Compliance Verification Activity Report 1516-371 – Champion Pipe Line Corporation Limited

Type of Compliance Verification Activity: Field Inspection

Activity #: 1516-371
Activity start: 11/1/2015
Activity End: 11/1/2015

Related Activity Numbers:

Inspection Officer Number(s): 2083

Incident #:
Landowner Complaint File #:

Company: Champion Pipe Line Corporation Limited

Facility Name(s): Pipeline next to the bridge - Témiscamingue Dam, Québec

Province(s): Québec / Ontario

Theme(s): Integrity Management

Compliance Tools Used:

Purpose

This activity was undertaken to verify compliance with the following regulatory requirements.

 X  NEB Act

 X  Onshore Pipeline Regulations

 X  CSA Standard Z662 Oil and Gas Pipeline Systems

    Other:

    Electricity Regulations

    Processing Plant Regulations

    Pipeline Crossing Regulations Part I

    Pipeline Crossing Regulations Part II

Regulatory Instrument

XG-C568-005-2015
AO-001-XG-C568-005-2015

Observations & Discussion

Observations & Discussion
Date visited Location Theme Compliance Confirmed
01-Nov-15 Construction site office Integrity Management Yes

Observations

The NEB inspectors met with the Champion Pipeline Corporation Limited (Champion) representatives at the construction site offices in Témiscamingue, Quebec. The following companies are involved in the project:

- North America Construction (NAC): civil engineering work on the dam and primary responsibility for health and safety at the site;
- MACO: General contractor hired by Champion for civil and mechanical engineering work on the replacement pipeline;
- Acuren: responsible for non-destructive testing of welds;
- Yvon Couture: responsible for application of coating on weld joints;
- IPC: Inspection of joint welding and coating

The Champion representatives explained the various steps of the pipeline replacement process. First, the two joint sets for Long Sault Island will be assembled. The joints will be connected on the edge of the pipeline trench to form a section, which will be placed in the trench. The assembly will then be subjected to hydrostatic testing before the line is put into operation. A valve will be installed at each end of the section under the river before [sic] the two joints.

Observations

Observations & Discussion
Date visited Location Theme Compliance Confirmed
01-Nov-15 Welding Integrity Management Yes

The NEB inspectors inspected pipe and elbow welds with the welding inspector hired by Champion. They verified welding procedure DMS# B-A24-42/273.02, which was developed for the project. They also checked welders’ certifications, and compliance of electrodes and certain welding parameters, such as pre-heating temperature, preparation of component ends to be welded, current and voltage. The inspectors observed that the welders had the requisite safety equipment for welding and for grinding between weld passes.

At the time of the inspection, it was not possible to confirm whether fire extinguishers at the welding site were certified and checked regularly to ensure that they were in good operating condition. The annual certification and monthly check tags were either missing or had expired. The NAC safety inspector confirmed that it was their practice to check the extinguishers monthly and that tags had been supplied to Maco for that purpose. The day after the inspection, Champion confirmed that certified and visually inspected extinguishers were now on site. Photographs were provided as proof.

Observations & Discussion
Date visited Location Theme Compliance Confirmed
01-Nov-15 Trench excavation Integrity Management Yes

Observations

The trench for the section of pipeline under the river was being excavated. The NEB inspectors notified the company that the trench required at least two safe accesses to the site where the workers were located. There was only one at the time of the inspection and two were observed at the end of the inspection.

Observations & Discussion
Date visited Location Theme Compliance Confirmed
01-Nov-15 Application of coating Integrity Management Yes

Observations

Two applicators installed the coating on a weld joint for a section to be installed under the river. The coating applied was a liquid epoxy identified as SP-2888 RG. The coating pre-applied to the pipe was epoxy (Fusion Bond Epoxy (FBE)) and concrete. The coating inspector is hired directly by Champion. He was on site and was verifying that the coating procedure was being followed. The NEB inspectors were able to verify that the following items complied with the procedure: application temperature at least 3°C above dew point, salt test, surface profile after sanding, expiry dates for the coating products, thickness of non-dried film.

Observations & Discussion
Date visited Location Theme Compliance Confirmed
01-Nov-15 Non-destructive tests Integrity Management Yes

Observations

Acuren is the contractor hired directly by Champion for non-destructive assessment of weld joints. The NEB inspectors verified that Acuren had level II certification issued by the Canadian General Standards Board (CGSB), as required. Acuren was preparing to check four weld joints and a safety perimeter had been established and the Acuren truck’s flashing light was on. The weld joints are checked using gamma radiography.


Compliance Summary

This notice reflects the observations of non-compliance with regulatory requirements or company commitments, made by the inspection officer during the compliance verification activity. If the corrective actions identified are implemented by the completion date, the matter is considered resolved. Any unresolved compliance matters will be addressed by the inspection officer and may be referred to NEB enforcement staff.

517 Tenth Avenue SW Calgary, Alberta  T2R 0A8
Telephone: 403-292-4800   Toll Free: 1-800-899-1265

 

Date modified:

Rapport d’activité de vérification de la conformité 1516-371 – Champion Pipe Line Corporation Limited

Type d’activité de conformité : Inspection sur le terrain

No d’activité : 1516-371
Début de l’activité : 11/1/2015
Fin de l’activité : 11/1/2015

No d’activité connexe :

No d’inspecteur : 2083

No d’incident :
No de plainte reçue du propriétaire foncier :

Société : Champion Pipe Line Corporation Limited

Nom des installations : Conduite le long du pont - complexe de barrages Témiscamingue.

Province : Québec / Ontario

Thème(s) : Gestion de l’intégrité

Outil de conformité utilisé :

But

L’activité a été entreprise pour vérifier la conformité aux exigences réglementaires suivantes.

 X  Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie

 X  Règlement sur les pipelines terrestres

 X  Norme CSA Z662 - Réseaux de canalisation de pétrole et de gaz

    Autre :

    Règlement sur l’électricité

    Règlement sur les usines de traitement

    Règlement sur le croisement de pipe-lines, partie I

    Règlement sur le croisement de pipe-lines, partie II

Instrument réglementaire

XG-C568-005-2015
AO-001-XG-C568-005-2015

Observations et discussion

Observations et discussion
Date de la visite Lieu Thème Conformité confirmée
01-Nov-15 Bureau du site de construction Gestion de l’intégrité Oui

Observations

Les inspecteurs de l’ONÉ ont rencontré les représentants de la Corporation Champion Pipe Line Limitée (Champion) dans les bureaux du site de construction à Témiscamingue, au Québec. Les entreprises suivantes sont impliquées dans l’exécution du projet:

- North America Construction (NAC): pour les travaux de génie civil du barrage et responsable principal de la santé et sécurité sur le site;
- MACO : Entrepreneur général engagé par Champion pour les travaux de génie civil et mécanique de remplacement du pipeline;
- Acuren : responsible des tests non-destructifs des soudures;
- Yvon Couture : pour l’application du revêtement sur les joints de soudure;
- IPC : Inspecteur du soudage et du revêtement des joints

Les représentants de Champion ont expliqué les différentes étapes de l’exécution des travaux de remplacement du pipeline. Il sera d’abord procédé à l’assemblage de jeux de deux joints sur l’Île Long Sault. Ces jeux de joints seront ensuite assemblés en une section sur le bord de la tranchée du pipeline avant d’y être déposée. L’ensemble subira un test hydrostatique avant la mise en opération de la ligne. Deux vannes seront installées à chaque bout de la section sous la rivière avant les deux joints de raccordement.

Observations et discussion
Date de la visite Lieu Thème Conformité confirmée
01-Nov-15 Travaux de soudure Gestion de l’intégrité Oui

Observations

Les inspecteurs de l’ONÉ ont inspecté des travaux de soudure des tuyaux et des coudes en compagnie de l’inspecteur du soudage engagé par Champion. Ils ont vérifié la procédure de soudure DMS# B-A24-42/273.02 qui était élaborée pour le projet. Ils ont aussi vérifié la certification des soudeurs, la conformité des électrodes et de certains paramètres de soudage tels que la température de préchauffage, préparation des bouts des composants à souder, le courant et le voltage. Les inspecteurs ont observé que les soudeurs portaient les équipements de sécurité nécessaires pour soudage et le meulage effectué entre les passes de soudure.

Au moment de l'inspection, il ne fut pas possible de confirmer si les extincteurs présents sur le site de soudage étaient certifiés et vérifiés régulièrement pour s’assurer de leur condition et de leur fonctionnent. Les étiquettes de certification annuelle et pour les vérifications mensuelles étaient soit manquantes soit expirées. L’inspecteur en sécurité de NAC a confirmé que c’était leur pratique de vérifier les extincteurs mensuellement et que des étiquettes avaient été fournies à Maco pour que ce soit complété. Au lendemain de l’inspection, Champion a confirmé que des extincteurs certifiés et inspectés visuellement étaient maintenant sur place. Des photos ont été fournies pour le démontrer.

Observations et discussion
Date de la visite Lieu Thème Conformité confirmée
01-Nov-15 Excavation de la tranchée Gestion de l’intégrité Oui

Observations

La tranchée pour la section du pipeline sous la rivière était en cours de construction. Les inspecteurs de l’ONÉ ont notifié à la compagnie que la tranchée se devait d’avoir au moins deux accès sécuritaires à l'endroit où se trouvent les travailleurs. Il n’y avait qu’un seul accès à ce moment et deux accès furent observées à la fin de l’inspection.

Observations et discussion
Date de la visite Lieu Thème Conformité confirmée
01-Nov-15 Application du revêtement Gestion de l’intégrité Oui

Observations

Deux applicateurs installaient le revêtement sur un joint de soudure pour une section qui sera installée sous la rivière. Le revêtement appliqué était un époxy liquide identifié SP-2888 RG. Le revêtement pré-appliqué sur la tuyauterie consistait en un époxy (Fusion Bond Epoxy (FBE)) et du béton. L’inspecteur pour le revêtement est engagé directement par Champion. Il était sur place et vérifiait que la procédure de revêtement était suivie. Les inspecteurs de l’ONÉ ont pu vérifier que les points suivants étaient conformes avec la procédure : température d’application au moins 3 °C supérieure au point de rosée, test de sel, profile de surface après le sablage, date d’expiration des produits de revêtement, épaisseur du film non-séché.

Observations et discussion
Date de la visite Lieu Thème Conformité confirmée
01-Nov-15 Essais non-destructifs Gestion de l’intégrité Oui

Observations

Acuren est l’entrepreneur pour l’évaluation non-destructive des joints de soudage et il est engagé directement par Champion. Les inspecteurs de l’ONÉ ont vérifié que l’inspecteur d’Acuren possédait une certification de l'Office des normes générales du Canada (ONGC) niveau II tel que requis. Acuren se préparait alors à vérifier quatre joints de soudure et un périmètre de sécurité avait été établi et le camion d’Acuren avait le gyrophare en fonction. Les joints de soudure sont vérifiés par radiographie avec rayons gammas.


Résumé de l’activité de conformité

La présente fait état des cas de non-conformité aux exigences réglementaires ou aux engagements pris par la société qui ont été observés par l’inspecteur pendant l’activité de vérification de la conformité. Si les mesures correctives exigées ont été instaurées au plus tard à la date d’achèvement fixée, l’affaire est considérée comme réglée. L’inspecteur se penchera sur toute situation de non-conformité n’ayant pas été rectifiée et pourra transmettre le dossier au personnel de l’Office chargé de l’exécution.

517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., Calgary (Alberta)  T2R 0A8
Téléphone : 403-292-4800   Sans frais : 1-800-899-1265

 

Date de modification :