ARCHIVED - Ultimate Potential for Unconventional Natural Gas in Northeastern British Columbia's Horn River Basin - Questions & Answers

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

1. What is shale gas?

Shale gas is a form of unconventional natural gas that is trapped within shale, a sedimentary rock originally deposited as clay or silt and characterised by extremely low permeability. The gas exists as either free gas found within pore spaces in the rock, or as absorbed gas attached to organic material present in the rock.

2. Where is the Horn River Basin?

The Horn River Basin is located in Northeastern British Columbia. It is bounded to the west by the Bovie Fault Structure and to the east by the Presqu’ile barrier reef.

3. How does the potential of the Horn River Basin compare with other shale-gas basins in North America?

While some of its estimates are still early, the U.S. Department of Energy’s estimates of marketable shale gas place Horn River third in North America. The estimates are:

  • Marcellus - 262 Tcf
  • Haynesville - 251 Tcf
  • Horn River Basin- 78 Tcf
  • Barnett - 44 Tcf
  • Fayetteville - 42.6 Tcf

4. Who regulates oil and gas activities in the Horn River Basin?

The British Columbia Oil and Gas Commission regulates crude oil and natural gas drilling and production within the province of British Columbia. Pipelines are regulated by the British Columbia Oil and Gas Commission where operated wholly within the province or the National Energy Board if the pipeline crosses a provincial or international border.

5. What does probabilistic mean?

Probability is a mathematical term used to describe the likelihood of something occurring. A probabilistic resource assessment for an oil or gas reservoir uses a range of possibilities for important characteristics, such as thickness or pressure, often in the form of low, expected, and high values. Monte Carlo simulations are then run, where values are randomly picked for each characteristic several hundred or more times to understand the range of possibilities for the reservoir as a whole.

As far as National Energy Board and B.C. Energy and Mines are aware, the Horn River Basin study is the first publicly released probability based assessment of a Canadian shale gas play.

6. What are the low, expected and high case scenarios for marketable gas in the Horn River Basin?

As mentioned previously, the expected case scenario is 78 Tcf. The low is 61 Tcf and the high is 96 Tcf.

7. How are discovered and undiscovered resources defined?

Discovered resources have been confirmed through wells already drilled. Undiscovered resources are those that are expected to be found through future drilling.

8. What are the economic implications of shale-gas development?

This report’s scope is restricted to addressing shale-gas potential in Northeastern B.C. It makes no recommendations on the merits of exploiting the shale gas resources and does not address the economics of discovering, developing or producing these resources.

9. How is marketable defined for the purpose of the report?

Marketable refers to gas volumes that are technically recoverable under current market conditions. The marketable volume is the gas volume that can be inserted into pipelines for sale.

10. What is hydraulic fracturing?

Hydraulic fracturing (commonly referred to as "fraccing", "fracking", or "fracing") is widely used by the oil and gas industry to improve low permeability reservoirs. Fluid (often water, carbon dioxide, nitrogen gas, or propane) is pumped down the well until the pressure surpasses the rock strength and causes the reservoir to crack. The "frac" fluid pumped down the well is loaded with ceramic beads or sand that infiltrate the formation and help to prop the fractures open, which are at risk of closing once the pressure is released. The frac fluid also contains a very small proportion of chemicals designed to carry the proppant as far into the fractures as possible. A number of chemicals may be used and each company develops its own proprietary formula. The choice of the fluid used in a frac depends on many factors, including whether clay in the reservoir is sensitive to water (some clays swell in the presence of fresh water, such as in the Colorado Shale) or whether the reservoir happens to respond better to particular fluids, usually only determined through experimentation.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Potentiel ultime des ressources gazières non classiques du bassin de Horn River dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique - Questions et réponses

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

1. Qu’est-ce que le gaz de schiste?

Le gaz de schiste est un type de gaz naturel non classique qui est emprisonné dans le schiste, une roche sédimentaire déposée à l’origine sous forme d’argile ou de silt et caractérisée par une perméabilité extrêmement faible. Il est présent comme gaz libre dans les interstices de la roche et comme gaz adsorbé, fixé à la matière organique de la roche.

2. Où se trouve le bassin de Horn River?

Le bassin de Horn River est situé dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique. Il est délimité à l’ouest par la structure de Bovie et, à l’est, par la barrière de Presqu’ile.

3. Quel est le potentiel du bassin de Horn River par rapport aux autres bassins schisteux en Amérique du Nord?

Bien que certaines estimations soient encore préliminaires, le département de l’Énergie des États-Unis estime que le potentiel de gaz de schiste commercialisable du bassin de Horn River vient au troisième rang en Amérique du Nord. Voici les estimations :

  • Marcellus - 262 Tpi³
  • Haynesville - 251 Tpi³
  • Horn River - 78 Tpi³
  • Barnett - 44 Tpi³
  • Fayetteville - 42,6 Tpi³

4. Qui réglemente les activités pétrolières et gazières dans le bassin de Horn River?

La British Columbia Oil and Gas Commission réglemente le forage de puits et la production de pétrole brut et de gaz naturel en Colombie-Britannique. Elle a aussi autorité sur les pipelines exploités en totalité dans la province. Par contre, les pipelines interprovinciaux et internationaux relèvent de l’Office national de l’énergie.

5. Que veut dire « probabiliste »?

La probabilité est un terme mathématique pour décrire la vraisemblance qu’un résultat se produise. Pour effectuer une évaluation probabiliste des ressources d’un gisement pétrolier ou gazier, on attribue de nombreuses valeurs possibles à des caractéristiques importantes du gisement, comme l’épaisseur ou la pression, le plus souvent des valeurs faibles, médianes et élevées. On effectue ensuite des simulations Monte Carlo dans lesquelles, pour chaque caractéristique, des valeurs sont choisies aléatoirement des centaines de fois afin d’aider à mieux comprendre l’éventail des possibilités se rattachant au gisement dans son ensemble.

Selon l’Office national de l’énergie et le ministère de l’Énergie et des Mines de la Colombie-Britannique, l’étude du bassin de Horn River est la première évaluation probabiliste d’une zone schisteuse publiée au Canada.

6. Quelles sont les valeurs faibles, médianes et élevées pour le gaz commercialisable du bassin de Horn River?

Comme cela a déjà été mentionné, le scénario le plus probable (valeur médiane) est un potentiel de 78 Tpi³. La valeur faible est 61 Tpi³ et la valeur élevée, 96 Tpi³.

7. Comment définit-on les ressources découvertes et les ressources non découvertes?

Les ressources découvertes sont celles qui ont été confirmées par le forage de puits. Les ressources non découvertes sont celles qu’on s’attend à trouver dans le contexte d’opérations futures de forage.

8. Quelles sont les retombées économiques de la mise en valeur du gaz de schiste?

Cette étude se limite à l’évaluation du potentiel de gaz de schiste dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique. Le rapport ne formule aucune recommandation sur la pertinence ou non d’exploiter les ressources de gaz de schiste et ne traite pas des aspects économiques liés à la découverte, à la mise en valeur et à la production de ces ressources.

9. Dans le rapport, comment définit-on la notion de « commercialisable »?

Aux fins du rapport, le mot « commercialisable » désigne le volume techniquement récupérable selon les conditions actuelles du marché. Le volume commercialisable correspond au volume de gaz qui peut être transporté dans des gazoducs en vue d’être vendu.

10. Qu’est-ce que la fracturation hydraulique?

La fracturation hydraulique est un procédé très répandu dans le secteur pétrolier et gazier pour rendre des gisements à faible perméabilité plus productifs. On injecte un fluide (le plus souvent de l’eau, du dioxyde de carbone, de l’azote gazeux ou du propane) dans le puits jusqu’à ce que la pression à l’intérieur de celui-ci soit plus grande que la résistance de la roche et qu’elle provoque la fissure du réservoir

Date de modification :