Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape 2017 – Energy Market Analysis

Two red canoes float at the dock of Moraine Lake

Alberta

In 2016, Alberta generated 47.4% of its electricity from coal, 40.3% from natural gas, and 12.3% from renewables. Wind was the largest source of renewable power, generating 6.9% of Alberta’s electricity.

Generation Trends

Electricity generation in Alberta is dominated by coal and natural gas. Since 2005, generation has trended towards less coal and more natural gas, and this trend is set to continue as Alberta plans to phase out coal by 2030. Currently, coal generates 47.4% of Alberta’s electricity.

Wind generation has added more capacity than any other renewable source in Alberta. Since 2005, wind’s share of total generation increased from 1.1% to 6.9%.  Alberta now has the third highest wind generation in Canada (5 674 GW.h in 2016) after Quebec and Ontario. Most Alberta wind farms are located in the windy southern part of the province.  

Biomass and hydro generation have been steady in Alberta. The share of generation for each of these sources fluctuated between 2% and 3% in recent years.

Capacity Changes in 2016

Alberta added an estimated 305 MW of natural gas-fired generation in 2016. Most of this was cogeneration of electricity and steam for oil sands production. The largest addition was the 100 MW Christina Lake cogeneration facility. Electricity from this facility is sold on Alberta’s wholesale electricity market while its steam is used for in-situ oil sands production.

The Cowley Ridge wind facility was Canada’s first commercial wind farm. TransAlta retired it in 2016 after 23 years in service. Despite this, Alberta increased wind capacity mainly due to expansions at the Bull Creek Wind Facility.

More Information

Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape 2016 – Energy Market Analysis provides additional information on renewable power in Alberta.

FIGURE 9 Electricity Generation by Source in Alberta

Figure 9
Description

This graph shows the composition of Alberta’s electricity generation between 2005 and 2016. Hydro accounted for 3.4% of generation in 2005 and 2.8% in 2016. Biomass increased from 2.5% to 2.7% over that period. Wind increased from 1.1% in 2005 to 6.9% in 2016. Coal decreased from 64.3% to 47.4%. Natural gas, increased its share from 28.7% to 40.3%.

TABLE 3 Electric Capacity and Generation in Alberta

  Capacity in MW and % Generation in GW.h and %
  2005 2015 2016 2005 2015 2016
Oil and Diesel 7 7 7 17 12 0
0.1% <0.1% <0.1% <0.1% <0.1% 0.0%
Natural Gas 4 770 7 214 7 519 19 657 32 215 33 184
39.7% 44.3% 45.3% 28.7% 39.5% 40.3%
Coal 5 840 6 287 6 287 43 986 41 378 39 000
48.6% 38.6% 37.9% 64.3% 50.7% 47.4%
Biomass 271 428 428 1 725 2 149 2 201
2.3% 2.6% 2.6% 2.5% 2.6% 2.7%
Wind 251 1 463 1 467 741 4 089 5 674
2.1% 9.0% 8.8% 1.1% 5.0% 6.9%
Hydro 869 894 894 2 316 1 709 2 282
7.2% 5.5% 5.4% 3.4% 2.1% 2.8%
All renewable sources 1 391 2 785 2 789 4 782 7 947 10 156
11.6% 17.1% 16.8% 7.0% 9.7% 12.3%
All sources 12 008 16 293 16 602 68 442 81 552 82 341

Residential Bills and Greenhouse Gas Generation Intensity

Alberta’s most populous city, Calgary, has a relatively low residential electricity bill of $104 for 1 000 kW.h compared to the Canadian mean of $129 per 1 000 kW.h. Alberta’s GHG generation intensity is the highest in Canada, emitting 790 grams of GHGs per kW.h which is nearly six times Canada’s mean of 140 g GHG/kW.h.

FIGURE 10

FIGURE 10

Source and Description

Source:
Hydro-Québec, National Inventory Report

Description:
Two dials indicate the monthly residential electricity bill for 1 000 kW.h and the GHG generation intensity in grams of GHG per kW.h. Alberta’s most populous city, Calgary, has a relatively low residential electricity bill of $104 for 1 000 kW.h compared to the Canadian mean of $129 per 1 000 kW.h. Alberta’s GHG generation intensity is the highest in Canada, emitting 790 grams of GHGs per kW.h which is nearly six times Canada’s mean of 140 g GHG/kW.h.

 

 

Date modified:

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada 2017 – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie

Deux canots rouges à quai au lac Moraine.

Alberta

En 2016, les centrales au charbon comptaient pour 47,4 % de l’électricité produite en Alberta et celles alimentées au gaz naturel pour 40,3 %, alors que les ressources renouvelables représentaient 12,3 % de la production. À ce dernier chapitre, l’éolien occupe le haut du pavé, produisant 6,9 % de toute l’électricité de la province.

FIGURE 9 Production d’électricité en Alberta selon la source

Figure 9
Description

Ce graphique illustre la répartition des sources d’électricité en Alberta entre 2005 et 2016 : hydroélectricité (baisse, de 3,4 % à 2,8 %); biomasse (hausse, de 2,5 % à 2,7 %); éolien (hausse, de 1,1 % à 6,9 %); charbon (baisse, de 64,3 % à 47,4 %); gaz naturel (hausse, de 28,7 % à 40,3 %).

TABLEAU 3 Capacité de production et production d’électricité provenant de ressources renouvelables en Alberta

  Capacité en MW et % Production en GWh et %
  2005 2015 2016 2005 2015 2016
Pétrole et diesel 7 7 7 17 12 0
0,1 % <0,1 % <0,1 % <0,1 % <0,1 % 0,0 %
Gaz naturel 4 770 7 214 7 519 19 657 32 215 33 184
39,7 % 44,3 % 45,3 % 28,7 % 39,5 % 40,3 %
Charbon 5 840 6 287 6 287 43 986 41 378 39 000
48,6 % 38,6 % 37,9 % 64,3 % 50,7 % 47,4 %
Biomasse 271 428 428 1 725 2 149 2 201
2,3 % 2,6 % 2,6 % 2,5 % 2,6 % 2,7 %
Éolien 251 1 463 1 467 741 4 089 5 674
2,1 % 9,0 % 8,8 % 1,1 % 5,0 % 6,9 %
Hydroélectricité 869 894 894 2 316 1 709 2 282
7,2 % 5,5 % 5,4 % 3,4 % 2,1 % 2,8 %
Total pour les sources d’énergie renouvelable 1 391 2 785 2 789 4 782 7 947 10 156
11,6 % 17,1 % 16,8 % 7,0 % 9,7 % 12,3 %
Toutes les sources 12 008 16 293 16 602 68 442 81 552 82 341

Tendances de la production

Le charbon et le gaz naturel dominent la production de l’électricité en Alberta. Depuis 2005, le second déplace graduellement le premier et cette tendance devrait être maintenue alors que la province prévoit éliminer totalement le charbon d’ici 2030. À l’heure actuelle, celui-ci compte pour 47,4 % de toute l’électricité produite à l’échelle provinciale.

L’éolien domine toutes les autres sources d’énergies renouvelables en Alberta pour ce qui est de l’ajout de capacité. Depuis 2005, sa part comparativement à toute l’électricité produite dans la province est passée de 1,1 % à 6,9 %. À 5 674 GWh en 2016, la production éolienne provinciale ne le cède désormais qu’à celle du Québec et de l’Ontario. Pour la plupart, les parcs éoliens albertains se trouvent dans le sud de la province, région reconnue pour ses vents.

La production hydroélectrique et celle dérivée de la biomasse ont été stables. Individuellement, leur part a varié entre 2 % et 3 % ces dernières années.

Modifications à la capacité de production en 2016

En Alberta, la production tirée de centrales alimentées au gaz naturel a augmenté de 305 MW en 2016. Dans la plupart des cas il s’agissait d’installations de cogénération d’électricité et de vapeur destinées à l’exploitation des sables bitumineux. À 100 MW, Christina Lake constituait la plus grosse de ces installations. L’électricité qui y est produite est vendue sur le marché de gros albertain tandis que la vapeur sert à des activités de récupération in situ.

Le parc éolien Cowley Ridge avait été le premier à vocation commerciale au Canada et TransAlta en a cessé l’exploitation après 23 ans en 2016. Néanmoins, surtout en raison des agrandissements du parc Bull Creek, la province a augmenté sa capacité éolienne.

Complément d’information

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie 2016 procure des renseignements supplémentaires à ce sujet pour l’Alberta.

Factures résidentielles et intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité

Calgary, la ville la plus peuplée de l’Alberta, présente une facture résidentielle d’électricité relativement faible à 104 $ pour 1 000 kWh alors que la moyenne mensuelle canadienne est de 129 $. Cette province présente la plus forte intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité au Canada avec 790 g par kWh, soit presque six fois la moyenne canadienne de 140 g par kWh.

FIGURE 10

FIGURE 10

Source et description

Source :
Hydro-Québec, Rapport d’inventaire national

Description :
Deux cadrans illustrent d’une part la facture résidentielle mensuelle pour 1 000 kWh et d’autre part l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité en g par kWh. Calgary, ville la plus peuplée de l’Alberta, présente une facture résidentielle d’électricité relativement faible à 104 $ pour 1 000 kWh alors que la moyenne mensuelle canadienne est de 129 $. Cette province présente la plus forte intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité au Canada avec 790 g par kWh, soit presque six fois la moyenne canadienne de 140 g par kWh.

 

 

Date de modification :