ARCHIVED - Emera Brunswick Pipeline Company Ltd. - Audit Report OF-Surv-OpAud-E236 01 - Appendix VII: EBPC Management Review Audit Evaluation Table

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

APPENDIX VII
EBPC MANAGEMENT REVIEW AUDIT EVALUATION TABLE

5.0 MANAGEMENT REVIEW

5.1 Management Review

Expectations: Senior management should formally review the management and protection programs for continuing suitability, adequacy and effectiveness. The review should be based on appropriate documentation and records including the results of the surveillance, monitoring and audit programs. This review should be formal and documented and should occur on a regular basis. The management review should include a review of any decisions, actions and commitments which relate to the improvement of the programs and the company’s overall performance.

References:
Environment: Safety: Integrity: Crossings
and
Awareness:
Emergency
Management:
OPR-99
sections 53 and 55

CSA Z662-07
Clause10.2.2 (h) (iii)
OPR-99
sections 53 and 55

CSA Z662-07
Clause10.2.2 (h) (iii)

OPR-99
sections 4, 40, 53 and 55

CSA Z662-07
Clauses 10.2.2 (h) (iii) and 10.14.1

OPR-9 9
section 53

CSA Z662-07
Clause 10.2.2 (h) (iii)

PCR Part II,
sections 4 and 5
OPR-99
sections 53 and 55

CSA Z662-07
Clause 10.2.2 (h) (iii)

Assessment:
The expectations for Management Review describe the Board’s expectation for anticipated level of oversight, direction and communication that the Board requires of the certificate holder’s senior management. In the case of the Brunswick Pipeline, the responsibility of the development and maintenance of all operational programs has been designated by EBPC, the certificate holder, to the Operator through an Operations and Maintenance (O&M) Agreement. While the O&M agreement describes the responsibilities of the designated Operator, the Board expects that the certificate holder demonstrate adequate oversight and monitoring of and direction to the Operator, regardless of the Operator’s depth of experience. It is the expectation of the Board that EBPC formally and actively oversee processes including the review of contracts, reporting and communication processes in place in order to ensure that the continued suitability of the operational programs and the adequacy with which these programs address the hazards and risks while remaining in compliance with all applicable legal requirements.

To establish EBPC’s level of oversight of the operational programs, the Board conducted interviews and examined the documentation that resulted from the formal and informal interactions between EBPC and its Operator. The Board was able to ascertain the nature of the information exchanged by reviewing the content of the Operations and Maintenance Agreement, senior management committee structures, standing agenda items, meeting minutes and reports. Document review confirmed that EBPC monitored its Operator’s progress in meeting the goals targets and objectives. EBPC indicated that it discusses objectives at the beginning of the year, at least once during the year and again at the end of the year when the past year’s performance is evaluated and objectives are established for the next year. EBPC Management indicated that it reviews the Operator’s messages to internal and external stakeholders to ensure consistency with EBPC expectations. EBPC Management was also demonstrating a degree of the required oversight by reviewing reports and monitoring operational activities such as right-of-way patrols, safety incidents, facility operations and maintenance review.

EBPC Management also indicated that it intends to apply Emera Inc.’s Environmental Management System to provide guidance to the Operator by outlining its regulatory requirements and expectations. It was confirmed that the elements are aligned with the intent of the program requirements of OPR-99. According to EBPC, it intends to audit the compliance and suitability of the program by applying a combination of the Operator’s internal audit process and Emera Inc.’s Environmental Management System audit requirements. At the time of the audit however, EBPC could not demonstrate that it had formally reviewed the programs developed by the Operator to ensure their suitability in meeting its regulatory obligations.

The Board expects that the certificate holder is able to demonstrate oversight and review of the development and implementation of appropriate processes for the measuring and monitoring the activities undertaken on its behalf. This oversight is required in order to ensure ongoing compliance with its certificate(s) and regulatory requirements. Record review confirmed that EBPC staff participate in regularly scheduled operations and maintenance management meetings with the Operator.

In order for EBPC to be meet the regulatory obligations of a certificate holder, it must demonstrate that its senior management is actively and formally directing and measuring the development of effective and compliant programs. This active direction includes the establishment of requirements for managing and monitoring programs to ensure they are functioning for the identification, communication and mitigation of hazards, the integration of legal requirements and the establishment of goals and targets using a formal and documented reporting process. EBPC was able to demonstrate that it routinely requests follow-up on issues identified to ensure corrective and preventative actions are performed according to the procedures.

It was noted that the Operator was conducting internal audits and formal reviews of its Environmental Health and Safety Management System as required by OPR-99. The audit report also noted that the Operator was not conducting the assessment that is required in the Pipeline Crossing Regulations. When reviewing the existing information sharing processes between EBPC and the Operator, the Board could not verify that the results of the Operator’s 2009 program audits were being communicated with EBPC or that there was a communication process in place to ensure appropriate distribution of the reports.

During the audit, EBPC provided documentation that demonstrated that there was a level of oversight occurring for the operational programs. As noted throughout this audit report, EBPC and the Operator were communicating on a regular basis concerning the Brunswick Pipeline and related activities. There are routinely scheduled meetings occurring that follow a set agenda and where updates are provided. However, as discussed in Element 3.4 Communication, there is a lack of a formal communication process between EBPC and its Operator. Without a plan in place, the Board could not confirm that EBPC was receiving and reviewing all of the necessary information from each program to support the oversight required to meet the Board’s expectations.

EBPC could not demonstrate that it had formally reviewed the operational programs to ensure they were meeting all applicable regulatory requirements or managing the hazards and risks associated with its activities.

Compliance Status: Non-compliant

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Emera Brunswick Pipeline Company Ltd. - Rapport de vérification OF-Surv-OpAud-E236 01 - Annexe VII : Tableau d'évaluation de la vérification de la revue de la direction

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Annexe VII
Tableau d'évaluation de la vérification de la revue de la direction

5.0 REVUE DE LA DIRECTION

5.1 Revue de la direction

Expectations: La haute direction doit procéder à un examen formel des programmes de gestion et de protection pour s’assurer qu’ils sont toujours adéquats, pertinents et efficaces. L’examen devrait être fondé sur des documents et dossiers appropriés, incluant notamment les résultats des programmes de contrôle, de surveillance et de vérification. Cet examen doit être documenté et effectué formellement et régulièrement. La direction doit inclure dans cet examen toutes les décisions et actions ainsi que tous les engagements pris relativement à l’amélioration des programmes et au rendement global de la société.

Références :
Environnement : Sécurité : Intégrité : Croisement et sensibilisation : Gestion des urgences :
Articles 53 et 55 du RPT-99

Clause 10.2.2(h)(iii) de la norme CSA Z662-07
Articles 53 et 55 du RPT-99

Clause 10.2.2(h)(iii) de la norme CSA Z662-07

Articles 4, 40, 53 et 55 du RPT-99

Clauses 10.2.2h)(iii) et 10.14.1 de la norme CSA Z662-07

Article 53 du RPT-99

Clause 10.2.2h)(iii) de la norme CSA Z662-07

Articles 4 et 5 de la partie II du RCP
Articles 53 et 55 du RPT-99

Clause 10.2.2(h)(iii) de la norme CSA Z662-07

Évaluation :
Les attentes de l’Office à l’égard de la revue de la direction concernent le niveau escompté de surveillance, d’orientation et de communication auquel est tenue la haute direction du détenteur du certificat. Dans le cas du gazoduc Brunswick, la responsabilité de l’élaboration et de la mise en oeuvre de tous les programmes d’exploitation a été dévolue par EBPC, détentrice du certificat, à l’exploitant en vertu d’une entente sur l’exploitation et l’entretien. Même si cette entente énonce les responsabilités de l’exploitant désigné, l’Office s’attend à ce que le détenteur du certificat démontre qu’il a assuré une surveillance et une orientation adéquates de l’exploitant, indépendamment de l’ampleur de l’expérience de ce dernier. L’Office s’attend à ce qu’EBPC supervise formellement et activement les processus en place, y compris l’examen des contrats et les processus de production de rapports et de communication, pour s’assurer que les programmes d’exploitation sont toujours adéquats pour parer aux dangers et aux risques tout en demeurant conformes à toutes les exigences juridiques.

Pour déterminer le niveau de surveillance exercé par EBPC sur les programmes d’exploitation, l’Office a mené des entrevues et examiné les documents reliés aux interactions formelles et informelles entre EBPC et son exploitant. L’Office a été en mesure de juger de la nature de l’information communiquée en examinant le contenu de l’entente sur l’exploitation et l’entretien, les structures du comité de la haute direction, les points permanents à l’ordre du jour, les procès-verbaux des réunions et les rapports. L’examen des documents a confirmé qu’EBPC a surveillé les progrès de son exploitant en ce qui concerne le respect des buts, des objectifs et des cibles. EBPC a indiqué qu’elle discutait des objectifs au début de l’année, au moins une fois durant l’année et encore une fois à la fin de l’année, au moment d’évaluer le rendement de l’année écoulée et d’établir les objectifs de l’année suivante. La direction d’EBPC a dit qu’elle examine les messages de l’exploitant adressés aux parties prenantes internes et externes pour s’assurer qu’ils répondent à ses attentes. La direction d’EBPC a également démontré un certain degré de surveillance requise en passant en revue les rapports et en contrôlant les activités liées à l’exploitation, comme les patrouilles de l’emprise, les incidents de sécurité, le fonctionnement des installations et les activités d’entretien.

La direction d’EBPC a également indiqué qu’elle compte mettre à contribution le système de gestion de l’environnement d’Emera Inc. pour donner des orientations à l’exploitant en soulignant ses exigences réglementaires et ses attentes. Il a été confirmé que les éléments concordent avec l’esprit des exigences du RPT-99 en matière de programmes. EBPC a dit qu’elle comptait vérifier la conformité et la pertinence du programme en appliquant une combinaison d’exigences contenues dans le processus de vérification interne de l’exploitant et dans le processus de vérification du système de gestion de l’environnement d’Emera Inc. Au moment de la vérification toutefois, EBPC n’a pas pu démontrer qu’elle avait examiné formellement les programmes élaborés par l’exploitant pour s’assurer qu’ils étaient aptes à respecter ses obligations réglementaires.

L’Office s’attend à ce que le détenteur du certificat puisse démontrer qu’il supervise et examine l’élaboration et la mise en oeuvre des processus appropriés pour surveiller et contrôler les activités entreprises en son nom. Cette surveillance est nécessaire pour s’assurer qu’ils sont conformes à son ou ses certificats et aux exigences réglementaires. L’examen des dossiers a confirmé que le personnel d’EBPC participe aux réunions régulières sur la gestion de l’exploitation et de l’entretien avec son exploitant.

Pour répondre aux exigences réglementaires du certificat qu’elle détient, EBPC doit démontrer que sa haute direction oriente et mesure activement et formellement l’élaboration de programmes efficaces et conformes. Par orientation active on entend notamment l’établissement d’exigences pour la gestion et le contrôle des programmes afin de s’assurer que ceux-ci sont aptes à déterminer, communiquer et atténuer les dangers, à intégrer les exigences juridiques et à établir des buts et des cibles au moyen d’un processus de production de rapports formel et documenté. EBPC a été en mesure de démontrer qu’elle demande couramment un suivi sur les problèmes relevés pour que des mesures correctives et préventives soient appliquées selon les procédures établies. L’Office a constaté que l’exploitant a effectué des vérifications internes et des examens formels de son système de gestion de l’environnement, de la santé et de la sécurité, comme l’exige le RPT-99. Le rapport de vérification a également permis de constater que l’exploitant ne faisait pas l’évaluation prévue au RCP. En examinant les processus de communication de l’information en place entre EBPC et l’exploitant, l’Office n’a pas pu vérifier que les résultats des vérifications des programmes de l’exploitant en 2009 étaient communiqués à EBPC ou qu’il existait un processus de communication pour assurer une diffusion appropriée des rapports.

Durant la vérification, EBPC a fourni des documents qui ont démontré qu’il y avait une certaine supervision des programmes d’exploitation. Tel qu’il est indiqué tout au long du présent rapport de vérification, EBPC et l’exploitant communiquaient régulièrement entre eux à propos du gazoduc Brunswick et des activités s’y rapportant. Il y a des réunions régulières prévues qui suivent un ordre du jour préétabli et où on fait le point de la situation. Tel qu’indiqué toutefois à l’élément 3.4 sur la communication, il n’existe pas de processus de communication formel entre EBPC et son exploitant. C’est pourquoi l’Office n’a pas pu confirmer qu’EBPC recevait et examinait toute l’information nécessaire sur chacun des programmes pour assurer une supervision qui réponde aux attentes de l’Office.

EBPC n’a pas pu démontrer qu’elle avait examiné formellement les programmes d’exploitation pour s’assurer qu’ils respectaient toutes les exigences réglementaires ou qu’ils géraient les dangers et les risques associés à ses activités.

Statut de conformité : Non conforme

Date de modification :