The Trans Mountain Pipeline Expansion Project Panel

Panel Members:

The Trans Mountain panel is comprised of three Board members with diverse backgrounds. Two members are lifelong public servants, and the other has decades of experience in the energy business.

David Hamilton, Presiding Member

David Hamilton, Presiding MemberA resident of Sidney, British Columbia, Mr. Hamilton holds a Master's degree in Leadership and Training from Royal Roads University, Victoria, British Columbia. Mr. Hamilton has more than 30 years of experience working in the Northwest Territories in the development of communities through both the parliamentary and democratic processes.

Mr. Hamilton was Deputy Minister and Clerk of the Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories for 20 years. He also held the appointment as Chief Electoral Officer for the Northwest Territories. Mr. Hamilton administered the first general election for Members to the Legislative Assembly in Canada's two new Territories, Nunavut and the Northwest Territories, following division of the NWT in 1999. Mr. Hamilton participated in the ratification votes for the Gwich'in Land Claim Agreement, the Sahtu Settlement Agreement and the Inuit Land Claim Settlement.

Mr. Hamilton has been involved in the electoral process in Canada for over 30 years and has extensive experience in community development at the Territorial, Provincial and International level, as well as working with First Nations in electoral and self-government processes.

Philip Davies, Panel Member

Philip Davies, Panel MemberMr. Davies has over 30 years of experience in acquiring, constructing and operating energy infrastructures and facilities in North America’s oil, gas and electric power industries.

During his career, Mr. Davies has served as a member of several senior management teams - notably as Vice-President, Law and General Counsel of SaskPower; Vice-President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary of Encana Gas Storage; and, Associate General Counsel of Encana Midstream and Marketing. He has served as President of the Canadian Energy Law Foundation; President of the Association of General Counsel of Alberta; and Member of the National Executive of the Canadian Bar Association, Environment, Energy and Resources Law Section.

Mr. Davies earned his ICD.D certification from the Institute of Corporate Directors, University of Toronto, Rotman School of Management and he completed the Executive Development Program at the University of Western Ontario, Ivey School of Business. He is currently a member of the Executive Committee of CAMPUT. His undergraduate major at the University of Calgary was in Urban Planning. He is a graduate of the University of Alberta, Faculty of Law and an active member of the Law Society of Alberta.

Alison Scott, Panel Member

Alison Scott, Panel MemberA graduate of Dalhousie Law School (LLB) and St FX University (BA Hons.), Ms. Scott retired from the Nova Scotia government in 2012. During her thirty years of public service she served in various capacities including Clerk of the Executive Counsel and Secretary to Cabinet, Deputy Minister of Energy and Intergovernmental Affairs.

Prior to her time as a Deputy Minister, Ms. Scott was a litigator with the Nova Scotia Department of Justice, specializing in administrative law and constitutional law. While with the Nova Scotia Department of Energy, Ms. Scott oversaw the development of Nova Scotia’s energy research strategy and was instrumental in establishing ocean energy research institutions to further advance the development of Nova Scotia’s offshore petroleum, tidal energy and carbon capture and storage opportunities.

In 2009, Ms. Scott was seconded to Environment Canada to advise the Deputy Minister in the development of Canada’s approach to climate change negotiations. She is a former member of: the federal government’s Energy Sector Sustainability Table, Petroleum Research Atlantic, the Oil and Gas Administration Advisory Council (established under the Canadian Oil and Gas Act), and past chair of the Canadian Bar Association Constitutional Law and Human Rights section, a former part-time member of the faculty at Dalhousie law School, and the Attorney General’s representative on Nova Scotia Barrister’s Society Bar Council. She is a member, and serves on the Board of Directors of the Schulich School of Law Alumni Association.

Date modified: