Enbridge to begin building Line 3

As part of the NEB’s review of the Line 3 Replacement Project, we attached 89 conditions to the project.

Some of these conditions apply to the project throughout its lifecycle however; approximately 20 conditions require Enbridge to file documentation with the NEB before construction can begin, including four conditions that required the NEB’s approval. You can review these documents and any related NEB correspondence here [Folder 2985609]

We determined in late July that Enbridge had satisfied the requirements for those conditions that applied to the pre-construction phase of the project and the company will begin construction in early August.

This is not the end of our involvement with this project. Our staff will be on the ground at different times throughout the lifecycle of this pipeline, inspecting the project to make sure that Enbridge is complying with the commitments they have made, the project-specific conditions and our regulatory requirements.

In fact, our compliance and verification activities have already begun: we recently completed a pre-construction audit to make sure that Enbridge had established the necessary oversight to manage safety and environmental protection during construction. We’ll make our findings public in the coming weeks.

If you have any questions about the NEB’s oversight role, please contact our staff at Line3Replacement@neb-one.gc.ca

Date modified:

Mise en chantier prochaine de la canalisation 3 d’Enbridge

Au terme de son examen du projet de remplacement de la canalisation 3, l’Office a imposé 89 conditions.

Certaines de ces conditions s’appliqueront pendant tout le cycle de vie du projet, mais une vingtaine d’entre elles exigent qu’Enbridge transmette à l’Office des documents avant d’entreprendre la construction, à des fins d’approbation dans quatre cas. Il est possible de consulter ces documents et les lettres correspondantes de l’Office, le cas échéant [dossier 2985609].

Vers la fin de juillet, l’Office a établi qu’Enbridge avait rempli les conditions préalables à la construction du projet. La société entreprendra les travaux au début d’août.

Cela ne met toutefois pas pour autant fin à notre travail à l’égard de ce projet. À différents moments tout au long du cycle de vie du pipeline, notre personnel se rendra sur place pour procéder à des inspections et s’assurer qu’Enbridge respecte les engagements qu’elle a pris, se plie aux conditions propres au projet et satisfait à nos engagements réglementaires.

En réalité, nos activités de vérification de la conformité sont déjà amorcées, puisque nous avons récemment achevé un audit pour nous assurer qu’Enbridge a mis en place les mesures de surveillance nécessaires à la gestion de la sécurité et de la protection de l’environnement pendant la construction. Les conclusions de cet audit seront rendues publiques dans les prochaines semaines.

Si vous avez des questions concernant le rôle de surveillance de l’Office, veuillez communiquer avec notre personnel à l’adresse RemplacementCanalisation3@neb-one.gc.ca.

Date de modification :