ARCHIVED - Maritimes and Northeast Pipeline Management Ltd. - Audit Report OF-Surv-OpAud- 01 - Appendix VII: M&NP Management Review Audit Evaluation Table

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

APPENDIX VII
M&NP MANAGEMENT REVIEW AUDIT EVALUATION TABLE

5.0 MANAGEMENT REVIEW

5.1 Management Review

Expectations: Senior management should formally review the management and protection programs for continuing suitability, adequacy and effectiveness. The review should be based on appropriate documentation and records including the results of the surveillance, monitoring and audit programs. This review should be formal and documented and should occur on a regular basis. The management review should include a review of any decisions, actions and commitments which relate to the improvement of the programs and the company’s overall performance.

References
Environment: Safety: Integrity: Crossings
and
Awareness:
Emergency
Management:
OPR-99
section 55

CSA Z662-07
Clause10.2.2 (h) (iii)
OPR-99
section 55

CSA Z662-07
Clause10.2.2 (h) (iii)

OPR-99
sections 4, 40 and 55

CSA Z662-07
Clauses 10.2.2 (h) (iii) and 10.14.1

OPR-99 section 
53

CSA Z662-07
Clause 10.2.2 (h) (iii)

PCR Part II,
sections 4 and 5
OPR-99
section 55

CSA Z662-07
Clause 10.2.2
(h) (iii)

Assessment:
The Board considers senior management, as described in the expectations of the NEB audit protocols, to be the senior management of the certificate holder. As such, the Board assessed the level of oversight demonstrated by the Management Committee of M&NP as the holder of the operating certificate for Element 5.1, Management Review. It is the expectation of the Board that, in cases where a certificate holder has entered into an Operations and Maintenance agreement with an Operator, the responsibility to implement processes that ensure all regulatory obligations are being met on its behalf remains with the certificate holder. In this case, the Management Committee of M&NP has been designated to manage and control the business and operation of M&NP and thus bears ultimate responsibility for overseeing compliance with the NEB Act, the OPR-99, the PCR and other relevant Acts and Regulationsof the operational programs and the adequacy with which these programs address the hazards and risks while remaining in compliance with all applicable legal requirements.

The M&NP Management Committee was demonstrating elements of the required oversight expected by the Board, in that the Management Committee reviewed and monitored operational activities including performance goals at quarterly and annual meetings. M&NP also indicated that the President has informal daily communications regarding operational activities. However, it could not be demonstrated that the Management Committee is actively and formally ensuring that the management and protection programs (e.g., IMP, EHS MS and EPR Program) developed and implemented by the Operator are suitable and effective in meeting its regulatory obligations.

Through the course of the audit, the Board confirmed that the Operator was performing formal reviews of its Integrity Management Program, Environmental, Health and Safety Management System, and Emergency Preparedness and Response Program. However, the Board did not review documentation to indicate that the certificate holder was ensuring that the Operator was conducting any formal reviews of its Crossing or Public Awareness Programs.

The assessment of Element 5.1 - Management Review for each of the programs is as follows:

Integrity Management Program (IMP)

The Integrity Manual Section 15: IMP Review and Evaluation specifies that the IMP be reviewed and evaluated periodically (at least once per year). The Pipeline Integrity Oversight Committee (PIOC) is responsible for reviewing the IMP with input from Subject Matter Experts (SME) from Houston Technical Services as well as Region Technical Staff or Area Management. The PIOC also monitors Performance Metrics for satisfactory performance every six months. Annual Corrosion Review Meetings are also held with the purpose of reviewing the status of the corrosion control systems and determine what remedial actions may be necessary based on the previous year’s surveillance, monitoring and survey results. Review of the February 2010 meeting minutes indicated the attendance of appropriate personnel and appropriate detail of the meeting agenda to cover topics relevant to the IMP.

Although the IMP is being reviewed by several senior level committees to ensure its suitability; it could not be demonstrated that the results of this review are being communicated to the M&NP Management Committee.

Environment Health and Safety Management System (EHS MS)

The Operator manages the Environment Program and the Safety Program with an Environment Health and Safety Management System (EHS MS). M&NP’s EHS related programs document the activities such as inspection and audits as well as the related findings for management level review. M&NP demonstrated that these documents were discussed as regular agenda items at senior Operator meetings.

In addition, M&NP confirmed that the EHS programs are evaluated on an ongoing basis through lessons learned and progress is tracked. Processes were in place to ensure adequate senior level review and assessment of the effectiveness of the EHS MS with opportunities for continual improvement.

However, the Board could not confirm that results of these reviews were being communicated to the M&NP Management Committee for review.

Emergency Preparedness and Response Program (EPR Program)

The Board verified that the Operator is conducting an annual management review of the EPR Program. Documentation and records reviewed as part of this annual review include the EPR Program, the Field Emergency Response Plan, emergency response exercises and feedback from participants, the continuing education and liaison programs and the training program. A review of annual review meeting minutes confirmed that senior Operator staff review all elements of the EPR program to assess the overall effectiveness program.

However, the Board could not verify that results of the Operator’s annual management review of the EPR Program were being communicated to the M&NP Management Committee for review.

Crossing Program

For activities related to third party activity, the Board did not see any formal reporting addressing third party activity covered by the National Energy Board Pipeline Crossing Regulations (PCR). Further, it was noted that little if any tracking or trending done to monitor levels of third party activity. As such, the Board could not confirm that the Crossing Program has ever been assessed for suitability, adequacy or effectiveness.

Public Awareness Program

M&NP’s Operator did not demonstrate that it was formally reviewing its awareness program as developed and implemented to ensure the program it is meeting all applicable regulatory requirements.

The audit could not verify that there is a formal assessment of the effectiveness of the PA Program to ensure the ongoing suitability of the PA program and its resources that has been completed and communicated to the M&NP Management Committee.

As noted above, it is the Management Committee’s responsibility, to confirm and demonstrate its compliance through the development and implementation of adequate and effective programs. The responsibility of the development and implementation of these programs has been designated by M&NP to Spectra as the Operator through an Operations and Maintenance Agreement. It is the expectation of the Board that M&NP formally and actively oversee the activities of the Operator to ensure its regulatory obligations are being met on its behalf. It could not be demonstrated by M&NP that it was formally reviewing its programs as developed by the Operator to ensure they were meeting all applicable regulatory requirements and that they continue to be suitable.

Compliance Status: Non-compliant

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Maritimes and Northeast Pipeline Management Ltd. - Rapport de vérification OF-Surv-OpAud-M124 01 - Annexe VII : Tableau d'évaluation de la vérification de la revue de la direction

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Annexe VII
Tableau d'évaluation de la vérification de la revue de la direction

5.0 EXAMEN PAR LA DIRECTION

Attentes : La haute direction doit procéder à un examen formel des programmes de gestion et de protection pour s’assurer qu’ils sont toujours adéquats, pertinents et efficaces. L’examen devrait être fondé sur des documents et dossiers appropriés, incluant notamment les résultats des programmes de contrôle, de surveillance et de vérification. Cet examen doit être documenté et effectué formellement et régulièrement. La direction doit inclure dans cet examen toutes les décisions et actions ainsi que tous les engagements pris relativement à l’amélioration des programmes et au rendement global de la société.

Références
Environnement : Sécurité : Intégrité : Croisement et sensibilisation : Gestion des urgences :
Articles  55 du RPT-99

Clause 10.2.2(h)(iii) de la norme CSA Z662-07
Articles 55 du RPT-99

Clause 10.2.2(h)(iii) de la norme CSA Z662-07

Articles 4, 40 et 55 du RPT-99

Clauses 10.2.2h)(iii) et 10.14.1 de la norme CSA Z662-07

Article 53 du RPT-99

Clause 10.2.2h)(iii) de la norme CSA Z662-07

Articles 4 et 5 de la partie II du RCP
Articles 55 du RPT-99

Clause 10.2.2(h)(iii) de la norme CSA Z662-07

Évaluation :
L’Office considère la haute direction, telle que décrite dans les attentes des protocoles d’audit de l’ONÉ, comme étant la haute direction du titulaire du certificat. En conséquence, l’Office a évalué le niveau de surveillance assuré par le comité de gestion de M&NP, le titulaire du certificat d’exploitation pour l’élément 5.1 - Revue de la direction. Dans les cas où le titulaire d’un certificat a conclu une entente d’exploitation et d’entretien avec un exploitant, l’Office s’attend à ce que la responsabilité de la mise en oeuvre des processus mis en place pour répondre à toutes les obligations réglementaires en son nom revienne au titulaire du certificat. En l’espèce, le comité de gestion de M&NP a été désigné pour gérer et contrôler les affaires et l’exploitation de M&NP, et il a ainsi la responsabilité ultime de surveiller la conformité à la Loi sur l’ONÉ, au RPT-99, au RCP et aux autres lois et règlements pertinents.

Le comité de gestion de M&NP a prouvé l’existence d’éléments de la surveillance escomptée par l’Office, en ce sens qu’il a examiné et surveillé les activités d’exploitation, y compris les objectifs de rendement aux réunions trimestrielles et annuelles. M&NP a également indiqué que le président a des contacts informels quotidiens en ce qui concerne les activités d’exploitation. Il n’a toutefois pas pu démontrer qu’il veille activement et systématiquement à ce que les programmes de gestion et de protection (programme de gestion de l’intégrité, système de gestion de l’environnement, de la santé et de la sécurité, programme de protection civile et d’intervention d’urgence, etc.) élaborés et mis en oeuvre par l’exploitant répondent de façon pertinente et efficace aux exigences réglementaires.

Tout au long de l’audit, l’Office a confirmé que l’exploitant effectuait un examen formel de son programme de gestion de l’intégrité, de son système de gestion de l’environnement, de la santé et de la sécurité, et de son programme de protection civile et d’intervention d’urgence. L’Office n’a toutefois pas examiné les documents pouvant indiquer que le titulaire du certificat s’assurait que l’exploitant procédait à l’examen formel de son programme de croisement ou de son programme de sensibilisation du public.

L’évaluation de l’élément 5.1 - Revue de la direction, pour chacun des programmes, est la suivante :

Programme de gestion de l’intégrité (PGI)

La section 15 - Examen et évaluation du PGI du Manuel sur la gestion de l’intégrité précise que le PGI doit être examiné et évalué périodiquement (au moins une fois l’an). Le comité de surveillance de l’intégrité du pipeline a charge d’examiner le PGI avec la participation des experts en la matière des Services techniques de Houston et du personnel technique de la région ou de la direction régionale. Le comité de surveillance contrôle également les mesures de rendement tous les six mois pour s’assurer que le rendement est satisfaisant. Des réunions sur la corrosion ont également lieu chaque année dans le but d’examiner l’état des systèmes de prévention de la corrosion et de déterminer les mesures d’atténuation nécessaires en fonction des résultats de la surveillance, du contrôle et de l’enquête de l’année précédente. L’examen du procès-verbal de la réunion de février 2010 a révélé une participation appropriée du personnel et un niveau de détail approprié de l’ordre du jour pour couvrir les sujets pertinents du PGI.

Même si le PGI est examiné par plusieurs comités de la haute direction pour s’assurer qu’il est satisfaisant, il n’a pas pu être démontré que les résultats de cet examen sont communiqués au comité de gestion de M&NP.

Système de gestion de l’environnement, de la santé et de la sécurité

L’exploitant gère le programme environnemental et le programme de sécurité à l’aide du système de gestion de l’environnement, de la santé et de la sécurité. Les programmes liés à l’environnement, la santé et la sécurité de M&NP documentent notamment les activités d’inspection et de vérification, ainsi que les résultats s’y rapportant soumis à l’examen de la direction. M&NP a démontré que ces documents sont inscrits à l’ordre du jour des réunions des cadres de l’exploitant pour en débattre.

M&NP a en outre confirmé que les programmes liés à l’environnement, la santé et la sécurité sont évalués régulièrement grâce aux leçons qui ont été tirées et que leurs progrès sont suivis. Des processus étaient en place pour permettre à la haute direction d’examiner et évaluer l’efficacité du système de gestion de l’environnement, de la santé et de la sécurité en vue d’une amélioration continue.

L’Office n’a pu toutefois confirmer que les résultats de ces examens étaient communiqués au comité de gestion de M&NP aux fins d’examen.

Programme de protection civile et d’intervention d’urgence

L’Office a vérifié que l’exploitant procède annuellement à un examen de la gestion du programme de protection civile et d’intervention d’urgence. Les documents et dossiers examinés dans le cadre de cet examen annuel sont notamment ceux du programme de protection civile et d’intervention d’urgence, du plan d’intervention d’urgence sur le terrain, des exercices d’intervention d’urgence et des commentaires des participants, des programmes d’éducation permanente et de liaison et du programme de formation. L’examen des procès-verbaux de l’examen annuel a confirmé que les cadres de l’exploitant examinent tous les éléments du programme de protection civile et d’intervention d’urgence pour en évaluer l’efficacité globale.

L’Office n’a pu toutefois vérifier que les résultats de l’examen annuel du programme de protection civile et d’intervention d’urgence par la direction de l’exploitant étaient communiqués au comité de gestion de M&NP aux fins d’examen.

Programme de croisement

Concernant les activités liées aux activités des tiers, l’Office n’a constaté aucun rapport formel sur les activités des tiers couvertes par le Règlement sur le croisement de pipe-lines de l’Office national de l’énergie (RCP). Il a en outre constaté qu’il y avait peu ou pas de suivi ou d’évaluation des tendances pour surveiller les niveaux d’activité des tiers. Ainsi, l’Office n’a pu confirmer que le programme de croisement a déjà été évalué sur le plan de la satisfaction, de la pertinence ou de l’efficacité.

Programme de sensibilisation du public

L’exploitant de M&NP n’a pas démontré qu’il procédait à un examen formel de son programme de sensibilisation tel qu’élaboré et mis en oeuvre pour assurer qu’il répond à toutes les exigences réglementaires applicables.

L’Office n’a pu vérifier qu’il a été procédé à une évaluation formelle de l’efficacité du programme de sensibilisation du public et de ses ressources pour s’assurer de leur pertinence, et que cette évaluation a été communiquée au comité de gestion de M&NP.

Tel qu’indiqué plus haut, il revient au comité de gestion de confirmer et démontrer qu’il est en conformité grâce à l’élaboration et à la mise en oeuvre de programmes appropriés efficaces. La responsabilité de l’élaboration et de la mise en oeuvre de ces programmes a été dévolue par M&NP à Spectra en sa qualité d’exploitant selon une entente d’exploitation et d’entretien. L’Office s’attend à ce que M&NP surveille systématiquement et activement les activités de l’exploitant pour s’assurer qu’il respecte ses obligations réglementaires en son nom. M&NP n’a pas pu démontrer qu’elle examinait formellement ses programmes mis en oeuvre par l’exploitant pour s’assurer que ceux-ci répondaient à toutes les exigences réglementaires applicables et continuaient d’être satisfaisants.

Statut de conformité : Non conforme

Date de modification :