Order RRW-001-2017 to Westcoast Energy Inc., carrying on business as Spectra Energy Transmission (Westcoast) pursuant to section 51.1 the National Energy Board Act

Order RRW-001-2017 to Westcoast Energy Inc., carrying on business as Spectra Energy Transmission (Westcoast) pursuant to section 51.1 the National Energy Board Act [PDF 122 KB]

INSPECTION OFFICER ORDER NO. RRW-001-2017

IN THE MATTER OF THE NATIONAL ENERGY BOARD ACT,
AN ORDER UNDER SECTION 51.1

Information not available

is employed by Westcoast Energy Inc., carrying on business as Spectra Energy Transmission (Westcoast), and/or is a person with management responsibilities related to the High Pine Expansion Project.

On 12 September 2017, 14:47 (PT), the undersigned National Energy Board Inspection Officer conducted an inspection of the High Pine Expansion Project, South Loop, approximately KP 28.7.

The Inspection Officer has reasonable grounds to believe there exists a serious hazard and threat to the safety of project personnel as Westcoast and contractor(s) have not demonstrated safe pipe-handling and hauling procedures.

Based on the above mentioned, the inspection officer has reasonable grounds to believe that a hazard to the safety or security of the public, or employees of a company or a detriment to property or the environment is being or will be caused by the construction, operation, maintenance or abandonment of the pipeline, or excavation activity or construction of a facility as per 49(2)(a).

Therefore, Information not available is HEREBY ORDERED,
pursuant to subsections 51.1(1) and 51.1(2) of the National Energy Board Act, to

 X take measures specified below for guarding the safety or security of the public or employees or protecting property or the environment
    Suspend work until the hazard or detrimental situation has been remedied to the satisfaction of the inspection officer; or the order is stayed or rescinded by the Board

Specified Measures:

  1. Ensure pipe handling, hauling and stringing activities are conducted in a safe manner on the High Pine Expansion Project. Provide a list of interim corrective measures implemented or to be implemented no later than 20 Sept 2017.
  2. Conduct an investigation to determine root cause for the observed unsafe act related to pipe handling activities observed at approximately KP 28.7 of the High Pine South Loop on 12 September 2017 at 14:47 (PT). The investigation will include but is not limited to an assessment of immediate, direct and basic causes. Final draft to be submitted to the undersigned Inspection Officer no later than 20 Sept 2017. Implementation of corrective measures will occur no later than 26 Sept 2017.
  3. Conduct an assessment of the adequacy of project oversight by Westcoast to ensure health and safety legal obligations and desired outcomes are achieved on the High Pine Expansion Project, submitted for review and approval by the undersigned Inspection Officer as soon as practicable and no later than 26 Sept 2017. Timeline for implementation of corrective measures will be included in the assessment report.
Inspection Officer
Inspection Officer 2646


Information not available
__________________________________
Signature
IO Designation
13 September 2017
Date
517 10th Avenue SW Calgary AB  T2R 0A8

 

Date modified:

Ordre RRW-001-2017 à Westcoast Energy Inc., exploitée sous la dénomination sociale Spectra Energy Transmission en vertu de l’article 51.1 de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie

Ordre RRW-001-2017 à Westcoast Energy Inc., exploitée sous la dénomination sociale Spectra Energy Transmission en vertu de l’article 51.1 de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie [PDF 83 ko]

Ordre d’inspecteur no RRW-001-2017

RELATIVEMENT À LA LOI SUR L’OFFICE NATIONAL DE L’ÉNERGIE,
ORDRE DÉLIVRÉ CONFORMÉMENT À L’ARTICLE 51.1

Information non disponible

travaille pour le compte de Westcoast Energy Inc., exploitée sous la dénomination sociale Spectra Energy Transmission (« Westcoast »), et/ou est une personne ayant des responsabilités en matière de gestion à l’égard du projet d’agrandissement High Pine.

Le 12 septembre 2017 à 14 h 47 (heure du Pacifique), l’inspecteur soussigné de l’Office national de l’énergie a inspecté le doublement Sud du projet d’agrandissement High Pine, dans les environs de la borne kilométrique 28,7.

L’inspecteur a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu’il existe un danger grave pour la sécurité des travailleurs, étant donné que Westcoast et son ou ses entrepreneurs n’ont pas démontré qu’ils utilisent des procédés sécuritaires en ce qui concerne la manutention et le transport des tubes.

En se fondant sur ce qui précède, l’inspecteur a des motifs raisonnables de croire que la construction, l’exploitation, l’entretien ou la cessation d’exploitation du pipeline ou les travaux d’excavation ou de construction d’une installation visés par l’alinéa 49(2)a) posent une menace à la sécurité ou à la sûreté du public ou des employés de la compagnie ou aux biens matériels ou à l’environnement.

Par conséquent, L’OFFICE ORDONNE PAR LES PRÉSENTES À Information non disponible,
en vertu des paragraphes 51.1(1) et 51.1(2) de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, de :

 X prendre les mesures exposées dans le présent ordre afin d’assurer la sécurité ou la sûreté du public ou des employés de la société, ou la protection des biens ou de l’environnement.
   suspendre les travaux jusqu’à ce que la situation à risque ait été corrigée d’une manière jugée satisfaisante par l’inspecteur ou jusqu’à ce que l’ordre ait été suspendu ou annulé par l’Office.

Mesures précises

  1. S’assurez que les activités de manutention, de transport et d’assemblage des tubes visant le projet d’agrandissement High Pine sont exécutées de manière sécuritaire. Au plus tard le 20 septembre 2017, fournissez une liste des mesures correctives provisoires qui ont été mises en place ou qui le seront.
  2. Menez une enquête pour déterminer la cause fondamentale de la pratique non sécuritaire qui a été observée le 12 septembre 2017 à 14 h 47, pendant des activités de manutention des tubes sur le site du doublement Sud du projet d’agrandissement High Pine, non loin de la borne kilométrique 28,7. L’enquête comportera, entre autres, une évaluation des causes immédiates, directes et fondamentales. La version définitive du rapport d’enquête sera transmise à l’inspecteur soussigné au plus tard le 20 septembre 2017. Les mesures correctives
  3. Évaluez la pertinence des activités de surveillance menées par Westcoast à l’égard du projet afin de remplir les obligations légales en matière de santé et de sécurité et d’atteindre les résultats souhaités pour le project d’agrandissement High Pine. Le rapport d’évaluation sera soumis à l’examen et à l’approbation de l’inspecteur soussigné dans les meilleurs délais et au plus tard le 26 septembre 2017. Le rapport d’évaluation contiendra un échéancier pour la mise en œuvre des mesures correctives.
Inspecteur
Inspecteur 2646


Information non disponible
__________________________________
Signature
No de désignation de l’ordre de l’inspecteur
Le 13 septembre 2017
Date
517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., Calgary (Alberta)  T2R 0A8

 

Date de modification :