ARCHIVED - Liquefied Natural Gas - A Canadian Perspective - Questions and Answers

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

What is the purpose of this report and how is it relevant to Canadians?

The first Canadian liquefied natural gas (LNG) import terminal (Canaport LNG in Saint John, New Brunswick) is expected to become operational in the first part of 2009. Given that Canada is a relative newcomer in the global LNG market[1], this Energy Market Assessment provides an overview of global LNG supply and demand, trade, and a high-level perspective on LNG development and the potential effects that imported LNG may have on Canadian gas markets and energy infrastructure.

[1] Although a number of facilities have existed for many years in Quebec, Ontario, and British Columbia which liquefies pipeline natural gas, and stores the LNG for later regasification and use during peak demand periods.

What is LNG?

When natural gas is cooled to a temperature of approximately -160oC (-260oF) at atmospheric pressure, it condenses into a liquid and is reduced to about 1/600th of its volume. This allows large quantities of natural gas to be stored and transported in a more efficient and economic manner. LNG has been used as a safe, convenient and effective means to store and transport natural gas around the world for many decades.

At the receiving facilities LNG is transferred back into its gaseous state. Once regasified, LNG is natural gas and is handled the same as for any conventional natural gas. This may include any processing that may be required in order to achieve the gas quality standards of the regional pipelines and markets.

Why is LNG needed?

Global LNG trade enables the development and movement of significant natural gas resources around the world to supplement domestic production in consuming regions. Despite current economic uncertainty, the world requirement for energy and natural gas is projected to grow over the long-term. To meet this increasing demand, consuming regions (such as North America) continue to pursue options to increase and diversify sources of gas supply.

The ability to import LNG is an important option which helps to ensure that reliable and secure energy supplies are available to meet requirements. The growing requirement for natural gas and competition for LNG in international markets has stimulated growth in LNG projects worldwide.

Worldwide natural gas consumption has increased by over 40 per cent since 1990 and in 2007, LNG accounted for about 7.4 per cent of the global natural gas requirement. For comparison, LNG imports provided about three per cent of North America's natural gas requirement. Despite being the world's largest producer of natural gas, North America has historically required LNG imports to supplement its indigenous production. Canada's natural gas production and consumption in 2007 was about 175 109m³ (17 Bcf/d) and 77 109m³ (8 Bcf/d), respectively.

How does the current economic situation impact LNG trade?

The global LNG market continues to evolve with current prospects for the LNG market quite different than anticipated only a couple of years ago when North American natural gas prices were high relative to the rest of the world and LNG was viewed as a critical incremental source of fuel to other parts of North America, including Canada. In 2009, the demand outlook for LNG has been significantly reduced as a result of weak financial and credit markets, slower economic growth, volatile energy prices, and the potential for development of other supply options such as pipeline gas imports to Europe and increasing unconventional gas production in North America.

Despite the current economic uncertainty, the world requirement for energy and natural gas is projected to grow in the long-term. Economic recovery and environmental initiatives may result in significant demand for natural gas and LNG. The extent to which North America pursues the various alternate energy sources to natural gas will greatly influence the overall need for LNG.

What is the outlook for LNG imports to North America?

The extent to which North American LNG facilities are used and whether long-term supply is available will be largely determined by competitive factors such as market conditions, the stakeholders involved, including their respective contractual arrangements for supply and markets, and the requirement for LNG in other global regions.

The large amount of new regasification capacity being added in North America, Europe and East-Asia is likely to maintain a competitive market for global LNG supply. However, the amount of LNG required in each region may be quite variable and may be influenced by development of other supply options such as natural gas pipeline imports to Europe and unconventional gas production in North America.

LNG pricing in other global markets are more closely indexed to the price of crude oil or oil products, while natural gas prices in North America are more likely to be determined by price competition between various sources of natural gas. The differences in pricing provide trading opportunities between regions and will consequently affect the flow of LNG. A significant capacity for underground natural gas storage may also be utilized to import LNG to North America during periods when natural gas demand is lower in other major markets.

What is the outlook for Canadian LNG imports?

The number of LNG projects to be developed in Canada is not certain. LNG development in Canada and North America is largely dependent on the outlook for continental natural gas supply and demand. Current economic decline combined with recent increases in U.S. natural gas production from shale and other unconventional gas resources have reduced the near-term requirement for LNG imports. The potential size and extent of shale gas resources could significantly displace long-term North American and global LNG requirements.

In general, proposed and existing Canadian LNG projects are located competitively with other North American and global terminals. Eastern Canadian import terminal projects are suitably located to serve the important New England market where LNG has historically provided up to 25 per cent of the total natural gas requirement. LNG import terminals on Canada's west coast are not anticipated in the near-term due to preference by suppliers to meet Asian demand.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Gaz naturel liquéfié : perspective canadienne
- Questions et réponses

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Quel est le but de ce rapport et en quoi concerne-t-il les Canadiens?

Le premier terminal d’importation de gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL) au Canada, le Canaport à Saint John, au Nouveau-Brunswick, devrait entrer en service au cours du premier semestre de 2009. Le Canada étant un joueur relativement nouveau sur le marché mondial de GNL[1], cette évaluation du marché de l’énergie donne un aperçu de l’offre, de la demande et du commerce de GNL à l’échelle mondiale, ainsi qu’une perspective de haut niveau sur la mise en valeur du GNL et les effets que pourrait avoir le GNL importé sur l’infrastructure énergétique et les marchés gaziers canadiens.

[1] Malgré la présence d’installations qui, depuis nombre d’années au Québec, en Ontario et en Colombie-Britannique, liquéfient le gaz naturel véhiculé par pipeline et stockent le GNL, lequel sera ultérieurement regazéifié et utilisé durant les périodes de pointe de la demande.

Qu’est-ce que le GNL?

Lorsque le gaz naturel est refroidi à une température d’environ -160 oC (ou -260 oF) à la pression atmosphérique, il se transforme en liquide et est réduit à approximativement 1/600 de son volume. Cela permet de stocker et de transporter de grandes quantités de gaz naturel de manière plus efficace et économique. Le GNL procure un moyen sûr, pratique et efficace de stocker et de transporter le gaz naturel depuis plusieurs décennies.

Aux installations de réception, le GNL est remis à l’état gazeux. Une fois le GNL regazéifié, il est traité de la même manière que le gaz naturel classique. Cela peut inclure tout traitement nécessaire pour répondre aux normes de qualité des pipelines et marchés régionaux.

À quoi sert le GNL?

Le commerce mondial de GNL permet la mise en valeur et l’acheminement d’importantes ressources de gaz naturel partout dans le monde pour compléter la production intérieure dans les régions consommatrices. Malgré l’incertitude économique actuelle, les besoins en énergie et en gaz naturel dans le monde devraient croître à long terme. Pour satisfaire cette demande croissante, les régions consommatrices (comme l’Amérique du Nord) continuent d’envisager des options visant à augmenter et à diversifier les sources d’approvisionnement en gaz.

La capacité d’importer du GNL représente une option importante qui aide à garantir des approvisionnements énergétiques fiables et sûrs pour répondre aux besoins. Les besoins croissants en gaz naturel et la concurrence entourant le GNL sur les marchés internationaux ont stimulé la croissance des projets de GNL partout dans le monde.

La consommation de gaz naturel dans le monde entier a augmenté de plus de 40 % depuis 1990; en 2007, le GNL a comblé à peu près 7,4 % des besoins mondiaux en gaz naturel. Par comparaison, les importations de GNL ont répondu à environ 3 % des besoins en gaz naturel de l’Amérique du Nord. Bien que l’Amérique du Nord soit le plus grand producteur de gaz naturel au monde, elle a toujours eu recours aux importations de GNL pour compléter sa production intérieure. Au Canada, la production et la consommation de gaz naturel en 2007 ont été respectivement de 175 109m³ (17 Gpi³/j) et de 77 109m³ (8 Gpi³/j).

Comment la conjoncture économique actuelle influe-t-elle sur le commerce de GNL?

Le marché mondial du GNL continue d’évoluer; les possibilités actuelles pour le marché du GNL diffèrent passablement de ce qui était prévu il y a quelques années seulement quand les prix du gaz naturel en Amérique du Nord étaient élevés par rapport au reste du monde et le GNL était perçu comme une source d’énergie supplémentaire essentielle en divers points du continent, notamment au Canada. En 2009, les perspectives de la demande de GNL ont baissé considérablement en raison des marchés du crédit et financiers affaiblis, de la croissance économique ralentie, des prix de l’énergie instables et du potentiel de mise en valeur d’autres options d’approvisionnement, telles que l’importation de gaz par pipeline en Europe et la production croissante de gaz non classique en Amérique du Nord.

Malgré l’incertitude économique actuelle, les besoins mondiaux en énergie et en gaz naturel devraient augmenter à long terme. La reprise économique et les initiatives environnementales pourraient entraîner une demande considérable de gaz naturel et de GNL. La mesure dans laquelle l’Amérique du Nord exploitera les différentes solutions de rechange au gaz naturel influera grandement sur le besoin global de GNL.

Quelles sont les perspectives pour les importations de GNL en Amérique du Nord?

Le degré d’utilisation des installations nord-américaines de GNL et la disponibilité des approvisionnements à long terme seront déterminés en grande partie par des facteurs de concurrence comme les conditions du marché, les parties prenantes, y compris leurs modalités contractuelles respectives pour l’offre et les marchés, et les besoins de GNL dans les autres régions du monde.

La grande capacité de regazéification ajoutée en Amérique du Nord, en Europe et en Asie orientale maintiendra vraisemblablement un marché compétitif pour l’offre mondiale de GNL. Toutefois, la quantité de GNL nécessaire dans chaque région peut varier passablement et peut être influencée par la mise en valeur d’autres options d’approvisionnement, telles que l’importation de gaz naturel par pipeline en Europe et la production de gaz non classique en Amérique du Nord.

Le prix du GNL dans les autres grands marchés mondiaux est plus étroitement lié aux prix du pétrole brut ou des produits pétroliers, alors que le prix du gaz naturel en Amérique du Nord est déterminé plutôt par la concurrence dans les prix entre les différentes sources de gaz naturel. Les différences de prix offrent des occasions d’échanges commerciaux entre les régions; elles auront donc un effet sur le flux de GNL. La capacité considérable de stockage souterrain de gaz naturel pourrait aussi servir à importer du GNL en Amérique du Nord durant les périodes où la demande de gaz naturel est plus faible dans les autres marchés importants.

Quelles sont les perspectives pour les importations canadiennes de GNL?

Le nombre de projets de GNL devant être réalisés au Canada est incertain. La mise en valeur du GNL au Canada et en Amérique du Nord dépend dans une large mesure des perspectives pour l’offre et la demande de gaz naturel à l’échelle continentale. Le recul économique actuel et l’augmentation récente de la production américaine de gaz naturel à partir de gisements de schistes et d’autres ressources de gaz non classique ont fait diminuer le besoin à court terme d’importer du GNL. Selon la taille et l’envergure potentielles des ressources de gaz de schistes, celles-ci pourraient supplanter les besoins en GNL à long terme en Amérique du Nord et dans le monde.

En général, les projets proposés et existants de GNL au Canada ont un emplacement concurrentiel par rapport à d’autres terminaux en Amérique du Nord et dans le monde. Dans l’Est du Canada, les terminaux d’importation projetés sont bien situés pour desservir le marché important de la Nouvelle-Angleterre, où le GNL a toujours comblé jusqu’à 25 % de la totalité des besoins en gaz naturel. Sur la côte Ouest du Canada, les terminaux d’importation de GNL ne font pas partie des projets à court terme, les fournisseurs préférant satisfaire la demande asiatique.

Date de modification :