ARCHIVED - Saskatchewan's Ultimate Potential for Conventional Natural Gas - Fact Sheet

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

27 November 2008

Saskatchewan's Ultimate Potential for Conventional Natural Gas

Canada plays an important role in the current North American natural gas market by providing about one-quarter of North American gas production. Canada's ability to remain a key supplier of natural gas will largely depend on the size and quality of its resource base. Within Canada, the province of Saskatchewan is a small, but important contributor to natural gas supply, accounting for about four percent of total Canadian production in 2004. Annual non-associated natural gas production from Saskatchewan is currently 6.9 billion cubic metres (109m³) or 245 Billion cubic feet (Bcf), and comes mostly from its western regions. (Figure 1.1)

Oil and Gas Pools of Saskatchewan

This Energy Market Assessment, Saskatchewan's Ultimate Potential for Conventional Natural Gas, provides an outlook for what natural gas resources could be available in the future. Ultimate potential for natural gas is a key factor in making projections of future supply. It provides basic information for further investigation of the pace of development, deliverability and economics.

This report is the result of a joint study by the National Energy Board (NEB) and the Saskatchewan Ministry of Energy and Resources (ER). It provides information on the undiscovered conventional natural gas resources remaining in the Saskatchewan portion of the Western Canada Sedimentary Basin (WCSB), and provides information on unconventional natural gas resources that could potentially be developed in the province of Saskatchewan. The joint study includes these key findings:

  • The estimate for Saskatchewan's ultimate potential of marketable conventional natural gas resources was calculated to be 297.4 109m³ or 10.6 Trillion cubic feet (Tcf). The new estimate of ultimate potential is 42 percent higher than the NEB's previous estimate. About half of that volume has already been produced; the remaining volume is 150.6 billion cubic metres (109m³) or 5.3 trillion cubic feet.
  • Discovered resources have increased by 30 percent since 1997. Large discoveries made since 1997, such as the Abbey and Lacadena pools, have resulted in the redistribution of undiscovered potential in the geological section, giving greater recognition to shallow gas intervals, compared with previous assessments.
  • Based on production to the end of 2004, the remaining conventional natural gas in Saskatchewan available for future Canadian domestic and export demand is 150.6 109m³ or 5.3 Tcf.
  • Limits on surface access have significant impact on the exploration for undiscovered resources. The agencies consider 5.0 109m³ or 178 Bcf of the ultimate potential to be located under lands where access is not currently allowed and where the reservoirs cannot be accessed by directional drilling.

Determining Ultimate Potential

Ultimate potential for natural gas is a key component required to make projections of future supply. It provides base information from which subsequent examinations of the pace of development, deliverability and economics can be conducted.

The term ultimate potential refers to the estimate of the volume of marketable gas reserves that will be proven to exist in an area after exploration has ceased.

Ultimate potential = discovered resources + undiscovered resources

For example, the total ultimate potential for Saskatchewan is 297.4 109m³ (10.6 Tcf). That number includes the amount already produced to the end of 2004, which was 146.8 109m³ (5.2 Tcf), and the remaining gas available for future demand, which is 150.6 109m³ (5.3 Tcf). (Figure 2.2)

Ultimate Potential
Category Gas In Place Marketable Gas
109 Tcf 109 Tcf
Discovereda,b 319.7 11.3 221.5 7.9
Cumulative production (to 31 Dec. 2004) 211.7c 7.5c 146.8 5.2
Remaining discovered 108.0 3.8 74.7 2.7
Undiscovered 109.4 3.9 75.9 2.7
Ultimate potential 429.1 15.2 297.4 10.6
Remaining ultimate potential 217.4 7.7 150.6 5.3

a. Includes the discovered volumes of gas in the Frobisher and Alida Beds, whose resource potential is not estimated in this study
b. Deviation from Oil and Gas Reserves Summary Reports, 2004 because of miscellaneous pool reserve estimates
c. The value in the GIP column is an estimate of the volume of in-place gas represented by the produced marketable gas volume

Better understanding of geological plays

As drilling and technology advance, they bring forth new information on the resources of a basin, which in turn, contributes to increased certainty. Increased drilling activity in Saskatchewan, the discovery of at least one large pool in an existing play not previously accounted for, and the fact that cumulative production was approaching the previous NEB ultimate potential estimate, warranted the need for a new assessment of Saskatchewan's ultimate potential for conventional natural gas.

Location of Western Canada Sedimentary Basin

As exploration has shifted to new areas and into overlooked horizons since 1997, the understanding of the WCSB in Saskatchewan has continued to evolve. In a general sense, there has been an increased recognition of the undiscovered potential of the shallow gas intervals, due in part to better technology and production practices such as infill drilling that allows industry to step out into “less permeable” frontiers and expand play areas.

Gas-bearing areas are almost entirely in the western third of the province. The report does not cover areas in eastern Saskatchewan which make only minimal contributions to current gas reserves.

Only conventional non-associated and associated gas reserves data were analyzed in the report. The shallow gas in the Milk River, Medicine Hat and Second White Specks formations were considered conventional because of their long production history. Importantly, dissolved gas was not included in our study because the reserves have not been assigned by ER; however, it accounts for 7.7 percent of marketable gas production in Saskatchewan, so it is not insignificant.

Resources for the future

Saskatchewan holds about four percent of the ultimate remaining conventional natural gas resources in the WCSB - the same percent it contributes to the annual production from the basin. There is also potential for additional unconventional gas resources to be developed in the province.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Potentiel ultime des ressources gazières classiques de la Saskatchewan - Fiche de renseignements

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

27 novembre 2008

Potentiel ultime des ressources gazières classiques de la Saskatchewan

Le Canada joue un rôle important sur le marché du gaz naturel en Amérique du Nord. À l’heure actuelle, il assure environ le quart de toute la production gazière nord-américaine. Le Canada ne pourra demeurer un fournisseur de premier plan que si l’ampleur et la qualité des ressources le justifient. La Saskatchewan est un petit, mais important, fournisseur de gaz naturel, comptant pour environ 4 % de la production totale canadienne en 2004. La production annuelle de gaz naturel non associé provenant de la Saskatchewan est actuellement de 6,9 milliards de pieds cubes (Gm3 ou 245 milliards de pieds cubes (Gpi³); elle provient essentiellement de l’ouest de la province. (Figure 1.1)

Gisements pétroliers et gaziers de la Saskatchewan

La présente Évaluation du marché de l’énergie, Potentiel ultime des ressources gazières classiques de la Saskatchewan, offre une perspective du volume de gaz naturel qui pourrait être disponible à l’avenir. Le potentiel ultime de gaz naturel constitue un élément de premier plan lorsqu’il faut tenter de prévoir l’offre future. Il présente des renseignements de base à partir desquels il est possible d’effectuer des recherches subséquentes sur le rythme de mise en valeur, la productibilité et les facteurs économiques.

Ce rapport fait suite à une étude réalisée conjointement par l’Office national de l’énergie (ONÉ) et le ministre de l’Énergie et des ressources de la Saskatchewan (ÉR). Il présente des renseignements sur les ressources restantes en gaz naturel classique non découvert dans la partie du bassin sédimentaire de l’Ouest canadien (BSOC) située en Saskatchewan, et sur les ressources de gaz naturel non classique qui pourraient être mise en valeur dans cette province. Les principales constatations du rapport sont les suivantes :

  • Le potentiel ultime des ressources gazières classiques commercialisables de la Saskatchewan a été établi à 297,4 Gm³ ou 10,6 Tpi³, soit 42 % de plus que le volume estimé antérieurement. Environ la moitié de ce volume a déjà été produit; le volume restant s’élève à 150,6 Gm³ ou 5,3 Tpi³.
  • Les ressources découvertes ont augmenté de 30 % par rapport à 1997. Les grandes découvertes réalisées depuis cette année-là, notamment les gisements d’Abbey et de Lacadena, ont entraîné une redistribution du potentiel non découvert dans la section géologique au profit des intervalles moins profonds, lesquels n’ont pas été autant reconnus dans les évaluations antérieures.
  • Compte tenu de la production jusqu’à la fin de 2004, le gaz naturel classique restant en Saskatchewan pour répondre à la demande de gaz sur le marché intérieur canadien et pour l’exportation s’élève à 150,6 Gm³ ou 5,3 Tpi³.
  • Les restrictions d’accès aux terres ont une incidence importante sur la recherche de ressources non découvertes. Les organismes estiment que 5 Gm³ (178 Gpi³) du potentiel ultime est situé sous des terres où l’accès n’est actuellement pas permis et où les réservoirs ne sont pas accessibles par forage dirigé.

Détermination du potentiel ultime

Le potentiel ultime de gaz naturel constitue un élément de premier plan lorsqu’il faut tenter de prévoir l’offre future. Il offre des renseignements de base à partir desquels des examens subséquents du rythme de mise en valeur, de la productibilité et des facteurs économiques peuvent être exécutés.

L’expression potentiel ultime se rapporte à l’estimation du volume des réserves de gaz commercialisable dont l’existence aura été prouvée dans une zone précise une fois l’exploration terminée.

Potentiel ultime = ressources découvertes + ressources non découvertes

Suivant cette formule, le potentiel ultime total de la Saskatchewan est de 297,4 Gm³, ce qui comprend la quantité produite à la fin de 2004, soit 146,8 Gm³ (5,2 Tpi³), et le gaz restant qui pourra répondre à la demande future, c’est-à-dire 150,6 Gm³ (5,3 Tpi³). (Figure 2.2)

Potentiel ultime
Catégorie Gaz en place Gaz commercialisable
Gm³ Tpi³ Gm³ Tpi³
Gaz découverta,b 319,7 11,3 221,5 7,9
Production cumulative (au 31 décembre 2004) 211,7c 7,5c 146,8 5,2
Gaz découvert restant 108,0 3,8 74,7 2,7
Gaz non découvert 109,4 3,9 75,9 2,7
Potentiel ultime 429,1 15,2 297,4 10,6
Potentiel ultime restant 217,4 7,7 150,6 5,3

a. Inclut les volumes de gaz découverts dans les couches Frobisher et Alida, dont le potentiel n’est pas estimé dans la présente étude.
b. Écart par rapport aux Oil and Gas Reserves Summary Reports de 2004 en raison des estimations des réserves des gisements divers.
c. La valeur de la colonne Gaz en place est une estimation du volume de gaz en place représenté par le volume de gaz commercialisable produit.

Des zones géologiques mieux comprises

Avec l’essor des progrès technologiques et du forage, de nouveaux renseignements sur les ressources d’un bassin sont mis en avant-plan, ce qui contribue conséquemment à améliorer le degré de certitude à l’égard des données. Les activités de forage accrues en Saskatchewan et la découverte d’au moins un grand gisement dans une zone existante dont on ne connaissait pas la présence jusqu’ici, ainsi que le fait que la production cumulative approchait les estimations du potentiel ultime faites antérieurement par l’ONÉ, ont justifié le besoin d’une nouvelle évaluation du potentiel ultime des ressources gazières classiques de la Saskatchewan.

Emplacement du Bassin sédimentaire de l’Ouest Canadien

Comme depuis 1997 l’exploration s’est déplacée vers de nouvelles zones et des horizons jusque-là négligés, l’état des connaissances du BSOC en Saskatchewan a continué de se développer. De façon générale, il y a reconnaissance accrue du potentiel non découvert des intervalles peu profonds, grâce en partie à une meilleure technologie et à de meilleures pratiques de production, comme le forage intercalaire qui permet à l’industrie de s’aventurer dans des zones inexplorées « moins perméables » et d’élargir les zones d’exploration.

Les zones gazéifères sont situées essentiellement dans la partie occidentale de la province. Le rapport ne traite pas de l’est de la Saskatchewan, dont la contribution aux réserves de gaz actuelles est minime.

Seules les données sur les réserves de gaz associé et non associé classique ont été analysées. Le gaz des gisements peu profonds des formations de Milk River, Medicine Hat et Second White Specks a été inclus dans le gaz classique en raison des longs antécédents de production. Le gaz dissous ne l’a pas été parce que ÉR n’en a pas encore attribué les réserves; il représente toutefois 7,7 % de la production de gaz commercialisable de la Saskatchewan, quantité qui n’est pas négligeable.

Des ressources pour l’avenir

La Saskatchewan détient environ 4 % du potentiel ultime des ressources gazières classiques restantes dans le BSOC, soit le même pourcentage qu’elle contribue à la production annuelle tirée du bassin. Il existerait aussi des ressources gazières non classiques à mettre en valeur dans la province

Date de modification :