cessation d’exploitation des pipelines qui franchissent des frontières internationales ou des limites provinciales ou territoriales.
  • Les droits et tarifs pipeliniers.
  • La construction et l’exploitation des lignes internationales de transport d’électricité et de lignes interprovinciales désignées.
  • Les importations de gaz naturel et les exportations de pétrole brut, de gaz naturel, de liquides de gaz naturel, de produits pétroliers raffinés et d’électricité.
  • Les activités d’exploration et de production pétrolières et gazières dans certaines zones désignées du Nord et en mer.

À propos du présent rapport

L’Office surveille les marchés de l’énergie et évalue les besoins énergétiques et les perspectives du Canada en appui aux attributions qui lui sont conférées. Le présent rapport, Adoption des sources d’énergie renouvelable au Canada, fait partie d’une série de documents sur l’offre, la demande et l’infrastructure énergétiques que l’Office publie régulièrement dans le cadre de sa surveillance.

Collaborateurs à la rédaction du rapport : Natalia Lis (chef de projet), Josephine DeLeon, Ingrid Ektvedt, Ryan Quan, Alison Taylor, Sara Tsang et Cassandra Wilde.

Questions ou commentaires? Prière d’envoyer un courriel à l’adresse energiesrenouvelables@neb-one.gc.ca.

Ingénieur se préparant à escalader une éolienne parmi d’autres en mer

 

 

Date de modification :