ARCHIVED – 2014 Propane and Butanes Exports Summary

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Summary of Exports

This summary is based on data from the National Energy Board’s (NEB) natural gas liquids (propane and butanes) export statistics (as of April 2015; data is subject to revisions). For discussion and commentary on NGL markets in 2014, please refer to the NEB’s Canadian Energy Dynamics: Review of 2014 – Energy Market Assessment.

Propane and Butane Exports – Volumes, Average Price and Value
  2010 2011 2012 2013 2014
PROPANE EXPORTS
Volume (m³) 4 690 449 4 726 567 5 732 031 5 818 925 5 250 255
Volume (bbl/d) 80 830 81 452 98 509 100 277 90 477
Average Price (¢/L) 33.21 37.16 21.62 23.86 31.51
Value (Cdn$) 1 557 672 814 1 756 276 695 1 239 294 319 1 388 521 481 1 654 493 334
BUTANE EXPORTS
Volume (m³) 1 368 381 1 164 164 1 432 666 1 086 331 1 218 993
Volume (bbl/d) 23 581 20 062 24 622 18 721 21 007
Average Price (¢/L) 41.24 51.38 38.52 31.47 32.14
Value (Cdn$) 564 333 189 598 081 621 551 945 765 341 861 763 391 744 830

m³ = cubic metres
bbl/d = barrels per day
¢/L = cents per litre; obtained by total value divided by volume (1 m³ = 1 000 L)

Source: NEB Statistics; Propane and Butanes – Export Volume – Query and Export Price – Query

Propane and Butanes Exports by Month and Year

Figure 1: Canadian Propane and Butane Export Volumes, 2005-2014

Figure 1: Canadian Propane and Butane Export Volumes, 2005-2014

Source: NEB Statistics; Propane and Butanes Export Volume – Query

  • Figure 1 shows that in 2014, Canada exported 5.3 million m³ (90.5 Mbbl/d) of propane. This was 568.7 thousand m³ (9.8 Mbbl/d or 10 per cent) less than the 5.8 million m³ (100.2 thousand bbl/d) of propane exports in 2013. Although there were decreased propane exports over the last decade, propane export volumes in 2014 were slightly less than in 2012 and 2013 but higher than in 2010 and 2011.
  • In 2014, Canada exported 1.2 million m³ (21.0 Mbbl/d) of butanes. This was 132.7 thousand m³ (2.3 Mbbl/d or 12 per cent) greater than the previous year’s butanes exports of 1.1 million m³ (18.7 Mbbl/d).

Figure 2: Monthly Propane and Butanes Export Volumes (Jan-10 – Dec-14)

Figure 2: Monthly Propane and Butanes Export Volumes (Jan-10 – Dec-14)

Source: NEB Statistics; Propane and Butanes Export Volume – Query

  • Figure 2 shows that during 2014, there was less propane exported throughout the year, and more propane was exported in colder months than during the summer. Volumes of butanes that were exported from Canada fluctuated within a smaller range with less prominent cycles. For example, in 2014, more butanes were exported during the second half of the year than the first.

Regional Exports

Propane

Figure 3: Yearly Propane Export Volumes by Region

Figure 3: Yearly Propane Export Volumes by Region

Source: NEB Statistics; Propane and Butanes Export Volume – Query

  • Figure 3 shows that in 2014, PADD II (U.S. Midwest) received the majority (44 per cent) of Canada’s propane exports. The 2.3 million m³ (39.8 Mbbl/d) of propane Canada exported to PADD II was 0.4 per cent less than the 2.3 million m³ (40.0 Mbbl/d) of propane that was exported in 2013.
  • PADD I (U.S. East Coast) received 33 per cent of total Canadian propane exports in 2014, or 1.7 million m³ (29.7 Mbbl/d). This was a 35 per cent decrease compared to the 2.6 million m³ (44.0 Mbbl/d) that was exported to PADD I in 2013.
  • PADD V (U.S. West Coast) received 893.2 thousand m³ (15.4 Mbbl/d), or 17 per cent, of Canadian propane exports. This is a 32 per cent increase of 215.7 thousand m³ (1.8 Mbbl/d) from the previous year’s 677.6 thousand m³ (11.7 Mbbl/d).
  • PADD IV (U.S. Rockies) received 6 per cent, or 310.8 thousand m³ (5.4 Mbbl/d), of Canadian propane exports. This was a 22 per cent increase of 55.1 thousand m³ (1.0 Mbbl/d) from 2013 volumes.
  • PADD III (U.S. Gulf Coast) typically receives the least Canadian propane exports as it is a self-sufficient, and therefore limited, market. In 2014, 11.9 thousand m³ (205.1 bbl/d), which is less than one half per cent, of exports went to PADD III. This is three per cent, or 315.0 m³ (5 bbl/d), greater than the 11.6 thousand m³ (200 bbl/d) exported in 2013.

Butanes

Figure 4: Yearly Butanes Export Volumes by Region

Figure 4: Yearly Butanes Export Volumes by Region

Source: NEB Statistics; Propane and Butanes Export Volume – Query

  • Figure 4 shows that in 2014, PADD II also received the largest share (39 per cent) of butanes exports. The 477.1 thousand m³ (8.2 Mbbl/d) of exported butanes to PADD II decreased by 7 per cent from 2013 volumes of 513.3 thousand m³ (8.8 Mbbl/d), which is a difference of 36.2 thousand m³ (624 bbl/d).
  • In 2014, PADD I received 33 per cent, or 402.8 thousand m³ (6.9 Mbbl/d) of Canadian butanes exports. This is a six per cent, or 25.2 thousand m³ (435 bbl/d), decrease from 2013 volumes of 428.0 thousand m³ (7.4 Mbbl/d).
  • PADD V received 21 per cent, or 257.4 thousand m³ (4.4 Mbbl/d) of butanes exports in 2014, an increase of 146 per cent from 2013 export volumes of 104.5 thousand m³ (1.8 Mbbl/d).
  • PADD IV received 56.1 thousand m³ (1.0 Mbbl/d), or five per cent, of butanes exports, which was a 70 per cent increase from the previous year when it received 33.1 thousand m³ (0.6 Mbbl/d).
  • Finally, PADD III received two per cent, or 25.6 thousand m³ (0.4 Mbbl/d), of butanes exports, which was a 229 per cent increase from the 7.8 thousand m³ (0.1 Mbbl/d) of butanes it received in 2013.

Propane and Butanes Values and Prices

Figure 5: Historical Propane and Butanes Values and Prices

Figure 5: Historical Propane and Butanes Values and Prices

Source: NEB Statistics; Propane and Butanes Export Volume – Query and Export Price – Query

Propane

  • Based on the total value divided by the quantity of exported propane, Figure 5 shows that in 2014, the average export price increased to $0.32 per litre, a 38 per cent increase compared to the 2013 average price of $0.24 per litre. The gross value of propane exports for 2014 was $1.65 billion, which was approximately $0.27 billion or 19 per cent greater than the 2013 value of $1.39 billion. The difference in value does not add up properly due to rounding.
  • Compared to 2008, when propane exports grossed $2.44 billion, the gross value of Canadian propane exports in 2014 decreased by 32 per cent, or an average of 6 per cent a year. Similarly, the average price received for exported propane decreased 14 per cent from the 2008 average price of $0.38 per litre.

Butane

  • Based on the total value divided by quantity of exported butanes, in 2014, the average export price increased 6 per cent from $0.31 per litre in 2013 to $0.33 per litre.

Figure 6: 2014 Propane and Butanes Values and Prices by Month

Figure 6: 2014 Propane and Butanes Values and Prices by Month

Source: NEB Statistics; Propane and Butanes Export Volume – Query and Export Price – Query

  • The gross value of butanes exports in 2014 was $0.39 billion, which was approximately $0.05 billion or 15 per cent more than the 2013 export value of $0.34 billion.
  • Compared to 2008, when butanes exports grossed $707.1 million, the gross value of butanes exports in 2014 decreased by 45 per cent, or an average of nine per cent per year. Likewise, the average price received for butanes exports in 2014 decreased by 28 per cent from the 2008 average price of $0.46 per litre.
  • On a monthly basis (Figure 6), propane export values usually increased during colder months, particularly in January. The gross export value of butanes also experienced cycles that were not as affected by colder temperatures.
  • The butanes price was generally higher than the propane price, except for a short period in late 2013/early 2014. The total value of exported butanes in 2014 was lower than the exported propane value.

Export Term and Transport Mode

Figure 7: Propane Exports by Transport Mode

Figure 7: Propane Exports by Transport Mode

Source: NEB Statistics; Propane Export Volume by Mode of Transportation – Query

  • All exports of propane and butanes must be authorized by a long-term licence or a short-term order from the NEB. Currently, 100 per cent of propane and butanes exports are authorized by short-term export orders. Short-term orders do not restrict export volumes from Canada.
  • At this time, all propane and butanes exports go to the U.S. by pipeline, rail or truck. Rail is the number one method of transporting propane and butanes out of Canada, while pipelines are second.
  • Since 2010, propane volumes exported by
    • rail increased 40 per cent in total;
    • pipeline decreased 33 per cent in total; and
    • truck increased 30 per cent in total. [Figure 7]

Figure 8: Butanes Exports by Transport Mode

Figure 8: Butanes Exports by Transport Mode

Source: NEB Statistics; Butanes Export Volume by Mode of Transportation – Query

  • Since 2010, butanes volumes exported by
    • truck increased 94 per cent in total;
    • rail decreased 15 per cent in total; and
    • pipeline increased 19 per cent in total. [Figure 8]
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ – Sommaire des exportations de propane et de butanes – 2014

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sommaire des exportations

Le présent sommaire dérive de données tirées de statistiques (datant d’avril 2015 et pouvant être modifiées) sur les exportations de liquides de gaz naturel (propane et butanes) compilées par l’Office national de l’énergie. Le document Dynamique du marché de l’énergie au Canada : Revue de 2014 – Évaluation du marché de l’énergie présente une analyse des marchés de liquides de gaz naturel et des observations sur ceux-ci.

Propane et butanes – volume exporté et prix à l’exportation
  2010 2011 2012 2013 2014
EXPORTATIONS DE PROPANE
Volume (m³) 4 690 449 4 726 567 5 732 031 5 818 925 5 250 255
Volume (b/j) 80 830 81 452 98 509 100 277 90 477
Prix moyen (¢/L) 33,21 37,16 21,62 23,86 31,51
Valeur ($ CAN) 1 557 672 814 1 756 276 695 1 239 294 319 1 388 521 481 1 654 493 334
EXPORTATIONS DE BUTANES
Volume (m³) 1 368 381 1 164 164 1 432 666 1 086 331 1 218 993
Volume (b/j) 23 581 20 062 24 622 18 721 21 007
Prix moyen (¢/L) 41,24 51,38 38,52 31,47 32,14
Valeur ($ CAN) 564 333 189 598 081 621 551 945 765 341 861 763 391 744 830

m³ = mètre cube
b/j = barils par jour
¢/L = cents le litre, soit la valeur totale divisée par le volume (1 m³ = 1 000 L)

Source : Statistiques de l’Office; propane et butanes – volume exporté et prix à l’exportation – interrogation

Exportations mensuelles et annuelles de propane et de butanes

Figure 1 : Volume des exportations canadiennes de propane et de butanes

Figure 1 : Volume des exportations canadiennes de propane et de butanes

Source : Statistiques de l’Office; propane et butanes – volume exporté – interrogation

  • La figure 1 montre qu’en 2014, le Canada a exporté 5,3 millions m³ (90,5 kb/j) de propane. Il s’agit d’une diminution de 568,7 milliers m³ (9,8 kb/j), ou 10 %, comparativement aux exportations de 2013 qui atteignaient 5,8 millions m³ (100,2 kb/j). Dans un contexte où les exportations de propane ont régressé depuis une décennie, les volumes exportés en 2014 étaient légèrement inférieurs à ceux de 2012 et 2013, mais supérieurs à ceux de 2010 et 2011.
  • En 2014, le Canada a exporté 1,2 million m³ (21,0 kb/j) de butanes, soit 132,7 milliers m³ (2,3 kb/j), ou 12 %, de plus que l’année précédente, alors que les exportations s’étaient établies à 1,1 million m³ (18,7 kb/j).

Figure 2 : Volume des exportations mensuelles de propane et de butanes (de janvier 2010 à décembre 2014)

Figure 2 : Volume des exportations mensuelles de propane et de butanes (de janvier 2010 à décembre 2014)

Source : Statistiques de l’Office; propane et butanes – volume exporté – interrogation

  • La figure 2 indique qu’en 2014, les exportations de propane ont été moindres tout au long de l’année, leur volume étant supérieur pendant les mois plus froids. Le volume des exportations de butanes à partir du Canada a fluctué à l’intérieur de limites plus restreintes, avec des pointes et des creux moins marqués. Par exemple, en 2014, davantage de butanes ont été exportés au second semestre qu’au premier.

Exportations selon la région

Propane

Figure 3 : Volume des exportations annuelles de propane selon la région

Figure 3 : Volume des exportations annuelles de propane selon la région

Source : Statistiques de l’Office; propane – volume exporté selon le PADD – interrogation

  • La figure 3 illustre qu’en 2014, la destination privilégiée pour les exportations de propane à partir du Canada (à hauteur de 44 % de leur total) a été la région PADD II (Midwest américain). Les 2,3 millions m³ (39,8 kb/j) de propane ainsi exportés par le Canada étaient toutefois inférieurs de 0,4 % aux 2,3 millions m³ (40,0 kb/j) qui l’avaient été dans la même région en 2013.
  • Pour sa part, la région PADD I (Nord-Est des États-Unis) a été la destinataire de 33 % du total des exportations canadiennes de propane en 2014 avec 1,7 million m³ (29,7 kb/j), un recul de 35 % comparativement à 2013 alors que le volume exporté dans cette région était de 2,6 million m³ (44,0 kb/j).
  • À 893,2 milliers m³ (15,4 kb/j), c’est dans une proportion de 17 % que les exportations canadiennes de propane ont été acheminées dans la région PADD V (côte Ouest des États-Unis) en 2014, pour une progression de 32 % par rapport à l’année précédente, ajoutant 215,7 milliers m³ (1,8 kb/j) aux 677,6 milliers m³ (11,7 kb/j) alors enregistrés.
  • Le volume destiné à la région PADD IV (Rocheuses américaines), à 310,8 milliers m³ (5,4 kb/j), a représenté 6 % du total des exportations canadiennes en 2014, pour une hausse dans ce cas de 22 %, ou 55,1 milliers m³ (1,0 kb/j), depuis 2013.
  • Comme toujours, c’est la région PADD III (côte américaine du golfe du Mexique) qui a été celle où les exportations de propane ont été les plus faibles du fait de son autosuffisance et, par conséquent, de son marché limité. En 2014, les 11,9 milliers m³ (205,1 b/j) qui y ont été acheminés représentaient moins de 0,5 % du volume total exporté, néanmoins supérieur de 315,0 m³ (5 b/j), ou 3 %, aux 11,6 milliers m³ (200 b/j) inscrits pour 2013.

Butanes

Figure 4 : Volume des exportations annuelles de butanes selon la région

Figure 4 : Volume des exportations annuelles de butanes selon la région

Source : Statistiques de l’Office; butanes – volume exporté selon le PADD – interrogation

  • La figure 4 fait voir qu’en 2014, la principale destination pour les exportations de butanes a aussi été la région PADD II (39 % du total). Les 477,1 milliers m³ (8,2 kb/j) qui y ont été exportés ont constitué une régression de 7 %, ou 36,2 milliers m³ (624 b/j), quand on les compare au volume de 513,3 milliers m³ (8,8 kb/j) de 2013.
  • La région PADD I a quant à elle reçu 33 % des exportations canadiennes de butanes en 2014, avec 402,8 milliers m³ (6,9 kb/j), un volume inférieur de 6 %, ou 25,2 milliers m³ (435 b/j), à celui de 428,0 milliers m³ (7,4 kb/j) pour 2013.
  • C’est dans une proportion de 21 % que les exportations de butanes ont été destinées à la région PADD V en 2014, alors qu’elles ont grimpé à 257,4 milliers m³ (4,4 kb/j), une majoration de 146 % comparativement à un volume de 104,5 milliers m³ (1,8 kb/j) en 2013.
  • Avec 56,1 milliers m³ (1,0 kb/j) de butanes exportés en 2014, soit 5 % du total, le relèvement des exportations observé dans la région PADD IV a été de 70 % quand on les compare à celles de 33,1 milliers m³ (0,6 kb/j) l’année précédente.
  • Enfin, après une poussée de 229 % en 2014, c’est une tranche de 2 % des exportations de butanes, ou 25,6 milliers m³ (0,4 kb/j), qui a abouti dans la région PADD III, qui n’en avait accueilli que 7,8 milliers m³ (0,1 kb/j) en 2013.

Valeur et prix du propane et des butanes

Figure 5 : Valeur et prix historiques du propane et des butanes

Figure 5 : Valeur et prix historiques du propane et des butanes

Source : Statistiques de l’Office; propane et butanes – volume exporté et prix à l’exportation – interrogation

Propane

  • Après division de la valeur totale par le volume de propane exporté, la figure 5 montre qu’en 2014, le prix moyen à l’exportation a augmenté de 38 % en un an pour se situer à 0,32 $/L alors qu’il était de 0,24 $/L en 2013. La valeur brute des exportations de propane en 2014 a atteint 1,65 milliard de dollars, une hausse d’environ 0,27 milliard de dollars, ou 19 %, par rapport à 2013, où cette même valeur s’était établie à 1,39 milliard de dollars. Les chiffres ayant été arrondis, l’écart indiqué ne correspond pas exactement à la somme des montants.
  • Comparativement à 2008, alors que la valeur brute des exportations canadiennes de propane s’était chiffrée à 2,44 milliards de dollars, cette valeur avait baissé de 32 % en 2014, pour un recul moyen de 6 % par année. Parallèlement, le prix moyen reçu pour le propane exporté, qui était de 0,38 $/L en 2008, a diminué de 14 % dans ce même intervalle.

Butanes

  • Le prix moyen à l’exportation des butanes en 2014, obtenu en divisant la valeur totale par le volume, a affiché une hausse de 6 % pour atteindre 0,33 $/L, contre 0,31 $/L en 2013.

Figure 6 : Valeur et prix mensuels du propane et des butanes en 2014

Figure 6 : Valeur et prix mensuels du propane et des butanes en 2014

Source : Statistiques de l’Office; propane et butanes – volume exporté et prix à l’exportation – interrogation

  • La valeur brute des exportations de butanes en 2014 a atteint 0,39 milliard de dollars, une hausse d’environ 0,05 milliard de dollars, ou 38 %, par rapport à 2013, où cette même valeur s’était établie à 0,34 milliard de dollars.
  • Comparativement à 2008, alors que la valeur brute des exportations canadiennes de butanes s’était chiffrée à 707,1 millions de dollars, cette valeur avait baissé de 45 % en 2014, pour un recul moyen de 9 % par année. Parallèlement, le prix moyen reçu pour les butanes exportés, qui était de 0,46 $/L en 2008, a diminué de 28 % dans ce même intervalle.
  • D’un mois à l’autre (figure 6), on doit s’attendre à voir une augmentation de la valeur des exportations de propane pendant les mois les plus froids, avec une pointe en janvier. Des cycles peuvent aussi être remarqués quant à la valeur brute des exportations de butanes, mais les basses températures ont une moins grande influence.
  • Pendant une certaine période à la fin de 2013 et au début de 2014, le prix moyen reçu à l’exportation de propane a été supérieur à celui des butanes, mais autrement, le prix des butanes est habituellement plus élevé et la valeur totale de leurs importations moindre.

Échéance des exportations et mode de transport

Figure 7 : Exportations de propane selon le mode de transport

Figure 7 : Exportations de propane selon le mode de transport

Source : Statistiques de l’Office; propane – volume exporté selon le mode de transport – interrogation

  • Toutes les exportations de propane et de butanes doivent être autorisées par l’Office, au moyen soit d’une licence à long terme, soit d’une ordonnance à court terme. À l’heure actuelle, elles le sont toutes au moyen d’ordonnances à court terme. Celles ci n’ont pas pour effet de restreindre les volumes exportés du Canada.
  • Les exportations de propane et de butanes vers les États-Unis ne se font actuellement que par pipelines, chemin de fer ou camions. C’est le chemin de fer qui est privilégié à cette fin, suivi des pipelines.
  • Voici les pourcentages de volume de propane exporté, selon le mode de transport, depuis 2010 :
    • augmentation de 40 % au total pour le chemin de fer;
    • diminution de 33 % au total pour les pipelines;
    • augmentation de 30 % au total pour les camions. [figure 7]

Figure 8 : Exportations de butanes selon le mode de transport

Figure 8 : Exportations de butanes selon le mode de transport

Source : Statistiques de l’Office; butanes – volume exporté selon le mode de transport – interrogation

  • Voici les pourcentages de volume de butanes exporté, selon le mode de transport, depuis 2010 :
    • augmentation de 94 % au total pour les camions;
    • diminution de 15 % au total pour le chemin de fer;
    • augmentation de 19 % au total pour les pipelines. [figure 8]
Date de modification :