Emergency Response and Stakeholder Expectations - Questions and Answers

How does CSA Z246.2 align with the existing emergency management standards CSA Z731, NFPA 1600 or others? Has any work been done to help industry align all these standards?

Brian Lamond and Glenn Reierson: The technical subcommittee (TSC), for CSA Z246.2 was formed in 2012 and charged with development of an Emergency

Management Standard for the Petroleum and Natural Gas Industry Systems. The TSC undertook the project and in initial meetings it was decided to focus on Emergency Preparedness and Emergency Response. The Z246.2 standard was released in both official languages of Canada in December 2014. The TSC used the referenced standards (CSA Z731, NFPA 1600) in the development of the Z246.2 standard (along with a number of other provincial, federal and international standards) and some of the material included in the standard and the annex material is aligned with those referenced standards.

The membership of the TSC was made up of Industry representatives, interested users and representatives of provincial and federal regulators, and there is preliminary discussion with a number of the regulatory members to reference the Z246.2 standard in new regulatory requirements. As we go forward with the standard, and the proposed referencing of the standard in regulation, there will be a number of opportunities to assist Industry users to better utilize the standard as a basis for Emergency Preparedness and Response. Also one of the benefits of a CSA standard is a requirement for an update to be done every 4 years and any clarification or changes that are needed will be done during these updates.

It seems that initial spill reports are sometimes under estimated as to volume. This leads to credibility issues. Comments?

Glenn Reierson: While it is true that failing to accurately report spill volume may negatively impact any organizations reputation/credibility, it’s important during the initial stages of any emergency that an organization demonstrates to the public that it is taking the necessary steps required to control the situation. Numerous studies have outlined that a slow response to an incident by an organization will have a significant negative reputation impact. That is why it’s important to quickly respond, assess the situation, and focus on protecting the safety of the public during a spill.

Calgary Fire Department dispatch has a standard of notifying pipeline companies of petroleum product spills in close proximity to pipeline corridors. Chief Paul Boissonneault agrees that there is a need for a common notification practice across Canada, as Calgary has. Does the NEB require pipeline company communication to municipalities regarding emergency response, as part of their emergency preparedness?

NEB: The NEB Onshore Pipeline Regulations require a pipeline company to:

  • liaise with agencies that may be involved in an emergency response on the pipeline and consult with them in the development and updates to the pipeline company’s emergency procedures manual (section 33);
  • inform all person who may be associated with an emergency response activity of the practices and procedures to be followed and make available to them the relevant information consistent with that specified in the emergency procedures manual (section 34); and
  • have a continuing education program for the police, fire departments, medical facilities, other appropriate organizations and agencies and the public residing adjacent to the pipeline to inform them of the location of the pipeline, potential emergency and the safety procedures to be followed (section 35).

 

Date modified:

Intervention d’urgence et attentes des parties prenantes - Questions et réponses

De quelle manière la norme CSA Z246.2 s’harmonise-t-elle avec les normes en gestion des urgences existantes CSA Z731, NFPA 1600 et autres? Des efforts ont-ils été déployés pour aider l’industrie à s’aligner sur toutes ces normes?

Brian Lamond et Glenn Reierson : Formé en 2012, le sous-comité technique pour la norme CSA Z246.2 a été chargé de l’élaboration d’une norme de gestion des situations d’urgence pour les réseaux d’oléoducs et de gazoducs. Il a entrepris le projet et a rapidement décidé de concentrer ses efforts sur la protection civile et l’intervention d’urgence. La norme Z246.2 a été publiée dans les deux langues officielles du Canada en décembre 2014. Le sous-comité a utilisé les normes précisées (CSA Z731 et NFPA 1600), ainsi que d’autres normes provinciales, fédérales et internationales, pour élaborer la norme Z246.2; une partie du contenu de la norme et l’annexe sont harmonisés avec les normes mentionnées.

Le sous-comité regroupe des représentants de l’industrie, des utilisateurs intéressés et des représentants d’organismes de réglementation provinciaux et fédéraux. Des discussions préliminaires sont en cours avec un certain nombre des membres afin d’inclure un renvoi à la norme Z246.2 dans les nouvelles exigences réglementaires. Au fur et à mesure que nous appliquerons la norme, et le renvoi proposé dans la réglementation, il y aura des occasions d’aider les utilisateurs de l’industrie à mieux utiliser la norme comme fondement pour la protection civile et l’intervention d’urgence. En outre, la norme CSA présente l’avantage d’exiger une mise à jour tous les quatre ans, ce qui donne l’occasion de faire tout changement ou éclaircissement nécessaire.

Il semble que les volumes contenus dans les rapports préliminaires sont souvent sous-estimés. Cela met en doute leur crédibilité. Avez-vous des commentaires?

Glenn Reierson : Si le fait de manquer de précision quant aux volumes déversés risque d’entacher la réputation ou la crédibilité des organisations, il n’en reste pas moins que celles-ci doivent démontrer au public, dès le début d’une urgence, qu’elles prennent les mesures nécessaires pour maîtriser la situation. De nombreuses études ont démontré qu’une intervention lente en cas d’incident se répercute négativement sur la réputation d’une organisation. Voilà pourquoi il importe d’intervenir rapidement, d’évaluer la situation et de se concentrer sur la protection du public durant un déversement.

Le service d’incendie de Calgary a une norme pour aviser les sociétés pipelinières en cas de déversement de produits pétroliers à proximité des couloirs pipeliniers. Le chef Paul Boissonneault est d’avis qu’une telle pratique devrait s’étendre à l’ensemble du Canada. L’Office exige-t-il que les sociétés pipelinières communiquent avec les municipalités au sujet des interventions d’urgence dans le cadre des exigences en matière de protection civile?

L’Office : Le Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres exige que les sociétés pipelinières fassent ce qui suit :

  • entrer et demeurer en communication avec les organismes qui peuvent devoir intervenir en cas d’urgence sur le pipeline; elle doit les consulter lorsqu’elle établit et met à jour le manuel des urgences (article 33);
  • informer toutes les personnes qui peuvent être associées à une activité d’intervention en cas d’urgence sur le pipeline des pratiques et procédures en vigueur, et mettre à leur disposition des renseignements conformes à ceux précisés dans le manuel des mesures d’urgence (article 34);
  • établir un programme d’éducation permanente à l’intention des services de police et d’incendie, des établissements de santé, des autres organismes compétents et des résidents à proximité du pipeline, pour les informer de l’emplacement de celui-ci, des situations d’urgence possibles et des mesures de sécurité à prendre en cas de besoin (article 35).

 

Date de modification :