ARCHIVED - Natural Gas Supply Costs in Western Canada in 2007 - Energy Brief

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Natural Gas Supply Costs in Western Canada in 2007 - Energy Brief [PDF 126 KB]

Energy Brief Gas Banner

September 2008

Energy Brief - Natural Gas Supply Costs in Western Canada in 2007

In 2007, the average supply cost including return on investment to produce natural gas in the Western Canada Sedimentary Basin (WCSB) was $7.88/GJ (gigajoule). This supply cost, in Canadian dollars, and based on the NOVA Inventory Transfer (Alberta's natural gas hub,) was higher than the average Alberta spot price for natural gas, $6.11/GJ.

This contributed to an overall natural gas drilling slowdown in the WCSB in 2007. In general, resource companies were making substantial oil development investments, leaving natural gas investments to compete for available human and financial resources.

Last year in its Short-term Canadian Natural Gas Deliverability 2007-2009 report, the NEB noted that progressively greater proportions of total gas drilling investments are targeting the western side of the WCSB.

In 2007, the Deep Basin areas had some of the lowest supply costs, creating incentive for industry to move westward from the shallower regions in southeast Alberta. For many other areas, based on 2007 prices, new gas yielded returns of less than 15 per cent, contributing to the 2007 slowdown.

Natural gas prices generally recovered in 2008, moving into the $8.00/GJ range in the spring, and rising sharply to $10 and $11 in June. However, prices then moved back down in the summer months to the $7.00 range.

Looking ahead, as companies set their drilling budgets this fall, some analysts were predicting increased drilling activity. If increased drilling activity leads to supply cost increases, this NEB analysis may be repeated as more cost details reflecting 2008 trends become available.

What are the supply costs to produce natural gas?

For a gas well to be economically viable, predicted revenues from the production have to be greater than all of the upfront costs, such as purchasing the land, geological studies, drilling costs of steel and labour, the costs of facilities and camps, operating costs, royalties, and taxes, while providing an attractive rate of return.

Supply costs are the present value of the cost of producing a gigajoule of natural gas over the life of a well. They include all costs related to drilling a well and bringing it into production. These include royalties and taxes, and factor in a rate of return that allows companies to cover interest charges and dividends payable to their equity investors.

Supply costs go up and down depending on how much drilling activity there is at a given time, which can affect the demand for and supply of drilling rigs and services, and the availability of skilled labour. Material costs, particularly steel, are also a factor. Technology, efficiency, the overall depth of the targeted wells, and their ongoing productivity also affect supply costs. Other economic factors such as the value of the Canadian dollar and fiscal and tax regimes, particularly royalties set by the provinces, affect supply costs.

Western Canada Sedimentary Basin (WCSB)

Supply costs are the present value of the cost of producing a gigajoule of natural gas over the life of a well. They include all costs related to drilling a well and bringing it into production. These include royalties and taxes, and factor in a rate of return that allows companies to cover interest charges and dividends payable to their equity investors.

The Western Canada Sedimentary Basin (WCSB) is the major hydrocarbon basin in Canada. It covers most of Alberta, about one third of Saskatchewan, and smaller portions of British Columbia, Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Manitoba. The WCSB accounts for about 98 per cent of total Canadian natural gas production, also representing 23 per cent of the natural gas production in North America each year.

The economics of the WCSB are changing. Recently, gas production from the WCSB has flattened after many years of growth, leading to uncertainty about whether the industry can increase or maintain current production levels over the longer term. Because new wells are producing less on average, the supply cost to produce WCSB gas is increasing.

This affects the region's competitiveness with other natural gas regions in North America. Supply costs can influence investment decisions, and how much natural gas is produced and available within the WCSB and North America. This, in turn, influences the transportation industry in the region, and whether the pipeline network is carrying gas near its capacity, or underused.

New Geographic Groupings

New Geographic Groupings

New geographic groupings

The National Energy Board is adopting a new, more precise geographic breakdown within the Western Canada Sedimentary Basin (WCSB), used by petroCUBE. This study covers 18 geographic groupings, broken down based on categories selected to be reflective of similar natural gas production costs. This will allow a more precise analysis of the economics at play in the different geological formations.

The NEB will be using these groupings for this year's NEB Short Term Natural Gas Deliverability report, and for future NEB Energy Market Analyses on natural gas.

- 30 -

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Coûts de l’offre gazière dans l’Ouest canadien en 2007 - Dossier énergie

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Coûts de l’offre gazière dans l’Ouest canadien en 2007 - Dossier énergie [PDF 139 ko]

Entête de Dossier énergie gaz

Septembre 2008

Dossier énergie - Coûts de l’offre gazière dans l’Ouest canadien en 2007

En 2007, la moyenne des coûts de l’offre liés à la production de gaz naturel dans le bassin sédimentaire de l’Ouest canadien (BSOC) se chiffrait à 7,88 $/GJ (gigajoule). En dollars canadiens et comparativement au prix pour le transfert de propriété du gaz dans le réseau de NOVA (carrefour gazier de l’Alberta), ces coûts sont plus élevés que les prix quotidiens au comptant en Alberta, qui affichent une moyenne de 6,11 $/GJ.

Une telle situation a entraîné un ralentissement de l’ensemble des activités de forage gazier dans le BSOC en’2007. Les sociétés exploitantes de ressources ont préféré investir en masse dans la mise en valeur du pétrole et laisser les investissements restants dans le domaine du gaz naturel se faire concurrence relativement aux ressources humaines et financières.

Dans le rapport intitulé Productibilité à court terme de gaz naturel au Canada 2007-2009 qu’il a publié l’an dernier, l’Office national de l’énergie signale qu’une part de plus en plus grande des investissements consacrés au forage de puits gaziers cible le côté ouest du BSOC.

En 2007, les coûts de l’offre dans la zone Deep Basin étaient parmi les plus bas, ce qui a favorisé le déplacement de l’industrie des régions peu profondes du sud-est de l’Alberta vers des régions plus à l’ouest. Dans beaucoup d’autres régions, les nouvelles sources de gaz ont produit un taux de rendement inférieur à 15 %, selon les prix de 2007, ce qui a contribué au ralentissement.

De manière générale, les prix du gaz naturel se sont raffermis en 2008 : ils ont franchi le cap des 8,00 $/GJ au printemps, puis ont fortement grimpé en juin alors qu’ils ont atteint les 10 $-11 $/GJ. Ils ont cependant reculé au cours de l’été pour osciller autour de 7,00 $/GJ.

En ce qui concerne l’avenir, les activités de forage pourraient s’intensifier, de l’avis de certains analystes, une fois que les sociétés du secteur auront fini d’établir leur budget et automne. Si la plus grande activité de forage entraîne une augmentation des coûts de l’offre, la présente analyse pourrait être répétée dès qu’une quantité suffisante de nouvelles données sur les coûts sera disponible.

Quels sont les coûts de l’offre liés à la production de gaz naturel?

Pour qu’un puits de gaz soit rentable, les revenus de production prévus doivent compenser tous les coûts initiaux, notamment les coûts liés à l’achat du terrain, aux évaluations géologiques, au forage pour ce qui est de l’acier et de la main-d’oeuvre, aux installations et au logement des travailleurs, ainsi que les frais d’exploitation, les redevances et les impôts et taxes, et ce, tout en offrant un taux de rendement intéressant.

Les coûts de l’offre correspondent aux coûts actuels de production d’un gigajoule de gaz naturel en fonction de la durée de vie utile d’un puits, ce qui comprend les coûts liés au forage et à la mise en exploitation du puits. Ils englobent également les redevances et les impôts et taxes en plus de tenir compte d’un taux de rendement suffisant pour permettre aux entreprises de couvrir les frais d’intérêt et les dividendes à verser aux investisseurs.

Les coûts de l’offre fluctuent en fonction de l’intensité des activités de forage au fil du temps, ce qui peut avoir une incidence sur la demande et l’offre d’appareils de forage et de services connexes, ainsi que sur la disponibilité de travailleurs qualifiés. Le coût des matériaux, particulièrement celui de l’acier, constitue également un facteur non négligeable. La technologie, le rendement ainsi que la profondeur et la productivité des puits ont aussi un effet sur les coûts de l’offre. Enfin, d’autres facteurs économiques, tels que la valeur du dollar canadien et les régimes financiers et fiscaux, influent sur ces coûts.

Bassin sédimentaire de l’Ouest canadien (BSOC)

Le bassin sédimentaire de l’Ouest canadien (BSOC) est le plus important gisement d’hydrocarbures au Canada. Il s’étend sur la majeure partie de l’Alberta, sur un tiers de la Saskatchewan et sur de petites parties de la Colombie-Britannique, du Yukon, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Manitoba. C’est du BSOC que proviennent environ 98 % de la production canadienne de gaz naturel et 23 % de la production annuelle de gaz naturel de l’Amérique du Nord.

The Western Canada Sedimentary Basin (WCSB) is the major hydrocarbon basin in Canada. It covers most of Alberta, about one third of Saskatchewan, and smaller portions of British Columbia, Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Manitoba. The WCSB accounts for about 98 per cent of total Canadian natural gas production, also representing 23 per cent of the natural gas production in North America each year.

L’économie du BSOC est en évolution. Récemment, la production gazière provenant du BSOC s’est stabilisée après de nombreuses années de croissance et nul ne sait si l’industrie accroîtra ou même maintiendra à long terme les niveaux de production actuels. Étant donné qu’en moyenne, les nouveaux puits produisent moins que par le passé, les coûts de l’offre liés à la production de gaz dans le BSOC sont en hausse.

Cela a une incidence sur la capacité concurrentielle du bassin par rapport à d’autres régions productrices de gaz naturel en Amérique du Nord. Les coûts de l’offre influencent les décisions d’investissement, la quantité de gaz naturel produite à partir du BSOC et, du coup, les volumes disponibles en Amérique du Nord. En bout de ligne, les coûts de l’offre ont une influence sur l’industrie des transports de la région ainsi que sur l’utilisation à plein rendement ou la sous-utilisation du réseau pipelinier.

New Geographic Groupings

Nouveaux groupes géographiques

Nouveaux groupes géographiques

L’Office national de l’énergie a adopté la répartition géographique utilisée par petroCUBE à l’égard du BSOC, car elle est plus précise. La présente étude porte sur 18 groupes géographiques, qui sont divisés selon des catégories déterminées en fonction de la similitude des coûts liés à la production de gaz naturel. Il sera ainsi possible d’analyser plus précisément les facteurs économiques en jeu dans les diverses formations géologiques.

Le rapport Productibilité à court terme de gaz naturel au Canada que l’Office publiera en 2008, ainsi que les futures évaluations du marché de l’énergie portant sur le gaz naturel, se fonderont sur ces groupes géographiques.

- 30 -

Date de modification :