Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape 2017 – Energy Market Analysis

Snowy windy landscape with a wind backlit wind turbine and a lonely spruce tree in the foreground.

Yukon

Yukon generates over 94.0% of its electricity from renewable sources, almost entirely from hydro. Diesel generators are used in remote communities, and for backup power.

Generation Trends

In 2016, Yukon generated 93.8% of its electricity from hydro. However, Yukon faces unique challenges in ensuring a reliable, year-round supply of electricity. The second largest plant, located at Aishihik, stores water in the summer when demand is lower, and releases it during the winter and at other times when demand is higher. This energy storage is crucial because Yukon’s largest hydro plant, Whitehorse Hydro Plant, loses nearly half of its generation potential in the winter due to flow reductions on the Yukon River. 

Occasionally, when hydro supply is disrupted or when electricity demand exceeds hydro generation, diesel powered generators produce electricity to meet demand. Remote communities rely on diesel generation year-round. In 2016, diesel was used for 5.3% of the territory’s electricity generation.

Capacity Changes in 2016

The territorial government is currently looking to transition Yukon’s diesel generators to cleaner-burning liquefied natural gas (LNG). However, no new facilities went into service during 2016.

Data Challenges for Northern Territories

The data in this report was derived from EF2017. Its electricity generation and capacity numbers are based on a model that uses historical Statistics Canada data along with forecasted and estimated values. Accurate and detailed data is especially difficult to obtain for Canada’s northern territories.

More Information

Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape 2016 – Energy Market Analysis provides additional information on renewable power in Yukon.

FIGURE 27 Electricity Generation by Source in Yukon

Figure 27
Description

This graph shows the composition of Yukon’s electricity generation between 2005 and 2016. Hydro generation averaged 93.8% from 2005 to 2016. Oil and diesel generation accounting for an average of 6.0%. Wind, solar and natural gas generated about 0.8% combined in 2016.

TABLE 12 Electric Capacity and Generation in Yukon

  Capacity in MW and % Generation in GW.h and %
  2005 2015 2016 2005 2015 2016
Oil and Diesel 33 25 25 22 21 24
29.8% 19.8% 19.7% 6.3% 4.7% 5.3%
Natural Gas 0 4 4 0 0 3
0.0% 3.5% 3.5% 0.0% 0.0% 0.7%
Wind 1 1 1 0.4 0.3 0.5
0.7% 0.7% 0.7% 0.1% 0.1% 0.1%
Solar 0 <0.1 0.1 0 <0.1 <0.1
0.0% <0.1% 0.1% 0.0% <0.1% <0.1%
Hydro 78 95 95 331 422 419
69.5% 76.0% 75.9% 93.6% 95.3% 93.8%
All renewable sources 79 95 95 331 422 420
70.2% 76.7% 76.6% 93.7% 95.3% 94.0%
All sources 112 124 124 353 443 447

Residential Bills and Greenhouse Gas Generation Intensity

Yukon Energy has a residential electricity bill of $136 for 1 000 kW.h which is slightly higher than the Canadian mean of $129 per 1 000 kW.h. Yukon’s GHG generation intensity is relatively low, emitting 41 grams of GHGs per kW.h compared to the Canadian mean of 140 g GHG/kW.h.

FIGURE 28

FIGURE 28

Source and Description

Source:
Yukon Energy, National Inventory Report

Description:
Two dials indicate the monthly residential electricity bill for 1 000 kW.h and the GHG generation intensity in grams of GHG per kW.h. Yukon Energy has a residential electricity bill of $136 for 1 000 kW.h which is slightly higher than the Canadian mean of $129 per 1 000 kW.h. Yukon’s GHG generation intensity is relatively low, emitting 41 grams of GHGs per kW.h compared to the Canadian mean of 140 g GHG/kW.h.

 

 

Date modified:

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada 2017 – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie

Paysage d’hiver sous le vent, duquel se démarquent une éolienne et une épinette esseulée.

Yukon

Le Yukon a produit plus de 94,0 % de son électricité à partir de ressources renouvelables, presque toutes hydrauliques. Des génératrices au diesel sont utilisées dans des collectivités éloignées et en cas d’urgence.

FIGURE 27 Production d’électricité au Yukon selon la source

Figure 27
Description

Ce graphique illustre la répartition des sources d’électricité au Yukon entre 2005 et 2016 : hydroélectricité (moyenne de 93,8 %); pétrole et diesel (moyenne de 6,0 %); éolien, énergie solaire et gaz naturel (ensemble, environ 0,8 % en 2016).

TABLEAU 12 Electric Capacity and Generation in Yukon

  Capacité en MW et % Production en GWh et %
  2005 2015 2016 2005 2015 2016
Pétrole et diesel 33 25 25 22 21 24
29,8 % 19,8 % 19,7 % 6,3 % 4,7 % 5,3 %
Gaz naturel 0 4 4 0 0 3
0.0 % 3.5 % 3.5 % 0.0 % 0.0 % 0.7 %
Éolien 1 1 1 0.4 0.3 0.5
0.7 % 0.7 % 0.7 % 0.1 % 0.1 % 0.1 %
Énergie solaire 0 <0.1 0.1 0 <0.1 <0.1
0.0 % <0.1 % 0.1 % 0.0 % <0.1 % <0.1 %
Hydroélectricité 78 95 95 331 422 419
69.5 % 76.0 % 75.9 % 93.6 % 95.3 % 93.8 %
Total pour les sources d’énergie renouvelable 79 95 95 331 422 420
70.2 % 76.7 % 76.6 % 93.7 % 95.3 % 94.0 %
Toutes les sources 112 124 124 353 443 447

Tendances de la production

En 2016, le Yukon a produit 93,8 % de son électricité à partir de ressources hydrauliques, mais la fiabilité des approvisionnements l’année durant constitue un enjeu particulier à ce territoire. Sa deuxième plus grande centrale, située à Aishihik, stocke l’eau l’été, alors que la demande est moindre, puis ouvre les vannes l’hiver lorsque les besoins sont plus grands. Cette façon de procéder est d’importance cruciale, car la capacité de production de la plus grande centrale hydroélectrique du territoire, soit celle de Whitehorse, est réduite de presque moitié en hiver en raison de la baisse du débit du fleuve Yukon.

Il arrive que l’approvisionnement en hydroélectricité soit interrompu ou que la demande excède l’offre et des génératrices au diesel entrent alors en action. Certaines tournent l’année durant dans des collectivités éloignées. En 2016, le diesel a été à l’origine de 5,3 % de toute l’électricité produite dans l’ensemble du territoire.

Modifications à la capacité de production en 2016

Le gouvernement territorial cherche actuellement à remplacer les génératrices au diesel du Yukon par d’autres, moins polluantes, qui consomment du gaz naturel liquéfié (« GNL »). Toutefois, aucune nouvelle installation n’est entrée en service en 2016.

Difficultés associées aux données pour les territoires septentrionaux

Dans le présent rapport, les données sont dérivées de celui sur l’Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2017. Les chiffres sur la capacité et la production d’électricité sont fondés sur un modèle mettant à profit des données historiques de Statistique Canada parallèlement à des valeurs estimatives prévues. Des données précises et détaillées sont particulièrement difficiles à obtenir pour les territoires septentrionaux du Canada.

Complément d’information

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie 2016 procure des renseignements supplémentaires à ce sujet pour le Yukon.

Factures résidentielles et intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité

Yukon Energy présente une facture résidentielle d’électricité de 136 $ pour 1 000 kWh, ce qui est légèrement supérieur à la moyenne mensuelle canadienne de 129 $. À l’échelle du territoire, l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité, à 41 g de GES par kWh, est relativement faible en comparaison de la moyenne canadienne, qui atteint 140 g.

FIGURE 28

FIGURE 28

Source et description

Source :
Hydro-Québec, Rapport d’inventaire national

Description :
: Deux cadrans illustrent d’une part la facture résidentielle mensuelle pour 1 000 kWh et d’autre part l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité en g par kWh. Yukon Energy présente une facture résidentielle d’électricité de 136 $ pour 1 000 kWh, ce qui est légèrement supérieur à la moyenne mensuelle canadienne de 129 $. À l’échelle du territoire, l’intensité des GES pour la production d’électricité, à 41 g de GES par kWh, est relativement faible en comparaison de la moyenne canadienne, qui atteint 140 g.

 

 

Date de modification :