Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape 2017 – Energy Market Analysis

The Canadian flag composed of maple leaves.

New in this report

This update to Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape 2016 has several new features.

Non-renewable data

Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape focused on renewables. This report includes data for all individual fuels used for power generation. Data is also presented now for all electricity sources by province and territory, for the years 2005, 2015, and 2016.

TABLE 1 Electric Capacity and Generation in Canada

  Capacity in MW and % Generation in GW.h and %
  2005 2015 2016 2005 2015 2016
Oil and Diesel 4 795 3 842 3 837 10 608 4 041 3 436
3.9% 2.7% 2.6% 1.8% 0.6% 0.5%
Natural Gas 13 191 22 006 21 499 40 875 66 060 65 512
10.8% 15.2% 14.7% 6.8% 10.2% 9.3%
Coal 16 003 9 661 9 661 96 750 62 256 60 374
13.1% 6.7% 6.6% 16.1% 9.6% 9.3%
Nuclear 12 805 14 273 14 273 86 669 95 682 95 418
10.5% 9.9% 9.7% 14.4% 14.8% 14.6%
Solar 17 2 135 2 310 0 3 001 3 568
<0.1% 1.5% 1.6% 0.0% 0.5% 0.5%
Biomass 1 804 2 414 2 702 7 688 12 511 13 214
1.5% 1.7% 1.8% 1.3% 1.9% 2.0%
Wind 557 11 072 11 902 1 453 28 314 30 462
0.5% 7.6% 8.1% 0.2% 4.4% 4.7%
Hydro 72 890 79 434 80 403 358 387 374 116 383 392
59.7% 54.8% 54.8% 59.5% 57.9% 58.8%
All renewable sources 75 268 95 056 97 317 367 528 417 942 430 636
61.7% 65.6% 66.4% 61.0% 64.7% 66.0%
All sources 122 061 144 838 146 588 602 430 645 981 652 375

Area graphs

An area graph depicts the percentage share of generation from each source, over the years 2005 to 2016. It shows changes over time in the mix of fuels used for power generation.

Area graphs

Capacity Changes in 2016

This report discusses capacity changes in 2016. It describes the annual, incremental changes made to Canada’s power landscape, including the steady growth of renewables.

Data Sources and Methodology

The generation data for the years 2005 to 2016 are historical values based on data from Statistics Canada. Data for oil and diesel, natural gas, coal, nuclear, wind, and hydro generation is derived from Statistics Canada’s CANSIM series 127-0007 and 127-0006. : These values are also used in Canada’s Energy Future 2017: Energy Supply and Demand Projections to 2040 (EF2017) up to 2015. Generation data for biomass and solar in 2016 is taken from EF2017. Capacity data for the years 2005 to 2015 is based on Statistics Canada data. Capacity in 2016 is a modeled estimate based on the NEB’s energy supply and demand model, which is used in EF2017.

GHG data comes from the 2017 release of Canada’s National Inventory Report 1990-2015. This contains emissions GHG data for the years from 1990 to 2015.

Residential electricity bill data comes from Hydro Québec. The Canadian average monthly residential bill is the population weighted average of the representative city in each province or territory. The weight is by the population of each province.

GHG intensity dial

A dial displays the average grams of greenhouse gasses (g GHG) emitted per kilowatt hour (kW.h) of electricity generated in each province and territory. GHG intensity is expressed in grams of GHG emitted per kW.h of electricity generated. It varies greatly by region depending on the sources of electricity.

GHG intensity dial

Electricity price dial

A second dial displays the average monthly residential bill for 1 000 kW.h of electricity in the most populous cityFootnote 1 in each province and territory. A number of factors, including the local mix of electricity sources and transmission, distribution and administration costs contribute to the total cost of electricity to consumers. Prices also vary throughout each province and territory.

Electricity price dial

Grams of Greenhouse Gases

In this report emissions from power generation are graphically shown in grams of greenhouse gases per kilowatt hour (g GHG / kW.h). Different greenhouse gases have different global warming potentials compared to CO2. Greenhouse gases can be measured in terms of CO2 equivalent, this is the amount of CO2 that would cause the same amount of warming. Grams of greenhouse gases is the mass of CO2 equivalent.

 

 

 

Date modified:

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada 2017 – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie

Le drapeau canadien réalisé avec des feuilles d’érable.

Nouveautés

Le présent document est une mise à jour de celui intitulé Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada 2016 et renferme plusieurs nouveautés.

Données sur les sources d’énergie non renouvelables

Contrairement au document Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada 2016, le présent rapport comprend des données sur chacun des combustibles servant à la production d’électricité. Par ailleurs, quelle que soit la source de cette électricité, les données sont également présentées par province et territoire pour les années 2005, 2015 et 2016.

TABLEAU 1 Capacité de production et production d’électricité provenant de ressources renouvelables au Canada

  Capacité en MW et % Production en GWh et %
  2005 2015 2016 2005 2015 2016
Pétrole et diesel 4 795 3 842 3 837 10 608 4 041 3 436
3,9 % 2,7 % 2,6 % 1,8 % 0,6 % 0,5 %
Gaz naturel 13 191 22 006 21 499 40 875 66 060 65 512
10,8 % 15,2 % 14,7 % 6,8 % 10,2 % 9,6 %
Charbon 16 003 9 661 9 661 96 750 62 256 60 374
13,1 % 6,7 % 6,6 % 16,1 % 9,6 % 9,3 %
Nucléaire 12 805 14 273 14 273 86 669 95 682 95 418
10,5 % 9,9 % 9,7 % 14,4 % 14,8 % 14,6 %
Énergie solaire 17 2 135 2 310 0 3 001 3 568
<0,1 % 1,5 % 1,6 % 0,0 % 0,5 % 0,5 %
Biomasse 1 804 2 414 2 702 7 688 12 511 13 214
1,5 % 1,7 % 1,8 % 1,3 % 1,9 % 2,0 %
Éolien 557 11 072 11 902 1 453 28 314 30 462
0,5 % 7,6 % 8,1 % 0,2 % 4,4 % 4,7 %
Hydroélectricité 72 890 79 434 80 403 358 387 374 116 383 392
59,7 % 54,8 % 54,8 % 59,5 % 57,9 % 58,8 %
Total pour les sources d’énergie renouvelable 75 268 95 056 97 317 367 528 417 942 430 636
61,7 % 65,6 % 66,4 % 61,0 % 64,7 % 66,0 %
Toutes les sources 122 061 144 838 146 588 602 430 645 981 652 375

Graphiques à deux dimensions

Un graphique à deux dimensions permet de comparer les parts de production selon la source d’énergie pour les années 2005 à 2016. Il permet aussi de constater l’évolution de l’utilisation des différents combustibles servant à produire de l’électricité.

Area graphs

Modifications à la capacité de production en 2016

Le présent rapport traite des modifications à la capacité de production en 2016. Il décrit les changements survenus au panorama de l’électricité au Canada, année après année et dans l’ensemble, notamment dans un contexte où les ressources renouvelables sont toujours plus présentes.

Sources des données et méthodologie

Les données sur la production des années 2005 à 2016 sont des valeurs historiques provenant de Statistique Canada. Celles sur l’électricité produite à partir de pétrole ou de diesel, de gaz naturel, de charbon et d’énergie nucléaire, éolienne ou hydroélectrique sont dérivées de sa série CANSIM, tableaux 127-0007 et 127-0006. Les mêmes valeurs sont utilisées dans Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2017 – Offre et demande énergétiques à l’horizon 2040 (« Avenir énergétique 2017 »). Les chiffres de production à partir de la biomasse et de l’énergie solaire en 2016 sont tirés d’Avenir énergétique 2017. Les données sur la capacité de production de 2005 à 2015 sont fondées sur celles présentées par Statistique Canada. Pour 2016, l’estimation découle du modèle de l’offre et de la demande d’énergie utilisé par l’Office dans Avenir énergétique 2017.

Les données sur les GES ont été reprises du Rapport d’inventaire national 1990-2015 publié par le Canada en 2017. Ce rapport renferme donc ses données sur les GES pour les années 1990 à 2015.

Les données sur les factures d’électricité dans le secteur résidentiel proviennent d’Hydro-Québec. Le montant mensuel moyen pour le Canada dans son ensemble est le fruit de la pondération des factures pour les territoires ainsi que des villes représentatives choisies en fonction de la population de chaque province.

Intensimètre des gaz à effet de serre

Pour chaque province et territoire, un cadran affiche le nombre moyen de grammes (« g ») de gaz à effet de serre (« GES ») émis par kilowattheure (« kWh ») d’électricité produite. L’intensité des GES est ainsi exprimée en g d’émissions par kWh d’électricité produite. Selon la source de l’électricité, cette intensité varie grandement d’une région à l’autre.

GHG intensity dial

Indicateur du prix de l’électricité

Un second cadran illustre le montant mensuel moyen d’une facture d’électricité de 1 000 kWh consommés par un ménage dans la ville la plus peuplée de chaque province et territoire. Un certain nombre de facteurs, dont les sources d’énergie à l’origine de l’électricité produite et ses coûts de transport, de distribution et d’administration, contribuent au montant total de la facture présentée aux consommateurs. Par ailleurs, le prix de base varie selon la province ou le territoire.

Electricity price dial

Indicateur du prix de l’électricité

Un second cadran illustre le montant mensuel moyen d’une facture d’électricité de 1 000 kWh consommés par un ménage dans la ville la plus peupléeNote de bas de page 1 de chaque province et territoire. Un certain nombre de facteurs, dont les sources d’énergie à l’origine de l’électricité produite et ses coûts de transport, de distribution et d’administration, contribuent au montant total de la facture présentée aux consommateurs. Par ailleurs, le prix de base varie selon la province ou le territoire.

 

 

Date de modification :