Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape 2017 – Energy Market Analysis

Downtown Winnipeg at night, traffic lights illuminate the road

Manitoba

Manitoba generated 99.6% of its electricity from renewable sources in 2016. This is the second highest share of renewable generation after Quebec. Hydro was the primary source of electricity, accounting for 97.3% of generation.

Generation Trends

The composition of electricity generation from different technologies was relatively stable in Manitoba between 2005 and 2016. The vast majority of the province’s electricity was generated from hydro, averaging 97.5% since 2005. Wind generation was the fastest growing electricity source, increasing from 0.1% in 2005 to 2.4% in 2016. In contrast, coal dropped from 1.1% to 0.1% of generation in the same time. Biomass accounted for 0.2% of generation in 2016. Diesel is used in some remote communities, particularly in the northern part of the province.

Capacity Changes in 2016

Although accounting for a very small portion of capacity, diesel capacity is estimated to have been halved in 2016, dropping to 5 MW from 10 MW in 2015. The capacity of every other source stayed the same.

More Information

Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape 2016 – Energy Market Analysis provides additional information on renewable power in Manitoba.

FIGURE 13 Electricity Generation by Source in Manitoba

Figure 13
Description

This graph shows the source of Manitoba’s electricity generation between 2005 and 2016. On average, hydro has accounted for about 97.5% of generation. Wind increased from 0.1% in 2005 to 2.4% in 2016. Biomass has remained less than half a percent of generation. Coal, natural gas, oil and diesel each averaged less than half of a percent of generation, and have decreased to shares near zero in 2016.

TABLE 5 Electric Capacity and Generation in Manitoba

  Capacity in MW and % Generation in GW.h and %
  2005 2015 2016 2005 2015 2016
Oil and Diesel 32 10 5 32 43 16
0.6% 0.2% 0.1% 0.1% 0.1% <0.1%
Natural Gas 368 403 403 11 183 12
6.6% 6.6% 6.6% <0.1% 0.5% 0.0%
Coal 98 98 98 421 106 28
1.7% 1.6% 1.6% 1.1% 0.3% 0.1%
Biomass 22 22 22 N/A 100 78
0.4% 0.4% 0.4%   0.3% 0.2%
Wind 20 258 258 53 860 863
0.4% 4.2% 4.2% 0.1% 2.4% 2.4%
Hydro 5 054 5 349 5 349 36 440 34 774 35 599
90.3% 87.1% 87.1% 98.6% 96.4% 97.3%
All renewable sources 5 074 5 608 5 608 36 493 35 634 36 462
90.7% 91.3% 91.4% 98.7% 98.8% 99.6%
All sources 5 594 6 140 6 135 36 956 36 067 36 596

Residential Bills and Greenhouse Gas Generation Intensity

Manitoba’s largest city, Winnipeg, has a relatively low residential electricity bill of $84 for 1 000 kW.h compared to the Canadian mean of $129 per 1 000 kW.h. Manitoba’s GHG generation intensity is also much lower than most of Canada, emitting 3.4 grams of GHGs per kW.h compared to the mean of 140 g GHG/kW.h.

FIGURE 14

FIGURE 14

Source and Description

Source:
Hydro-Québec, National Inventory Report

Description:
Two dials indicate the monthly residential electricity bill for 1 000 kW.h and the GHG generation intensity in grams of GHG per kW.h. Manitoba’s largest city, Winnipeg, has a relatively low residential electricity bill of $84 for 1 000 kW.h compared to the Canadian mean of $129 per 1 000 kW.h. Manitoba’s GHG generation intensity is also much lower than most of Canada, emitting 3.4 grams of GHGs per kW.h compared to the mean of 140 g GHG/kW.h.

 

 

Date modified:

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada 2017 – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie

Centre de Winnipeg la nuit alors que les voitures qui circulent illuminent la voie.

Manitoba

Le Manitoba a produit 99,6 % de son électricité à partir de sources renouvelables en 2016, ne le cédant qu’au Québec à cet égard. Cette production est surtout hydroélectrique, à 97,3 %.

FIGURE 13 Production d’électricité au Manitoba selon la source

Figure 13
Description

Ce graphique illustre la répartition des sources d’électricité au Manitoba entre 2005 et 2016 : hydroélectricité (moyenne d’environ 97,5 %); éolien (hausse, de 0,1 % à 2,4 %); biomasse (stable à moins de 0,5 %); Charbon, gaz naturel, pétrole et diesel (moyenne inférieure à 0,5 % dans chaque cas, se rapprochant de nulle).

TABLEAU 5 Capacité de production et production d’électricité provenant de ressources renouvelables au Manitoba

  Capacité en MW et % Production en GWh et %
  2005 2015 2016 2005 2015 2016
Pétrole et diesel 32 10 5 32 43 16
0,6 % 0,2 % 0,1 % 0,1 % 0,1 % <0,1 %
Gaz naturel 368 403 403 11 183 12
6,6 % 6,6 % 6,6 % <0,1 % 0,5 % 0,0 %
Charbon 98 98 98 421 106 28
1,7 % 1,6 % 1,6 % 1,1 % 0,3 % 0,1 %
Biomasse 22 22 22 N/A 100 78
0,4 % 0,4 % 0,4 %   0,3 % 0,2 %
Éolien 20 258 258 53 860 863
0,4 % 4,2 % 4,2 % 0,1 % 2,4 % 2,4 %
Hydroélectricité 5 054 5 349 5 349 36 440 34 774 35 599
90,3 % 87,1 % 87,1 % 98,6 % 96,4 % 97,3 %
Total pour les sources d’énergie renouvelable 5 074 5 608 5 608 36 493 35 634 36 462
90,7 % 91,3 % 91,4 % 98,7 % 98,8 % 99,6 %
Toutes les sources 5 594 6 140 6 135 36 956 36 067 36 596

Tendances de la production

Les différents modes de production ont été relativement stables au Manitoba entre 2005 et 2016, la moyenne de 97,5 % pour l’hydroélectricité pendant cette période faisant foi. L’éolien est le mode de production qui a connu la croissance la plus rapide, passant de 0,1 % à 2,4 %, tandis que le charbon prenait la direction inverse, de 1,1 % à 0,1 %. En 2016, la biomasse représentait 0,2 % de la production totale. Le diesel est utilisé dans certaines collectivités éloignées, en particulier dans le nord de la province.

Modifications à la capacité de production en 2016

Même si la part du diesel est fort restreinte en termes de capacité, elle a néanmoins été coupée de moitié en 2016, reculant à 5 MW contre 10 MW en 2015. Autrement, quelle que soit la source d’énergie, la capacité n’a pas bougé pendant cette période d’un an.

Complément d’information

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie 2016 procure des renseignements supplémentaires à ce sujet pour le Manitoba.

Factures résidentielles et intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité

Winnipeg, plus grande ville du Manitoba, présente une facture résidentielle d’électricité relativement faible à 84 $ pour 1 000 kWh alors que la moyenne mensuelle canadienne est de 129 $. À l’échelle de la province, l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité est aussi beaucoup plus faible qu’en bien d’autres endroits au pays, avec 3,4 g de GES par kWh comparativement à une moyenne canadienne de 140 g.

FIGURE 14

FIGURE 14

Source et description

Source :
Hydro-Québec, Rapport d’inventaire national

Description :
Deux cadrans illustrent d’une part la facture résidentielle mensuelle pour 1 000 kWh et d’autre part l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité en g par kWh. Winnipeg, plus grande ville du Manitoba, présente une facture résidentielle d’électricité relativement faible à 84 $ pour 1 000 kWh alors que la moyenne mensuelle canadienne est de 129 $. À l’échelle de la province, l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité est aussi beaucoup plus faible qu’en bien d’autres endroits au pays, avec 3,4 g de GES par kWh comparativement à une moyenne canadienne de 140 g.

 

 

Date de modification :