Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape 2017 – Energy Market Analysis

View along the B.C. coast at sunset, the sky and clouds are multicoloured

British Columbia

B.C. generated 98.4% of its electricity from renewable sources in 2016, up from 95.0% in 2015. Although dominated by hydro, wind capacity has been growing in B.C. since 2009.

Generation Trends

B.C.’s natural geography and public policies have contributed to the establishment of hydro as the province’s largest source of electricity. In 2016, over 30 BC Hydro facilities, and over 70 independently-owned hydro facilities, some over 100 years old, generated 88.0% of B.C.’s electricity. Biomass was the second largest source of electricity, mainly consuming wood waste from the forestry, and pulp and paper industries. Biomass generated 6 727 GW.h, or 9.0% of generation, in 2016. This is the highest biomass share of any province or territory.

Total renewable generation grew in relative share due to a significant decrease in natural gas generation, from 3 305 GW.h in 2015 to 1 115 GW.h in 2016, and an increase in hydro generation. Natural gas accounted for only 1.5% of total generation in 2016, down from a ten year average of 4.4%.

Capacity Changes in 2016

B.C. added an estimated 680 MW of hydro capacity in 2016. Major sources of this addition include the Waneta Expansion, the Mica Unit 6 Project, and the new McLymont Creek hydro facility.

Natural gas capacity decreased by over 900 MW, due to the retirement of the Burrard Thermal Generating Station.

More Information

Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape 2016 – Energy Market Analysis provides additional information on renewable power in British Columbia.

FIGURE 7 Electricity Generation by Source in British Columbia

Figure 7
Description

This graph shows the composition of B.C.’s electricity generation between 2005 and 2016. Hydro averaged 88.9% of generation. Wind increased from 0% in 2008 to 1.4% in 2016. Biomass doubled from 4.8% to 9.0%. Natural gas generation declined from 5.1% to 1.5% of generation from 2005 to 2016.

TABLE 2 Electric Capacity and Generation in British Columbia

  Capacity in MW and % Generation in GW.h and %
  2005 2015 2016 2005 2015 2016
Oil and Diesel 82 82 82 88 266 56
0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 0.1% 0.4% 0.1%
Natural Gas 1 320 1 474 530 3 445 3 305 1 115
8.8% 8.2% 3.0% 5.1% 4.6% 1.5%
Biomass 811 886 907 3 254 6 738 6 727
5.4% 4.9% 5.1% 4.8% 9.4% 9.0%
Wind 0 488 488 0 1 206 1 059
0.0% 2.7% 2.8% 0.0% 1.7% 1.4%
Hydro 12 847 15 029 15 709 60 327 60 344 65 524
85.3% 83.7% 88.7% 89.9% 84.0% 88.0%
All renewable sources 13 658 16 403 17 104 63 581 62 288 73 310
90.7% 91.3% 96.5% 94.7% 95.0% 98.4%
All sources 15 060 17 959 17 717 67 114 71 859 74 482

Residential Bills and Greenhouse Gas Generation Intensity

B.C.’s most populous city, Vancouver, has a relatively low residential electricity bill of $107 for 1 000 kW.h compared to the Canadian mean of $129 per 1 000 kW.h. British Columbia’s GHG generation intensity is also much lower than most of Canada, emitting 13 grams of GHGs per kW.h compared to the mean of 140 g GHG/kW.h.

FIGURE 8

FIGURE 8

Source and Description

Source:
Hydro-Québec, National Inventory Report

Description:
Two dials indicate the monthly residential electricity bill for 1 000 kW.h and the GHG generation intensity in grams of GHG per kW.h. B.C.’s most populous city, Vancouver, has a relatively low residential electricity bill of $107 for 1 000 kW.h, compared to the Canadian mean of $129 per 1 000 kW.h. British Columbia’s GHG generation intensity is also much lower than most of Canada, emitting 13 grams of GHGs per kW.h compared to the mean of 140 g GHG/kW.h.

 

 

Date modified:

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada 2017 – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie

Côte de la Colombie-Britannique au soleil couchant surplombée d’un ciel et de nuages multicolores.

Colombie-Britannique

La Colombie-Britannique a produit 98,4 % de son électricité à partir de sources renouvelables en 2016 contre 95,0 % en 2015. Même si l’hydroélectricité domine, la capacité éolienne a progressé dans cette province depuis 2009.

FIGURE 7 : Production d’électricité en Colombie-Britannique selon la source

Figure 7 : Production d’électricité en Colombie-Britannique selon la source
Description

Ce graphique illustre la répartition des sources d’électricité en Colombie-Britannique entre 2005 et 2016 : hydroélectricité (moyenne de 88,9 %); éolien (hausse, de nulle en 2008 à 1,4 %); biomasse (hausse, de 4,8 % à 9,0 %); gaz naturel (baisse, de 5,1 % à 1,5 %).

TABLEAU 2 Capacité de production et production d’électricité provenant de ressources renouvelables en Colombie-Britannique

  Capacité en MW et % Production en GWh et %
  2005 2015 2016 2005 2015 2016
Pétrole et diesel 82 82 82 88 266 56
0,5 % 0,5 % 0,5 % 0,1 % 0,4 % 0,1 %
Gaz naturel 1 320 1 474 530 3 445 3 305 1 115
8,8 % 8,2 % 3,0 % 5,1 % 4,6 % 1,5 %
Biomasse 811 886 907 3 254 6 738 6 727
5,4 % 4,9 % 5,1 % 4,8 % 9,4 % 9,0 %
Éolien 0 488 488 0 1 206 1 059
0,0 % 2,7 % 2,8 % 0,0 % 1,7 % 1,4 %
Hydroélectricité 12 847 15 029 15 709 60 327 60 344 65 524
85,3 % 83,7 % 88,7 % 89,9 % 84,0 % 88,0 %
All renewable sources 13 658 16 403 17 104 63 581 62 288 73 310
90,7 % 91,3 % 96,5 % 94,7 % 95,0 % 98,4 %
Toutes les sources 15 060 17 959 17 717 67 114 71 859 74 482

Tendances de la production

Les politiques de la Colombie-Britannique et sa géographie ont contribué à en faire une province largement hydroélectrique. En 2016, plus de 30 installations de BC Hydro et 70 appartenant à des propriétaires indépendants, dont certaines ayant plus de 100 ans, ont permis de produire 88,0 % de l’électricité à l’échelle provinciale. La biomasse suivait, cette électricité étant surtout produite par combustion de déchets ligneux produits par le secteur forestier ou celui des pâtes et papiers. Avec une production de 6 727 GWh, la part de 9,0 % de la biomasse en 2016 représente le pourcentage le plus élevé qui soit toute province et tout territoire confondus.

La croissance de la part relative des ressources renouvelables comparativement à la production totale est le résultat d’une diminution substantielle de l’électricité provenant de centrales alimentées au gaz naturel, qui est passée de 3 305 GWh en 2015 à 1 115 GWh en 2016, ainsi qu’à un accroissement de l’hydroélectricité. Le gaz naturel ne représentait que 1,5 % de la production totale en 2015 alors que la moyenne pour les dix dernières années est de 4,4 %.

Modifications à la capacité de production en 2016

On estime que la Colombie-Britannique a ajouté 680 MW à sa capacité hydroélectrique en 2016, principalement en raison des éléments suivants : agrandissement Waneta, projet Mica unité 6 et nouvelle installation McLymont Creek.

La capacité de production associée au gaz naturel a décru de plus de 900 MW en raison de la mise à la réforme de la centrale thermique Burrard.

Complément d’information

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie 2016 procure des renseignements supplémentaires à ce sujet pour la Colombie-Britannique.

Factures résidentielles et intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité

Vancouver, ville la plus peuplée de la Colombie-Britannique, présente une facture résidentielle d’électricité relativement faible à 107 $ pour 1 000 kWh alors que la moyenne mensuelle canadienne est de 129 $. À l’échelle de la province, l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité est aussi beaucoup plus faible qu’en bien d’autres endroits au pays, avec 13 g de GES par kWh comparativement à une moyenne canadienne de 140 g.

FIGURE 8

FIGURE 8

Source et description

Source :
Hydro-Québec, Rapport d’inventaire national

Description :
Deux cadrans illustrent d’une part la facture résidentielle mensuelle pour 1 000 kWh et d’autre part l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité en g par kWh. Vancouver, ville la plus peuplée de la Colombie-Britannique, présente une facture résidentielle d’électricité relativement faible à 107 $ pour 1 000 kWh alors que la moyenne mensuelle canadienne est de 129 $. À l’échelle de la province, l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité est aussi beaucoup plus faible qu’en bien d’autres endroits au pays, avec 13 g de GES par kWh comparativement à une moyenne canadienne de 140 g.

 

 

Date de modification :