Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape 2017 – Energy Market Analysis

Fishing Fleet at the dock at dusk, Malpeque Bay, Prince Edward Island.

Prince Edward Island

In 2016, 99.0% of electricity generated in Prince Edward Island (PEI) was renewable, almost all of it from wind. PEI has the highest percentage of wind generation of any province or territory. Oil and diesel accounted for the rest of the generation in.

FIGURE 25 Electricity Generation by Source in Prince Edward Island

Figure 25
Description

This graph shows the composition of PEI’s electricity generation between 2005 and 2016. Wind increased from 97.8% to 98.1% of generation. Biomass generated 0.9% in 2016. Oil and diesel fell from 2.2% to 1.0%.

TABLE 11 Electric Capacity and Generation in Prince Edward Island

  Capacity in MW and % Generation in GW.h and %
  2005 2015 2016 2005 2015 2016
Oil and Diesel 161 160 160 1 1 6
91.4% 43.9% 43.9% 2.2% 0.2% 1.0%
Biomass 2 2 2 N/A 4 5
1.2% 0.6% 0.6%   0.7% 0.9%
Wind 13 203 203 40 587 565
7.4% 55.6% 55.6% 97.8% 99.2% 98.1%
All renewable sources 15 205 205 40 591 570
8.6% 56.1% 56.1% 97.8% 99.8% 99.0%
All sources 173 366 366 41 592 576

Generation Trends

Wind generation in PEI has remained fairly stable. Wind accounted for 97.8% of generation in 2005 and 98.1% in 2016. Biomass supplied 0.9% of generation in 2016, and oil and diesel generators produced only 1.0% of the province’s electricity. PEI is the only province that does not generate hydroelectricity.

PEI imports a large percentage of its consumed electricity from New Brunswick while exporting a significant portion of its locally produced renewable electricity. (See New Brunswick’s generation by source.) The two submarine cables that connect PEI and New Brunswick are vital to the operation and reliability of PEI’s electricity grid.

Capacity Changes in 2016

PEI did not have any new facilities enter into service during 2016. Although oil and diesel generators comprise 43.9% of available capacity, this capacity continued to be rarely used.

More Information

Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape 2016 – Energy Market Analysis provides additional information on renewable power in PEI

Residential Bills and Greenhouse Gas Generation Intensity

PEI’s largest city, Charlottetown, has a relatively high residential electricity bill of $160 for 1 000 kW.h compared to the Canadian mean of $129 per 1 000 kW.h. PEI’s GHG generation intensity is much lower than most of Canada, emitting 20 grams of GHGs per kW.h compared to the mean of 140 g GHG/kW.h.

FIGURE 26

FIGURE 26

Source and Description

Source:
Hydro-Québec, National Inventory Report

Description:
Two dials indicate the monthly residential electricity bill for 1 000 kW.h and the GHG generation intensity in grams of GHG per kW.h. PEI’s largest city, Charlottetown, has a relatively high residential electricity bill of $160 for 1 000 kW.h compared to the Canadian mean of $129 per 1 000 kW.h. PEI’s GHG generation intensity is much lower than most of Canada, emitting 20 grams of GHGs per kW.h compared to the Canadian mean of 140 g GHG/kW.h, although this only includes power that is generated in the province.

 

 

Date modified:

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada 2017 – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie

Bateaux de pêche amarrés au quai à la brunante, à Malpeque Bay, à l’Île du Prince Édouard.

Île-du-Prince-Édouard

En 2016, l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard produisait 99,0 % de son électricité à partir de ressources renouvelables, éoliennes dans presque tous les cas, ce qui représente le pourcentage le plus élevé qui soit à cet égard, toute province et tout territoire confondus. Le pétrole et le diesel comptaient pour le reste de la production.

FIGURE 25 Production d’électricité à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard selon la source

Figure 25
Description

Ce graphique illustre la répartition des sources d’électricité à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard entre 2005 et 2016 : éolien (hausse, de 97,8 % à 98,1 %); biomasse (0,9 % en 2016); pétrole et diesel (baisse, de 2,2 % à 1,0 %).

TABLEAU 11 Capacité de production et production d’électricité provenant de ressources renouvelables à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard

  Capacité en MW et % Production en GWh et %
  2005 2015 2016 2005 2015 2016
Pétrole et diesel 161 160 160 1 1 6
91,4 % 43,9 % 43,9 % 2,2 % 0,2 % 1,0 %
Biomasse 2 2 2 N/A 4 5
1,2 % 0,6 % 0,6 %   0,7 % 0,9 %
Éolien 13 203 203 40 587 565
7,4 % 55,6 % 55,6 % 97,8 % 99,2 % 98,1 %
Total pour les sources d’énergie renouvelable 15 205 205 40 591 570
8,6 % 56,1 % 56,1 % 97,8 % 99,8 % 99,0 %
Toutes les sources 173 366 366 41 592 576

Tendances de la production

À l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, la production éolienne est demeurée assez stable, passant de 97,8 % en 2005 à 98,1 % en 2016. La biomasse a servi à produire 0,9 % de l’électricité en 2016, alors que la production des génératrices au pétrole et au diesel était limitée à 1,0 % par rapport à celle pour l’ensemble de la province, qui est la seule à ne pas produire d’hydroélectricité.

L’Île-du-Prince-Édouard importe un fort pourcentage de l’électricité qu’elle consomme du Nouveau-Brunswick, tout en exportant une partie importante de celle qu’elle produit à partir de ressources renouvelables (voir les statistiques du Nouveau-Brunswick sur la production selon la source). Les deux câbles sous-marins qui relient ces deux provinces sont essentiels à la viabilité de l’exploitation du réseau électrique de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et à sa fiabilité.

Modifications à la capacité de production en 2016

Aucune nouvelle installation n’est entrée en service à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard en 2016. Même si les génératrices au pétrole et au diesel représentent 43,9 % de la capacité disponible, on y a rarement recours.

Complément d’information

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie 2016 procure des renseignements supplémentaires à ce sujet pour l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Factures résidentielles et intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité

Charlottetown, plus grande ville de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, présente une facture résidentielle d’électricité relativement élevée à 160 $ pour 1 000 kWh alors que la moyenne mensuelle canadienne est de 129 $. À l’échelle de la province, l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité est beaucoup plus faible qu’en bien d’autres endroits au pays, avec 20 g de GES par kWh comparativement à une moyenne canadienne de 140 g.

FIGURE 26

FIGURE 26

Source et description

Source :
Hydro-Québec, Rapport d’inventaire national

Description :
Deux cadrans illustrent d’une part la facture résidentielle mensuelle pour 1 000 kWh et d’autre part l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité en g par kWh. Charlottetown, plus grande ville de l’Île du-Prince-Édouard, présente une facture résidentielle d’électricité relativement élevée à 160 $ pour 1 000 kWh alors que la moyenne mensuelle canadienne est de 129 $. À l’échelle de la province, l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité est beaucoup plus faible qu’en bien d’autres endroits au pays, avec 20 g de GES par kWh comparativement à une moyenne canadienne de 140 g. On ne parle ici que de l’électricité produite.

 

 

Date de modification :