North /Offshore - Questions and Answers

Notice: On 1 April 2014, the Government of the Northwest Territories assumes responsibility for the regulation of onshore oil and gas activities in the NWT outside of the Inuvialuit Settlement Region and the Norman Wells Proven Area and other miscellaneous federal lands. More information can be found on our website under North / Offshore > NEB Regulatory Oversight in NWT Post-Devolution.

Arctic Drilling

  1. What is the NEB's role with respect to Offshore and Onshore Drilling?
  2. What safety regulations exist for companies drilling in Canada and specifically the Arctic?
  3. What does the NEB do to minimize the chance of an accident?
  4. What does the NEB do in the event of an accident?
  5. Will the NEB respond to all spills in the Beaufort Sea?
  6. Who pays for cleaning-up a spill?

1. What is the NEB's role with respect to Offshore and Onshore Drilling?

The NEB regulates oil and gas exploration and production offshore on the West Coast, onshore and offshore in frontier areas in northern Canada, except the Yukon, and those regions offshore on the East Coast that fall outside the jurisdiction of the Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board and the Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board.

A company wishing to explore and drill in areas within NEB jurisdiction must apply to the NEB for an authorization. A company seeking this authorization must provide comprehensive information about its proposed work, including contingency plans, a safety plan and an environmental protection plan, all of which is carefully scrutinized by the Board's expert staff. Every project that has the possibility of negative environmental effects will be subject to an environmental assessment (EA) by the NEB.

Developments (projects) that are proposed for the Inuvialuit Settlement Region require an environmental screening or review under the Inuvialuit Final Agreement. An environmental screening is conducted by the Environmental Impact Screening Committee (EISC). Projects may be referred to the Environmental Impact Review Board (EIRB) which carries out environmental impact and public reviews. Projects which are designated projects under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 (CEA Act), trigger a CEA Act 2012 environmental assessment that is undertaken by the NEB.

The Nunavut Impact Review Board (NIRB) screens proposed developments (projects) onshore and offshore in the Nunavut Settlement Area (NSA) under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement to determine whether or not an environmental impact review is required. NEB-regulated projects or portions of projects that are located outside of the NSA are assessed by the NEB under the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act (COGOA), the National Energy Board Act (NEB Act), Part 5 of the Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act (MVRMA) or under the CEA Act 2012, depending on the location and type of project, and whether it is a designated project under the CEA Act 2012.

Proposed development projects that occur in the Mackenzie Valley require a preliminary environmental screening, EA or review under Part 5 of the MVRMA. A preliminary screening is conducted by a Land and Water Board (LWB). Projects may also be referred to the Mackenzie Valley Environmental Impact Review Board (MVEIRB) which carries out EAs and public reviews.

Prior to an authorization being considered by the NEB, a company must provide evidence of financial responsibility to cover costs of an incident response including containing, cleaning-up the environment and compensating affected third parties The NEB determines the amount of financial responsibility on a case-by-case basis using the Draft Financial Viability and Financial Responsibility Guidelines.

If the applicant meets all the requirements, an authorization to drill may be granted.

2. What safety regulations exist for companies drilling in Canada and specifically the Arctic?

Oil and gas companies operating in Canada in areas where the NEB has jurisdiction must adhere to COGOA, the NEB Act and the Canada Labour Code, Part II. Operators must also adhere to the Canada Oil and Gas Drilling and Production Regulations and other regulations under COGOA. These regulations promote three main themes:

  • safety;
  • protection of the environment; and,
  • conservation of oil and gas resources.

Drilling will not occur unless the NEB is satisfied that plans adequately demonstrate safety for workers and protection of the environment.

3. What does the NEB do to minimize the chance of an accident?

The Board conducts a rigorous evaluation of the equipment, procedures and methods proposed when a company applies for an authorization of its proposed operations. The Board will only authorize the work if it is convinced that the chance of an accident has been minimized by the approach proposed by the company.

The NEB has a rigorous compliance program to ensure that operators comply with all applicable regulations and meet all of the commitments and conditions of the authorization. To do this, the NEB inspects drilling equipment and audits company management systems, including elements such as the emergency response training and competency of personnel. All rigs must be certified fit for purpose.

The NEB has a comprehensive Emergency Management Program in place and is ready to respond to an emergency situation any time of day or night. Regulated companies are required to file and maintain up-to-date contingency plans and emergency response procedures that are carefully scrutinized by the NEB. In an offshore area where oil is reasonably expected to be encountered, each company must also identify the scope and frequency of the field practice exercises of oil spill countermeasures which the NEB monitors.

The NEB works with the operators of offshore drilling platforms and other regulators to proactively share information related to safety and environmental protection.

4. What does the NEB do in the event of an accident?

The NEB's top priority in any emergency is to make sure that people are safe and the environment is protected. In the event of a major incident at an NEB-regulated project, the NEB would work with the company to enable a safe and effective, coordinated response.

NEB staff would be onsite to monitor and oversee the company's immediate response and the eventual clean-up in case of a spill. If the NEB is not satisfied that an effective emergency response is being undertaken, the NEB’s Chief Conservation Officer may authorize and direct such persons as may be necessary to take over the management and control of any work or activity.

The NEB also works with its federal, provincial and territorial partners to coordinate the regulatory response and will request advice from the Environment Canada-led Arctic Regional Environmental Emergencies Team as needed.

The NEB maintains an Emergency Operations Centre in Calgary to coordinate field staff at an incident site and to provide situation reports to the Emergency Operations Centre for Natural Resources Canada in Ottawa. The Board investigates and reports on incidents and corrective actions to help prevent them from happening again.

5. Will the NEB respond to all spills in the Beaufort Sea?

The NEB is the lead federal agency for responding to an oil spill in the Canadian Arctic if the spill comes from a drilling platform while it is engaged in drilling activities. If the spill occurs from a drilling platform that is not engaged in drilling activities, the lead response agency would be the Canadian Coast Guard (for example if the rig is being towed to a location).

6. Who pays for cleaning-up a spill?

NEB-regulated companies must anticipate, prevent, mitigate, and manage incidents and oil spills of any size or duration.

In the event of an incident, the Board expects an Operator to clean up the spill and debris, as well as pay out all claims as appropriate. The Board could take over spill response and pay out claims if the Operator does not appropriately address an incident.

Date modified:

Nord / En mer - Questions et réponses

Avis : Le 1er avril 2014, le Bureau de l’organisme de réglementation des opérations pétrolières et gazières (le « BOROP »), du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (« TNO »), est devenu responsable de la réglementation des activités pétrolières et gazières sur la terre ferme à l’intérieur des limites des TNO, sauf pour la région désignée des Inuvialuit, la réserve prouvée de la région de Norman Wells et diverses autres terres de compétence fédérale. On peut trouver plus d’information dans notre site Web sous Nord / En mer > Surveillance réglementaire de l'Office après le transfert de responsabilités aux T.N.-O.

Forage dans l’Arctique

  1. Quel est le rôle de l’Office national de l’énergie concernant les forages sur terre et en mer?
  2. Quel règlement sur la sécurité existe-t-il pour les sociétés exerçant des activités de forage au Canada, en particulier dans le milieu arctique?
  3. Que fait l’Office pour réduire au minimum les risques d'accident?
  4. Que fait l'Office en cas d'accident?
  5. L'Office intervient-il dans tous les cas de déversement dans la mer de Beaufort?
  6. Qui paie le nettoyage en cas de déversement?

1. Quel est le rôle de l’Office national de l’énergie concernant les forages sur terre et en mer?

L’Office réglemente l’exploration et la production pétrolières et gazières extracôtières sur la côte Ouest, sur terre et au large des côtes dans les régions pionnières dans le Nord du Canada, sauf au Yukon, et dans les régions extracôtières de la côte Est non réglementées par l’Office des hydrocarbures extracôtiers de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador ni par l’Office des hydrocarbures extracôtiers de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Les sociétés qui désirent mener des activités d’exploration et de forage dans les régions soumises à la réglementation de l’Office doivent d’abord obtenir son autorisation. Pour cela, elles doivent fournir des documents décrivant en détail les travaux envisagés et renfermant, notamment, des plans d’urgence, de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement; tous ces documents sont étudiés attentivement par le personnel expert de l’Office. Tous les projets qui sont susceptibles d’avoir des répercussions néfastes sur l’environnement sont soumis à une évaluation environnementale de l’Office.

Les projets proposés qui se trouvent dans la région désignée des Inuvialuit nécessitent une étude ou un examen des répercussions environnementales, en application de la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit. L’étude environnementale est confiée au Comité d’étude des répercussions environnementales (CÉRE). Les projets peuvent aussi être renvoyés devant le Bureau d’examen des répercussions environnementales (BERE), qui mène des études de répercussions environnementales et des examens publics. Les « projets désignés », au sens de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012) [LCÉE (2012)] déclenchent une évaluation environnementale qui est menée par l’Office.

Conformément à l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut, la Commission du Nunavut chargée de l’examen des répercussions (CNER) étudie les projets proposés, sur terre et en mer, dans la région du Nunavut et détermine s’ils requièrent ou non un examen des répercussions environnementales. Les projets ou parties de projet assujettis à la réglementation de l’Office qui sont situés à l’extérieur de la région du Nunavut font l’objet d’un examen de l’Office sous le régime de la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada (LOPC), de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, de la partie 5 de la Loi sur la gestion des ressources de la vallée du Mackenzie (LGRVM) ou de la LCÉE (2012), selon le lieu prévu et le type de projet et selon qu’il s’agit ou non d’un projet désigné en vertu de la LCÉE (2012).

Les projets de mise en valeur des ressources proposés visant la vallée du Mackenzie doivent être soumis à un examen environnemental préalable, une évaluation environnementale ou un examen en vertu de la partie 5 de la LGRVM. L’examen préalable est réalisé par un office des terres et des eaux. Les projets peuvent aussi être renvoyés devant l’Office d’examen des répercussions environnementales de la vallée du Mackenzie (OEREVM), qui se charge des évaluations environnementales et des examens publics.

Avant que l’Office national de l’énergie commence l’étude d’une demande, le promoteur doit démontrer sa capacité financière d’assumer les coûts d’intervention en cas d’incident, soit le confinement, le nettoyage de l’environnement et l’indemnisation des tierces parties touchées. L’Office établit le montant de la responsabilité financière de la société au cas par cas, en se basant sur l’Ébauche des lignes directrices en matière de viabilité financière et de solvabilité.

Si le demandeur satisfait à toutes les exigences, une autorisation de forer peut lui être accordée.

2. Quel règlement sur la sécurité existe-t-il pour les sociétés exerçant des activités de forage au Canada, en particulier dans le milieu arctique?

Les sociétés pétrolières et gazières qui exercent des activités au Canada dans les régions relevant de l’Office doivent se conformer à la LOPC, à la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie et à la partie II du Code canadien du travail. Les exploitants doivent également respecter le Règlement sur le forage et l’exploitation des puits de pétrole et de gaz au Canada et les autres règlements pris en vertu de la LOPC. Ces règlements portent sur trois sujets principaux :

  • la sécurité;
  • la protection de l’environnement;
  • la conservation des ressources gazières et pétrolières.

Aucune activité de forage n’est permise tant que l’Office n’est pas convaincu que les plans de forage garantissent la sécurité des travailleurs et protègent l’environnement.

3. Que fait l’Office pour réduire au minimum les risques d'accident?

L’Office procède à un examen sévère de l’équipement, des procédures et des méthodes décrites par la société dans sa demande d’autorisation des opérations envisagées, et il n’approuve les travaux que s’il est persuadé que la démarche proposée par la société réduit les risques d’accident au minimum.

L’Office a mis en place un programme strict de vérification de la conformité pour veiller à ce que les exploitants se conforment à tous les règlements applicables et respectent tous les engagements et toutes les conditions dont sont assorties les autorisations. Pour cela, il inspecte l’équipement de forage et fait des audits des systèmes de gestion de la société, notamment les aspects touchant la formation du personnel en matière d’intervention d’urgence et les compétences de celui-ci. Tous les appareils de forage doivent être certifiés pour l’usage que l’on prévoit en faire.

L’Office dispose d’un programme exhaustif de gestion des urgences et est prêt à intervenir à n’importe quelle heure du jour ou de la nuit en cas d’urgence. Les sociétés réglementées doivent déposer auprès de l’Office, et garder à jour, des plans d’urgence et des marches à suivre pour les interventions en cas d’urgence, que l’Office examine avec rigueur. Dans une région extracôtière où du pétrole peut vraisemblablement être découvert, toutes les sociétés doivent préciser l’étendue et la fréquence des exercices d’intervention en cas de déversement de pétrole, et l’Office surveille ces exercices.

L’Office travaille avec les exploitants de plateformes de forage en mer et d’autres organismes de réglementation pour échanger de façon proactive l’information sur la sécurité et la protection de l’environnement.

4. Que fait l'Office en cas d'accident?

La priorité absolue de l’Office en cas d’urgence est d’assurer la sécurité des gens et la protection de l’environnement. Si un incident important survenait sur un chantier relevant de l’Office, celui-ci travaillerait avec l’entreprise au sein d’une structure de commandement unifié pour assurer une intervention efficace.

Le personnel l’Office se rendrait sur place pour superviser l’intervention immédiate de la société puis le nettoyage, s’il s’agissait d’un déversement. Si l’Office n’a pas la certitude qu’une intervention d’urgence efficace est en cours, le délégué à l’exploitation de l’Office peut confier la gestion et le contrôle des travaux ou des activités aux personnes qu’il juge capables de mener la tâche à bien.

L’Office travaille aussi avec ses partenaires fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux pour coordonner l’application de la réglementation, et il demande conseil à l’équipe régionale arctique des interventions d’urgence dirigée par Environnement Canada au besoin.

Le Centre des opérations d’urgence de l’Office, situé à Calgary, coordonne l’action du personnel sur les lieux d’un incident et fait rapport de la situation au Centre des opérations d’urgence de Ressources naturelles Canada, à Ottawa. L’Office mène des enquêtes et produit des rapports sur les incidents et les mesures correctives qui sont prises pour éviter la répétition d’incidents semblables.

5. L'Office intervient-il dans tous les cas de déversement dans la mer de Beaufort?

L’Office est l’organisme fédéral responsable d’intervenir en cas de déversement de pétrole dans l’Arctique canadien, lorsque le problème survient sur une plateforme de forage durant des opérations de forage. Si le déversement provient d’une plateforme non active, par exemple pendant le remorquage, la Garde côtière canadienne est alors l’organisme responsable de l’intervention.

6. Qui paie le nettoyage en cas de déversement?

Les sociétés du ressort de l’Office doivent prévenir, atténuer et gérer les incidents et les déversements de pétrole, peu importe leur ampleur ou leur durée.

Lors d’un incident, l’Office attend de l’exploitant qu’il s’occupe de nettoyer le pétrole déversé et de ramasser les débris, en plus de verser toutes les indemnisations appropriées. L’Office est en mesure de prendre en charge l’intervention en cas de déversement et de payer les indemnisations si l’exploitant ne s’acquitte pas correctement de ses responsabilités lors d’un incident.

Date de modification :