Chapter 1: Introduction to the NEB

The National Energy Board (NEB) is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada’s energy industry. It regulates pipelines, energy development and trade in the public interest with safety as its primary concern.

The NEB is Canada’s energy and safety regulator. We oversee safety for the full life cycle of a project – from approval to construction to operation to abandonment. We work with communities, sharing the goal of making energy infrastructure as safe as it can be. We are a team of 7 Board Members, 12 Temporary Members and 460 full-time staff.

What does "in the public interest" mean?

The public interest is inclusive of all Canadians and refers to a balance of economic, environmental, and social interests that changes as society’s values and preferences evolve over time. The Board estimates the overall public good a project may create and its potential negative aspects, weighs its various impacts, and makes a recommendation or decision.

What type of information does the company have to file?

A company must follow the National Energy Board Act (NEB Act), applicable Regulations, and the National Energy Board Rules of Practice and Procedure, 1995 (the Rules) when it submits an application.

The NEB's Filing Manual provides direction regarding information the NEB would typically expect to see in an application. Applications for a new pipeline facility should include details about:

  • the purpose of the proposed project;
  • the company's consultation activities and results;
  • engineering design of the proposed project;
  • an environmental and socio-economic assessment (ESA) of the proposed project;
  • economic and financial information; and
  • lands information.

The level of detail that the NEB requires in an application to build a pipeline or other facility will depend on the type of project, the complexity or size of the project, its anticipated effects, and the level of public concern. The Board is responsible for weighing these factors before making a recommendation or decision.

What does the NEB base its assessments on?

Once an application is filed, the NEB begins the assessment of the project and determines the process it will follow. Our duties are set out in the NEB Act.

What are the NEB's goals?

The NEB has identified four goals it hopes to achieve. These are:

  • NEB-regulated facilities and activities are safe and secure;
  • The environment is protected throughout the lifecycle of NEB-regulated facilities and activities;
  • Canadians benefit from efficient energy infrastructure and markets; and
  • The rights and interests of those affected by NEB-regulated facilities and activities are respected.

How am I involved as a landowner or member of the public?

It is mandatory for the Board to hold hearings in certain circumstances. A public hearing can be conducted through either a written process or a combination of written and oral submissions. Smaller projects may not require an oral hearing, but those who are directly affected or have relevant information or expertise may still be involved in the written process by submitting letters of comment to the NEB.

How early should I get involved?

Some companies may ask for input from parties who may be potentially impacted by a project into the planning and design of a project prior to submitting an application to the Board. It is important that landowners and other affected people or groups (which may include tenants, concerned individuals, members of the public, Indigenous groups, or special interest groups) make their concerns known to the company as early as possible and stay involved in the process. It is a good idea to attend open houses and call information lines or visit websites provided by the company. The NEB will take the comments from participants into account when assessing an application.

Will the NEB still be able to help me once a pipeline is approved or built?

The NEB’s involvement in a project lasts for the lifecycle of the project. We are involved in the assessment of an application, its construction stages, during the long-term operations stage, and through the abandonment of a project when it is no longer needed. The NEB strives to be responsive to Canadians and holds companies it regulates accountable for their commitments made in relation to a project. The NEB is available to landowners even after a project is built and is in operation, if any issues or concerns arise. For more information on the Landowner Complaint Process, please see Chapter 11.

THE LIFECYCLE OF A PIPELINE The Lifecycle of a Pipeline - Planning / Public Hearing - Construction - Operation - Deactivation, Decommission or Abandonment

Date modified:

Chapitre 1 : Au sujet de l'Office national de l'énergie

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant créé en 1959 par le Parlement du Canada. Il réglemente les pipelines internationaux et interprovinciaux dans l’intérêt public canadien. L’Office rend compte au Parlement par l’entremise du ministre des Ressources naturelles du Canada (RNCan). Conformément à son mandat, l’Office s’acquitte de ses responsabilités en matière de réglementation dans l’intérêt public canadien. L’Office rend compte au Parlement par l’entremise du ministre des Ressources naturelles. Il se compose de plusieurs membres qui possèdent des antécédents variés et une vaste expérience tant dans le secteur public que privé.

Que signifie l'expression « dans l'intérêt public »?

L’intérêt public englobe les intérêts de tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes; il s’agit d’un équilibre des intérêts économiques, environnementaux et sociaux qui change en fonction de l’évolution des valeurs et des préférences de la société. L’Office évalue ainsi la contribution d’un projet au bien public général, et ses aspects négatifs éventuels, en soupèse les diverses conséquences et formule une recommandation ou rend une décision.

Quel type de renseignements la société doit-elle déposer devant l'Office?

Le dépôt d’une demande devant l’Office doit être fait en conformité avec les dispositions de la Loi sur l'Office national de l'énergie (la Loi), des règlements applicables et des Règles de pratique et de procédure de l'Office national de l'énergie (1995) (1995) (les Règles).

Le Guide de dépôt fournit des directives quant aux renseignements que l’Office s’attend habituellement à recevoir par l’entremise d’une demande. Toute demande visant de nouvelles installations pipelinières devrait comporter des renseignements détaillés sur :

  • la raison d’être du projet;
  • le programme de consultation mené par la société et ses résultats;
  • la conception technique du projet envisagé;
  • une évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique du projet;
  • des renseignements de nature économique et financière;
  • des renseignements sur les terrains visés.

En ce qui concerne une demande visant la construction d’un pipeline ou d’installations autres, le niveau de détails requis par l’Office dépend normalement du type de projet, de sa complexité ou de son envergure, de ses effets potentiels et des préoccupations du public. L’Office a la responsabilité de soupeser tous ces facteurs avant de formuler une recommandation ou de rendre une décision.

Sur quoi l'Office base-t-il son examen?

Une fois la demande déposée, l’Office entreprend l’examen du projet et détermine le processus qu’il suivra. Ses fonctions sont dictées par la Loi.

Quels sont les buts de l'ONÉ?

L’Office a défini quatre buts qu’il s’efforce d’atteindre :

  • Les installations et activités réglementées par l’Office sont sûres et sécuritaires;
  • L’environnement est protégé pendant tout le cycle de vie des installations et des activités réglementées par l’Office.
  • La population canadienne profite d’une infrastructure et de marchés énergétiques efficients.
  • Les droits et les intérêts des personnes touchées par les installations et les activités réglementées par l’Office sont respectés.

En quoi ma qualité de propriétaire foncier, de membre du public ou de groupe autochtone fait-elle de moi une partie?

Dans certaines circonstances, la tenue d’une audience par l’Office est obligatoire. Celle-ci peut se dérouler soit par écrit (sur pièces), soit par une combinaison d’observations écrites et orales. Bien que les projets de moindre envergure n’exigent pas toujours la tenue d’une audience orale, les personnes directement touchées ou qui possèdent de l’information pertinente ou une expertise peuvent tout de même participer au processus écrit, notamment par le dépôt d’une lettre de commentaires auprès de l’Office.

À quel moment devrais-je intervenir?

Certaines sociétés peuvent solliciter auprès de parties susceptibles d’être touchées par un projet des commentaires sur la planification ou la conception avant même d’avoir déposé leur demande devant l’Office. Il est important que les propriétaires fonciers et les autres personnes ou groupes touchés (notamment les locataires, les personnes concernées, les membres du public, les groupes autochtones et les groupes d’intérêt) fassent part de leurs préoccupations le plus tôt possible à la société et qu’ils continuent de participer au processus. Il est également utile d’assister aux séances portes ouvertes et de composer le numéro indiqué pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements. L’Office tient compte des commentaires des participants dans son examen d’une demande.

Est-ce que l'ONÉ pourra encore m'aider une fois le pipeline approuvé ou construit?

La participation de l’Office à un projet porte sur toute la durée de vie du projet : de l’examen de la demande aux étapes de la construction, de l’exploitation à long terme du pipeline et enfin de la cessation d’exploitation lorsque le projet n’est plus requis. L’Office s’efforce d’être à l’écoute de la population canadienne et tient les sociétés qu’il réglemente responsables des engagements qu’elles ont pris à l’égard d’un projet. En cas de questions ou de préoccupations relativement à un projet, l’Office est à la disposition des propriétaires fonciers même après la construction et la mise en service. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le processus de règlement des plaintes des propriétaires fonciers, voir le Chapitre 11.

CYCLE DE VIE D'UN PIPELINE Cycle de vie d'un pipeline - Planification et audience publique - Construction - Exploitation - Mise hors service, cessation d'exploitation ou désaffectation

Date de modification :