Compliance Verification Activity Report 1516-493 – Westcoast Energy Inc., carrying on business as Spectra Energy Transmission

Type of Compliance Verification Activity: Field Inspection

Activity #: 1516-493
Activity start: 2016-03-10
Activity End: 2016-03-10

Related Activity Numbers:

Inspection Officer Number(s): 1536, 2666T, 2556T

Incident #:
Landowner Complaint File #:

Company: Westcoast Energy Inc., carrying on business as Spectra Energy Transmission

Facility Name(s): Azouzetta Compressor Station 2B

Province(s): British Columbia

Theme(s): Integrity Management

Compliance Tools Used: Information Request (2)

Purpose

This activity was undertaken to verify compliance with the following regulatory requirements.

 X  NEB Act

 X  Onshore Pipeline Regulations

    CSA Standard Z662 Oil and Gas Pipeline Systems

    Other:

    Electricity Regulations

   Processing Plant Regulations

    Pipeline Crossing Regulations Part I

    Pipeline Crossing Regulations Part II

Observations & Discussion

Observations & Discussion
Date visited Location Theme Compliance Confirmed
2016-03-10 CS 2B - Azouzetta Compressor Station Integrity Management Yes
Observations

CS 2B is equipped with 2 generators (1 main and 1 standby) each capable of provding 100% of the stations power needs. The standby generator operates independently from the main power system and starts immediately in the event of a power disruption to the station. The station is also equipped with an emergency standby diesel generator capable of powering the emergency lighting in addtion to an Uninterrupted Power Supply (UPS) DC Battery Bank capable of powering the stations emergency shutdown system (ESD).

NEB Inspectors reviewed results of the monthly tests performed on the battery bank which assess input voltages and AC/DC outputs and results of the of annual ESD Preventative Maintenance (PM) tests which assess the functionality of the ESD system.

Westcoast stated that it is implementing a plan to install a redundant Programmable Logic Controller (PLC) at the station by Q2 2016 as a corrective action from INC 2015-103, attributable to an internal component failure. In addition, Westcoast will install redundant PLCs at other stations (CS3, CS4A) which have similar components. This will be completed in a phased approached taking advantage of planned shutdowns.

Does this observation specifically reference the Canada Labour Code or its regulations? No
Observations & Discussion
Date visited Location Theme Compliance Confirmed
2016-03-10 CS 2B - Azouzetta Compressor Station Integrity Management Yes
Observations

There is no Energy Recovery Generation system at Station CS2B. Therefore, the findings and corrective actions from the Station CS7 equipment failure incident are not applicable.

Annual inspections are peformed on the fired heater to check for internal leaks and Non-Destructive Testing (NDT) is performed to assess its condition. The fired heater serves as a heat exchanger for the station fuel gas and is used to generate heat for the station buildings. It operates continuously and is not shutdown aside for inspection and maintenance. As a result, the findings and corrective actions from the Station CS2 equipment failure incident are not applicable.

Does this observation specifically reference the Canada Labour Code or its regulations? No
Observations & Discussion
Date visited Location Theme Compliance Confirmed
2016-03-10 CS 2B - Azouzetta Compressor Station Integrity Management No
Observations

NEB Inspectors noted that the nameplate of Service Air Pressure Vessel, PV-060021, bearing Canadian Registration Number (CRN), specified installation location to be CS8B. Records authorizing the change of location to CS2B were not available.

Does this observation specifically reference the Canada Labour Code or its regulations? No
Observations & Discussion
Date visited Location Theme Compliance Confirmed
2016-03-10 CS 2B - Azouzetta Compressor Station Integrity Management Yes
Observations

NEB Inspectors noted that the site premises are well maintained and good housekeeping practices are in place at the facility.

Does this observation specifically reference the Canada Labour Code or its regulations? No

Compliance Summary

Compliance Summary
Theme Compliance Tools Used Corrective Action Due Date
Integrity Management Information Request 07/04/2016
Date/Time visited Location
2016-03-10 (Time Unspecified) CS 2B - Azouzetta Compressor Station
Observations
NEB Inspectors noted that the nameplate of Service Air Pressure Vessel, PV-060021, bearing Canadian Registration Number (CRN), specified installation location to be CS 8B. Records authorizing the change of location to CS 2B were not available.
Regulatory Requirements

CSA B51-14 - Boiler, pressure vessel, and pressure piping code Clause 4.1.1

The calculations, drawings, and specifications pertaining to the designs of boilers, pressure vessels, fittings as specified in Clause 4.2, fired-heater coils, and piping shall be submitted to the regulatory authority in the province where the item is inteded to be used. The submission shall identify the substance for which the item is intended. It shall be the responsibility of the users or an agent they designate to determine whether the substance is lethal. Figures 1(a), (b) and (c) shall be used to determine whehther items are to be reigstered as pressure vessels or Category H fittings (Table 1). The name of the authorized inspection agency to be employed when a boiler or pressure vessel is to be manufactured outside Canada shall also be submitted to the regulatory authority. Acceptance and registration shall be obtained before construction begins. Manufacturers who commence construction prior to receiving design registration shall rectify any design deficiencies that are identified in the design registration process.

Corrective Action or Request Required
Westcoast shall submit:
1. A copy of valid operating permit of the pressure vessel showing the location of installation.
2. A copy of last inspection report for the pressure vessel.
Does this observation specifically reference the Canada Labour Code or its regulations? No

This notice reflects the observations of non-compliance with regulatory requirements or company commitments, made by the inspection officer during the compliance verification activity. If the corrective actions identified are implemented by the completion date, the matter is considered resolved. Any unresolved compliance matters will be addressed by the inspection officer and may be referred to NEB enforcement staff.

517 Tenth Avenue SW Calgary, Alberta  T2R 0A8
Telephone: 403-292-4800   Toll Free: 1-800-899-1265

 

Date modified:

Rapport d’activité de vérification de la conformité 1516-493 – Westcoast Energy Inc., exploitée sous la dénomination sociale Spectra Energy Transmission

Type d’activité de conformité : Inspection sur le terrain

No d’activité : 1516-493
Début de l’activité : 2016-03-10
Fin de l’activité : 2016-03-10

No d’activité connexe :

No d’inspecteur : 1536, 2666T, 2556T

No d’incident :
No de plainte reçue du propriétaire foncier :

Société : Westcoast Energy Inc., exploitée sous la dénomination sociale Spectra Energy Transmission

Nom des installations : Station de compression Azouzetta 2B

Province : Colombie-Britannique

Thème(s) : Gestion de l’intégrité

Outil de conformité utilisé : Demande de renseignements (2)

But

L’activité a été entreprise pour vérifier la conformité aux exigences réglementaires suivantes.

 X  Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie

 X  Règlement sur les pipelines terrestres

    Norme CSA Z662 - Réseaux de canalisation de pétrole et de gaz

    Autre :

    Règlement sur l’électricité

   Règlement sur les usines de traitement

    Règlement sur le croisement de pipe-lines, partie I

    Règlement sur le croisement de pipe-lines, partie II

Observations et discussion

Observations et discussion
Date de la visite Lieu Thème Conformité confirmée
2016-03-10 Station de compression Azouzetta 2B (SC 2B) Gestion de l’intégrité Oui
Observations

La station de compression SC 2B comporte deux génératrices (une unité principale et une unité de réserve) qui peuvent chacune fournir 100 % de la puissance nécessaire pour alimenter la station. La génératrice de réserve fonctionne de façon indépendante du système principal d’alimentation et démarre immédiatement en cas de perte d’alimentation de la station. En cas d’urgence, la station est également munie d’une génératrice diesel en veille qui peut alimenter le système d’éclairage d’urgence et le banc de batteries du système d’alimentation sans interruption (courant continu), qui a la capacité de faire fonctionner le système d’arrêt d’urgence de la station.

Les inspecteurs de l’Office ont examiné les résultats des essais mensuels menés sur le banc de batteries. Les essais mesurent la tension à l’entrée et les valeurs de sorties c.a./c.c., ainsi que les résultats des tests d’entretien préventif effectués afin de vérifier le bon fonctionnement du système d’arrêt d’urgence.

Westcoast a indiqué qu’elle avait commencé à mettre en œuvre le plan d’installation d’un automate programmable redondant avant la fin du deuxième trimestre de 2016. Le plan constitue une mesure corrective découlant du rapport d’incident INC 2015-103, qui signale la défaillance d’un composant interne. De plus, Westcoast installera des automates programmables redondants aux stations SC 3 et SC 4A, qui renferment des composants semblables. Les travaux seront réalisés par étape pendant l’arrêt planifié des stations.

L’observation fait-elle référence au Code canadien du travail ou à ses reglements? Non
Observations et discussion
Date de la visite Lieu Thème Conformité confirmée
2016-03-10 Station de compression Azouzetta 2B (SC 2B) Gestion de l’intégrité Oui
Observations

Aucun système de récupération d’énergie n’est présent à la station SC 2B. Par conséquent, les constats tirés de la défaillance de l’équipement à la station SC 7 et les mesures correctives prises ne s’appliquent pas.

L’inspection annuelle de la chaudière permet de confirmer l’absence de fuites internes. Un essai non destructif est alors réalisé pour évaluer l’état de la chaudière, qui sert à chauffer les bâtiments de la station et sert d’échangeur thermique pour le carburant des génératrices. Elle fonctionne en continu et n’est mise à l’arrêt que pendant les travaux d’inspection ou d’entretien. Par conséquent, les constats tirés de la défaillance de l’équipement à la station SC 2 et les mesures correctives prises ne s’appliquent pas.

L’observation fait-elle référence au Code canadien du travail ou à ses reglements? Non
Observations et discussion
Date de la visite Lieu Thème Conformité confirmée
2016-03-10 Station de compression Azouzetta 2B (SC 2B) Gestion de l’intégrité Non
Observations

Les inspecteurs de l’Office ont remarqué que la plaque signalétique du réservoir d’air sous pression portant le numéro d’enregistrement canadien PV-060021 indiquait que le site d’installation devait être SC 8B. Aucun document contenant l’autorisation de modifier le site d’installation du réservoir et de l’installer à la station SC 2B n’est disponible.

L’observation fait-elle référence au Code canadien du travail ou à ses reglements? Non
Observations et discussion
Date de la visite Lieu Thème Conformité confirmée
2016-03-10 Station de compression Azouzetta 2B (SC 2B) Gestion de l’intégrité Oui
Observations

Les inspecteurs de l’Office ont noté que les lieux étaient bien entretenus et que de bonnes pratiques en matière d’entretien en place.

L’observation fait-elle référence au Code canadien du travail ou à ses reglements? Non

Résumé de l’activité de conformité

Résumé de l’activité de conformité
Thème Outil de conformité utilisé Date d’échéance de l’action corrective
Gestion de l’intégrité Demande de renseignements 2016-04-07
Date et heure de la visite Lieu
2016-03-10 (heure non précisée) Station de compression Azouzetta 2B (SC 2B)
Observations
Les inspecteurs de l’Office ont remarqué que la plaque signalétique du réservoir d’air sous pression portant le numéro d’enregistrement canadien PV-060021 indiquait que le site d’installation devait être SC 8B. Aucun document contenant l’autorisation de modifier le site d’installation du réservoir et de l’installer à la station SC 2B n’est disponible.
Exigences réglementaires

Norme CSA B51-14 – Code sur les chaudières, les appareils et les tuyauteries sous pression; article 4.1.1

« Les calculs, les plans et les devis ayant trait aux chaudières, aux appareils sous pression, aux accessoires prescrits par l’article 4.2, aux serpentins de réchauffeur sous pression et aux tuyauteries doivent être soumis au pouvoir de réglementation de la province dans laquelle ils seront utilisés. Les substances auxquelles ces appareils et accessoires sont destinées doivent être mentionnées dans les documents. L’utilisateur ou son agent doit déterminer s’il s’agit de substances létales. On doit utiliser les figures 1a), 1b) et 1c) pour déterminer si les dispositifs doivent enregistrés comme appareils sous pression ou comme accessoires de catégorie H (voir le tableau 1). Le nom de l’organisme d’inspection autorisé retenu lorsqu’une chaudière ou un appareil sous pression doit être construit à l’extérieur du Canada doit aussi être soumis lorsque cela est demandé par le pouvoir de réglementation. L’acceptation et l’enregistrement doivent être obtenus avant le début des travaux. Les constructeurs qui commencent la construction avant l’enregistrement des plans doivent corriger les lacunes notées lors du processus d’enregistrement. »

Action ou demande corrective requise
Westcoast doit soumettre à l’Office les documents suivants :
1. Une copie du permis d’exploitation valide du réservoir sous pression indiquant l’emplacement de l’installation.
2. Une copie du dernier rapport d’inspection du réservoir sous pression.
L’observation fait-elle référence au Code canadien du travail ou à ses reglements? Non

La présente fait état des cas de non-conformité aux exigences réglementaires ou aux engagements pris par la société qui ont été observés par l’inspecteur pendant l’activité de vérification de la conformité. Si les mesures correctives exigées ont été instaurées au plus tard à la date d’achèvement fixée, l’affaire est considérée comme réglée. L’inspecteur se penchera sur toute situation de non-conformité n’ayant pas été rectifiée et pourra transmettre le dossier au personnel de l’Office chargé de l’exécution.

517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., Calgary (Alberta)  T2R 0A8
Téléphone : 403-292-4800   Sans frais : 1-800-899-1265

 

Date de modification :