Order RRW-002-2017 to Westcoast Energy Inc., carrying on business as Spectra Energy Transmission (Westcoast) pursuant to section 51.1 the National Energy Board Act

Order RRW-002-2017 to Westcoast Energy Inc., carrying on business as Spectra Energy Transmission (Westcoast) pursuant to section 51.1 the National Energy Board Act [PDF 492 KB]

INSPECTION OFFICER ORDER NO. RRW-002-2017

IN THE MATTER OF THE NATIONAL ENERGY BOARD ACT,
AN ORDER UNDER SECTION 51.1

Information not available

is employed by Westcoast Energy Inc., carrying on business as Spectra Energy Transmission (Westcoast), and/or is a person with senior management oversight responsibilities related to the High Pine Expansion Project.

On 12 September 2017, 14:47 (PT), the undersigned National Energy Board Inspection Officer conducted an inspection of the High Pine Expansion Project, South Loop, approximately KP 28.7, to which Inspection Officer Order RRW-001-2017 was issued on 13 September 2017 in response to an observed unsafe act related to pipe-handling and hauling procedures. A contract worker or worker employed by a contractor on the project was observed climbing onto a 42 inch section of pipe being transported by a side boom. The undersigned Inspector Officer notes this is a contravention of the Workers Compensation Act of British Columbia, specifically Part 23 of the Occupational Health and Safety Regulation.

Westcoast’s response to Inspection Officer Order RRW-001-2017 submitted to the Board on 26 September 2017 is deemed inadequate in identifying appropriate corrective actions and ensuring competent implementation to prevent a recurrence of the unsafe act. Specifically, work instructions/procedures/standards and proof of training specific to controlling large diameter pipe while being transported and handled were not adequate. In addition, there was no evidence of a process that ensures Westcoast Inspection staff have both an understanding of requirements and demonstrated competence with assigned environment, health and safety responsibilities.

The Inspection Officer has reasonable grounds to believe there exists a serious hazard and threat to the safety of project personnel as Westcoast and contractor(s) have not implemented appropriate corrective actions with respect to preventing a recurrence of unsafe pipe-handling and hauling activities.

Based on the above mentioned, the Inspection Officer has reasonable grounds to believe that a hazard to the safety or security of the public, or employees of a company or a detriment to property or the environment is being or will be caused by the construction, operation, maintenance or abandonment of the pipeline, or excavation activity or construction of a facility as per 49(2)(a).

Therefore, Information not available is HEREBY ORDERED,
pursuant to subsections 51.1(1) and 51.1(2) of the National Energy Board Act, to

 X take measures specified below for guarding the safety or security of the public or employees or protecting property or the environment
    Suspend work until the hazard or detrimental situation has been remedied to the satisfaction of the inspection officer; or the order is stayed or rescinded by the Board

Specified Measures:

All pipe handling, pipe hauling and pipe stringing activities on the High Pine Expansion Project are suspended until the following corrective actions are implemented to the satisfaction and approval of the undersigned Inspection Officer:

  • Develop and provide work instructions/procedures/standards for the safe handling of large diameter pipe
  • Provide proof of training on the developed work instructions/procedures/standards for the safe handling of large diameter pipe
  • Provide proof that Westcoast Inspectors with assigned environment, health and safety responsibilities are trained and competent.
Inspection Officer
Inspection Officer 2646


Information not available
__________________________________
Signature
IO Designation
29 September 2017
Date
517 10th Avenue SW Calgary AB  T2R 0A8

 

Date modified:

Ordre RRW-002-2017 à Westcoast Energy Inc., exploitée sous la dénomination sociale Spectra Energy Transmission en vertu de l’article 51.1 de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie

Ordre RRW-002-2017 à Westcoast Energy Inc., exploitée sous la dénomination sociale Spectra Energy Transmission en vertu de l’article 51.1 de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie [PDF 76 ko]

Ordre d’inspecteur no RRW-002-2017

RELATIVEMENT À LA LOI SUR L’OFFICE NATIONAL DE L’ÉNERGIE,
ORDRE DÉLIVRÉ CONFORMÉMENT À L’ARTICLE 51.1

Information non disponible

travaille pour le compte de Westcoast Energy Inc., exploitée sous la dénomination sociale Spectra Energy Transmission (« Westcoast »), ou est une personne exerçant des responsabilités de direction en matière de gestion à l’égard du projet d’agrandissement High Pine.

Le 12 septembre 2017, à 14 h 47 (heure du Pacifique), l’inspecteur soussigné de l’Office national de l’énergie a inspecté le doublement Sud du projet d’agrandissement High Pine aux environs de la BK 28,7, pour lequel l’ordre d’inspecteur RRW-001-2017 a été délivré le 13 septembre 2017 après qu’un acte dangereux lié aux méthodes de manutention et de transport des tubes a été observé. Un travailleur contractuel ou un travailleur employé par un entrepreneur a été vu chevauchant une section d’un tube de 42 pouces que l’on transportait à l’aide d’une flèche latérale. L’inspecteur soussigné signale qu’il s’agit d’une violation de la Workers Compensation Act de la Colombie-Britannique, plus précisément de la partie 23 de l’Occupational Health and Safety Regulation.

La réponse que Westcoast a transmise à l’Office le 26 septembre 2017 à la suite de l’ordre d’inspecteur RRW-001-2017 est jugée inadéquate en ce qui a trait à la détermination des mesures correctives appropriées et à leur mise en œuvre de manière compétente pour éviter la répétition de l’acte dangereux. Plus précisément, les instructions, méthodes ou normes de travail et la preuve de l’existence d’une formation particulière pour la maîtrise d’un tube de grand diamètre pendant son transport et sa manutention n’étaient pas appropriés. De plus, aucune preuve n’a été fournie quant à l’existence d’un processus démontrant que les inspecteurs de Westcoast comprennent les exigences et sont compétents pour exercer les responsabilités qui leur ont été confiées en matière d’environnement, de santé et de sécurité.

L’inspecteur a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu’il existe un danger grave pour la sécurité des travailleurs et une menace à la sécurité du personnel rattaché au projet, étant donné que Westcoast et son ou ses entrepreneurs n’ont pas mis en œuvre les mesures correctives appropriées pour empêcher que se reproduisent les actes dangereux durant la manutention et le transport des tubes.

En se fondant sur ce qui précède, l’inspecteur a des motifs raisonnables de croire que la construction, l’exploitation, l’entretien ou la cessation d’exploitation du pipeline ou les travaux d’excavation ou de construction d’une installation visée par l’alinéa 49(2)a) posent une menace à la sécurité ou à la sûreté du public ou des employés de la société ou aux biens matériels ou à l’environnement.

Par conséquent, L’OFFICE ORDONNE PAR LES PRÉSENTES À Information non disponible,
en vertu des paragraphes 51.1(1) et 51.1(2) de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, de

 X prendre les mesures exposées dans le présent ordre afin d’assurer la sécurité ou la sûreté du public ou des employés de la société, ou la protection des biens ou de l’environnement.
   suspendre les travaux jusqu’à ce que la situation à risque ait été corrigée d’une manière jugée satisfaisante par l’inspecteur ou jusqu’à ce que l’ordre ait été suspendu ou annulé par l’Office.

Mesures précises

Toutes les activités de manutention, de transport et de bardage des tubes pour le projet d’agrandissement High Pine sont suspendues jusqu’à ce que les mesures correctives suivantes aient été mises en œuvre à la satisfaction de l’inspecteur soussigné et qu’il les ait approuvées :

  • Élaboration et production d’instructions, méthodes ou normes pour la manutention sécuritaire des tubes de grand diamètre;
  • Production d’une preuve de l’existence d’une formation sur les instructions, méthodes ou normes élaborées pour la manutention sécuritaire des tubes de grand diamètre;
  • Production d’une preuve que les inspecteurs de Westcoast qui exercent des responsabilités en matière d’environnement, de santé et de sécurité ont reçu la formation et sont compétents.
Inspecteur
Inspecteur 2646


Information non disponible
__________________________________
Signature
No de désignation de l’ordre de l’inspecteur
29 septembre 2017
Date
517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., Calgary (Alberta)  T2R 0A8

 

Date de modification :