Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape 2017 – Energy Market Analysis

A gravel road cuts through canola fields and a farmstead in the distance

Saskatchewan

Saskatchewan decreased its generation from coal by 6.5% in just one year. It generated 49.3% of its total electricity from coal in 2016, down from 54.8% in 2015. Natural gas increased its share from 27.7% to 33.7%. Renewables accounted for 17.1% of total generation in 2016.

Generation Trends

Fossil fuels are the primary source of Saskatchewan’s electricity due to a relative abundance of coal and natural gas. Coal remains the largest source of generation, but declined from 67.0% to 49.3% between 2005 and 2016. Natural gas generation increased more than four-fold over the same period, due to both lower natural gas prices and a shift towards less GHG–intensive generation.

From 2005 to 2016, hydro generation in Saskatchewan fluctuated between 23.2% and 13.4% of total electricity generation. These fluctuations were primarily due to varying annual precipitation and corresponding river flow levels.

Wind, the only non-hydro renewable in Saskatchewan, grew from 0.5% to 3.0% between 2005 and 2016. Saskatchewan is one of the sunniest provinces in Canada; however, they have no utility-scale solar facilities as of 2016.

Capacity Changes in 2016

Saskatchewan added an estimated 150 MW of natural gas-fired capacity, primarily from upgrades to the Queen Elizabeth Power Station.

More Information

Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape 2016 – Energy Market Analysis provides additional information on renewable power in Saskatchewan.

FIGURE 11 Electricity Generation by Source in Saskatchewan

Figure 11
Description

This graph shows the composition of Saskatchewan’s electricity generation between 2005 and 2016. Hydro’s share fluctuated between 13.4% and 23.2% of generation. Wind averaged 2.7%. Coal decreased from 67.0% in 2005 to 49.3% in 2016. Natural gas’ share increased from 9.3% in 2005 to 33.7% in 2016.

TABLE 4 Electric Capacity and Generation in Saskatchewan

  Capacity in MW and % Generation in GW.h and %
  2005 2015 2016 2005 2015 2016
Oil and Diesel 1 17 17 18 16 0
<0.1% 0.4% 0.4% 0.1% 0.1% <0.1%
Natural Gas 1 053 1 710 1 860 1 827 6 498 8 221
28.2% 39.1% 40.8% 9.3% 27.7% 33.7%
Coal 1 799 1 535 1 535 13 227 12 871 12 040
48.2% 35.1% 33.6% 67.0% 54.8% 49.3%
Biomass 0 2 36 0 0 152
0.0% <0.1% 0.8% 0.0% 0.0% 0.6%
Wind 16 221 221 92 684 730
0.4% 5.1% 4.8% 0.5% 2.9% 3.0%
Hydro 864 889 889 4 573 3 425 3 285
23.1% 20.3% 19.5% 23.2% 14.6% 13.4%
All renewable sources 880 1 112 1 146 4 665 4 109 4 167
23.6% 25.4% 25.1% 23.6% 17.5% 17.1%
All sources 3 733 4 374 4 558 19 737 23 494 24 428

Residential Bills and Greenhouse Gas Generation Intensity

Saskatchewan’s capital city, Regina, has a residential electricity bill of $146 for 1 000 kW.h which is slightly higher than the Canadian mean of $129 per 1 000 kW.h. Saskatchewan’s GHG generation intensity is almost five times higher than average in Canada, emitting 660 grams of GHGs per kW.h compared to the Canadian mean of 140 g GHG/kW.h.

FIGURE 12

FIGURE 12

Source and Description

Source:
Hydro-Québec, National Inventory Report

Description:
Two dials indicate the monthly residential electricity bill for 1 000 kW.h and the GHG generation intensity in grams of GHG per kW.h. Saskatchewan’s capital city, Regina, has a residential electricity bill of $146 for 1 000 kW.h, which is slightly higher than the Canadian mean of $129 per 1 000 kW.h. Saskatchewan’s GHG generation intensity is almost five times higher than the average in Canada, emitting 660 grams of GHGs per kW.h compared to the mean of 140 g GHG/kW.h.

 

 

Date modified:

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada 2017 – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie

Route de gravier qui traverse un champ de canola et ferme au loin.

Saskatchewan

En à peine un an, la Saskatchewan a retranché 6,5 % à sa production d’électricité à partir de centrales au charbon, celles-ci comptant pour 49,3 % du total produit en 2016 contre 54,8 % en 2015. Pendant ce temps, les centrales alimentées au gaz naturel ont élargi leur contribution, qui est ainsi passée de 27,7 % à 33,7 %. En 2016, les énergies renouvelables représentaient 17,1 % de la production totale.

FIGURE 11 Production d’électricité en Saskatchewan selon la source

Figure 11
Description

Ce graphique illustre la répartition des sources d’électricité en Saskatchewan entre 2005 et 2016 : hydroélectricité (variation entre 13,4 % et 23,2 %); éolien (moyenne de 2,7 %); charbon (baisse, de 67,0 % à 49,3 %); gaz naturel (hausse, de 9,3 % à 33,7 %).

TABLEAU 4 Capacité de production et production d’électricité provenant de ressources renouvelables en Saskatchewan

  Capacité en MW et % Production en GWh et %
  2005 2015 2016 2005 2015 2016
Pétrole et diesel 1 17 17 18 16 0
<0,1 % 0,4 % 0,4 % 0,1 % 0,1 % <0,1 %
Gaz naturel 1 053 1 710 1 860 1 827 6 498 8 221
28,2 % 39,1 % 40,8 % 9,3 % 27,7 % 33,7 %
Charbon 1 799 1 535 1 535 13 227 12 871 12 040
48,2 % 35,1 % 33,6 % 67,0 % 54,8 % 49,3 %
Biomasse 0 2 36 0 0 152
0,0 % <0,1 % 0,8 % 0,0 % 0,0 % 0,6 %
Éolien 16 221 221 92 684 730
0,4 % 5,1 % 4,8 % 0,5 % 2,9 % 3,0 %
Hydroélectricité 864 889 889 4 573 3 425 3 285
23,1 % 20,3 % 19,5 % 23,2 % 14,6 % 13,4 %
Total pour les sources d’énergie renouvelable 880 1 112 1 146 4 665 4 109 4 167
23,6 % 25,4 % 25,1 % 23,6 % 17,5 % 17,1 %
Toutes les sources 3 733 4 374 4 558 19 737 23 494 24 428

Tendances de la production

En Saskatchewan, l’électricité est surtout produite à partir de combustibles fossiles compte tenu de l’abondance relative de gaz naturel et de charbon dans cette province. Ce dernier continue de dominer à ce chapitre, mais est tout de même moins présent, comptant pour 49,3 % de la production en 2016 alors que ce pourcentage était de 67,0 % en 2005. Pendant cette même période, la quantité d’électricité produite par les centrales alimentées au gaz naturel a plus que quadruplé, à la fois en raison de prix plus faibles et parce qu’une intensité des GES moindre est privilégiée.

Toujours entre 2005 et 2016, la production hydroélectrique en Saskatchewan a varié entre 23,2 % et 13,4 % du total de l’électricité produite. Cela est principalement dû aux écarts de précipitation selon l’année, influant sur le débit des rivières.

La part de l’éolien, qui est la seule énergie renouvelable autre qu’hydroélectrique en Saskatchewan, est passée de 0,5 % en 2005 à 3,0 % en 2016. Malgré qu’il s’agisse de l’une des provinces les plus ensoleillées au Canada, elle ne comptait aucun parc solaire d’envergure commerciale en 2016.

Modifications à la capacité de production en 2016

La capacité de production à partir de centrales alimentées au gaz naturel en Saskatchewan a connu une croissance estimative de 150 MW, surtout du fait des améliorations apportées à la centrale Queen Elizabeth.

Complément d’information

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie 2016 procure des renseignements supplémentaires à ce sujet pour la Saskatchewan.

Factures résidentielles et intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité

Regina, capitale de la Saskatchewan, présente une facture résidentielle d’électricité de 146 $ pour 1 000 kWh, ce qui est légèrement supérieur à la moyenne mensuelle canadienne de 129 $. À l’échelle de la province, l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité, à 660 g de GES par kWh, est presque cinq fois plus élevée que la moyenne canadienne, qui s’établit à 140 g.

FIGURE 12

FIGURE 12

Source et description

Source :
Hydro-Québec, Rapport d’inventaire national

Description :
Deux cadrans illustrent d’une part la facture résidentielle mensuelle pour 1 000 kWh et d’autre part l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité en g par kWh. Regina, capitale de la Saskatchewan, présente une facture résidentielle d’électricité de 146 $ pour 1 000 kWh, ce qui est légèrement supérieur à la moyenne mensuelle canadienne de 129 $. À l’échelle de la province, l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité, à 660 g de GES par kWh, est presque cinq fois plus élevée que la moyenne canadienne, qui s’établit à 140 g.

 

 

Date de modification :