Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape 2017 – Energy Market Analysis

Coastal wind turbines at sunset.

Greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions overview

In 2015, Canada emitted 722 megatons of carbon dioxide equivalent (Mt CO2 eq). Of these emissions, 10.9% came from electricity generation.

In 2016, 80.6% of Canada’s electricity was generated from sources that are non-emitting when generating.Footnote 2 The remaining generation -- from oil and diesel, natural gas, coal, -- produced all of the emissions from electricity generation.

FIGURE 1

Figure 1
Source and Description

Source:
NEB

Description:
Two pie charts illustrate Canada’s electricity generation by fuel type in 2016, and GHG emissions share by fuel type in 2016, respectively. Hydro accounted for 58.8% of electricity generation, followed by 14.6% nuclear, 9.3% coal, 9.6% natural gas, 4.7% wind, 2% biomass, 0.5% oil and diesel, and 0.5% solar.

Coal produced 67.8% of Canada’s emissions from electricity generation, followed by 28.9% from natural gas 3.2% from oil and diesel.

In total, electricity generation emitted 78.7 Mt CO2 eq in 2015 down from 116.9 Mt CO2 eq in 2005, when it produced 15.8% of total emissions. The reduced emissions resulted from improvements in technology and a shift towards lower GHG-emitting generation sources in the electricity sector. For more information on the trends in Canadian electricity generation, see the Canadian Overview.

FIGURE 2 – Canadian GHG emissions by sector

Figure 2
Source and Description

Source:
ECCC Table S-3

Description:
This stacked area chart illustrates Canadian GHG emissions from the electricity, oil and gas, transportation, buildings, heavy industry, and agricultural sector. The electricity sector’s share of emissions has declined from 15.8% of total emissions in 2005 to 10.9% in 2015.

GHG intensity of electricity generation

Depending on the unique mix of fuels used in electricity generation, each province and territory emits a different quantity of GHGs per unit of electricity generated. This ratio of GHGs per unit of electricity is called the GHG intensity of electricity generation. Regions that rely primarily on hydro, including B.C., Yukon, Manitoba, Quebec, and Newfoundland and Labrador, have some of the lowest GHG intensities in Canada: for example, Quebec emitted only 1.2 grams of carbon dioxide equivalent per kilowatt-hour generated in 2015. In contrast, regions that rely on fossil fuels such as coal and oil products, had GHG intensities as high as 790 grams of CO2 eq per kW.h.

FIGURE 3 – Emissions by fuel type

Figure 3
Source and Description

Source:
ECCC Table A.6

Description:
This chart shows CO2 emissions by fuel type in grams of CO2 equivalent per megajoule (g/MJ). There are no emissions during the generation of solar, wind, hydro, or nuclear electricity. Biomass emits 4.59g/MJ, followed by natural gas at 49.88g/MJ, diesel at 74.08g/MJ, heavy fuel oil at 74.58g/MJ, and coal at 90.87g/MJ.

FIGURE 4 – Greenhouse gas intensity of electricity generation by province and territory

Figure 4
Source and Description

Source:
National Inventory Report 2017

Description:
This shaded map shows the relative GHG intensity of each province and territory. Regions shaded lightly have a GHG intensity below the national average of 140 g CO2/kW.h, while those with dark shading have GHG intensities above the national average. Quebec has the lowest GHG intensity, at 1.2 g CO2/kW.h, followed by Manitoba (3.4 g CO2/kW.h), B.C. (12.9 g CO2/kW.h), PEI (20.0 g CO2/kW.h), Newfoundland and Labrador (32.0 g CO2/kW.h), Ontario (40.0 g CO2/kW.h), Yukon (41.0 g CO2/kW.h), New Brunswick (280.0 g CO2/kW.h), NWT (390.0 g CO2/kW.h), Nova Scotia (600.0 g CO2/kW.h), Saskatchewan (660.0 g CO2/kW.h), Nunavut (750.0 g CO2/kW.h), and Alberta (790.0 g CO2/kW.h).

 

 

Date modified:

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada 2017 – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie

Des éoliennes côtières au coucher de soleil.

Aperçu des émissions de GES

En 2015, le Canada a produit 722 mégatonnes (« Mt ») d’équivalent CO2. Le secteur de l’électricité était responsable de 10,9 % de ces émissions.

En 2016, 80,6 % de l’électricité produite au pays l’était à partir de sources sans émissions.Note de bas de page 2 Ce sont les autres sources d’énergie utilisées pour produire de l’électricité, soit le pétrole et le diesel, le gaz naturel et le charbon, qui ont été à l’origine de toutes les émissions dans ce secteur.

FIGURE 1

Figure 1
Source et description :

Source :
Office

Description :
Deux diagrammes circulaires permettent d’illustrer la production d’électricité au Canada en 2016 selon le type de combustible, puis la part des émissions de GES pour chacun de ceux-ci. Côté production, l’hydroélectricité arrive en tête avec 58,8 %, suivie par le nucléaire à 14,6 %, le gaz naturel à 9,6 %, le charbon à 9,3 %, l’éolien à 4,7 % et la biomasse à 2,0 %, puis fermant la marche à 0,5 %, nous retrouvons pétrole et diesel ainsi qu’énergie solaire.

Pour ce qui est des émissions produites par le secteur de l’électricité, le charbon est responsable de 67,9 % de celles-ci, les autres étant attribuables au gaz naturel pour 28,9 % ou au pétrole et au diesel pour 3,2 %.

Dans l’ensemble, le secteur de l’électricité a produit 78,7 Mt d’équivalent CO₂ en 2015, comparativement à 116,9 Mt en 2005, cette dernière quantité représentant alors 15,8 % de toutes les émissions. La diminution des émissions est le fruit d’améliorations technologiques et d’un recours plus grand, dans le secteur, à des moyens de production d’électricité qui sont à l’origine d’émissions moindres de GES. Pour des précisions sur les tendances en matière de production d’électricité au pays, voir la section Survol de la situation au Canada.

FIGURE 2 Émissions de GES au Canada selon le secteur

Figure 2
Source et description :

Source :
ECCC, tableau S-3

Description :
Ce graphique à aires empilées illustre les émissions de GES au Canada selon le secteur : électricité, pétrole et gaz, transports, immobilier, industrie lourde et agriculture. La part de celui de l’électricité, qui était de 15,8 % en 2005, s’est établie à 10,9 % en 2015.

Intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité

Selon l’ampleur relative des différents combustibles utilisés pour la production d’électricité, chaque province ou territoire est à l’origine d’une quantité d’émissions de GES qui varie par unité produite. Le quotient ainsi obtenu correspond à l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité. Là où l’hydroélectricité prime, comme c’est le cas en Colombie-Britannique, au Yukon, au Manitoba, au Québec et à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, cette intensité est parmi les plus faibles au Canada. Par exemple, les émissions au Québec n’étaient que de 1,2 g d’équivalent CO2 par kWh d’électricité produite en 2015. À l’autre extrémité du spectre, dans les régions qui comptent sur les combustibles fossiles comme le charbon et les produits pétroliers pour la production d’électricité, l’intensité en question peut atteindre 790 g d’équivalent CO2 par kWh.

FIGURE 3 Émissions selon le type de combustible

Figure 3
Source et description :

Source :
ECCC, tableau A.6

Description :
Ce graphique illustre les émissions de CO2, en g d’équivalent CO2 par mégajoule (« g/MJ »), selon le type de combustible. Aucune émission n’est associée à la production d’électricité pour l’énergie solaire, l’éolien, l’hydroélectricité ou le nucléaire. La biomasse émet 4,59 g/MJ, puis viennent, en ordre croissant, le gaz naturel à 49,88 g/MG, le diesel à 74,8 g/MJ, le mazout lourd à 74,58 g/MJ et le charbon à 90,87 g/MJ.

FIGURE 4 Intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité par province et territoire

Figure 4
Source et description :

Source :
Rapport d’inventaire national 2017

Description :
Cette carte aux couleurs dégradées illustre l’intensité relative des GES pour chaque province et territoire. L’intensité est plus faible lorsque les tons sont plus clairs, ce qui vaut pour les régions où le nombre de g d’équivalent CO2 par kWh est inférieur à 140, qui est la moyenne nationale, alors qu’ils sont plus foncés ailleurs. En ordre croissant, cette intensité est de 1,2 au Québec, 3,4 au Manitoba, 12,9 en Colombie Britannique, 20,0 à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, 32,0 à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, 40,0 en Ontario, 41,0 au Yukon, 280,0 au Nouveau-Brunswick, 390,0 dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, 600,0 en Nouvelle-Écosse, 660,0 en Saskatchewan, 750,0 au Nunavut et 790,0 en Alberta.

 

Date de modification :