Enbridge Pipelines Inc. - Line 9B Reversal and Line 9 Capacity Expansion Project - OH-002-2013

Latest Updates

This project is currently operating.

Some conditions require companies to submit ongoing documentation or filings with the NEB to demonstrate that they have met each condition. The NEB evaluates this information against the specific requirements that must be met for each condition and follows up with the company if more information is needed.

Project Information

On 29 November 2012, Enbridge filed an application [Filing A49446] under section 58 and Part IV of the National Energy Board Act to reverse a 639 km segment of Line 9 between North Westover, Ontario and Montreal, Québec.

In its application, Enbridge also filed a request to increase the capacity of the entire line from approximately 240,000 barrels per day (bpd) to approximately 300,000 bpd. Among other requests, Enbridge also asked for a revision to its Line 9 Rules and Regulations Tariff to allow for the transportation of heavy crude oil, and an exemption from having to apply for leave to open.

In a previous decision issued on 27 July 2012 [Filing A43137], the Board approved reversal of the western segment of Line 9 between Sarnia, Ontario and North Westover, Ontario. The requested reversal in flow direction from west to east for Line 9B would see the entire Line 9 revert back to the direction that was originally approved by the Board in 1975 and the direction in which Line 9 flowed for 23 years (between 1976 and 1999).

On 19 December 2012, the Board determined that the application was complete and its assessment could start. The NEB identified a number of issues for discussion during the hearing. You can find the complete List of Issues in Appendix I of the Hearing Order [Filing A50521]

The Board decided that for this project, the application would be considered through a hearing that included oral final argument. The oral final argument took place in October 2013 in Montreal and Toronto.

During the Board’s hearing process, it heard from participants regarding pipeline integrity, spills and emergency response, and also regarding Enbridge’s consultation efforts.

The Board received applications to participate from 178 persons or groups, of which 160 were granted as requested. Eleven persons who requested intervenor status were instead granted the opportunity to submit a letter of comment and seven were not granted standing. As a result, there were 60 Intervenors and 111 Commenters.

Of the 60 Intervenors, 45 filed written evidence in the proceeding. Enbridge and 40 Intervenors provided oral final argument, and 11 Intervenors provided written final argument. The Board also received 76 Letters of Comment.

From these Participants, the Board primarily heard concerns regarding pipeline safety and integrity, as well as concerns regarding the environmental impacts of potential spills from the Line 9 pipeline. Some concerns were raised that are not within the Board’s mandate to regulate, such as oilsands development, energy policy and greenhouse gas emissions.

You can find transcripts from the oral hearing on our website [Folder 1045209].

On 6 March 2014, the Board approved Enbridge's application, subject to 30 conditions. You can find the Board’s Reasons for Decision [Filing A59170] on our website.

On 6 February 2015 the Board approved condition 16 (valve placement) and condition 18 (watercourse crossing management plans) with regard to the Line 9B Reversal and Line 9 Capacity Expansion Project (Line 9). However, due to the specific characteristics of the landscape this pipeline traverses, the Board requires further detailed information and assessment with respect to valve placement through the lifecycle of the pipeline [Filing A65779].

On 18 June 2015, the Board determined that before Line 9B becomes operational, hydrostatic testing results of three segments of the pipeline must be provided and approved by the NEB. [Filing A70736]

Map

Compliance Verification and Enforcement Activities

Compliance Verification and Enforcement Activities
NEB Action Recipient Region/
Facility
Description Documents
(yyyy-mm-dd)
Board Order Enbridge Pipeline Inc. System wide Emergency back-up power and push button shut down keypads at pump stations

2013-03-15
Letter and Order

Compliance Verification Activity (CVA) Enbridge Pipelines Inc. Girth Welds 7950, 7880, and 7610 (ON) Field Inspection – Environmental Protection, 1617-070 2016-05-05
CVA Report
Operational Audit Enbridge Pipelines Inc. Canada Emergency Management Program 2015-07-15
Audit Report
Operational Audit Enbridge Pipelines Inc. Canada Environmental Protection Program 2015-07-15
Audit Report
Operational Audit Enbridge Pipelines Inc. Canada Third Party Crossings Program 2015-07-15
Audit Report
Operational Audit Enbridge Pipelines Inc. Canada Integrity Management Program 2015-07-15
Audit Report
Operational Audit Enbridge Pipelines Inc. Canada Safety Management Program 2015-07-15
Audit Report
Operational Audit Enbridge Pipelines Inc. Canada Public Awareness Program 2015-03-31
Audit Report
Letter from NEB Chair Enbridge Pipelines Inc. Line 9B Reversal and Line 9 Capacity Expansion Project, Westover to Montreal Terminal Request for information on use of Non-Disclosure Agreements regarding Emergency Information

2015-02-05
Letter

2015-03-02
Canadian Energy Pipeline Association Letter [PDF]

2015-03-04
Enbridge Letter

Hearing Documents

During the National Energy Board's review of this project, the evidence, letters of comment, Board decisions and other relevant documents were filed with the National Energy Board and placed on the Board's online document repository [Folder 890819]. These documents are accessible to the public. Funds awarded through our Participant Funding Program are announced in the Participant Funding Report.

Lifecycle Regulation

While most Canadians only hear about the NEB’s involvement at the beginning of projects, we actually regulates Canada’s federal energy infrastructure throughout its entire lifecycle. We do not simply make a decision on a project and walk away. When approved projects are being built and operated, we inspect and audit them. When a pipeline has reached the end of its usefulness, we hold a hearing to review abandonment applications to ensure that it is abandoned in a safe and environmentally responsible manner.

In other words, the NEB regulates from “start to finish”, which can span the course of many decades. And we hold pipeline companies responsible for the full lifecycle of the pipelines they operate.

Here is the lifecycle of a regulated facility, showing the NEB’s involvement at each phase:

Lifecycle of an NEB regulated pipeline

NEB Lifecycle Regulation

View larger PDF version [PDF 6815 KB]

Text version of this graphic

NEB oversight throughout the lifecycle: Regulations - Conditions - Inpections - Audits - Enforcement.
NEB requires companies to consult throughout the entire lifecycle, with those potentially affected.

  • Planning
  • Application to Construct and Operate
  • NEB Public Hearing Decision/Recommendation
  • Construction
  • NEB Decision on Safe Operation
  • Application for Leave to Open
  • Operation and Maintenance
  • Application to Abandon
  • NEB Public Hearing Decision
  • Abandonment

Project Requirements and Conditions

The NEB has imposed 30 conditions on this project that strengthen public safety, protection of the environment, and ensure continued consultation between the company, landowners and Aboriginal peoples.

Conditions are legal requirements that a company must meet to be allowed to construct and operate a project. Conditions are project-specific and are designed to protect the public and the environment by reducing possible risks identified during the hearing.

Conditions may require a company to submit documentation such as:

  • results of additional environmental and socio-economic assessments, species-specific studies, or traditional land use investigations;
  • engineering design details, and supporting assessments or information;
  • environmental protection plans;
  • mitigation and monitoring documentation;
  • construction schedules and progress reports; and
  • employee training programs and manuals.

Companies must submit ongoing documentation or filings with the NEB to demonstrate that they have met each condition. The NEB evaluates this information against the specific requirements that must be met for each condition and follows up with the company if more information is needed.

NEB Oversight

The NEB uses Compliance Verification Activities to observe and gather information about the state of compliance in a specific area of a company’s operations, or to investigate whether companies are taking the appropriate preventive or corrective actions. Compliance Verification Activities include:

  • inspections (of facilities under construction or in operation)
  • emergency exercise evaluations
  • emergency procedures manuals reviews
  • formal compliance meetings (to check the progress of programs or corrective actions)
  • management system audits
  • reviews of post-construction monitoring reports

These activities are designed to determine if legislation and expectations are being followed, to assess if enforcement is required, and to provide feedback to a company. If a noncompliance is noted, follow-up is undertaken to verify corrective actions have been put in place and to apply appropriate enforcement actions if necessary.

As part of ongoing oversight of pipelines, companies are required to submit Operations and Maintenance Notifications, if they meet certain criteria (such as working near bodies of water). Enbridge Operations and Maintenance Notifications, for all of its pipelines, can be found in the [Regulatory Document Index Folder 382920].

Incident History

Under the National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations (OPR), companies must immediately notify the National Energy Board (NEB) of any incident that relates to the construction, operation or abandonment of a pipeline.

Contact Information

If you have questions about the project, including whether or not the pipeline crosses your property, please contact Enbridge Pipelines at 1-888-967-3899 or via email at line9reversal@enbridge.com.

For questions about the Line 9B Project, please contact:

Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265

For media inquiries, please contact:

media@neb-one.gc.ca

Pipelines Enbridge Inc. - Projet d’inversion de la canalisation 9B et d’accroissement de la capacité de la canalisation 9 - OH-002-2013

Dernières mises à jour

Le projet est actuellement en exploitation.

Certaines conditions exigent des sociétés qu’elles déposent régulièrement de la documentation auprès de l’Office pour démontrer leur conformité à la condition. L’Office évalue l’information et la compare aux exigences précises à respecter pour chacune des conditions. Il assure en outre un suivi auprès de la société s’il a besoin de renseignements supplémentaires.

Renseignements sur le projet

Le 29 novembre 2012, Enbridge a déposé une demande [Dépôt A49446] aux termes de l’article 58 de la partie IV de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie en vue d’inverser un tronçon de 639 km de la canalisation 9 reliant North Westover, en Ontario, à Montréal, au Québec.

Dans sa demande, Enbridge a également demandé d’accroître la capacité de la canalisation dans son ensemble afin qu’elle passe d’environ 240 0000 barils par jour (bpj) à environ 300 000 bpj. Enbridge a également demandé la révision du tarif des règles et règlements de la canalisation 9 afin d’y inclure le transport de pétrole brut lourd, ainsi qu’une exemption à l’obligation de présenter une demande de mise en service.

Dans une décision précédente rendue le 27 juillet 2012 [Dépôt A43137] , l’Office a approuvé l’inversement du tronçon ouest de la canalisation 9, qui relie Sarnia, en Ontario, à North Westover, en Ontario. L’inversion demandée de la canalisation 9B d’ouest en est rétablirait le sens d’écoulement que l’Office a initialement approuvé en 1975 et qui a prévalu sur la canalisation 9 pendant 23 ans, soit de 1976 à 1999.

Le 19 décembre 2012, l’Office a jugé que la demande était complète et prête à être examinée. L’Office a relevé un certain nombre de questions durant l’audience. La liste complète des questions se trouve dans l’annexe I de l’ordonnance d’audience [Dépôt A50521].

L’Office a décidé que dans le cadre de ce projet, la demande serait évaluée par l’entremise d’une audience et que le processus comprendrait une plaidoirie finale orale. La plaidoirie finale orale a eu lieu en octobre 2013 à Montréal et à Toronto.

Pendant le processus d’audience, l’Office a entendu l’opinion des participants relativement à l’intégrité du pipeline, aux interventions en cas de déversement ou d’urgence et aux efforts de consultations d’Enbridge.

Cent soixante-dix-huit personnes ou groupes ont demandé à participer au processus d’audience et, de ce nombre, 160 demandes ont été acceptées telles quelles. Onze personnes qui demandaient le statut d’intervenant ont obtenu le droit de présenter une lettre de commentaires, et sept autres n’ont pas été autorisées à participer. Il y a donc eu 60 intervenants et 111 auteurs d’une lettre de commentaires.

Des 60 intervenants, 45 ont déposé une preuve dans le cadre de l’instance. Enbridge et 40 intervenants ont présenté une plaidoirie finale orale et 11 intervenants ont présenté une plaidoirie finale écrite. L’Office a en outre reçu 76 lettres de commentaires.

Ces participants ont surtout soulevé des préoccupations sur la sécurité et l’intégrité de la canalisation et sur les incidences environnementales d’un éventuel déversement causé par la canalisation 9. Certaines des préoccupations exprimées ne relèvent pas du mandat de réglementation de l’Office, comme la mise en valeur des sables bitumineux, les politiques énergétiques et les émissions de gaz à effet de serre.

Vous trouverez les transcriptions de l’audience dans le site Web de l’Office : [Dossier 1045209]

Le 6 mars 2014, l’Office a approuvé la demande d’Enbridge, sous réserve de 30 conditions. Les motifs de décision [Dépôt A59170] se trouvent dans le site Web de l’Office.

Le 6 février 2015, l’Office a approuvé les conditions 16 (emplacement des vannes) et 18 (plans de gestion des franchissements de cours d’eau) applicables au projet d’inversion de la canalisation 9B et d’accroissement de la capacité de la canalisation 9. Toutefois, compte tenu des caractéristiques particulières du milieu traversé par le pipeline, lʼOffice exige de lʼinformation et une évaluation plus détaillées en ce qui a trait à la disposition des vannes tout au long du cycle de vie du pipeline [Dépôt A65779].

Le 18 juin 2015, l’Office a déterminé que les résultats des essais hydrostatiques de trois tronçons du pipeline devaient lui être soumis pour approbation avant que la canalisation 9B puisse devenir opérationnelle [Dépôt A70736].

Carte

Activités de vérification de la conformité et d’exécution

Activités de vérification de la conformité et d’exécution
Mesure de l’Office Destinataire Région/
Installation
Description Documents
(aaaa-mm-jj)
Ordonnance de l'Office Pipelines Enbridge Inc. À la grandeur du réseau Alimentation de secours en cas d’urgence et tableaux avec commande d’interruption instantanée aux stations de pompage

2013-03-15
Lettre et ordonnance

Activité de vérification de la conformité Pipelines Enbridge Inc. Joints circulaires 7950, 7880, et 7610 (ON) Inspection sur le terrain – protection de l’environnement, 1617-070 2016-05-05
Rapport d’activité de vérification de la conformité
Vérification opérationnelle Pipelines Enbridge Inc. Canada Programme de gestion des situations d’urgence

2015-07-15
Rapport d'audit

Vérification opérationnelle Pipelines Enbridge Inc. Canada Programme de protection environnementale

2015-07-15
Rapport d'audit

Vérification opérationnelle Pipelines Enbridge Inc. Canada Programme de croisements par des tiers

2015-07-15
Rapport d'audit

Vérification opérationnelle Pipelines Enbridge Inc. Canada Programme de gestion de l'intégrité

2015-07-15
Rapport d'audit

Vérification opérationnelle Pipelines Enbridge Inc. Canada Programme de gestion de la sécurité

2015-07-15
Rapport d'audit

Vérification opérationnelle Pipelines Enbridge Inc. Canada Programme de sensibilisation du public

2015-03-31
Rapport d'audit

Lettre du président de l’Office Pipelines Enbridge Inc. Projet dʼinversion de la canalisation 9B et dʼaccroissement de la capacité de la canalisation 9, de Westover au terminal de Montréal Demande de renseignements sur le recours à des ententes de confidentialité à l’égard des mesures d’urgence

2015-02-05
Lettre

2015-03-02
Lettre de l'Association canadienne des pipelines d'énergie [anglais seulement : PDF]

2015-03-04
Lettre d'Enbridge [anglais seulement]

Documents d’audience

Pendant l’examen du projet, les éléments de preuve, lettres de commentaires, décisions de l’Office et autres documents pertinents ont été versés dans le répertoire électronique [Dossier 890819] de l’Office. Le public a accès à ces documents. Les montants accordés au titre du Programme d’aide financière aux participants sont annoncés dans le rapport sur l’aide financière aux participants.

Réglementation tout au long du cycle de vie

La plupart des Canadiens sont au fait de la participation de l’Office au début des projets, mais il faut savoir que l’Office réglemente les infrastructures énergétiques canadiennes de compétence fédérale tout au long du cycle de vie. Sa tâche ne s’arrête donc pas une fois qu’une décision a été rendue sur un projet. L’Office réalise des inspections et des audits pendant la construction et l’exploitation des projets. Quand un pipeline atteint la fin de sa vie utile, l’Office convoque une audience pour étudier les demandes de cessation d’exploitation afin de s’assurer que l’opération se fera de façon sûre et responsable sur le plan environnemental.

Autrement dit, l’Office exerce sa réglementation du début à la fin et ce travail peut s’étaler sur plusieurs décennies. En outre, il oblige les sociétés pipelinières à assumer la responsabilité de leurs installations tout au long du cycle de vie.

Voici le cycle de vie d’une installation réglementée ainsi que la participation de l’Office à chaque étape.

Cycle de vie d’un pipeline réglementé par l’Office

Cycle de vie d’un pipeline réglementé par l’Office

Visualisez la version PDF [PDF 6655 ko]

Version textuelle du graphique

Surveillance de l'Office tout au long du cycle de vie : Réglementation - Conditions - Inspections - Audits - Exécution
L'Office exige que les sociétés consultent, tout au long du cycle de vie, les personnes susceptibles d'être touchées.

  • Planification
  • Demande de construction et d'exploitation
  • Décision/recommandation à la suite d'une audience publique
  • Construction
  • Décision sur l'exploitation sans danger
  • Autorisation de mise en service
  • Exploitation et entretien
  • Demande visant la cessation d'exploitation
  • Décision à la suite d'une audience publique
  • Cessation d'exploitation

Exigences et conditions liées au projet

L’Office a imposé 30 conditions pour ce projet afin de renforcer la sécurité du public et la protection de l’environnement ainsi que d’assurer que les échanges se poursuivent entre la société, les propriétaires fonciers et les populations autochtones.

Les conditions sont des exigences juridiques qu’une société doit respecter pour être autorisée à construire et à exploiter un projet. Les conditions sont propres à un projet et sont conçues pour protéger le public et l’environnement par l’atténuation des risques possibles relevés durant l’audience.

Les conditions peuvent obliger une société à présenter de la documentation telle :

  • des résultats des autres évaluations environnementales et socioéconomiques, d’études propres à des espèces ou d’enquêtes sur l’usage des terres à des fins traditionnelles;
  • des précisions sur la conception technique ainsi que des évaluations ou des renseignements à l’appui;
  • des plans de protection de l’environnement;
  • des documents concernant l’atténuation et la surveillance;
  • des calendriers des travaux et des rapports d’étapes;
  • des programmes et des manuels de formation du personnel.

Les sociétés doivent constamment déposer de la documentation auprès de l’Office en vue de démontrer qu’elles se conforment à chacune des conditions. L’Office évalue l’information et la compare aux exigences précises à respecter pour chacune des conditions. Il assure en outre un suivi auprès de la société s’il a besoin de renseignements supplémentaires.

Surveillance de l’Office

L’Office a recours à des activités de vérification de la conformité pour faire des observations et recueillir des renseignements liés à la conformité des activités d’exploitation d’une société dans un domaine particulier et pour mener des enquêtes afin de s’assurer que les sociétés prennent les mesures préventives et correctives appropriées. Les activités de vérification de la conformité comprennent ce qui suit :

  • inspections (d’installations en construction ou en exploitation);
  • évaluations des exercices d’intervention en cas d’urgence;
  • examens de manuels des mesures d’urgence;
  • réunions officielles sur la conformité (pour vérifier l’état d’avancement des programmes et des mesures correctrices);
  • audits de systèmes de gestion;
  • études de rapports de surveillance après la construction.

Ces activités visent à déterminer si la législation et les attentes sont respectées et si des mesures d’exécution sont requises et permettent de fournir une rétroaction aux sociétés. En cas de non-conformité, on entreprend alors des activités de suivi afin de vérifier si des mesures correctrices ont été mises en place et de prendre les mesures d’exécution appropriées, au besoin.

Dans le cadre des activités de surveillance des pipelines, les sociétés sont tenues dans certains cas de présenter des avis d’activités d’exploitation et d’entretien (par exemple, si des activités sont réalisées à proximité de cours d’eau). Les avis d’activités d’exploitation et d’entretien d’Enbridge, pour tous les pipelines de cette dernière, se trouvent dans l’index des documents de réglementation [Dossier 2432299].

Incidents antérieurs

Aux termes du Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres, les sociétés doivent signaler immédiatement à l’Office national de l’énergie tout incident mettant en cause la construction, l’exploitation ou la cessation d’exploitation d’un pipeline.

Coordonnées

Si vous avez des questions au sujet du projet, notamment pour savoir si le pipeline traverserait votre propriété, communiquez avec Pipelines Enbridge par téléphone au 1-888-967-3899 ou par courriel à line9reversal@enbridge.com.

Veuillez utiliser les coordonnées suivantes pour transmettre vos questions au sujet du projet visant la canalisation 9B :

Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265

Prière d’adresser toute demande des médias à :

media@neb-one.gc.ca