Frequently Asked Questions - Project Overview and the Board's Role

Frequently Asked Questions - Project Overview and the Board's Role [PDF 196 KB]

Frequently Asked Questions - Enbridge Pipelines Inc.
Line 9B Reversal and Line 9 Capacity Expansion Project

Project Overview and the Board's Role

What is the Enbridge Pipelines Inc. Line 9B Reversal and Line 9 Capacity Expansion Project?

On 29 November 2012, Enbridge filed its application under section 58 and under Part IV of the National Energy Board Act. Enbridge is seeking approval for the reversal a 639 km segment of Line 9 between North Westover, Ontario and Montreal, Québec. In addition, Enbridge requested to increase the capacity of the entire Line 9 from approximately 240,000 barrels per day (bpd)) to approximately 300,000. Also included in the application is a request for the revision to the Line 9 Rules and Regulations Tariff to allow transportation of heavy crude oil.

If approved, the shift in flow direction from west to east would see the pipeline revert back to the direction that was originally approved in 1975. The current westward flow has been in place since 1999.

Is there a Line 9A?

No. The Line 9 Reversal Phase 1 Project was a separate project relating to Enbridge’s Line 9 Pipeline, which responded independently to market needs.

After an oral hearing phase consisting of final oral argument held in May 2012, the NEB released a letter of decision on 27 July 2012 approving Enbridge’s application for the Line 9 Reversal Phase 1 Project to allow crude oil to flow in an eastward direction between the Sarnia Terminal and the North Westover Station in southwestern Ontario.

The Board is now reviewing the Line 9B Reversal and Line 9 Capacity Expansion Project.

How will the Board review this application?

Applications like this project, filed under section 58 or Part IV of the NEB Act, do not automatically trigger a public hearing.

After the application was submitted, the NEB reviewed it and determined that it was in the interest of Canadians to hold a public hearing for the project, consisting of written evidence and oral final argument.

During a review of an application, the NEB considers all information that is relevant to the question of whether or not the application should be approved. Some of the topics that could be considered include:

  • the design of the project;
  • safety and security of the project;
  • environmental and socio-economic effects of the project;
  • impact of the project on potentially affected Aboriginal interests;
  • impact of the project on landowners and other potentially affected stakeholders; and
  • economic feasibility of the project.

What are the key dates for the review of this application?

The Hearing Order contains all the events and dates for this hearing process. Here are some of the key dates:

  • Hearing Order Issued (19 February 2013)
  • Deadline for Applications to Participate (19 April 2013)
  • Deadline for Letters of Comment (6 August 2013)

Are there any provincial approvals required for the project?

Beyond federal approval, companies are still required to obtain any applicable provincial or municipal permits and licenses. It is the responsibility of the applicant to determine what permits and licenses are required.

Where can I find more information about the project?

For information on this project or past projects, publicly filed documents are available on our website (www.neb-one.gc.ca). To navigate from our homepage, first click on “Major Applications and Projects”, then “Enbridge Pipelines Inc. - Line 9B Reversal and Line 9 Capacity Expansion Project”, and then “Regulatory Documents”.

Project information is also available directly from Enbridge at www.enbridge.com/line9b. If you have any questions or concerns, or if you require further information regarding this project, please call Enbridge at 1-888-767-3098 and leave your contact information, or send an e-mail to line9reversal@enbridge.com.

NEB Process

What is the purpose of a Hearing Order?

The Hearing Order contains important events and dates for this hearing process, and explains how to apply to participate. As a reference guide it can help individuals navigate through the process.

How can I participate in the hearing?

You can apply to participate using the Application to Participate form that the Board will release in a future Procedural Update. The Board may grant you the right to become an intervenor or submit a letter of comment. For more information, please review the next question and the s. 55.2 Guidance at Appendix VI of the Hearing Order.

Given the legislative changes brought about by the Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity Act, who is eligible to participate in the hearing?

In July 2012, Parliament passed the Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity Act, which changed the criteria for participating in a Board hearing. To participate in a hearing, you must either be directly affected or have relevant information or expertise. The Board is required to hear from persons who are directly affected, and may hear from persons who have relevant information or expertise. Anyone wishing to participate in a facilities hearing must apply for and be granted status to participate.

The goal of public hearings is to allow those with an interest in a project to participate in the process and express their views. Under the amended legislation, the NEB will decide on a case-by-case basis who is considered to be directly affected or who has relevant information or expertise based on their specific and detailed interest.

Your application to participate must clearly demonstrate a connection between your interests and the List of Issues to be discussed during the hearing. You must fully complete all required fields on the Application to Participate Form in order to be considered. The Board will only use the information provided on the form in its assessment.

If granted permission to participate, you may be permitted to participate as an intervenor or by filing of a letter of comment.

What is the deadline to apply to participate in the hearing?

Anyone wishing to participate in the hearing must apply by 19 April 2013. The Application to Participate Form will be available through the NEB’s website once it is released. The form will be released in a Procedural Update after the Board determines if a revised List of Issues will be issued.

Is there any funding available to participate in the hearing?

The Board is making available $200,000.00 under its Participant Funding Program to assist landowners, Aboriginal groups, incorporated non-industry, not-for-profit organisations, and other interested persons to participate in the regulatory process of the proposed project. Please review the Participant Funding Program Guide on the Board's website (www.neb-one.gc.ca) to determine when and how to apply for funding and what funding will cover.

Will the changes stemming from the Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity Act affect the NEB hearing process?

Among other changes, the Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity Act imposed time limits on hearings and changed the decision-making process for certificate applications. The NEB will continue to conduct its proceedings in an open, fair and impartial manner. The NEB has always strived for efficiency in our hearing processes and these new time limits will not impact our ability to complete the process to the high standards we maintain.

The Board retains the authority to make decisions on certain matters, such as Section 58 projects and applications related to tolls and tariffs. The Board also regulates the construction, operation and eventual abandonment of energy infrastructure projects under its jurisdiction.

How long will the hearing take?

On 19 December 2012, the NEB announced its decision to assess the Line 9B Reversal and Line 9 Capacity Expansion Application in a written hearing with oral final argument. The Oral Final Argument will be held the week of 26-30 August 2013, with the Board’s decision to be released at some time afterwards. The Board must issue an order or dismiss the Application before 19 March 2014.

A detailed timeline is available in Appendix II of the Hearing Order (please refer to the NEB’s website).

Who is the Process Advisor and how can he help me?

The Process Advisor is Michael Benson. He is available to answer your questions on the hearing and assist you with participation options. He can be contacted toll free at 1-866-899-1265 or by email at michael.benson@neb-one.gc.ca. See Appendix VIII of the Hearing Order for more information.

How to Participate

You must apply for and be granted participation rights by the National Energy Board (NEB or the Board) in order for your views to be considered in this hearing. Only information submitted by persons who are granted participation rights by the Board will be included on the record of this proceeding.

Interested persons must apply to participate in this proceeding by filling out the Application to Participate form, which will be available on the NEB website www.neb-one.gc.ca once the Board releases it in a Procedural Update.

The deadline for the Application to Participate is 19 April 2013.

If granted participation rights, the Board may grant you the right to:

  • Submit a Letter of Comment; or
  • Become an Intervenor.

Submit a Letter of Comment

A letter of comment allows you to present your knowledge, views or concerns on the project to the Board in writing.

You must apply to participate by 19 April 2013 to become a Letter of Comment Writer.

Become an Intervenor

The Board may grant an Intervenor the right to:

  • Provide written evidence;
  • Ask Information Requests of Enbridge and other Intervenors;
  • Give final argument; and/or
  • Other methods of participation as the Board considers appropriate.

Intervenors must also respond to Information Requests asked of them.

You must apply to participate by 19 April 2013 to become an Intervenor.

Environment

What is the National Energy Board’s (NEB or the Board) environmental mandate?

The Board’s role includes promoting safety and security, economic efficiency, and environmental protection in the Canadian public interest. The Board considers environmental protection as a component of the public interest and has included it as a goal in the NEB Strategic Plan:

The environment is protected throughout the lifecycle
of NEB-regulated facilities and activities.

Does the NEB conduct environmental assessments (EA)?

Yes. Since its inception in 1959, the NEB has always considered the environment when making regulatory decisions. The NEB has significant experience in considering potential environmental effects by conducting EAs and has been doing so long before the 1995 Canadian Environmental Assessment Act (CEA Act) came into force.

Will an EA be conducted for the Enbridge Line 9B Reversal and Line 9 Capacity Expansion Project?

Yes. The Board has and will continue to perform rigorous EAs under the NEB Act for proposed facilities under its jurisdiction, including this project.

How do recent changes to the CEA Act affect EAs for NEB regulated projects?

The NEB continues to conduct EAs for proposed NEB-regulated facilities. The Board is dedicated to the safety and protection of the environment and Canadians and will continue to perform this important assessment under the NEB Act even when an EA is not triggered by the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012.

What factors does the NEB consider during an EA?

The NEB conducts an EA as part of its review of applications for projects under its jurisdiction. The NEB considers many factors, including:

  • physical and meteorological environment
  • soil, soil productivity and vegetation
  • wetlands, water quality and quantity
  • fish, wildlife, and their habitat
  • species at risk or species of special status and related habitat
  • heritage resources
  • traditional land and resource use
  • human health, aesthetics and noise

The EA considers the likely environmental effects, the adequacy of proposed mitigation measures to protect the environment, and the significance of effects after the mitigation measures are implemented. The Board commonly imposes additional conditions on most proposed projects to ensure environmental protection measures are sufficient and certain.

Does the NEB have the expertise to conduct EAs?

Yes. The NEB has decades of experience conducting EAs, and approximately 50 Environment, Socio-economic, Lands and Engagement Specialists deployed to teams throughout the organization. These specialists conduct environmental and socio-economic assessments, environmental inspections, audits of environmental management systems, lands administration, and landowner complaint resolution.

What kind of environmental information must the company provide?

Companies are required to file information explaining how the proposed project is predicted to affect the environment and what measures they will take to avoid or mitigate impacts to the environment.

Hearing and compliance-related documents, including environmental reports submitted by applicants, are available for public viewing on our website and from the NEB library.

To view a complete list of what the NEB requires from its regulated companies regarding EAs for proposed projects, you can view our Filing Manual.

Pipeline Safety

Will the National Energy Board (NEB or the Board) consider pipeline safety and security in its assessment of the Enbridge Pipelines Inc. Line 9B Reversal and Line 9 Capacity Expansion Project?

Yes. The Board will consider pipeline safety and security as part of its assessment and will not approve the project if it cannot be undertaken safely.

How does the Board monitor pipeline companies?

The NEB puts safety and environmental protection at the forefront of its responsibilities in protecting Canadians, and expects the companies it regulates to continually assess and continually improve their safety and environmental performance.

The NEB’s dedication to pipeline safety and security continues after a project is approved. The Board regulates pipelines throughout their lifecycle, from application to abandonment, to ensure companies remain effective in managing safety and environmental protection.

The NEB holds companies accountable for results in the public interest using a rigorous compliance monitoring and enforcement program, which includes compliance audits and the inspection of construction and operating facilities. When a violation or an unsafe condition is detected, the NEB expects immediate correction and an assessment of the root causes in order to prevent the issue from happening again. Failure to address a violation or unsafe condition can result in further NEB sanction, such as suspension of operation.

What happens if there is a release?

The NEB’s focus is on preventing accidents from happening in the first place. The NEB expects regulated companies to strive for zero spills or releases. However, should an incident occur, the NEB’s top priority is the safety and security of people, as well as the protection of the environment.

Each regulated company must maintain an up-to-date emergency procedure manual outlining the company emergency management procedures to be followed during an incident. The procedures must address emergency management, environmental protection, and worker and public safety. This plan must be on file with the NEB and the Transportation Safety Board (TSB).

Companies are responsible for reporting the incident to the TSB and the NEB and for implementing their emergency response plan. The Board would then initiate its incident response procedures, which may include activation of its Emergency Operations Centre where appropriate.

The NEB will verify that a company conducts an adequate and appropriate clean-up and remediation of any environmental effects resulting from the incident.

I heard in the media that the project application includes changing the type of oil being transported in Line 9? Will the Board take this into consideration when making its decision?

Yes, the application includes a revision to the Line 9 Rules and Regulations Tariff to allow the transportation of heavy crude. This revision will be part of the Board’s decision regarding the project.

In making its decision on the project, the Board will consider a number of factors including the nature of the product in the pipeline. Incident response plans are expected to consider the nature of the product(s) in a pipeline.

Date modified:

Foire aux questions - Aperçu du project et rôle de l’ONÉ

Foire aux questions - Aperçu du project et rôle de l’ONÉ [PDF 193 ko]

Foire aux question - Pipelines Enbridge Inc.
Projet d’inversion de la canalisation 9B et
d’accroissement de la capacité de la canalisation 9

Aperçu du projet et rôle de l'ONÉ

Qu'est-ce que le projet d'inversion de la canalisation 9B et d'accroissement de la capacité de la canalisation 9 de Pipelines Enbridge Inc.?

Le 29 novembre 2012, Enbridge a présenté une demande aux termes de l'article 58 et de la partie IV de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie. Enbridge veut faire approuver l'inversion d'un tronçon de 639 km de la canalisation 9 entre North Westover (Ontario) et Montréal (Québec). En outre, Enbridge a demandé la permission d'accroître la capacité totale de la canalisation 9, qui passerait d'environ 240 000 barils par jour (b/j) à approximativement 300 000. La demande vise également la révision du tarif des règles et règlements de la canalisation 9 afin de permettre le transport de pétrole brut lourd.

Si la demande est approuvée, l’inversion d’ouest en est rétablirait le sens d’écoulement approuvé à l'origine en 1975. Le sens d’écoulement actuel d’est en ouest remonte à 1999.

Y a-t-il une canalisation 9A?

Non. La première étape du projet d'inversion de la canalisation 9 d’Enbridge constituait un projet distinct, qui visait à répondre à des besoins différents du marché.

Au terme d’une audience orale consistant en une plaidoirie orale finale tenue en mai 2012, l’ONÉ a publié une lettre de décision le 27 juillet 2012, approuvant la demande d'Enbridge relative à la première étape de l’inversion de la canalisation 9, pour permettre l’écoulement du pétrole brut vers l'est entre le terminal de Sarnia et la station de North Westover, dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario. 

L'Office examine maintenant le projet d'inversion de la canalisation 9B et d'accroissement de la capacité de la canalisation 9.

Comment l'Office étudiera-t-il cette demande?

Les demandes présentées en vertu de l’article 58 ou de la partie IV de la Loi sur l’ONÉ n’entraînent pas automatiquement la tenue d’une audience publique.

L'Office a jugé que la demande soumise était complète et qu'il était conforme à l'intérêt de la population canadienne de tenir pour ce projet une audience publique par voie de mémoires et de plaidoirie finale orale.

Lorsque l’Office étudie une demande, il considère tous les renseignements pertinents pour déterminer si la demande devrait être approuvée ou non. Voici certains des facteurs qu’il prend en considération :

  • la conception du projet;
  • la sécurité et la sûreté du projet;
  • les effets environnementaux et socio-économiques du projet;
  • les effets du projet sur les intérêts autochtones pouvant être touchés;
  • les effets du projet sur les propriétaires fonciers et autres parties prenantes susceptibles d’être touchées;
  • la faisabilité économique du projet.

Quelles sont les dates-clés pour l'examen de cette demande?

L’ordonnance d’audience renferme la liste de tous les événements prévus ainsi que les dates pour ce processus d'audience. Voici certaines des dates-clés :

  • Publication de l’ordonnance d’audience (19 février 2013)
  • Date limite pour faire une demande de participation (19 avril 2013)
  • Date limite pour les lettres de commentaires (6 août 2013)

Y a-t-il des approbations requises au niveau provincial pour ce projet?

Outre l'approbation fédérale, les sociétés doivent obtenir les permis et licences applicables délivrés à l'échelle provinciale ou municipale. Il incombe aux demandeurs de déterminer quels sont les permis et licences nécessaires.

Où puis-je trouver plus d'information sur le projet?

Pour plus d'information sur ce projet ou d'autres projets antérieurs, consultez les documents mis à la disposition du public et accessibles dans notre site Web (www.one-neb.gc.ca). Pour naviguer à partir de notre page d'accueil, cliquez sur Demandes et projets d'envergure, puis sur Pipelines Enbridge Inc. - Projet d'inversion de la canalisation 9B et d'accroissement de la capacité de la canalisation 9, et enfin sur Documents de réglementation.

Il est également possible d'obtenir de l'information sur le projet directement d'Enbridge à www.enbridge.com/line9b. Si vous avez des questions, ou si vous désirez un complément d'information sur ce projet, téléphonez à Enbridge au 1-888-767-3098 et laissez vos coordonnées, ou envoyez un courriel à line9reversal@enbridge.com.

Processus de l’ONÉ

Quel est le but de l’ordonnance?

L'ordonnance d'audience indique les activités et dates importantes pour le processus d'audience qui nous intéresse, et explique comment faire une demande de participation. Elle peut servir de manuel de référence pour guider les personnes intéressées tout au long du processus.

Comment peut-on participer à l'audience?

Il suffit d'utiliser le formulaire de demande de participation qui sera inclus dans une prochaine mise à jour procédurale de l'Office. Ce dernier peut vous accorder le statut d'intervenant ou vous autoriser à soumettre une lettre de commentaires. Pour plus d'information, reportez-vous à la question suivante et à l'article 55.2 des conseils figurant à l'annexe VI de l'ordonnance d'audience.

Compte tenu des modifications législatives entraînées par la Loi sur l’emploi, la croissance et la prospérité durable, qui peut participer à l’audience?

En juillet 2012, le Parlement a adopté la Loi sur l'emploi, la croissance et la prospérité durable, qui a eu pour effet de changer les critères établis pour la participation aux audiences de l'Office. Pour participer à une audience, il faut être touché directement ou encore posséder de l'information pertinente ou de l'expertise. L'Office doit entendre les personnes qui sont touchées directement, et peut entendre celles qui possèdent de l'information pertinente ou de l'expertise. Toute personne souhaitant prendre part à une audience visant des installations doit présenter une demande et obtenir le statut de participant.

Les audiences publiques ont pour but de permettre aux personnes concernées par le projet de participer au processus et d’exprimer leurs vues. Aux termes de la loi modifiée, l'ONÉ détermine au cas par cas qui est directement touché ou qui possède de l'information pertinente ou de l'expertise en fonction des intérêts particuliers et détaillés de chacun.

Votre demande de participation doit démontrer clairement un lien entre vos intérêts et la liste des questions dressée en vue de l'audience. Vous devez remplir tous les champs obligatoires du formulaire pour que votre demande de participation soit considérée. L'Office utilise les renseignements fournis uniquement pour évaluer les demandes.

Si vous obtenez la permission de participer, vous pouvez être autorisé à intervenir ou à déposer une lettre de commentaires. 

Quelle est la date limite pour faire une demande de participation à l'audience?

Les personnes intéressées à participer à l'audience doivent faire une demande d'ici le 19 avril 2013. Le formulaire de demande de participation sera disponible dans le site Web de l'ONÉ dès qu'il aura été rendu public. Ce formulaire sera publié dans une mise à jour procédurale après que l'Office aura déterminé si une liste de questions révisée doit être envoyée.

Y a-t-il de l’aide financière offerte pour participer à l'audience?

L'Office a un montant de 200 000 $ disponible au titre du Programme d’aide financière aux participants pour aider les propriétaires fonciers, groupes autochtones, sociétés à but non lucratif non reliées à l'industrie et autres personnes intéressées à prendre part au processus de réglementation du projet envisagé. Veuillez consulter le Guide sur le Programme d’aide financière aux participants, dans le site Web de l'Office (www.one-neb.gc.ca) pour savoir quand et comment faire une demande, et quels sont les frais couverts.

Les changements découlant de la Loi sur l’emploi, la croissance et la prospérité durable ont-ils un effet sur le processus d’audience de l’ONÉ?

Parmi les changements occasionnés par la Loi sur l’emploi, la croissance et la prospérité durable, mentionnons les délais d’exécution prescrits pour les audiences et le processus décisionnel modifié pour les demandes de certificat. Les instances de l’Office continueront d’être dirigées d’une manière ouverte, équitable et impartiale. L’Office s'est toujours efforcé de tenir des processus d’audience efficaces; les délais d’exécution n’auront pas d’incidence sur sa capacité à maintenir ses normes élevées.

L’Office conserve le pouvoir de rendre des décisions sur certaines questions comme les projets présentés aux termes de l’article 58 et les demandes portant sur les droits et tarifs. L’Office réglemente aussi la construction, l’exploitation et la cessation d’exploitation des projets d’infrastructure énergétique qui sont de son ressort.

Combien de temps l'audience durera-t-elle?

Le 19 décembre 2012, l'ONÉ a annoncé sa décision d’étudier la demande d’inversion de la canalisation 9B et d’accroissement de la capacité de la canalisation 9 pendant une audience qui se tiendra par voie de mémoires et plaidoirie finale orale. La plaidoirie finale orale aura lieu la semaine du 26 au 30 août 2013, et la décision de l'Office sera rendue peu après. L'Office doit rendre une ordonnance ou rejeter la demande avant le 19 mars 2014.

Un calendrier détaillé est présenté à l'annexe II de l'ordonnance d'audience  (voir le site Web de l'ONÉ).

Qui est le conseiller en processus et comment peut-il m'aider?

Le conseiller en processus est Michael Benson. Il peut répondre à vos questions sur l'audience et vous aider en ce qui a trait aux options de participation. Vous pouvez le joindre sans frais au 1-866-899-1265 ou par courriel à michael.benson@neb-one.gc.ca. Consultez l'annexe VIII de l'ordonnance d'audience pour un complément d'information.

Comment participer

Pour faire valoir votre opinion dans le cadre de cette audience, vous devez présenter une demande à l'Office national de l'énergie (l'ONÉ ou l'Office) en vue d'obtenir le droit d'y participer. Seule l'information présentée par des personnes à qui ce droit de participation a été accordé par l'Office sera versée au dossier de cette instance.

Les personnes intéressées doivent demander la permission de participer à cette instance en remplissant le formulaire de demande de participation, qui sera affiché dans le site Web de l'ONÉ www.one-neb.gc.ca une fois que l'Office l'aura publié dans une mise à jour procédurale.

La date limite pour faire une demande de participation est le 19 avril 2013.

Si vous obtenez le droit de participer, l'Office peut vous autoriser à faire ce qui suit :

  • soumettre une lettre de commentaires;
  • agir à titre d'intervenant.

Lettre de commentaires

La lettre de commentaires permet de communiquer à l'Office par écrit des connaissances, points de vue ou préoccupations sur le projet.

La demande de participation doit être soumise au plus tard le 19 avril 2013 pour pouvoir présenter une lettre de commentaires.

Agir à titre d'intervenant.

L'Office peut accorder aux intervenants le droit de faire ce qui suit :

  • présenter une preuve écrite;
  • adresser des demandes de renseignements à Enbridge et à d'autres intervenants;
  • prononcer une plaidoirie finale;
  • participer d'une autre façon jugée appropriée par l'Office.

Les intervenants doivent aussi répondre aux demandes de renseignements qui leur sont adressées.

La demande de participation doit être soumise au plus tard le 19 avril 2013 pour obtenir le statut d'intervenant. 

L’environnement

Quel est le mandat environnemental de l'Office national de l'énergie (l'ONÉ ou l'Office)?

Le rôle de l'Office englobe la promotion de la sécurité, de la sûreté, de l'efficience économique et de la protection de l'environnement dans l'intérêt public de la population canadienne. L'Office considère la protection de l'environnement comme un aspect de l'intérêt public, qu'il a d'ailleurs inclus parmi les buts de son plan stratégique :

L’environnement est protégé pendant tout le cycle de vie des installations et activités réglementées par l’ONÉ.

L'ONÉ mène-t-il des évaluations environnementales (EE)?

Oui. Depuis sa mise sur pied en 1959, l’ONÉ a toujours tenu compte de l’environnement dans ses décisions de réglementation. L'ONÉ possède une expérience appréciable de l'étude des effets possibles sur l'environnement au moyen d'EE, ce qu'il faisait bien longtemps avant que la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale (LCEE) de 1995 entre en vigueur.

Y aura-t-il une EE pour le projet d'inversion de la canalisation 9B et d'accroissement de la capacité de la canalisation 9 d'Enbridge?

Oui. L'Office continuera d'effectuer des EE rigoureuses en application de la Loi sur l'ONÉ pour les installations proposées relevant de sa compétence, y compris le projet dont il est question ici.

Quel est l'effet des modifications apportées récemment à la LCEE sur les projets réglementés par l'ONÉ?

L'ONÉ continue à mener des EE pour les projets d'installations qu'il réglemente. L'Office est résolu à assurer la sécurité et la protection de l'environnement et de la population canadienne, et il continuera à accomplir cette tâche importante en vertu de la Loi sur l'ONÉ même quand une EE n'est pas enclenchée par la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012).

Quels facteurs sont étudiés par l’ONÉ au cours d'une EE?

L'ONÉ effectue des EE lorsqu'il examine des demandes relatives à des projets qui sont de son ressort. L'ONÉ prend de nombreux facteurs en considération, y compris les suivants :

  • environnement physique et météorologique
  • sol, productivité du sol et végétation
  • zones humides, qualité de l’eau et quantité
  • poisson, faune et habitat  
  • espèces en péril ou à statut particulier et habitats connexes 
  • ressources patrimoniales
  • utilisation des ressources et des terres à des fins traditionnelles
  • santé humaine, esthétique et bruit

L'EE étudie les effets environnementaux probables ainsi que le caractère adéquat des mesures d'atténuation proposées pour protéger l'environnement, et l'importance des effets après leur mise en œuvre. L'Office impose généralement des conditions supplémentaires à la plupart des projets afin que les mesures de protection de l'environnement soient suffisantes et sûres.

L’ONÉ possède-t-il l’expertise voulue pour mener des EE?

Oui. L’ONÉ possède des décennies d'expérience dans le domaine, et il compte une cinquantaine de spécialistes en environnement, en questions socioéconomiques, en questions foncières et en participation. Ces spécialistes réalisent des évaluations environnementales et socioéconomiques, des inspections environnementales et des vérifications des systèmes de gestion de l’environnement, en plus de s'occuper de l’administration des terres et du règlement des plaintes des propriétaires fonciers. 

Quel type d'information environnementale les sociétés doivent-elles fournir?

Les sociétés doivent déposer de l'information expliquant les effets que pourra avoir le projet sur l'environnement et les mesures prévues pour éviter ou atténuer ces effets.

Les documents d'audience et relatifs à la conformité, y compris les rapports environnementaux soumis par les demandeurs, sont mis à la disposition du public dans le site Web et à la bibliothèque de l'ONÉ.

Pour voir tout ce que l'ONÉ exige des sociétés qu'il réglemente en ce qui a trait aux EE applicables aux projets envisagés, consultez le Guide de dépôt.

Sécurité des pipelines

L'Office national de l'énergie (l'ONÉ ou l'Office) examinera-t-il la sûreté et la sécurité des pipelines dans son évaluation du projet d'inversion de la canalisation 9B et d'accroissement de la capacité de la canalisation 9 de Pipelines Enbridge Inc.?

Oui. L'Office examinera la sûreté et la sécurité des pipelines au cours de son évaluation, et le projet ne sera pas approuvé s'il ne peut pas être entrepris en toute sécurité.

Comment l'Office surveille-t-il les sociétés pipelinières?

L’Office met la sécurité et l’environnement en tête de liste de ses responsabilités pour protéger la population canadienne, et il s'attend à ce que les sociétés qu’il réglemente évaluent et améliorent constamment leur rendement à cet égard.

L'engagement de l'ONÉ pour la sûreté et la sécurité des pipelines se poursuit après qu'un projet a été approuvé. L'Office réglemente les pipelines pendant toute la durée de leur cycle de vie, depuis la demande jusqu'à la cessation d'exploitation, afin que les sociétés continuent à gérer efficacement la sécurité et la protection de l'environnement.

L'ONÉ tient les sociétés responsables de produire des résultats dans l’intérêt public au moyen d’un programme rigoureux de surveillance de la conformité et du respect des exigences imposées. Lorsqu'une infraction ou une situation risquée est repérée, l’Office s’attend à ce que le problème soit corrigé sans délai et à ce que les causes fondamentales soient évaluées afin que cela ne se reproduise plus. Si l'infraction ou la situation risquée n'est pas corrigée, l'ONÉ peut infliger une sanction, telle que l'interruption des activités.

Qu'arrive-t-il en cas de rejet?

L'ONÉ vise d'abord et avant tout à prévenir les accidents. Il s'attend à ce que les sociétés réglementées fassent tout en leur possible pour éviter tout déversement ou rejet. Néanmoins, lorsqu'un accident survient, la priorité absolue de l'ONÉ est la sûreté et la sécurité des personnes, de même que la protection de l'environnement. 

Toutes les sociétés réglementées doivent tenir à jour un manuel des mesures d’urgence décrivant le plan de gestion des urgences à suivre lors d'un incident. Les mesures doivent englober la gestion des urgences, la protection de l’environnement et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public. Ce plan doit être consigné aux dossiers de l'ONÉ et du Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST).

Les sociétés sont tenues responsables de signaler les incidents au BST et à l'ONÉ, et d'appliquer leur plan d'intervention d’urgence. L'Office lance ensuite ses mesures d'intervention en cas d'incident, qui peuvent inclure l'activation du Centre des opérations d'urgence au besoin.

L'ONÉ vérifie si les opérations menées par une société pour nettoyer et atténuer les effets environnementaux causés par l’incident sont suffisantes et adéquates.

J'ai entendu dans les médias que la demande vise aussi un changement du type de pétrole acheminé par la canalisation 9. L'Office tiendra-t-il compte de cela avant de rendre sa décision?

Oui, la demande inclut la révision du tarif des règles et règlements de la canalisation 9 afin de permettre le transport de brut lourd. Cette révision fait partie de la décision que rendra l'Office relativement au projet.

Avant de rendre une décision, l'Office considérera un certain nombre de facteurs, notamment la nature du produit dans le pipeline. Les plans d'intervention en cas d'incident devraient tenir compte de la nature des produits dans un pipeline.

Date de modification :