2017 NGTL System Expansion Project

Latest Updates

  • January 19, 2017 – NEB approves NGTL’s Plan, Profile and Book of Reference [Filing A81383].
  • November 2, 2016 – NGTL files proposed Plan, Profile and Book of Reference along with sample notices [Filing A80411].

National Energy Board approves NGTL’s Plan, Profile and Book of Reference

Once a company has received a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity to build a pipeline, one of the first steps is to file a Plan, Profile, and Book of Reference (PPBoR) with the NEB. This is a requirement under paragraphs 34(1)(a) and 34(1)(b) of the National Energy Board Act.

NGTL filed its proposed Plan, Profile, and Book of Reference, sample notices for service and publication along with its publication plan for the project on November 2, 2016 [Document 3070812]. The Board approved [Document 3084009] the notices and the plan on November 25, 2016.

A plan and profile is a drawing of the pipeline as seen from above (aerial view) and from the side (profile view) showing the exact proposed location of the pipeline. The book of referennewspapersce identifies the lands, provides the names of the landowners and landoccupants, and shows the dimensions (length, width and total area) of the right-of-way required for the pipeline.

NGTL was required to provide a written notice to all landowners with an interest in the lands along the proposed detailed route as well as publish its notice in various. You can review these newspaper notices [Document 3117736] on our website. The newspaper notice included a map and a list of the lands proposed to be crossed by the pipeline.

Landowners (and other persons anticipating that their lands may be adversely affected) had 30 days from the date they received the written notice to file a written statement of opposition to the proposed detailed route with the NEB. The NEB did not receive any objections to the detailed route.

On January 19, 2017, the NEB approved [Filing A81383] NGTL’s Plan, Profile, and Book of Reference.

What’s Next?

This project is now under construction.

Before beginning construction, NGTL was required to file information with the Board as per the requirements and timelines set out in the conditions attached to the project authorizations. The NEB evaluates this information against the specific requirements that must be met for each condition and follows up with the company if more information is needed.

The NEB intends to carry out inspections during the construction phase of the project to verify in person that regulatory expectations are being met.

You can read more about the conditions attached to the project authorizations and find links to the information filed by NGTL on our website at the following links:

Project Information

NOVA Gas Transmission Ltd. (NGTL) filed its regulatory application for the 2017 NGTL System Expansion Project (Project) on 31 March 2015. NGTL proposes to construct and operate new gas pipeline facilities in northern Alberta as part of its existing NGTL System. The expansion would include five new and separate pipeline section loops, totaling 230 kilometres, and the addition of two compression facilities. Approximately 90% of the project would parallel existing linear disturbances, such as pipelines and roads. The new facilities would consist of:

  • Northwest Mainline Loop - Boundary Lake Section (approx. 91 km)
  • Northwest Mainline Loop - Bear Canyon Section (approx. 27 km)
  • Grande Prairie Mainline Loop No. 2 - McLeod River Section (approx. 36 km)
  • Liege Lateral Loop No. 2 - Pelican Lake Section (approx. 56 km)
  • Kettle River Lateral Loop - Christina River Section (approx. 20 km)
  • Alces River Compressor Station Unit Addition
  • Otter lake Compressor Station Unit Addition

On June 1, 2016: Board released Recommendation Report [Filing A77316] recommending that the project be approved, subject to 36 conditions that will be enforced by the NEB.

On October 28, 2016, Governor in Council directed the National Energy Board (NEB) to issue a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity [Document 3074954] for the 2017 NGTL System Expansion Project. This Certificate and the Orders authorizing the construction and operation of the Project are subject to 48 conditions that will be enforced by the NEB.

Project Map

Review of the project – Key Milestones

  • October 28, 2016: Governor in Council directs NEB to issue Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity [Document 3074954]
  • June 1, 2016: Board releases Recommendation Report [Filing A77316]
  • March 9 2016: NGTL files reply argument [Filing A75871]; Hearing record closes
  • January 6, 2016: Board announces updated hearing timetable [Filing A74990]
  • December 10, 2015: Board releases an errata to draft conditions [Filing A74623]
  • November 30,2015: Board releases draft conditions for comment [Filing A74382]
  • October 27 – November 5, 2015 – Board hears Oral Traditional Evidence
  • September 9, 2015: Board releases draft conditions [Filing A72478]
  • July 31 2015: Board issues Hearing Order GH-002-2015 [Filing A71593
  • July 21 2015: Board issues List of Participants [Filing A71363]
  • June 18 – July 9 2015: Application to Participate process
  • March 31 2015: NGTL files its application [Filing A69317]

Hearing Documents

During the National Energy Board's review of this project, the evidence, letters of comment, Board decisions and other relevant documents were filed with the National Energy Board and placed on the Board's online document repository [Folder 2758964]. These documents are accessible to the public.

Lifecycle Regulation

While most Canadians only hear about the NEB’s involvement at the beginning of projects, it actually regulates Canada’s federal energy infrastructure throughout its entire lifecycle. We do not simply make a decision on a project and walk away. When approved projects are being built and operated, we inspect and audit them. When a pipeline has reached the end of its usefulness, we hold a hearing to review abandonment applications to ensure that it is abandoned in a safe and environmentally responsible manner.

In other words, the NEB regulates from “start to finish”, which can span the course of many decades. And we hold pipeline companies responsible for the full lifecycle of the pipelines they operate.

Here is the lifecycle of a regulated facility, showing the NEB’s involvement at each phase:

NEB Lifecycle Regulation

View larger PDF version [PDF 6815 KB]

Text version of this graphic

NEB oversight throughout the lifecycle: Regulations - Conditions - Inpections - Audits - Enforcement.
NEB requires companies to consult throughout the entire lifecycle, with those potentially affected.

  • Planning
  • Application to Construct and Operate
  • NEB Public Hearing Decision/Recommendation
  • Construction
  • NEB Decision on Safe Operation
  • Application for Leave to Open
  • Operation and Maintenance
  • Application to Abandon
  • NEB Public Hearing Decision
  • Abandonment

Project Requirements and Conditions

The NEB has imposed 36 conditions on this project that strengthen public safety, protection of the environment, and ensure continued consultation between the company, landowners and Aboriginal peoples.

Conditions are legal requirements that a company must meet to be allowed to construct and operate a project. Conditions are project-specific and are designed to protect the public and the environment by reducing possible risks identified during the hearing.

Conditions may require a company to submit documentation such as:

  • results of additional environmental and socio-economic assessments, species-specific studies, or traditional land use investigations;
  • engineering design details, and supporting assessments or information;
  • environmental protection plans;
  • mitigation and monitoring documentation;
  • construction schedules and progress reports; and
  • employee training programs and manuals.

The NEB evaluates the information provided by the company against the specific requirements that must be met for each condition and follows up with the company if more information is needed.

How does the NEB monitor pipeline safety?

We have a number of tools that we use to ensure that the companies that we regulate are meeting their commitments. The NEB uses Compliance Verification Activities to observe and gather information about the state of compliance in a specific area of a company’s operations, or to investigate whether companies are taking the appropriate preventive or corrective actions. Compliance Verification Activities include:

  • inspections (of facilities under construction or in operation)
  • emergency exercise evaluations
  • emergency procedures manuals reviews
  • formal compliance meetings (to check the progress of programs or corrective actions)
  • management system audits
  • reviews of post-construction monitoring reports

These activities are designed to determine if regulatory requirements are being met, to assess if enforcement is required, and to provide feedback to a company. If our staff sees something that is not in compliance with our regulations, they follow up to make sure that corrective actions have been put in place and apply appropriate enforcement actions if necessary.

Under the National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations (OPR), companies must immediately notify the National Energy Board (NEB) of any incident that relates to the construction, operation or abandonment of a pipeline.

As part of ongoing oversight of pipelines, companies are required to submit Operations and Maintenance Notifications, if they meet certain criteria (such as working near bodies of water). Operations and Maintenance Notifications, filed by NOVA Gas Transmission Ltd. (NGTL) for all of its pipelines, can be found on our website [Folder 561197].

Each year the NEB conducts more than 250 Compliance Verification Activities of regulated companies. These tools are effective in allowing the Board to proactively detect and correct non-compliances before they become issues.

News Releases

Contact Information

Contact NOVA Gas Transmission Limited (NGTL)

If you have questions about the project, including whether or not the pipeline could cross your property, please contact NGTL, a subsidiary of TransCanada Pipelines, at 1-855-458-6713 or via email at ngtl_2017@TransCanada.com

NEB Contacts

For questions about the 2017 NGTL System Expansion Project, please contact:

Heather.Dodds@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265

For media inquiries, please contact:

Media inquiries
E-mail: media@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265

Date modified:

Projet d’agrandissement du réseau de NGTL en 2017– GC-126

Derniers développements

  • 19 janvier 2017 – L’Office aprouve les plan, profil et livre de renvoi de NGTL [dépôt A81383].
  • 2 novembre 2016 – NGTL depose ses plan, profil et livre de renvoi ainsi que ses avis de publications pour le projet, en vue de les faire approuver par l’Office [dépôt A80411].

L’Office national de l’énergie approuve les plan, profil et livre de renvoi

Lorsqu’un certificat d’utilité publique est délivré à une société, l’une des premières étapes qui suit est le dépôt des plan, profil et livre de renvoi (PPLR) auprès de l’Office. Ces documents sont exigés par les alinéas  34(1)a) et 34(1)b) de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie.

Le 2 novembre 2016 [document 3070812 : anglais seulement], NGTL a déposé ses plan, profil et livre de renvoi ainsi que ses avis de publications pour le projet, en vue de les faire approuver par l’Office. L’Office les a approuvés [document 3084010] le 25 novembre 2016.

Les plan et profil sont des dessins du pipeline en vues aérienne et latérale, illustrant avec précision l’emplacement prévu. Le livre de renvoi décrit les terrains où le pipeline passera, renferme les noms de leurs propriétaires ou occupants et indique les dimensions (longueur, largeur et superficie totale) de l’emprise nécessaire.

NGTL devait signifier un avis écrit à tous les propriétaires des terrains situés le long du tracé détaillé proposé et publier des avis dans plusieurs journaux. Les avis publiés [dossier 3117736: anglais seulement] peuvent être consultés dans notre site Web. Les avis parus dans les journaux comprenaient une carte et une liste des terrains que le pipeline proposé traversera.

Les propriétaires des terrains (et autres personnes estimant que le tracé pourrait nuire à leurs terrains) avaient 30 jours pour transmettre à l’Office une déclaration écrite indiquant les motifs de leur opposition au tracé détaillé. L’Office n’a reçu aucune déclaration en ce sens.

Le 19 janvier 2017, l’Office a approuvé [dépôt A81383] les plan, profil et livre de renvoi de NGTL.

Et maintenant?

La construction du projet est amorcée.

Avant d’entreprendre la construction, toutefois, NGTL a dû transmettre à l’Office des renseignements pour se conformer aux conditions et échéances stipulées dans les documents autorisant la réalisation du projet. L’Office évalue l’information et la compare aux exigences précises à respecter pour chacune des conditions. Au besoin, il demande à la société de lui fournir davantage de renseignements.

L’Office a l’intention de mener des inspections pendant les travaux de construction du projet, afin de veiller, sur place, au respect des exigences réglementaires.

De plus amples renseignements sur les conditions rattachées aux autorisations relatives au projet et des liens vers les documents déposés par NGTL sont disponibles dans notre site Web en cliquant sur les liens suivants :

Renseignements sur le projet

Le 31 mars 2015, NOVA Gas Transmission Ltd. (NGTL) a déposé auprès de l’Office une demande concernant le projet d’agrandissement de son réseau en 2017 (le projet). NGTL propose de construire et d’exploiter de nouvelles installations gazières dans le nord de l’Alberta qui s’ajouteraient à son réseau existant. L’agrandissement comprendrait cinq nouveaux doublements de tronçons pipeliniers distincts, totalisant 230 kilomètres, et deux nouvelles installations de compression. Environ 90 % du projet serait parallèle aux perturbations linéaires existantes, comme des pipelines et des routes.

Les nouvelles installations se composeraient de ce qui suit :

  • le doublement de la canalisation principale Nord-Ouest – tronçon Boundary Lake (approx. 91 km)
  • le doublement de la canalisation principale Nord-Ouest – tronçon Bear Canyon (approx. 27 km)
  • le doublement de la canalisation principale no 2 Grand Prairie – tronçon McLeod River (approx. 36 km)
  • le doublement de la canalisation latérale no 2 Liege – tronçon Pelican Lake (approx. 56 km)
  • le doublement de la canalisation latérale Kettle River – tronçon Christina River (approx. 20 km)
  • l’addition de la station de compression Alces River
  • l’addition de la station de compression Otter Lake

Le 1er juin 2016, l’Office a rendu public son rapport de recommandation [dépôt A77316] dans lequel il a recommandé l’approbation du projet, sous réserve de 36 conditions qu’il fera respecter.

Le 28 octobre 2016, le gouverneur en conseil a donné instruction à l’Office national de l’énergie de délivrer un certificat d’utilité publique [document 3074954] pour le projet d’agrandissement du réseau de NGTL en 2017. Le certificat ainsi que les ordonnances autorisant la construction et l’exploitation du projet sont assortis de 48 conditions que l’Office fera respecter.

Carte du projet

Principaux jalons de l’examen du projet

  • 28 octobre 2016 : Le gouverneur en conseil a donné instruction à l’Office de délivrer un certificat d’utilité publique [document 3071692]
  • 1er juin 2016 : Publication du rapport de recommandation de l’Office [dépôt A77316]
  • 9 mars 2016 : Dépôt de la réplique de NGTL [dépôt A75871]; fermeture du dossier de l’audience
  • 6 janvier 2016 : Nouveau calendrier d’audience annoncé par l’Office [dépôt A74990]
  • 10 décembre 2015 : Publication par l’Office d’un errata sur les conditions provisoires [dépôt A74623]
  • 30 novembre 2015 : Publication par l’Office des conditions provisoires pour commentaires [dépôt A74382]
  • 27 octobre – 5 novembre 2015 : Présentation de la preuve traditionnelle orale à l’Office
  • 9 septembre 2015 : Publication par l’Office des conditions provisoires [dépôt A72478]
  • 31 juillet 2015 : Publication par l’Office de l’ordonnance d’audience GH-002-2015 [dépôt A71593]
  • 21 juillet 2015 : Publication par l’Office de la liste des participants [dépôt A71363]
  • 18 juin – 9 juillet 2015 : Processus de demande de participation
  • 31 mars 2015 : Dépôt de la demande de NGTL [dépôt A69317]

Documents d’audience

Pendant l’examen du projet, les éléments de preuve, lettres de commentaires, décisions de l’Office et autres documents pertinents ont été versés dans le répertoire électronique [dossier 2758964] de l’Office. Le public a accès à ces documents.

Réglementation tout au long du cycle de vie

La plupart des Canadiens savent que l’Office a un rôle à jouer au début des projets. En réalité, l’Office réglemente les infrastructures énergétiques canadiennes de compétence fédérale tout au long du cycle de vie. La tâche de l’Office ne s’arrête donc pas une fois qu’une décision a été rendue sur un projet. Il inspecte et vérifie les travaux pendant la construction et l’exploitation des projets approuvés. Lorsqu’un pipeline atteint la fin de sa vie utile, l’Office convoque une audience pour étudier la demande de cessation d’exploitation afin de s’assurer que les opérations se dérouleront de façon sûre et responsable sur le plan environnemental.

Autrement dit, l’Office réglemente du début à la fin, et ce travail peut s’étaler sur plusieurs décennies. En outre, il oblige les sociétés pipelinières à assumer la responsabilité de leurs installations tout au long du cycle de vie.

Voici le cycle de vie d’une installation réglementée ainsi que la participation de l’Office à chaque étape :

Cycle de vie d’un pipeline réglementé par l’Office

Visualisez la version PDF [PDF 6655 ko]

Version textuelle du graphique

Surveillance de l'Office tout au long du cycle de vie : Réglementation – Conditions – Inspections – Audits – Exécution
L'Office exige que les sociétés consultent, tout au long du cycle de vie, les personnes susceptibles d'être touchées.

  • Planification
  • Demande de construction et d'exploitation
  • Décision/recommandation à la suite d'une audience publique
  • Construction
  • Décision sur l'exploitation sans danger
  • Autorisation de mise en service
  • Exploitation et entretien
  • Demande visant la cessation d'exploitation
  • Décision à la suite d'une audience publique
  • Cessation d'exploitation

Exigences et conditions liées au projet

L’Office a imposé 36 conditions pour ce projet afin de renforcer la sécurité du public et la protection de l’environnement et d’assurer la poursuite des échanges  entre la société, les propriétaires fonciers et les populations autochtones.

Les conditions sont des exigences juridiques qu’une société doit respecter pour être autorisée à construire et à exploiter un projet. Les conditions sont propres à chaque projet et sont conçues pour protéger le public et l’environnement par l’atténuation des risques possibles relevés durant l’audience.

Les conditions peuvent obliger une société à présenter les documents suivants :

  • résultats d’autres évaluations environnementales et socioéconomiques, d’études propres à des espèces ou d’enquêtes sur l’usage des terres à des fins traditionnelles;
  • précisions sur la conception technique et évaluations ou renseignements à l’appui;
  • plans de protection de l’environnement;
  • documents sur l’atténuation et la surveillance;
  • calendriers des travaux et comptes rendus de chantier;
  • programmes et manuels de formation des employés.

L’Office évalue l’information fournie par la société et la compare aux exigences précises à respecter pour chacune des conditions, puis il fait un suivi auprès de la société s’il a besoin de renseignements supplémentaires.

Comment l’Office surveille-t-il la sûreté des pipelines?

L’Office utilise différents outils pour veiller à ce que les sociétés qu’il réglemente respectent les exigences qui leur sont imposées. L’Office a recours à des activités de vérification de la conformité pour observer et recueillir des renseignements sur la conformité des activités d’exploitation des sociétés dans un domaine particulier ou pour s’assurer que les mesures préventives et correctives appropriées sont mises en application. Les activités de vérification de la conformité comprennent ce qui suit :

  • inspections (d’installations en construction ou en exploitation);
  • évaluations d’exercices d’intervention en cas d’urgence;
  • examens de manuels des mesures d’urgence;
  • réunions officielles sur la conformité (pour vérifier l’état d’avancement des programmes et des mesures correctrices);
  • vérifications de systèmes de gestion;
  • études de rapports de surveillance après la construction.

Ces activités visent à déterminer si les exigences réglementaires sont respectées et si des mesures d’exécution sont requises et permettent de fournir une rétroaction aux sociétés. Lorsque les employés de l’Office relèvent des situations non conformes à la réglementation, ils font un suivi pour vérifier si des mesures correctives ont été mises en place et ils appliquent les mesures d’exécution appropriées au besoin.

Aux termes du Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres, les sociétés doivent signaler immédiatement à l’Office national de l’énergie tout incident lié à la construction, l’exploitation ou la cessation d’exploitation d’un pipeline.

Dans le cadre des activités de surveillance des pipelines, les sociétés sont tenues, dans certains cas, de présenter des avis d’activités d’exploitation et d’entretien (par exemple, si des activités sont réalisées à proximité de cours d’eau). Les avis déposés par Nova Gas Transmission Ltd. (NGTL) pour tous ses pipelines se trouvent dans notre site Web [dossier 561197].

Chaque année, l’Office mène plus de 250 activités de vérification de la conformité auprès des sociétés réglementées. Ces opérations sont efficaces pour permettre à l’Office de détecter et de corriger de façon proactive les situations de non-conformité avant qu’elles deviennent problématiques.

Communiqués

Coordonnées

Coordonnées de NOVA Gas Transmission Limited (NGTL)

Si vous avez des questions sur le projet, notamment pour savoir si le pipeline pourrait passer sur votre terrain, veuillez communiquer avec NGTL, une filiale de TransCanada PipeLines par téléphone au 1-855-458-6713 ou par courriel à ngtl_2017@TransCanada.com

Coordonnées de l’Office

Pour toute question concernant le projet d’agrandissement du réseau de NGTL en 2017, veuillez communiquer avec :

Heather.Dodds@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265

Pour les demandes des médias, les coordonnées sont les suivantes :

Demandes des médias
Courriel : media@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265

Date de modification :