Chapter 8: Right of Entry

A company may apply to the NEB for a right of entry when it is unable to reach an agreement with a landowner for access to lands required for an authorized project.

What is a right of entry order?

This is an order which grants the company an immediate right to enter the lands to which the order applies. Compensation is payable to the owner if a right of entry order is granted.

What happens if the company and I do not reach an agreement?

If the company and you do not finalize a land agreement, the company may apply in writing to the NEB asking for a right of entry (ROE) order that would allow the company to have an immediate right to enter the lands. If the NEB grants the right of entry order, the company must make payment to the landowner and then it has to register, record or file that order at the local land titles or registry office. The company then has the right to enter the lands for the purposes stated in the order, such as construction of a new pipeline or facility or to repair an existing pipeline.

How do I know if the company is going to apply for right of entry and what rights do I have?

The company must provide written notice to you if it plans to apply to the NEB for the right of entry to your property. The company must prove to the NEB that it served you with a notice no less than 30 days and no more than 60 days from the date that it will apply to the NEB. This notice must tell you:

  • the date when the company plans to apply to the NEB;
  • the date when the company wishes to enter the lands;
  • the NEB's address, so that you can send the NEB any written objection you may wish to make about the application for right of entry; and
  • your right to an advance compensation payment if the order is issued.

What happens when I receive the application for right of entry and how do I object to it?

The company must serve you with a copy of the right of entry application on the same day that it applies to the Board. If you choose to object to company’s application for a right of entry, the Board must receive your written objection within 10 days after you have received the company’s application. Your letter should give detailed reasons why you object to a right of entry order being granted by the Board. You may also submit any terms or conditions to be included in the order should the NEB decide to grant the company’s right of entry application. The company has up to seven days to reply to your written objection. The company must file any response it makes to your objection with the Board and provide you with a copy.

Do you have templates I can follow?

Yes, templates can be found on the NEB's website by going to "Participation & Lands" and then "Templates for Public Participation".

How does the NEB decide whether to grant a right of entry order?

The NEB will consider the NEB Act and Rules, the company's application, your written objection, and the company's response to your objection before deciding whether to grant the company's request for the order. Your response should provide well-supported reasons and information for the Board to consider if you do not agree that a right of entry should be granted.

What if I disagree with the amount of compensation being offered (but I do not disagree with the granting of a right of entry order)?

If the NEB decides to grant the right of entry order, you would be entitled to receive compensation from the company before it enters the lands. If you disagree with the amount of compensation offered by the company, you may choose the negotiation or arbitration process. See Chapter 7 for information on arbitration and compensation.

hay bales mountains
Date modified:

Chapitre 8 : Droit d'accès

Quand une société et un propriétaire foncier ne parviennent pas à s’entendre sur le droit d’accès aux terrains, la société peut présenter une demande l’Office en vue d’obtenir un droit d’accès à des terrains qui sont nécessaires à un projet approuvé.

Qu'est-ce qu'une ordonnance de droit d'accès?

Il s’agit d’une ordonnance qui accorde un droit d’accès immédiat aux terrains visés. Si une ordonnance de droit d’accès est rendue, une indemnisation est alors payable au propriétaire foncier.

Qu'arrive-t-il si je ne peux m'entendre avec la société?

Si la société et vous ne parvenez pas à conclure un accord relativement aux terrains, la société peut solliciter auprès de l’Office, par voie de demande écrite, une ordonnance qui lui accordera un droit d’accès immédiat aux terrains. Si l’Office rend une telle ordonnance, la société doit verser une indemnité au propriétaire foncier et présenter l’ordonnance pour enregistrement ou dépôt, selon le cas, au bureau d’enregistrement ou au bureau des titres fonciers. La société obtient ainsi le droit de pénétrer sur les terrains pour les besoins précisés dans l’ordonnance; par exemple, pour construire un pipeline ou des installations ou encore pour réparer un pipeline en place.

Comment savoir si la société s'apprête à demander un droit d'accès à mes terrains et quels sont mes droits à cet égard?

La société doit vous aviser par écrit de son intention de demander à l’Office un droit d’accès à vos terrains. Elle doit prouver à l’Office qu’elle vous a signifié cet avis au moins 30 jours et au plus 60 jours avant la date de sa demande à l’Office. Cet avis doit indiquer ce qui suit :

  • la date prévue pour la présentation de la demande;
  • la date à laquelle la société entend pénétrer sur les terrains;
  • l’adresse du bureau de l’Office, pour que vous puissiez lui adresser une déclaration d’objection au sujet de la demande de droit d’accès;
  • votre droit à une avance sur le montant de l’indemnité si l’ordonnance est accordée.

Qu'arrive-t-il une fois que j'ai reçu l'avis de demande de droit d'accès et comment puis-je signifier mon opposition?

La société doit vous signifier sa demande de droit d’accès le jour même du dépôt de sa demande auprès de l’Office. Si vous décidez de vous opposer à la demande de droit d’accès de la société, l’Office doit recevoir votre déclaration d’objection dans les dix jours suivant la réception de la demande. Dans votre lettre, vous devez décrire en détail les raisons de votre opposition à ce que l’Office rende une ordonnance de droit d’accès. Vous pouvez également indiquer des modalités ou conditions que l’Office pourrait inclure dans l’ordonnance s’il décidait d’approuver la demande de droit d’accès de la société. La société doit répondre à votre lettre dans les sept jours suivants. Toute réponse de la société à votre lettre d’objection doit être déposée auprès de l’Office et vous être signifiée.

Existe-t-il un modèle que je pourrais utiliser?

Oui, les « modèles pour la participation du public » se trouvent sur le site Web de l'Office, dans la section sur les « questions foncières ».

Comment l'ONÉ détermine-t-il d'accorder ou non l'ordonnance de droit d'accès?

L’Office tiendra compte de la Loi, des Règles, de la demande de la société, de vos observations et de la réponse de la société avant de décider s’il doit rendre l’ordonnance demandée. Si selon vous le droit d’accès à vos terrains ne devrait pas être accordé à la société, votre réponse devrait faire état de vos raisons et des renseignements à l’appui que vous souhaitez soumettre à l’examen de l’Office.

Qu'arrive-t-il si, sans m'opposer à la délivrance de l'ordonnance de droit d'accès, je ne suis tout simplement pas d'accord avec le montant de l'indemnité offerte par la société?

Si l’Office décide d’accorder l’ordonnance de droit d’accès, vous aurez droit à une indemnisation avant que la société ne pénètre sur vos terrains. À défaut d’entente sur le montant de l’indemnité, vous ou la société pouvez opter pour le processus de négociation ou d’arbitrage. Le chapitre 7 traite des questions de médiation et d’indemnisation.

Balles de foin et montagnes
Date de modification :