TransCanada Pipelines: Iroquois, Ottawa and Richmond Meter Stations

Project Information

TransCanada Pipelines Ltd. (TransCanada) applied to the National Energy Board (NEB) for permission to build and operate three meter stations on the existing Transanada Mainline System (Canadian Mainline). Specifically, the three meter stations are:

Iroquois Export Bi-Directional Modification Project (Iroquois Project)

The proposed Iroquois Project will modify the existing Iroquois Export Meter Station to facilitate bi-directional flow on the existing NPS 30 (750 mm), 4.5 kilometre (km) section of Line 1400-1 on the TransCanada Mainline System (Canadian Mainline).

The Project will be located entirely on TransCanada-owned land, approximately five km northeast of Iroquois, Ontario.

Ottawa Sales Meter Station Upgrade Project (Ottawa Project)

The proposed Ottawa Project will upgrade the existing Ottawa Sales Meter Station to provide measurement of sweet natural gas to meet a customer’s long term delivery transportation requirement of 320,000 GJ/d. The existing meter station, including the existing instrument building, will be decommissioned as part of the Ottawa Project.

The Ottawa Project is located entirely on TransCanada-owned lands within the City of Ottawa, Ontario and may require temporary workspace during construction on a previously disturbed and graveled area owned by the National Capital Commission, north of the existing sales meter station site.

Richmond North Sales Meter Station Project (Richmond Project)

The proposed Richmond Project will replace the existing Richmond Sales Meter Station with a new station to provide measurement of sweet natural gas to meet a customer’s long term delivery transportation requirement of 374,000 GJ/d. The Richmond Project includes the installation of a new sales meter station, associated metering infrastructure and approximately 500 m of NPS 20 lateral piping to connect the mainline tie-in with the sales meter station.

The existing Richmond Sales Meter Station, including the existing instrument building and approximately 500 m of NPS 12 piping, will be decommissioned in place as part of the Richmond Project.

The Richmond Project will be located entirely on TransCanada owned land approximately 7 km south of the town of Stittsville, within the City of Ottawa, Ontario. The construction footprint is approximately 3.3 ha, of which the new sales meter station will occupy 0.3 ha and all new above-ground facilities will be located in a fenced area.

Project Map of Locations

Iroquois Export Bi-Directional Modification Project, Ottawa Sales Meter Station Upgrade and Richmond North Sales Meter Station Map

View larger PDF version [PDF 548 KB]

Written Hearing Process

A Hearing Panel (Panel) comprised of three NEB Board Members has been formed.  Based on public interest the Board has established a written hearing process for these applications that strikes a balance between procedural fairness and efficiency. This process has been established under Section 24(3) of the NEB Act. Holding a hearing under section 24(3) of the NEB Act also provides registered interveners with access to the NEB’s Participant Funding Program.

Support for Hearing Participants

Process Advisor

The NEB has assigned a Process Advisor for this proceeding. The Process Advisor’s role is to support the public (e.g., landowners, concerned citizens, environmental non-governmental organizations) and the indigenous people and groups that are participating in public hearings.

For more information, please contact the Board’s Process Advisor at the contact information below.

Participant Funding

Participant funding is available. Refer to the Participant Funding Program page for information on deadlines, eligibility, how to apply for funding, and how to submit claims. Please email PFP.PAFP@neb-one.gc.ca or call 1-800-899-1265 (toll-free) by 18 September 2017 if you need funding to participate.

Regulatory Documents

  • TransCanada PipeLines Limited – Iroquois Export Bi-Directional Modification Project [Filing A81787]
  • TransCanada PipeLines Limited – Ottawa Sales Meter Station Upgrade [Filing A81828]
  • TransCanada PipeLines Limited – Richmond North Sales Meter Station [Filing A81830]
  • Hearing Order GHW-001-2017 [Filing A85635]

Contacts

For process-related inquiries, please contact:

National Energy Board
E-mail: TCPLIroquois.ProcessHelp@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Sharon Wong
Regulatory Officer

National Energy Board
E-mail: sharon.wong@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-299-3191
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

For media inquiries, please contact:

Darin Barter
Communications Officer
National Energy Board
E-mail: darin.barter@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-299-3371
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Date modified:

TransCanada PipeLines – Stations de comptage Iroquois, Ottawa et Richmond

Renseignements sur le projet

TransCanada Pipelines Ltd. (TransCanada) a demandé à l’Office national de l’énergie la permission de construire et d’exploiter trois stations de comptage sur son réseau principal (le « réseau principal au Canada »). Il s’agit des trois stations de comptage suivantes : 

Projet de modification de la station de comptage Iroquois (exportation) en vue d’un écoulement bidirectionnel (le « projet Iroquois »)

Le projet Iroquois consiste à modifier la station de comptage Iroquois (exportation) de manière à permettre l’écoulement bidirectionnel dans une section NPS 30 (750 mm) de 4,5 km de la canalisation 1400-1 du réseau principal de TransCanada (le « réseau principal au Canada »).

Le projet se déroulera entièrement sur un terrain appartenant à TransCanada, environ 5 km au nord-est d’Iroquois, en Ontario.

Projet de mise à niveau de la station de comptage au point de vente Ottawa (le « projet Ottawa »)

Le projet Ottawa consiste à mettre à niveau la station de comptage au point de vente Ottawa pour mesurer le gaz naturel non corrosif afin de répondre au besoin de livraison à long terme de 320 000 gigajoules par jour (GJ/j) à un client. La station de comptage existante, y compris le bâtiment d’instrumentation, sera désaffectée dans le cadre du projet Ottawa.

Le projet Ottawa est prévu entièrement sur des terrains appartenant à TransCanada dans les limites de la ville d’Ottawa, en Ontario. Une aire de travail temporaire pourrait être requise pour la construction dans une zone en gravier déjà perturbée appartenant à la Commission de la capitale nationale, au nord du site de la station actuelle de comptage au point de vente.

Projet de station de comptage au point de vente Richmond North (le « projet Richmond »)

Le projet Richmond consiste à remplacer la station de comptage au point de vente Richmond existante pour mesurer le gaz naturel non corrosif afin de répondre au besoin de livraison à long terme de 374 000 GJ/j à un client. Le projet Richmond comprend l’installation d’une nouvelle station de comptage au point de vente, de l’infrastructure de comptage connexe et d’environ 500 m de tuyauterie latérale NPS 20 pour relier le raccordement du réseau principal à la station de comptage au point de vente.

La station de comptage au point de vente Richmond existante, y compris le bâtiment d’instrumentation et environ 500 m de tuyauterie NPS 12, sera désaffectée dans le cadre du projet Richmond.

Le projet Richmond se déroulera entièrement sur un terrain appartenant à TransCanada, environ 7 km au sud de la municipalité de Stittsville, dans les limites de la ville d’Ottawa, en Ontario. L’empreinte de la construction est d’environ 3,3 ha; la nouvelle station de comptage au point de vente occupera 0,3 ha de cette empreinte et toutes les nouvelles installations en surface seront situées dans une aire clôturée.

Carte d’emplacement des projets

Carte d’emplacement des projets

View larger PDF version [PDF 934 KB]

Processus d’audience sur pièces

Un comité d’audience composé de trois membres de l’Office a été formé. Compte tenu de l’intérêt public, l’Office a établi pour ces demandes un processus d’audience sur pièces qui favorise l’équilibre entre l’équité procédurale et l’efficacité. Ce processus est établi en vertu du paragraphe 24(3) de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, ce qui permet aux intervenants inscrits d’avoir accès au programme d’aide financière aux participants.

Soutien aux participants à l’audience

Conseiller ou conseillère en processus

L’Office désigne un conseiller ou une conseillère en processus pour cette instance. Ce rôle consiste à offrir un soutien au public (propriétaires fonciers, citoyens préoccupés, organisations non gouvernementales de l’environnement, etc.) et aux peuples autochtones qui prennent part aux audiences publiques.

Pour plus d’information, communiquez avec le conseiller ou la conseillère en processus aux coordonnées indiquées ci-dessous.

Aide financière aux participants

Une aide financière est offerte aux participants. Reportez-vous à la page du Programme d’aide financière aux participants pour un complément d’information sur les dates limites, l’admissibilité et la façon de présenter une demande d’aide financière ou une demande de remboursement. Communiquez avec le programme d’ici le 18 septembre 2017 à PFP.PAFP@neb-one.gc.ca ou au 1-800-899-1265 (sans frais) si vous avez besoin d’une aide financière pour participer.

Documents de réglementation

Coordonnées

Conseiller ou conseillère en processus de l’Office pour TCPL
Office national de l’énergie
Courriel : TCPLIroquois.Aide@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Sharon Wong
Agente de la réglementation

Office national de l'énergie
Courriel : sharon.wong@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-299-3191
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Pour les demandes des médias, les coordonnées sont les suivantes :

Darin Barter
Agent des communications
Office national de l'énergie
Courriel : darin.barter@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-299-3371
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Date de modification :