Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape 2017 – Energy Market Analysis

The silhouette of an inuksuk at the edge of a lake at sunset

Northwest Territories

NWT generated 69.8% of its electricity from hydro in 2016. Renewables comprised 73.7% of all generation, mostly from hydro, but also solar and wind.

Generation Trends

Hydroelectric generation fluctuates significantly between years in NWT, and comprised 69.8% of total generation in 2016. The Snare, Bluefish, and Taltson hydro plants supply the areas around Great Slave Lake, while more remote communities rely primarily on local diesel  generators. Inuvik relies on one natural gas generator in addition to a diesel generator. The natural gas is in the form of LNG and is imported by truck. Of Inuvik’s power generation in 2016, 11.7% came from LNG. Natural gas use has been falling in northern communities since 2005, partly because natural gas production in NWT has declined. Diesel generation is used to meet the demand not met by hydro, so it varies by year. Diesel accounted for 22.4% of generation in NWT in 2016.

In 2012, four wind turbines were constructed at the Diavik Diamond Mine, which produced 1.0% of total NWT electricity generation in 2016.

Capacity Changes in 2016

In 2016, NWT added an estimated 0.4 MW of solar capacity from multiple photovoltaic projects.

Data Challenges for Northern Territories

The data in this report was derived from EF2017. Its electricity generation and capacity numbers are based on a model that uses historical Statistics Canada data along with forecasted and estimated values. Accurate and detailed data is especially difficult to obtain for Canada’s northern territories.

More Information

Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape 2016 – Energy Market Analysis provides additional information on renewable power in NWT.

FIGURE 29 Electricity Generation by Source in Northwest Territories

Figure 29
Description

This graph shows the composition of NWT’s electricity generation between 2005 and 2016. Hydro’s share fluctuated from 36.6% in 2005 to a high of 69.8% in 2016. Wind grew from zero to 3.9% from 2012 to 2016. Natural gas generally decreased from 22.5% to 3.9%, with fluctuations year to year. Oil and diesel generation averaged 43.0% from 2005 to 2016, but fell to 22.4% in 2016.

TABLE 12 Electric Capacity and Generation in Northwest Territories

  Capacity in MW and % Generation in GW.h and %
  2005 2015 2016 2005 2015 2016
Oil and Diesel 114 94 94 280 348 82
55.8% 50.3% 50.3% 40.9% 52.3% 22.4%
Natural Gas 35 27 27 154 85 14
17.1% 14.6% 14.5% 22.5% 12.8% 3.9%
Solar 0 0.8 1.2 0 <0.1 0.3
0.0% 0.4% 0.6% 0.0% <0.1% 0.1%
Wind 0 9 9 0 5 14
0.0% 4.9% 4.9% 0.0% 0.8% 3.9%
Hydro 55 55 55 250 228 255
27.1% 29.7% 29.6% 36.6% 34.2% 69.8%
All renewable sources 55 65 65 250 233 269
27.1% 34.6% 34.6% 36.6% 35.0% 73.7%
All sources 204 187 187 684 666 366

Residential Bills and Greenhouse Gas Generation Intensity

Northwest Territories Power Corporation has a very high residential electricity bill of $309 for 1 000 kW.h compared to the Canadian mean of $129 per 1 000 kW.h. NWT’s GHG generation intensity is also higher than most of Canada, emitting 390 grams of GHGs per kW.h compared to the Canadian mean of 140 g GHG/kW.h.

FIGURE 30

FIGURE 30

Source and Description

Source:
Arctic Energy Alliance, National Inventory Report

Description:
Two dials indicate the monthly residential electricity bill for 1 000 kW.h and the GHG generation intensity in grams of GHG per kW.h. Northwest Territories Power Corporation has a very high residential electricity bill of $309 for 1 000 kW.h compared to the Canadian mean of $129 per 1 000 kW.h. NWT’s GHG generation intensity is also higher than most of Canada, emitting 390 grams of GHGs per kW.h compared to the mean of 140 g GHG/kW.h.

 

 

 

Date modified:

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada 2017 – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie

The silhouette of an inuksuk at the edge of a lake at sunset

Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Les Territoires du Nord-Ouest ont produit 69,8 % de leur électricité à partir de ressources hydrauliques. Les ressources renouvelables, principalement hydroélectriques mais sans oublier l’énergie solaire et l’éolien, comptaient pour 73,7 % de toute la production.

Tendances de la production

La production hydroélectrique varie grandement d’une année à l’autre dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et représente 69,8 % de toute l’électricité qui y a été produite en 2016. Les centrales hydroélectriques Snare, Bluefish et Taltson approvisionnent en électricité les régions à proximité du Grand lac des Esclaves alors que les collectivités éloignées s’en remettent localement à des génératrices au diesel. À Inuvik, on retrouve une génératrice au gaz naturel qui est venue se greffer à une autre au diesel. Le gaz naturel en question est sous forme liquéfié et est importé par camion. Le GNL a été à l’origine de 11,7 % de toute l’électricité produite à Inuvik en 2016. Les collectivités du Nord consomment moins de gaz naturel depuis 2005, en partie en raison du recul de la production à partir de cette ressource dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Le diesel servant de complément à l’hydroélectricité, afin de répondre à la demande que celle-ci ne peut satisfaire, les données à cet égard varient d’une année à l’autre et ce combustible comptait pour 22,4 % de la production des Territoires du Nord-Ouest dans son ensemble en 2016.

En 2012, quatre éoliennes ont été érigées à la mine de diamants Diavik et elles ont été à l’origine de 1,0 % de toute l’électricité produite dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest en 2016.

Modifications à la capacité de production en 2016

En 2016, les Territoires du Nord-Ouest ont ajouté une quantité estimative de 0,4 MW de capacité solaire en raison de multiples projets photovoltaïques.

Difficultés associées aux données pour les territoires septentrionaux

Dans le présent rapport, les données sont dérivées de celui sur l’Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2017. Les chiffres sur la capacité et la production d’électricité sont fondés sur un modèle mettant à profit des données historiques de Statistique Canada parallèlement à des valeurs estimatives prévues. Des données précises et détaillées sont particulièrement difficiles à obtenir pour les territoires septentrionaux du Canada.

Complément d’information

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie 2016 procure des renseignements supplémentaires à ce sujet pour les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

FIGURE 29 Production d’électricité dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest selon la source

Figure 29
Description

Ce graphique illustre la répartition des sources d’électricité dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest entre 2005 et 2016 : hydroélectricité (fluctuation de 36,6 % en 2005 à une pointe de 69,8 % en 2016); éolien (hausse, de nulle en 2012 à 3,9 % en 2016); gaz naturel (baisse, de 22,5 % à 3,9 %, avec fluctuations d’année en année); pétrole et diesel (moyenne de 43,0 %, mais baisse à 22,4 % en 2016).

TABLEAU 13 Capacité de production et production d’électricité provenant de ressources renouvelables aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest

  Capacité en MW et % Production en GWh et %
  2005 2015 2016 2005 2015 2016
Pétrole et diesel 114 94 94 280 348 82
55,8% 50,3% 50,3% 40,9% 52,3% 22,4%
Gaz naturel 35 27 27 154 85 14
17,1 % 14,6 % 14,5 % 22,5 % 12,8 % 3,9 %
Énergie solaire 0 0,8 1,2 0 <0,1 0,3
0,0 % 0,4 % 0,6 % 0,0 % <0,1 % 0,1 %
Éolien 0 9 9 0 5 14
0,0 % 4,9 % 4,9 % 0,0 % 0,8 % 3,9 %
Hydroélectricité 55 55 55 250 228 255
27,1 % 29,7 % 29,6 % 36,6 % 34,2 % 69,8 %
Total pour les sources d’énergie renouvelable 55 65 65 250 233 269
27,1 % 34,6 % 34,6 % 36,6 % 35,0 % 73,7 %
Toutes les sources 204 187 187 684 666 366

Factures résidentielles et intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité

Northwest Territories Power Corporation présente une facture résidentielle d’électricité très élevée à 309 $ pour 1 000 kWh alors que la moyenne mensuelle canadienne est de 129 $. À l’échelle du territoire, l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité est également plus élevée qu’en bien d’autres endroits au pays, avec 390 g de GES par kWh comparativement à une moyenne canadienne de 140 g.

FIGURE 30

FIGURE 30

Source et description

Source :
Arctic Energy Alliance et Rapport d’inventaire national

Description :
Deux cadrans illustrent d’une part la facture résidentielle mensuelle pour 1 000 kWh et d’autre part l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité en g par kWh. Northwest Territories Power Corporation présente une facture résidentielle d’électricité très élevée à 309 $ pour 1 000 kWh alors que la moyenne mensuelle canadienne est de 129 $. À l’échelle du territoire, l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité est également plus élevée qu’en bien d’autres endroits au pays, avec 390 g de GES par kWh comparativement à une moyenne canadienne de 140 g.

 

 

Date de modification :