Administrative Monetary Penalty – Landstar Projects Ltd. – AMP-001-2017

Administrative Monetary Penalty – Landstar Projects Ltd. – AMP-001-2017 [PDF 146 KB]

NOTICE OF VIOLATION

REFERENCE NUMBER: AMP-001-2017

Information for Pipeline Company / Third Party / Individual:

Information for Pipeline Company / Third Party / Individual
Name: Landstar Projects Ltd.
Contact: Jasvinder Aujla and Kulwant Cheema
Title:  
Address: 16726 40th Avenue
City: Surrey
Province / State: Surrey BC,  V3Z 1E5
Telephone: Information not available
Fax:  
E-mail: Information not available

TOTAL PENALTY AMOUNT: $28,000

Date of Notice: 15 May, 2017

Regulatory Instrument #:

On or about January 12-13, 2016 Landstar Projects Limited was observed to be in violation of a NEB regulatory requirement. This violation is subject to an administrative monetary penalty, as outlined below.

1. VIOLATION DETAILS

Date of Violation:
(from): on/about 12 January (to): on/about 13 Jan 2016
Total Number of Days: 1

Has compliance been achieved?

 X Yes

   No

If no, a subsequent NoV may be issued.

Location of Violation:

e.g. Facility/plant/head office or nearest geographical point
10552 159B Street, Surrey, BC

Short Form Description of Violation
(Refer to Schedule 1 of the AMP Regulations)

Provision and Short-form Description

Pipeline Crossing, Part I

6 Failure to excavate as prescribed or to obtain leave (Type B)

   
Contravention of an Order or Decision made under the Act (ss. 2(2) of the AMP Regulations)
   

Failure to comply with a term or condition of any certificate, licence, permit, leave or exemption granted under the Act (ss. 2(3) of the AMP Regulations)

2. RELEVANT FACTS

Briefly describe reasonable grounds to believe a violation has occurred

On 21 January, 2016, Kinder Morgan Canada (KMC) reported an unauthorized activity on the TransMountain Pipeline ULC Mainline to the National Energy Board (NEB) in accordance with the National Energy Board Pipeline Crossing Regulations, Part II, SOR/88-529, paragraph 13(1)(a). This unauthorized activity (UX2016-003) was reported to the NEB's Event Reporting System (ERS) as a ground disturbance resulting from an excavation activity which was discovered, and having occurred, on 13 January 2016.

As a result of the NEB's internal review of this reported event, it was discovered that:

  1. On 12 January, 2016, KMC Ground Patrol discovered that A&G Excavating Ltd., a contractor for Landstar Projects Ltd. (developer), was doing ground disturbance work within 20 metres (m) North of KMC's Mainline pipeline without written permission by KMC. Photos of the unauthorized activity near the TransMountain Mainline pipeline were taken on 12 January 2016 by the KMC patroller. A stop work order was also issued on 12 January 2016 at the site by the KMC patroller to Mr. Parmar of A&G Excavating Ltd. for operating an excavator within the KMC 30m safety zone. Work was stopped until the next day when KMC could attend the site and issue a work permit. When the KMC patroller questioned why the work was being performed without authorization, Mr. Parmar stated that he was aware of the location of the pipeline but had been told by Mr. Aujla of Landstar Projects Ltd. that no permitting from KMC was required. When the KMC patroller spoke with Mr. Aujla of Landstar Projects Ltd. about whether a permit was needed, Mr. Aujla stated that he thought they were outside the 30m zone. Mr. Aujla then placed a ticket with KMC for work to continue.
  2. On 13 January, 2016, KMC PLP Technician went on site to issue a Safety Zone Permit, and provided copies of KMC Ground Disturbance Pipeline Protection Requirements to A&G Excavating Ltd and to Landstar Projects Ltd. The PLP Technician took more photos of the proximity of the ground disturbance to the KMC Right-of-Way (RoW). The PLP Technician's report also stated that in the past, he had met with Landstar representatives Mr. Aujla and Mr. Cheema regarding new subdivision projects to issue 30m permits, inspect Proximity Installations and review KMC Requirements for Ground Disturbance.
  3. On 21 January, 2016, as a result of its investigation, KMC sent a letter to Landstar Projects Ltd. (Mr. Jasvinder Aujla) and A&G Excavating Ltd. (Mr. Kulwinder Parmar) regarding the unauthorized activity which was noted to have occurred on 13 January 2016 near the TransMountain Mainline pipeline and its RoW, without necessary KMC permits and supervision. The letter further states that this activity was in contravention of section 112 of the National Energy Board Act (NEB Act).
  4. On 7 April, 2016, KMC submitted its final report to the NEB on UX2016-003, which included its letter to Landstar Projects Ltd. on 21 January 2016, internal report and photos.
  5. On 21 April, 2016, NEB staff followed up about the unauthorized activity UX2016-003, and left a voice mail message for Mr. Parmar, A&G Excavating Ltd. On 29 April, 2016, Mr. Parmar returned the call and stated that the developer, Landstar Projects Ltd., said they had a permit. He found out later that the permit was for another job.
  6. On 29 April, 2016, NEB staff followed up about the unauthorized activity and left a voice mail message for Mr. Cheema, a partner in Landstar Projects Ltd. On 2 May, 2016, Mr. Cheema returned the call and said he would have Mr. Aujla phone back with the details. NEB staff stressed the importance of placing a One-Call for ground disturbance work.
  7. On 4 May, 2016, NEB staff spoke with Mr. Aujla, Landstar Projects Ltd., and discussed the unauthorized activity UX2016-003 and requested certain documentation.
  8. On 5 May, 2016, NEB staff sent a damage prevention letter to A&G Excavating Ltd. regarding UX2016-003 which occurred on or about 12-13 January 2016, outlining the requirements for working in and around federally regulated pipelines and provided copies of various NEB publications. A similar letter was also sent to Landstar Projects Ltd. (Mr. Aujla and Mr. Cheema) for UX2016-003 which was reported to the NEB to have occurred on 13 January 2016, and requested that information and documentation in relation to the unauthorized activity and in relation to company safety procedures be submitted in writing to the NEB by May 31, 2016.
  9. On 23 May, 2016, NEB staff received an email from Mr. Aujla which was in response to an earlier email from NEB staff on 2 November, 2015, that was in relation to another event (UX2015-043) that had been reported to the NEB's ERS by KMC in April 2015 (UX2015-043). Event UX2015-043 was regarding an unauthorized activity directly across the TransMountain Mainline Pipeline and RoW on 6 April 2015 without KMC permits or supervision. Mr. Aujla said they were working on submitting the requested information that week.
  10. On 20 June, 2016, NEB staff followed up by email with Mr. Aujla indicating the documentation requested in the 5 May, 2016 letter had not been received.
  11. On 15 July, 2016, NEB staff sent Landstar Projects Ltd. via email and ordinary mail an amended copy of the damage prevention letter of May 5, 2016 showing the correction in highlight. The information corrected was the address location of the unauthorized activity, which was originally noted as "10532-159B Street Surrey BC" and corrected to "10552-159B Street Surrey BC".
  12. On 21 July, 2016, NEB staff sent an email to Mr. Aujla as the NEB had not received the requested information in relation to the two unauthorized activities UX2015-043 and UX2016-003. The email stated that the files were being referred to the NEB Enforcement and Investigation Team for further review. NEB staff later received a phone message from Mr. Aujla regarding a call from the NEB staff.
  13. On 22 July, 2016, NEB staff spoke with Mr. Aujla, as the requested information had not been received. He mentioned that they were renovating their office, and he did not have the damage prevention letter. He asked if the letter could be emailed to him again. NEB staff emailed a copy of the amended damage prevention dated 5 May 2016 for UX2016-003.
  14. On 22 July, 2016, NEB staff received a letter from Mr. Kulwant Cheema, Director of Landstar Projects Ltd., stating that “ We would like to apologize for our offences and negligence due to miscomprehension of the National Energy Board Pipeline Crossing Regulations”. Mr. Cheema provided an explanation about the two unauthorized activities UX2016-003 and UX2015-043 which he called “offences”. The letter also described Landstar Project Ltd.'s safety procedure for excavating and constructing near federally regulated pipelines.
  15. On 23 August, 2016, NEB staff contacted Mr. Aujla by phone to follow up on Landstar Projects Ltd.'s process and procedures for excavation activities near pipelines. Mr. Aujla provided the following information:
    1. Landstar does not have written procedures pertaining to work around pipelines. Their documentation is limited to brochures provided to Landstar by the NEB and KMC. Mr. Aujla and Mr. Cheema have a handbook they follow.
    2. Landstar always uses the same contractor for excavation. Mr. Aujla and Mr. Cheema coordinate the contractors.
    3. Either Mr. Aujla or Mr. Cheema will remain on the job site when work is being conducted. They have meetings with contractors to make sure things go smoothly.
    4. Landstar makes the BC One-Call, not the contractor.
  16. On 20 September, 2016, NEB staff requested confirmation from KMC regarding the dates and physical addresses of the two unauthorized activities, as Landstar Projects Ltd.’s letter of 22 July 2016 to the NEB appeared to be incorrect. KMC provided the following: Landstar Projects Ltd. conducted two unauthorized activities at the following locations:
    1. 2015/04/06, 10532 159B Street, Surrey, BC, replacement of a wood panel fence, NEB file #UX-2015-043; and
    2. 2016-01-13, 10552 159B Street, Surrey, BC, ground disturbance completed 20 metres from the pipeline in a new residential development, NEB file #UX-2016-003.

As a result of this unauthorized activity that occurred on or about 12-13 January 2016, Landstar Projects Ltd. was found to have conducted an excavation activity without leave of the NEB or written permission of KMC pursuant to paragraphs 112(5)(b)(iii) of the National Energy Board Act and subsection 6(b) of the National Energy Board Pipeline Crossing Regulations, Part I, provisions in force at the time of the unauthorized activity, which state:

National Energy Board Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. N-7 Subsection 112(5):
(5) The Board may make orders or regulations governing
(b) the measures to be taken by any person in relation to
(iii) excavations within thirty metres of a pipeline;

National Energy Board Pipeline Crossing Regulations, Part I SOR/88-528
Subsection 6 (b):

6 – Leave of the Board is not required for an excavation, other than an excavation referred to in section 7, if
(b) the excavator obtains written permission from the pipeline company prior to the excavation and accepts any conditions set out in the permission;

Although KMC’s TransMountain Mainline pipeline was not struck and damaged, it was an active pipeline on 12-13 January 2016 carrying oil. At the location of the ground disturbance, the pipeline is in close proximity to a densely populated residential area, including: Fraser Heights Recreation Centre (106m), Fraser Heights Secondary School (370m), three strip malls (570m) and the Trans-Canada Highway (160m), and thus the unauthorized disturbance causes concern for the safety of the public and the environment.

3. PENALTY CALCULATION

(a) BASELINE PENALTY (Gravity Value = 0)

(a) BASELINE PENALTY (Gravity Value = 0)
Category Individual Any Other Person
(Type A)     $1,365     $5,025
(Type B)     $10,000  X  $40,000

[Refer to AMP Regulations, Subsection 4(1)]

(b) APPLICABLE GRAVITY VALUE

[Refer to AMP Regulations, Subsection 4(2)]

(b) APPLICABLE GRAVITY VALUE
Mitigating Aggravating
-2 -1 0 +1 +2 +3
 X  Other violations in previous seven (7) years -- --  X          --
 
 X  Any competitive or economic benefit from violation -- --  X          --
 
 X  Reasonable efforts to mitigate / reverse violation’s effect          X          --
 
 X  Negligence on part of person who committed violation -- --  X          --
 
 X  Reasonable assistance to Board with respect to violation          X          --
 
 X  Promptly reported violation to Board          X          --
 
 X  Steps taken to prevent reoccurrence of violation      X              --
Landstar Projects Ltd. provided some information in their letter to the NEB on 22 July, 2016 regarding their safety procedures for excavating and constructing near federally regulated pipelines.
 X  Violation was primarily reporting / record-keeping failure          X  -- -- --
 
 X  Any aggravating factors in relation to risk of harm to people or environment -- --  X             

(c) TOTAL GRAVITY VALUE

-1

(d) DAILY PENALTY
(The baseline penalty, adjusted for the final gravity level)

$28,000

(e) NUMBER OF DAYS OF VIOLATION
(If more than one day, then the justification must be provided.)

 

Notes to explain decision to apply multiple daily penalties, or "Not Applicable"

4. TOTAL PENALTY AMOUNT

$28,000

Note: The total penalty amount shown is based on the period described in Step 1 above. If compliance has not been achieved, a subsequent Notice of Violation may be issued.

5. DUE DATE

(30 days from receipt of Notice of Violation)

15 June, 2016

Notes

You have the right to make a request for a review of the amount of the penalty or the facts of the violation, or both, within 30 days after the Notice of Violation was received.

If you do not pay the penalty nor request a review within the prescribed period, you are considered to have committed the violation and you are liable for the penalty set out in the Notice of Violation. The penalty is due on the date indicated above.

The unpaid penalty amount is a debt due to the Crown and may be recovered by collection procedures stipulated in the Financial Administration Act.

The information regarding the violation may be posted on the NEB website:

  1. 30 days from the date this Notice of Violation was received or;
  2. upon issuing a decision following a Request for Review.

To Make Payment:

You may remit your fee payment by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) or by cheque payable to the order of Receiver General for Canada.

EFT payments can be arranged by contacting the Director of Financial Services, Monday to Friday, from 09:00 to 16:00 Mountain Time:

  • Telephone: 403-919-4743 / 800-899-1265
  • Fax: 403-292-5503 / 877-288-8803

Cheques should be made out to the "Receiver General for Canada" and mailed to:

  • National Energy Board
    Attention: Finance
    Centre 10, 517 – 10th Avenue SW
    Calgary, Alberta
    T2R 0A8

Your completed Payment form should be enclosed with your payment.

To Request a Review

Pursuant to the NEB Act, Section 144, you may file a request for a review of this Notice of Violation by the Board.

The date of filing is the date on which the document is received, as indicated by the date on an e-mail submission or the stamped on the document by a NEB employee.

If you elect to make a request for a review, complete and submit the attached Request for Review form to:

  • Administrative Monetary Penalty – Reviews
    National Energy Board
    Centre 10, 517 – 10th Avenue SW
    Calgary, Alberta
    T2R 0A8

For more information on reviews, please see the Administrative Monetary Penalties Process Guide available on the NEB's website.

Sincerely,

Robert Steedman

Designated Officer
Administrative Monetary Penalties

1-800-899-1265 or 403-292-4800

Date modified:

Sanction administrative pécuniaire – Landstar Projects Ltd. – AMP-001-2017

Sanction administrative pécuniaire – Landstar Projects Ltd. – AMP-001-2017 [PDF 171 ko]

AVIS D'INFRACTION

No DE RÉFÉRENCE : AMP-001-2017

Information pour la société pipelinière / une tierce partie / un particulier :

Information pour la société pipelinière / une tierce partie / un particulier :
Nom : Landstar Projects Ltd.
Contactez :

Jasvinder Aujla and Kulwant Cheema

Titre :  
Adresse :

16726, 40e Avenue

Ville : Surrey
Province / État : Colombie-Britannique  V3Z 1E5
Téléphone : Information non disponible
Télécopieur :  
Courriel : Information non disponible

MONTANT TOTAL DES PÉNALITÉS : 28 000 $

Date de l'Avis : 15 mai 2015

No de l’instrument réglementaire :

Autour des 12 et 13 janvier 2016 Landstar Projects Limited a commis une infraction aux exigences réglementaires de l'ONE, sujet à la sanction administrative pécuniaire ci-dessous.

1. RENSEIGNEMENTS SUR L'INFRACTION

Date d'infraction :
Autour des 12 et 13 janvier 2016
Nombre total de jours : 1

La situation est-elle rétablie?

 X Oui

   Non

Si non, un autre avis d'infraction pourrait être envoyé.

Lieu de l'infraction :

ie : usine/siège central/lieu géographique
10552, 159e Rue B, Surrey (Colombie-Britannique)

Description abrégée de l'infraction
(Voir l'annexe 1 du Règlement)

Disposition et Sommaire

Règlement sur le croisement de pipe-lines, partie I

Omission d’exécuter des travaux d’excavation tel qu’exigé ou d’obtenir l’autorisation (Type B)

   
Dérogation à une ordonnance ou à une décision rendue sous le régime de la Loi (paragraphe 2(2) du Règlement sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires)
   
Manquement à une condition d’un certificat, d’une licence, d’un permis, d’une autorisation ou d’une exemption accordé sous le régime de la Loi (paragraphe 2(3) du Règlement sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires)

2. FAITS SAILLANTS

Décrire brièvement les motifs raisonnables de croire qu’une infraction a été commise

Le 21 janvier 2016, Kinder Morgan Canada (« KMC ») a signalé à l’Office national de l’énergie une activité non autorisée sur le réseau principal de Trans Mountain Pipeline ULC conformément à l’alinéa 13(1)a) du Règlement sur le croisement de pipe-lines, partie II (DORS/88-529). Cette activité non autorisée (UX2016-003) a été signalée sur le système de signalement d’événements (« SES ») comme étant un remuement du sol pendant des travaux d’excavation découvert et étant survenu le 13 janvier 2016.

L’examen mené par l’Office après le signalement en question a révélé ce qui suit :

  1. Le 12 janvier 2016, une patrouille au sol de KMC a découvert qu’A&G Excavating Ltd., entrepreneur dont les services avaient été retenus par Landstar Projects Ltd. (le promoteur), était à l’origine d’un remuement du sol à moins de 20 mètres au nord d’un pipeline du réseau principal de KMC sans autorisation de cette dernière. Des photos de l’activité non autorisée décrite ici ont été prises par le technicien la même journée. Un ordre de suspendre les travaux a aussi été produit sur place, que le technicien a remis à M. Parmar, d’A&G Excavating Ltd., pour avoir utilisé une excavatrice à l’intérieur de la zone de sécurité de 30 mètres du pipeline de KMC. Les travaux ont cessé jusqu’à ce que KMC puisse se rendre sur place le lendemain pour remettre un permis de travail. Lorsque le technicien a demandé pourquoi des travaux étaient menés sans autorisation, M. Parmar a mentionné qu’il était au courant de l’emplacement du pipeline mais que M. Aujla, de Landstar Projects Ltd., lui avait affirmé qu’aucun permis de KMC n’était requis. Lors d’un entretien subséquent sur cette même question avec M. Aujla, celui-ci a mentionné au technicien de KMC qu’il croyait que les travaux étaient effectués à l’extérieur de la zone de 30 mètres. M. Aujla a ensuite demandé à KMC la permission de poursuivre ces travaux.
  2. Le 13 janvier 2016, le technicien de KMC est retourné sur les lieux pour remettre un permis de sécurité et des copies de documents de la société, sur les exigences de celle-ci en matière de protection des pipelines et de remuement du sol, à A&G Excavating Ltd. et à Landstar Projects Ltd. Il a pris de nouvelles photos illustrant la proximité du remuement du sol avec l’emprise de KMC. Le rapport du technicien précisait qu’il y avait déjà eu des rencontres avec MM. Aujla et Cheema, représentants de Landstar, au sujet de nouveaux projets immobiliers et des permis requis à l’intérieur de la zone de 30 mètres, de l’inspection des installations à proximité et de l’examen des exigences de KMC en matière de remuement du sol,
  3. Le 21 janvier 2016, à la suite de sa propre enquête, KMC a fait parvenir une lettre à Landstar Projects Ltd. (M. Jasvinder Aujla) et à A&G Excavating Ltd. (M. Kulwinder Parmar) au sujet de l’activité non autorisée constatée le 13 janvier 2016 à proximité d’un pipeline du réseau principal de TransMountain et sur son emprise sans les permis requis de la part de la société pipelinière ni sous la supervision de celle-ci. La lettre ajoutait que cette activité allait à l’encontre des dispositions prévues à l’article 112 de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie (la « Loi »).
  4. Le 7 avril 2016, KMC a remis à l’Office son rapport final sur l’activité non autorisée UX2016-003, auquel on avait joint la lettre envoyée à Landstar Projects Ltd. le 21 janvier 2016, un rapport interne et des photos.
  5. Le 21 avril 2016, du personnel de l’Office a assuré un suivi au sujet de l’activité non autorisée UX2016-003 et a laissé un message sur la boîte vocale de M. Parmar, d’A&G Excavating Ltd. M. Parmar a retourné l’appel le 29 avril 2016, stipulant que le promoteur, Landstar Projects Ltd., avait mentionné détenir un permis. Il a réalisé plus tard que ce permis portait sur d’autres travaux.
  6. Le 29 avril 2016, du personnel de l’Office a assuré un suivi au sujet de l’activité non autorisée et a laissé un message sur la boîte vocale de M. Cheema, un des associés de Landstar Projects Ltd. M. Cheema a retourné l’appel le 2 mai 2016 pour dire que M. Aujla rappellerait pour fournir les détails. Le personnel de l’Office a souligné l’importance de communiquer avec un centre d’appel unique en cas de remuement du sol.
  7. Le 4 mai 2016, du personnel de l’Office a parlé avec M. Aujla, de Landstar Projects Ltd., au sujet de l’activité non autorisée UX2016-003 et lui demandant certains documents.
  8. Le 5 mai 2016, du personnel de l’Office a envoyé une lettre sur la prévention des dommages à A&G Excavating Ltd. par rapport à l’activité non autorisée UX2016-003, survenue autour des 12 et 13 janvier 2016, dans laquelle étaient décrites les exigences quand on travaille à proximité de pipelines relevant de la réglementation fédérale et à laquelle étaient jointes des copies de diverses publications de l’organisme. Une lettre de même nature a également alors été envoyée à Landstar Projects Ltd. (MM. Aujla et Cheema) traitant de l’activité non autorisée UX2016-003 signalée à l’Office comme étant survenue le 13 janvier 2016. On y demandait de lui fournir par écrit, au plus tard le 31 mai 2016, de l’information et des documents liés à l’activité en question ainsi qu’aux marches à suivre établies par la société en matière de sécurité.
  9. Le 23 mai 2016, du personnel de l’Office a reçu un courriel de M. Aujla, en réponse à un qui lui avait été envoyé le 2 novembre 2015 au sujet d’une autre activité non autorisée (UX2015-043) signalée par KMC sur le SES de l’Office en avril 2015. L’activité non autorisée UX2015-043 avait eu lieu directement en face d’un pipeline du réseau principal de TransMountain sur son emprise le 6 avril 2015 sans permis ni supervision de la part de KMC. M. Aujla a précisé que l’information requise devrait être envoyée dans la semaine.
  10. Le 20 juin 2016, du personnel de l’Office a assuré le suivi au moyen d’un courriel à M. Aujla indiquant que les documents demandés dans la lettre du 5 mai 2016 n’avaient toujours pas été reçus.
  11. Le 15 juillet 2016, du personnel de l’Office a acheminé à Landstar Project Ltd., par la poste et par courriel, une version modifiée de la lettre sur la prévention des dommages du 5 mai 2016 montrant en surbrillance certains changements qui y avaient été apportés. L’information modifiée portait sur l’adresse de l’emplacement de l’activité non autorisée, passée de « 10532, 159e Rue B, Surrey (Colombie-Britannique) » à « 10552, 159e Rue B, Surrey (Colombie-Britannique) ».
  12. Le 21 juillet 2016, du personnel de l’Office a envoyé un courriel à M. Aujla puisque l’information demandée au sujet des deux activités non autorisées UX2015-043 et UX2016-003 n’avait pas encore été reçue. On y précisait que les dossiers avaient été confiés à l’équipe d’exécution et d’enquêtes de l’Office pour examen plus en profondeur. Un employé de l’Office a par la suite reçu un message sur sa boîte vocale au sujet d’un appel précédent par du personnel de l’Office.
  13. Le 22 juillet 2016, du personnel de l’Office a parlé avec M. Aujla, l’information n’ayant toujours pas encore été reçue. Ce dernier a mentionné que des travaux de rénovation avaient cours dans les bureaux et qu’il n’avait pas la lettre sur la prévention des dommages. Il a demandé si on pouvait lui envoyer à nouveau par courriel. Du personnel de l’Office a envoyé par courriel une copie de la version modifiée de la lettre sur la prévention des dommages datée du 5 mai 2016 et portant sur l’activité non autorisée UX2016-003.
  14. Le 22 juillet 2016, du personnel de l’Office a reçu une lettre de M. Kulwant Cheema, administrateur de Landstar Projects Ltd., présentant des excuses pour les « infractions » et la négligence découlant de l’incompréhension du Règlement sur le croisement de pipe-lines. M. Cheema a fourni une explication au sujet des deux activités non autorisées, UX2016-003 et UX2015-043, qu’il a décrites comme des « infractions ». La lettre décrivait en outre les marches à suivre définies par Landstar Projects Ltd. en matière de sécurité lorsqu’il s’agit de procéder à des travaux d’excavation et de construction à proximité de pipelines relevant de la réglementation fédérale.
  15. Le 23 août 2016, du personnel de l’Office a communiqué avec M. Aujla par téléphone afin d’assurer le suivi au sujet du processus de Landstar Projects Ltd. et des marches à suivre définies autour des travaux d’excavation à proximité de pipelines. M. Aujla a alors fourni l’information suivante :
    1. Landstar ne dispose pas de marches à suivre par écrit portant sur le travail à proximité de pipelines. Les documents à sa disposition se limitent aux dépliants qui lui ont été fournis par l’Office et KMC. MM. Aujla et Cheema ont un guide, qu’ils suivent.
    2. Landstar a toujours recours au même entrepreneur pour les travaux d’excavation. MM. Aujla et Cheema s’occupent de la coordination avec les entrepreneurs.
    3. M. Aujla ou M. Cheema demeurera sur le chantier lorsque des travaux sont exécutés. Ils ont des réunions avec les entrepreneurs pour s’assurer qu’il n’y a pas de problème.
    4.  C’est Landstar et non l’entrepreneur qui téléphone au centre d’appel unique de la Colombie-Britannique.
  16. Le 20 septembre 2016, du personnel de l’Office a demandé à KMC de confirmer les dates et les adresses exactes des deux activités non autorisées, puisque de l’information fournie dans la lettre de Landstar Projects Ltd. lui semblait incorrecte. KMC a produit les renseignements ci-dessous. Landstar Projects Ltd. a mené des activités non autorisées aux deux endroits suivants :
    1. le 6 avril 2015, au 10532, 159e Rue B, Surrey (Colombie-Britannique), il y a eu remplacement des panneaux d’une clôture en bois (UX2015-043);
    2. Le 13 janvier 2016, au 10552, 159e Rue B, Surrey (Colombie-Britannique), il y a eu remuement du sol à 20 mètres du pipeline dans un nouvel ensemble résidentiel (UX2016-003).

En raison de cette activité non autorisée survenue autour des 12 et 13 janvier 2016, on a constaté que Landstar Projects Ltd. avait effectué des travaux d’excavation sans autorisation de l’Office ou permission écrite de KMC, selon les dispositions prévues aux alinéas 112(5)b) de la Loi et 6b) du Règlement sur le croisement de pipe-lines, partie I qui étaient alors en vigueur tels qu’ils sont cités ci-après.

Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, L.R.C. (1985), ch. N-7, alin. 112(5)b)
(5) L’Office peut prendre des ordonnances ou des règlements concernant :
b) les mesures à prendre à l’égard de ... travaux d’excavation dans les trente mètres du pipeline;

Règlement sur le croisement de pipe-lines, partie I, DORS/88-528, alin. 6b)

6 L’autorisation de l’Office n’est pas nécessaire pour l’exécution de travaux d’excavation, autres que ceux visés à l’article 7, lorsque :
b) l’exécutant de travaux d’excavation obtient au préalable la permission écrite de la compagnie pipelinière et accepte de respecter les conditions qui y sont énoncées;

Même en l’absence de tout dommage alors que le pipeline du réseau principal de TransMountain/KMC n’a pas été heurté, la canalisation était active, du pétrole y étant transporté les 12 et 13 janvier 2016. À l’endroit où il y a eu remuement du sol, celle-ci se trouve très près d’une zone résidentielle densément peuplée (centre récréatif Fraser Heights à 106 m, école secondaire du même nom à 370 m, trois centres commerciaux linéaires à 570 m et la route Transcanadienne à 160 m), ce qui était préoccupant pour la sécurité du public et l’environnement.

 

3. CALCUL DES SANCTIONS

(a) PÉNALITÉ DE BASE (côte de gravité = 0)

(a) PÉNALITÉ DE BASE (côte de gravité = 0)
Catégorie Personne physique Autre Personne
(Type A)     $1,365     $5,025
(Type B)     $10,000  X  $40,000

[Voir le Règlement, paragraphe 4(1)]

(b) CÔTE DE GRAVITÉ GLOBALE APPLICABLES

[Voir le Règlement, paragraphe 4(2)]

(b) CÔTE DE GRAVITÉ GLOBALE APPLICABLES
Atténuer Aggravantes
-2 -1 0 +1 +2 +3
 X  Autres infractions au cours des sept (7) années précédentes -- --  X          --
 
 X  Avantages concurrentiels ou économiques découlant de l'infraction -- --  X          --
 
 X  Efforts raisonnables déployés pour atténuer ou annuler les effets de l'infraction          X          --
 
 X  Négligence de la part de la personne ayant commis l'infraction -- --  X          --
 
 X  Collaboration raisonnable avec l'Office en ce qui a trait à l'infraction          X          --
 
 X  Infraction signalée sans délai à l'Office          X          --
 
 X  Mesures prises pour prévenir les récidives      X              --
Dans sa lettre du  juillet 2016 à l’Office, Landstar Projects Ltd. a fourni certains renseignements sur les marches à suivre définies en matière de sécurité lorsqu’il s’agit de procéder à des travaux d’excavation et de construction à proximité de pipelines relevant de la réglementation fédérale.
 X  Infraction reliée principalement à la production de rapports ou à la tenue des dossiers          X  -- -- --
 
 X  Facteurs aggravants pouvant causer du tort au public ou à l'environnement -- --  X             
 

(c) CÔTE DE GRAVITÉ GLOBALE

-1

(d) SANCTIONS QUOTIDIENNES
(Pénalité de base d'après la côte de gravité)

28 000 $

(e) DURÉE DE L'INFRACTION
(Si plus d'une journée, prière de justifier.)

 

Notes pour expliquer la décision d'appliquer des pénalités multiples quotidiennes, ou «sans objet»

4. MONTANT TOTAL DE LA PÉNALITÉ

28 000 $

Note : Le montant total de la pénalité est calculé d'après la période décrite à l'étape 1 ci-dessus. Si la situation n'a pas été rétablie, un autre avis d'infraction pourrait être envoyé.

5. DATE LIMITE

(30 jours à compter de la réception de l'Avis d'infraction)

15 juin 2016

Notes

Vous disposez de 30 jours après la signification de l'Avis d'infraction pour demander une révision du montant de la pénalité, ou les faits rapportés, ou les deux.

Si les sanctions ne sont pas acquittées et qu'aucune révision n'est demandée, vous êtes considérés comme coupable de l'infraction et vous devez payer les sanctions précisées dans l'Avis d'infraction. Les sanctions sont payables à la date indiquée ci-dessus.

Un défaut de paiement constitue une créance envers l'Etat et peut être recouvré en utilisant tous les recours prévus dans la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques.

L'information concernant l'infraction pourrait égalment être affichée sur le site Web de l'ONE :

  1. 30 jours après la date de réception de l'Avis;
  2. dès qu'une décision a été rendue à la suite d'une Demande de révision.

Paiement:

Vous pouvez payer le montant dû par transfert électronique de fonds (TEF) ou par chèque établi à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada.

Pour se prévaloir du service de transfert électronique, communiquer par téléphone avec le Directeur, Service des finances, du lundi au vendredi, de 9 h à 16 h, heure des Rocheuses :

  • Telephone: 403-919-4743/ 800-899-1265
  • Telec. : 403-292-5503/877-288-8803

Les chèques doivent être établis à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada et postés à l'adresse suivante :

  • Office national de l'énergie
    Service des finances
    Centre 10, 517 - 10e Avenue S.-O.
    Calgary (Alberta)
    T2R 0A8

Le formulaire de paiement dûment rempli doit accompagner le paiement.

Demande de révision

En vertu de l'article 144 de la Loi sur l'ONE, vous pouvez présenter à l'Office une Demande de révision de cet Avis l'infraction.

La date du dépôt correspond à la date de réception du document, qui apparait sur l'envoi électronique ou le timbre appose sur le document par un employé de l'ONE.

Si vous voulez demander une révision, veuillez remplir et soumettre le formulaire de Demande de révision à l'adresse suivante :

  • Sanction administrative pécuniaire – Révision
    Office national de l'énergie
    Centre 10, 517 – 10e Avenue S.-O.
    Calgary (Alberta)
    T2R 0A8

Pour de plus amples informations sur le processus de révision, prière de consulter le Guide sur le processus relatif aux sanctions administratives pécuniaires sur le site Web.

Pour toute question à ce sujet, veuillez communiquer avec la personne soussignée.

Sincères salutations,

Robert Steedman

Fonctionnaire désigné
Sanctions administratives pécunaires

1-800-899-1265 ou 403-292-4800

Date de modification :