Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape 2017 – Energy Market Analysis

Northwest Head (Ramea) Lighthouse at Remea, Newfoundland and Labrador on a sunny day.

Newfoundland and Labrador

Newfoundland and Labrador generated 94.3% of its electricity from renewable sources, almost entirely from hydro. The remaining generation was mainly from oil, diesel, and natural gas.

FIGURE 23 Electricity Generation by Source in Newfoundland and Labrador

Figure 23
Description

This graph shows the composition of Newfoundland and Labrador’s electricity generation between 2005 and 2016. On average, hydro accounted for 95.8% of generation. Wind and biomass generated less than 1% combined. Natural gas averaged 1.2%. Oil and diesel averaged 2.7% of generation.

TABLE 10 Electric Capacity and Generation in Newfoundland and Labrador

  Capacity in MW and % Generation in GW.h and %
  2005 2015 2016 2005 2015 2016
Oil and Diesel 784 737 737 1 304 974 1 805
10.2% 9.6% 9.6% 3.1% 2.3% 4.3%
Natural Gas 103 103 103 269 922 506
1.3% 1.3% 1.3% 0.6% 2.2% 1.2%
Biomass 15 15 15 0 0 70
0.2% 0.2% 0.2% 0.0% 0.0% 0.2%
Wind 0 54 54 0 189 190
0.0% 0.7% 0.7% 0.0% 0.5% 0.5%
Hydro 6 791 6 794 6 794 40 498 39 687 39 483
88.3% 88.2% 88.2% 96.3% 95.0% 93.9%
All renewable sources 6 791 6 848 6 848 40 498 39 876 39 673
88.3% 88.9% 88.9% 96.3% 95.5% 94.3%
All sources 7 692 7 703 7 703 42 071 42 772 42 053

Generation Trends

Newfoundland and Labrador generated 93.9% of its electricity from hydro in 2016. The Churchill Falls Generating Station in Labrador is the second largest hydro plant in Canada, with an installed capacity of 5 428 MW, and annual generation of about 34 000 GW.h. Under an agreement with Hydro-Québec, a significant portion of generation at the facility is exported to Quebec. Wind and biomass account for a small share of generation, at only 0.7% combined in 2016.

Hydro generation in Newfoundland and Labrador is supplemented with diesel generation at the 500 MW Holyrood Thermal Generating Station, among other facilities. Natural gas is used for electricity generation on offshore oil drilling rigs, and accounts for an estimated 1.2% of the province’s generation.

Capacity Changes in 2016

Newfoundland and Labrador’s capacity in 2016 was the same as in 2015.

More Information

Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape 2016 – Energy Market Analysis provides additional information on renewable power in Newfoundland and Labrador.

Residential Bills and Greenhouse Gas Generation Intensity

Newfoundland and Labrador’s largest city, St. John’s, has a residential electricity bill of $120 for 1 000 kW.h which is slightly lower than the Canadian mean of $129 per 1 000 kW.h. Newfoundland and Labrador’s GHG generation intensity is much lower than most of Canada, emitting 32 grams of GHGs per kW.h compared to the Canadian mean of 140 g GHG/kW.h.

FIGURE 24

FIGURE 24

Source and Description

Source:
Hydro-Québec, National Inventory Report

Description:
Two dials indicate the monthly residential electricity bill for 1 000 kW.h and the GHG generation intensity in grams of GHG per kW.h. Newfoundland and Labrador’s largest city, St. John’s, has a residential electricity bill of $120 for 1 000 kW.h which is slightly lower than the Canadian mean of $129 per 1 000 kW.h. Newfoundland and Labrador’s GHG generation intensity is much lower than most of Canada, emitting 32 grams of GHGs per kW.h compared to the Canadian mean of 140 g GHG/kW.h.

 

 

 

Date modified:

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada 2017 – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie

Phare de Northwest Head (Ramea) à Remea, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, par une journée ensoleillée.

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador a produit 94,3 % de son électricité à partir de ressources renouvelables, presque toutes hydrauliques. Le reste de la production était surtout attribuable au pétrole, au diesel et au gaz naturel.

FIGURE 23 Production d’électricité à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador selon la source

Figure 23
Description

This graph shows the composition of Newfoundland and Labrador’s electricity generation between 2005 and 2016. On average, hydro accounted for 95.8% of generation. Wind and biomass generated less than 1% combined. Natural gas averaged 1.2%. Oil and diesel averaged 2.7% of generation.

TABLEAU 10 Capacité de production et production d’électricité provenant de ressources renouvelables à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

  Capacité en MW et % Production en GWh et %
  2005 2015 2016 2005 2015 2016
Pétrole et diesel 784 737 737 1 304 974 1 805
10,2 % 9,6 % 9,6 % 3,1 % 2,3 % 4,3 %
Gaz naturel 103 103 103 269 922 506
1,3 % 1,3 % 1,3 % 0,6 % 2,2 % 1,2 %
Biomasse 15 15 15 0 0 70
0,2 % 0,2 % 0,2 % 0,0 % 0,0 % 0,2 %
Éolien 0 54 54 0 189 190
0,0 % 0,7 % 0,7 % 0,0 % 0,5 % 0,5 %
Hydroélectricité 6 791 6 794 6 794 40 498 39 687 39 483
88,3 % 88,2 % 88,2 % 96,3 % 95,0 % 93,9 %
Total pour les sources d’énergie renouvelable 6 791 6 848 6 848 40 498 39 876 39 673
88,3 % 88,9 % 88,9 % 96,3 % 95,5 % 94,3 %
Toutes les sources 7 692 7 703 7 703 42 071 42 772 42 053

Tendances de la production

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador a produit 93,9 % de son électricité à partir de ressources hydrauliques. La centrale des Churchill Falls, au Labrador, est la deuxième centrale hydroélectrique en importance au Canada, avec une puissance installée de 5 428 MW et une production annuelle de quelque 34 000 GWh. Aux termes d’une entente avec Hydro-Québec, une partie importante de la production est exportée au Québec. L’éolien et la biomasse pèsent peu dans la balance de la production, leur part n’étant que de 0,7 % au total en 2016.

À la production hydroélectrique de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador se greffe notamment celle de 500 MW, à partir du diesel, de la centrale thermique Holyrood. Le gaz naturel sert à la production d’électricité sur les plateformes de forage extracôtières. On estime à 1,2 % la part de cette électricité par rapport à l’ensemble de celle produite dans la province.

Modifications à la capacité de production en 2016

À Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, la capacité est demeurée inchangée entre 2015 et 2016.

Complément d’information

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie 2016 procure des renseignements supplémentaires à ce sujet pour Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Factures résidentielles et intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité

St. John’s, plus grande ville de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, présente une facture résidentielle d’électricité de 120 $ pour 1 000 kWh, ce qui est légèrement inférieur à la moyenne mensuelle canadienne de 129 $. À l’échelle de la province, l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité est beaucoup plus faible qu’en bien d’autres endroits au pays, avec 32 g de GES par kWh comparativement à une moyenne canadienne de 140 g.

FIGURE 24

FIGURE 24

Source et description

Source :
Hydro-Québec, Rapport d’inventaire national

Description :
Deux cadrans illustrent d’une part la facture résidentielle mensuelle pour 1 000 kWh et d’autre part l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité en g par kWh. St. John’s, plus grande ville de Terre Neuve-et-Labrador, présente une facture résidentielle d’électricité de 120 $ pour 1 000 kWh, ce qui est légèrement inférieur à la moyenne mensuelle canadienne de 129 $. À l’échelle de la province, l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité est beaucoup plus faible qu’en bien d’autres endroits au pays, avec 32 g de GES par kWh comparativement à une moyenne canadienne de 140 g.

 

 

Date de modification :